Saturday Night At The Movies

Watched a few cowboy films the other day. Dead for a Dollar Old Henry and Hostile Territory.Cannae beat an auld Western.

You watched Billy the Kid series. Or Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee Bill?

Billy the Kid was good, the other one is in my list tae watch.

The dug dies at the end

Watched a few films over the Christmas break:

Last Train to Christmas - Absolutely loved it. Was one of those “Sky Originals” movies which are quite often pony but this one was really good. A festive comedy with quite a clever twist. Stars Michael Sheen who is always worth a watch.

The Call - a recent(is) horror starring Tobin Bell and and Lynne Shay. A couple of real stalwarts of the genre so I had high hopes but I really shouldn’t have as it was absolutely dreadful! Avoid.

Glass Onion - Netflix follow up to ‘Knives Out’. Really enjoyed it! Agatha Christie style whodunnit much like the original with a star studded cast. I hope they make more of these.
My wife has become a Netflix addict. Watched Drive tonight, pretty decent. I enjoyed Glass Ingin too.

The dug dies at the end
Spoil it why dont yi. Watchin the Titanic the morn, dinnae be tellin me how THAT ends 🙈😂

My wife has become a Netflix addict. Watched Drive tonight, pretty decent. I enjoyed Glass Ingin too.
Better than Chelsea Man City game I’ll bet.

No idea, it was good.

Tried to watch The Black Widow the other night there.What a dreary film,ended up switching over after quarter of an hour.

Enjoying this immensely

The Banshees of Inisherin

Enjoying this immensely

Its good eh? Watched it the other day and noticed it was on C4 yesterday or the day before. Been smashed wi amitriptyline all day, so Cannae mind.

Shame aboot the dug though.

Aye i thoroughly enjoyed it

Sent you a pm gadgie

Enjoying this immensely

Great movie, fucked up but great.

Watched this earlier. A nice wee bit of throw away telly.

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery

Thought Daniel Craig was a bit 'meh' until I saw Knives Out.Completely changed my opinion of him.

Any yous watched this before? Decent wee film like. The whole film is on Yatube.......

Shooters is a drama documentary film, directed by Dan Reed for Suspect Device Films.

The film is set in Liverpool and used local criminals as actors depicting the lives of local 'gangsters'.

It is most notable for having been completely unscripted apart from a brief outline; each scene was improvised and ad-libbed by the actors themselves.

Just put on Bank of Dave

Any yous watched this before? Decent wee film like. The whole film is on Yatube.....

Shooters is a drama documentary film, directed by Dan Reed for Suspect Device Films.

The film is set in Liverpool and used local criminals as actors depicting the lives of local 'gangsters'.

It is most notable for having been completely unscripted apart from a brief outline; each scene was improvised and ad-libbed by the actors themselves.

Just watched it. Found myself fast forwarding which is never a good sign but interesting. 5/10 👍🏻

Particularly if you are watching "The Importance of Foreplay".

Aye? I mind the telly series about him yonks ago. He tried his best to help local businesses

I've just come back from the north

Hampstead?

No Burnley

🤣🤣🤣

This is a cracking film if you ever get the chance to see it....

Is it a bleak skandi thing?

A boys home on an island. It's a Scandinavian film

Changed ma question @EH17 Jimmy

Niche porn then....

Is it a bleak skandi thing?
Yep

Niche porn then....
Quite brutal to be honest

Scum for hot dog munchers?

Went to see Tom Hanks new movie Otto last night. Was better than expected if being a familiar plot. Had some good funny moments

Got that downloaded.

I realised many years ago that I just didn't like what the majority did, especially music and film. 2 examples of film are The Blues brothers and Shawshank redemption. I've tried 3 times to watch the Blues brothers and never got past the car chase kind of early on. To be honest I really can't stand it.
Shawshank is different, again tried 3 times but I just don't see what's so special. Just been on facebook and there is a post with over 600 comments all pretty much saying it's a masterpiece and the best movie ever. Nobody yet has helped me to understand why that is so. Anyway later tonight I'm going to give it another go but I'd really like to know EXACTLY what's so special about it and why it's regularly voted best movie overall.

I realised many years ago that I just didn't like what the majority did, especially music and film. 2 examples of film are The Blues brothers and Shawshank redemption. I've tried 3 times to watch the Blues brothers and never got past the car chase kind of early on. To be honest I really can't stand it.
Shawshank is different, again tried 3 times but I just don't see what's so special. Just been on facebook and there is a post with over 600 comments all pretty much saying it's a masterpiece and the best movie ever. Nobody yet has helped me to understand why that is so. Anyway later tonight I'm going to give it another go but I'd really like to know EXACTLY what's so special about it and why it's regularly voted best movie overall.
I saw the Blues Brothers at the flicks when it first came out and loved everything about it - the humour, the chases, the music - everything. I watched it a year or 2 ago with my daughters and, I must admit, it hasn't aged well.

As for Shawshank, it's French title is "les Évadés" or "the escapees", which I find really, really stupid.

Blues Brothers is a comedy and they're probably the most divisive of films. What you personally find funny is very subjective.

Shawshank is well made but it's also very sentimental. It's up there with Forrest Gump, Titanic and Braveheart in the 90's greatest emotional manipulation stakes. I think any film that can successfully get you feeling something is always going to be generally popular especially if they do it on a grand scale.

I know what you mean about differing tastes though, when music and movies come up in conversation I'll defend the blunt unsubtle satire of horror movies and punk rock to anyone who will listen but I'm aware that anyone who thinks both are unsophisticated b-grade trash (most people) ain't gonna be converted. So I'll listen to why Avatar the Way of Water was great and that I should really give The Joshua Tree another chance and nod politely.

Sorry if it's been mentioned before but I watched Shepherds and Butchers on Netflix last night. Based on a true story about capital punishment in South Africa in the 80s, Steve Coogan is excellent in a serious role. It's hard stuff but well worth a watch.

Watched Up The Junction and This Sporting Life last night.

Hame and opened a beer. Just away to watch A Taste Of Honey

Just started watching the Gerard Butler film Plane

This thread has been viewed 56691 times.