Ron Gordon

Hammi

Cable Selling Radge
Been elected to the SPFL board for 21/22 season.

Wonder how he'll get along bringing back drink I stadiums and the income he wants to bring to the Scottish game as a whole.

Making waves early.

Wonder how he'll get along bringing back drink I stadiums and the income he wants to bring to the Scottish game as a whole.

Making waves early.
Anyone heard anything about the American Ron has signed on a pre-contract ?

Looks like a player. Do we get to call him Gerd ?

Could be interesting. I wonder if he will stand up to Celtic and Sevco in a way no one does..... Does he sound as if he is in any way interested in these "traditions"?

Looks like a player. Do we get to call him Gerd ?
If he’s good,yes.If he’s shite you can call him Muller Light?

Muller Shite or Dumbass Muller?

Could be interesting. I wonder if he will stand up to Celtic and Sevco in a way no one does..... Does he sound as if he is in any way interested in these "traditions"?

I don’t get the impression Ron is too interested in traditions or pandering to the established order. Could be good for the Scottish game.

I sincerely hope you are right!

The Aberdeen bloke on sport sound was talking Ron up on Saturday, suggesting he’s got great ideas commercially and has delivered in the past.

But honestly I think he’ll chuck in a years time bemoaning the intransigence of those around him.

Scottish football and its authorities don't want to be dragged into the 21st century.
I'd be happy for them to be dragged into the 20th....

Scottish football and its authorities don't want to be dragged into the 21st century.
I'd be happy for them to be dragged into the 20th....
I agree, the problem starts with all the clubs deciding what is best for their clubs as the best thing for Scottish football as a whole. Mental.

Making waves early.

I hope that doesn’t distract him from carrying on the great work he has done here so far.

Sevco are stuck around 1690, celtc have a new leader but I'm not sure about owner???

As others have said I doubt big/wee Ron will give two hoots about the past. His priority will be increasing Hibs value, it already sounds he's got others on side.

I think it might be revolution rather than evolution.

Edit: Can anyone remember what became of the Budgie vision?

Nah, neither can I.

Been hearing it was Ron’s son that got the player to sign…AND his son will be next chairman 🤷‍♂️

To be honest I'm not fussy on this type of nepotism, it rarely works out. It will be a whole new prove and justify yourself/management team.* I've just about got my head around big/wee Ron having never heard of us a couple of years ago to becoming the New Messiah. My brain hurts.

* the Board.

Time will tell.

To be honest I'm not fussy on this type of nepotism, it rarely works out. It will be a whole new prove and justify yourself/management team.* I've just about got my head around big/wee Ron having never heard of us a couple of years ago to becoming the New Messiah. My brain hurts.

* the Board.
Hopefully he's following the Leicester City blueprint!

Time will tell.

He'll shake the system up. The septic tanks know how to play the game when it comes to marketing, merchandising, and hospitality. From what little I've seen of "Ron the Con" he might be soft-spoken but he won't take any shit.

I hope that doesn’t distract him from carrying on the great work he has done here so far.

I dont think it will.

Zero chance of that happening.

Here's hoping he does what he says. It doesnt have to be out there radical, but it does require new direction with commitment from others.
Remember when the sycophants in Scottish football lauded Brooks Mileson and his millions? Great for Scottish football was their mantra. It wasn't. Money alone changes very little. Apart from the demise of a club when it goes mammaries up.
We had the 'breath of fresh air' in the form of Mad Vlad. Another who was going to revolutionise Scottish football.......he didnt have the money, never mind an idea, but was heralded as another 'breath of fresh air'.
Certainly turned out that way for the gunts via administration.
Must not forget the rangers. 10 years in the making. Changed nothing but the name. Definitely no change for the greater good of Scottish football, but they dont care......they're back on top of the tree is all that matters....to them.
Ron may well leave his mark on the game in this country.
Unlike the aforementioned clubs he seems to want change for the better, not simply for the sake of it.
Who knows. Another first for the Hibs?
On ye go Ron. Good luck with the more reticent tribes.

I don't believe this. He's signed for January, 6 months away, and already some of us are making up nasty nicknames for him?

And Ron and his son are 'septic tanks'?

Welcome to ER, guys.

I don't believe this. He's signed for January, 6 months away, and already some of us are making up nasty nicknames for him?

And Ron and his son are 'septic tanks'?

Welcome to ER, guys.

Think your misreading or not reading the room right dude.

I dont think it will.

I would rather we had his full attention here rather than thinking about how to bring on other clubs, or is that the reason his Son is moving here and taking over from Dempster’s role.

Focusing his full attention internally doesn't make sense to me. Hibs are being held back by wider issues in the Scottish game as much as, if not more than, any internal issues. Getting him into a position of power where he can start driving better revenue opportunities for the game overall makes sense even if we are only interested in what it means for Hibs.

Well I think it's a good thing. Looking for a negative spin on it for why? 🤷‍♂️

Hes not the only board member, sure every other member over the years hasn't abandoned their club to do so.

Improving the whole of Scottish football will in turn improve Hibs.
Bringing in money, will filter to everyone, increasing the money in the game will in turn improve transfer fees received because we won't be as desperate for the money.
Everyone wants to have a drink in stadiums.
I'm sure he's already found other areas that need improved.

Focusing his full attention internally doesn't make sense to me. Hibs are being held back by wider issues in the Scottish game as much as, if not more than, any internal issues. Getting him into a position of power where he can start driving better revenue opportunities for the game overall makes sense even if we are only interested in what it means for Hibs.

Absolutely. To me Ron has to be in a position of influence within the Scottish game, if he’s going to make changes which ultimately benefit Hibernian. That doesn’t detract from what he can improve internally.

Had a few Americans over the years working as overseas volunteers with me Always took them to hibs games, they just seem to love the club and I know some still follow every result...hopefully he has their passion for hibs

Looks very good in the videos

He'll shake the system up. The septic tanks know how to play the game when it comes to marketing, merchandising, and hospitality. From what little I've seen of "Ron the Con" he might be soft-spoken but he won't take any shit.
Indeed they do. I was looking at going to a minor league baseball game over here as there's a couple of teams nearby. They have promos such as "Dog and a Dog" - when you buy the ticket you get a free hot dog, and it's a dollar to bring your actual dog to the game, and "All you can eat" - pretty much self explanatory!

Some of the merch is decent as well.

Screenshot_20210723-090125_Chrome.jpgScreenshot_20210723-090149_Chrome.jpgScreenshot_20210723-090202_Chrome.jpg

Well I think it's a good thing. Looking for a negative spin on it for why? 🤷‍♂️

Hes not the only board member, sure every other member over the years hasn't abandoned their club to do so.

Improving the whole of Scottish football will in turn improve Hibs.
Bringing in money, will filter to everyone, increasing the money in the game will in turn improve transfer fees received because we won't be as desperate for the money.
Everyone wants to have a drink in stadiums.
I'm sure he's already found other areas that need improved.

How is that a negative spin when you want Ron to continue the great work he is doing without any distractions.

Indeed they do. I was looking at going to a minor league baseball game over here as there's a couple of teams nearby. They have promos such as "Dog and a Dog" - when you buy the ticket you get a free hot dog, and it's a dollar to bring your actual dog to the game, and "All you can eat" - pretty much self explanatory!

Some of the merch is decent as well.

View attachment 5415View attachment 5416View attachment 5417
The Americans know how to merchandise,advertise sport. It has taken Scottish sport a little while to catch on to things.

I think he was well aware of that before he hitched up at ER. League and media controlled by two clubs. Yep he's aware.
He's ambitious and not here for the white pudding suppers. Only thing that could hold him back is 20500 seat ER being too small if reality matches those ambitions. What next if a successful Hibees team has full house notices up at games against Motherwell, County and Dundee?
Ooops, getting carried away there.

The Americans know how to merchandise,advertise sport. It has taken Scottish sport a little while to catch on to things.
Good point Alberta but this is Scotland. Two teams drawing hundreds of thousands of supporters from all over the UK and Eira. They soak up all the media coverage. The rest need to work harder though and that includes creating stronger links to the Record and Jaggie Sun. I've corresponded with reporters at both papers and they all have the same complaint. Lack of access to playing staff. I'm sure Ron will be ensuring closer links with all our outlets. It's easy to dismiss them as Rangers leaning rags but theres no cheaper advertising than free! Both have excellent online coverage, for Rangers and Celtic. We need to provide their social media teams with content.
Of course they will give preference to Rangers and Celtic but if we accept that then do more to provide them with stories from EM and ER then it can only benifit our team no end.

I think he was well aware of that before he hitched up at ER. League and media controlled by two clubs. Yep he's aware.
He's ambitious and not here for the white pudding suppers. Only thing that could hold him back is 20500 seat ER being too small if reality matches those ambitions. What next if a successful Hibees team has full house notices up at games against Motherwell, County and Dundee?
Ooops, getting carried away there.
Calm doon mate, I'll be ecstatic if we beat St Johnstone twice at Easter Road. Now it's me getting carried away.

Only thing that could hold him back is 20500 seat ER being too small if reality matches those ambitions. What next if a successful Hibees team has full house notices up at games against Motherwell, County and Dundee?
A brand new out-of-town stadium located just south of the by pass, that's what.

Calm doon mate, I'll be ecstatic if we beat St Johnstone twice at Easter Road. Now it's me getting carried away.

I fancy us to win the Champs League within the next three years.

OK......I realize that's ridiculous, but you started it :)

I think we'll beat people at home this season, if that's any good?

Good point Alberta but this is Scotland. Two teams drawing hundreds of thousands of supporters from all over the UK and Eira. They soak up all the media coverage. The rest need to work harder though and that includes creating stronger links to the Record and Jaggie Sun. eI've corresponded with reporters at both papers and they all have the same complaint. Lack of access to playing staff. I'm sure Ron will be ensuring closer links with all our outlets. It's easy to dismiss them as Rangers leaning rags but theres no cheaper advertising than free! Both have excellent online coverage, for Rangers and Celtic. We need to provide their social media teams with content.
Of course they will give preference to Rangers and Celtic but if we accept that then do more to provide them with stories from EM and ER then it can only benifit our team no end.
Fair points but I would be happier if Hibs ban the sun and it’s staff from the club sine die.

JFT96

This thread has been viewed 3917 times.

ÂŁ100.00
ÂŁ100.75