Jack Ross

I know some of you disagree with this but I still think we were doing well to be where we were in the league with the squad of players we have. Any sort of adversity and they fold like wet cardboard...Wednesday and today were two of the most timid, despicable, cowardly performances Ive seen from Hibs players since Butcher. The hiding by some of them in the second half was so obvious..absolute charlatans.

Don't see Ron Gordon bailing out the manager with signings in the window unless its more cheap squad fillers who make no difference when brought on in a game. We need to sign players who will take responsibility down the spine of the team..centre forward and centre half are the prioirties for me.

I know some of you disagree with this but I still think we were doing well to be where we were in the league with the squad of players we have. Any sort of adversity and they fold like wet cardboard...Wednesday and today were two of the most timid, despicable, cowardly performances Ive seen from Hibs players since Butcher. The hiding by some of them in the second half was so obvious..absolute charlatans.

Don't see Ron Gordon bailing out the manager with signings in the window unless its more cheap squad fillers who make no difference when brought on in a game. We need to sign players who will take responsibility down the spine of the team..centre forward and centre half are the prioirties for me.

Its beginning to balance up now

We aren't good to watch the majority of the time and I think our current position was papering over the cracks

Any lower than 4th this season is sackable imo

Ross is a lucky man there's been no fans in ER this season. I reckon if there had he'd have been seriously under pressure in keeping his job.

Gutless, insipid, pedestrian performances (with almost zero inspiring football played) in almost all home games this season.

Simply not good enough.

The team is a reflection of the manager right now: Inoffensive, but boring and dull.

Managers come and go but everything remains the the same. Good spells cancelled out by poor spells or prolonged bad spells when the management are dismissed. Then new dawns followed by further let downs. It has more or less always been the the way with Hibs. What is the answer? I honestly don't know. Swings and roundabouts. Hibs are Deja Vu FC repeatedly, for ever.

Managers come and go but everything remains the the same. Good spells cancelled out by poor spells or prolonged bad spells when the management are dismissed. Then new dawns followed by further let downs. It has more or less always been the the way with Hibs. What is the answer I honestly don't know. Swings and roundabouts. Hibs are Deja Vu Fc repeatedly, for ever.
Spot on maybe it's down to us not paying better wages to get better players in .

Great post.

I don’t think he has any idea what his best team is at home
Away from home different as he sits and plays on counter
But ask him to try and win a game and it’s really worrying
He’s done really well at Alloa and st mirren and hibs (away from home) where there is probably less expectation to dominate games and win
But at Sunderland and Hibs at home (and the semi against lower league opposition) he has really struggled

I fully expect this to be like the Yogi season where we limp over the finish line. Just hope teams below us start to drop points. We're in for a tough few weeks.

Spot on maybe it's down to us not paying better wages to get better players in .
Do you really believe that we're not paying substantially higher wages than the 2 teams who've humiliated us in the last few days?

I'd suggest wages have fuck all to do with it - and you're at the wind up.

Do you really believe that we're not paying substantially higher wages than the 2 teams who've humiliated us in the last few days?

Nothing to do with the last two games if you read what the poster says as the same old pattern with most of the hibs managers and teams results .

Hibs are exactly where their budget dictates which is a strong 4th in the SPFL reaching the semi final of the first of the cup competitions and playing a good counter attacking game away from home but struggling badly without any discernable shape of pattern in home games.

None of this is sacking material in any way shape or form and the manager overall has done a decent job and its unfair to call for his heid on the basis of the last two shockers.?.

The warning signs are all there though as the confidence is now shot, the players are playing as individuals, the manager looks lost during games and wracked by either indecision such as the Doig/Stevenson/Doig musical chairs charade or blind loyalty to certain players old and new.?

None of this is helped now that other teams have completely worked out how to play against our repetitive formation and structure.?

Its a big test coming up over the next few months as history tends to indicate that when a Hibs team goes into a slump its usually post Xmas and they tend to just stumble through to the end of the season.?

If ever a team needs fresh legs its this one so Ron has to do his bit in the always difficult January transfer window and within a very limited financial exposure.✅

Of more importance though is that the manager makes very big decisions in terms of team structure, shape, pattern and personnel and shakes up the very comfortable, cosy, lazy attitude that has crept into certain players who think they are untouchable.

I think the Slovenian Chap has summarised my views quite magnificently. Anyone who disagrees with any of that is clearly a “Hearts Bastard” and should meet him down Leith Links for a square go.

Sunday is a Fun Day so do please enjoy it.

Hibs are exactly where their budget dictates which is a strong 4th in the SPFL reaching the semi final of the first of the cup competitions and playing a good counter attacking game away from home but struggling badly without any discernable shape of pattern in home games.

None of this is sacking material in any way shape or form and the manager overall has done a decent job and its unfair to call for his heid on the basis of the last two shockers.?.

The warning signs are all there though as the confidence is now shot, the players are playing as individuals, the manager looks lost during games and wracked by either indecision such as the Doig/Stevenson/Doig musical chairs charade or blind loyalty to certain players old and new.?

None of this is helped now that other teams have completely worked out how to play against our repetitive formation and structure.?

Its a big test coming up over the next few months as history tends to indicate that when a Hibs team goes into a slump its usually post Xmas and they tend to just stumble through to the end of the season.?

If ever a team needs fresh legs its this one so Ron has to do his bit in the always difficult January transfer window and within a very limited financial exposure.✅

Of more importance though is that the manager makes very big decisions in terms of team structure, shape, pattern and personnel and shakes up the very comfortable, cosy, lazy attitude that has crept into certain players who think they are untouchable.
Decent summary.

The question, if you are Ron, is whether its worth risking the financial outlay to push for a higher place in the league or rely on the manager going back to a more pragmatic approach that saw us grinding out results in the earlier part of the season.

Personally I think the warning signs were always there with this thin squad, we just hadnt really had a period of injuries and suspensions that exposed them so clearly as the last two games have. Also the remaining players we heavily rely on have suffered a dip in form and most importantly confidence and are to put it bluntly hiding in games or making basic errors that no manager can legislate for.

My opinion is we need to find money from somewhere to improve the quality in the first team with at least two signings. I dont think we will finish above Aberdeen tbh so fourth is going to be my expectation. It is also time for a clear out that with the all seeing benefit of hindsight should have taken place before now.

Strong 4th? Have you seen how many points Livi have and how many games in hand they have?
We're 4th aye, not sure how strong that is though.

This window I'd look to offload Mallan and Wright. Neither contribute enough. Both decent wage earners and we need to free budget.

I'd also look to get our club legends Sir David Gray and Darren McGregor off the bench and off the wage bill.

If we could I'd sell Doidge and possibly Boyle.

This summer I'd look to offload legends Hanlon and Stevenson.

Sadly I expect both Marciano and Newell to leave.

Last summer was a poor window. Magennis and Murphy are constantly injured. Wright is push. Gogic average. Nisbet the outstanding piece of business.

This window I'd look to offload Mallan and Wright. Neither contribute enough. Both decent wage earners and we need to free budget.

I'd also look to get our club legends Sir David Gray and Darren McGregor off the bench and off the wage bill.

If we could I'd sell Doidge and possibly Boyle.

This summer I'd look to offload legends Hanlon and Stevenson.

Sadly I expect both Marciano and Newell to leave.

Last summer was a poor window. Magennis and Murphy are constantly injured. Wright is push. Gogic average. Nisbet the outstanding piece of business.

Add Hallberg to Mallan and Wright.

We have had to go with a small squad this season for financial reasons and it has unfortunately caught up with us. We signed some very good players in the summer but some have been injured too often. Both Magennis and Murphy had recent long periods out with serious injuries before we signed them. We took a risk with them, but sometimes at clubs like ours you have to take risks with signings if you want quality into your team. I think it will be next season before we see the best of both. I can't remember the last new signing who was given a 5 year deal so Kyle Magennis must have something going for him for the club to make that sort of commitment.

By far the biggest miss this season has been Scott Allan. His ability in the final third to open up a defence with a pass cannot be equalled by any of our other players. Again, unfortunately I think it will be next season before we see Scott back to his best.

With a small squad of players, we cannot afford too many players out injured at the same time. Add to that form loss which affects every player at some stage of the season and you have the perfect storm. Unfortunately too many of our players who were playing well for us up till a week ago have either gone into hiding or have lost form collectively at the same time. The lack of work rate though there is no excuse for. This what clubs like Livingston and Ross County do all the time to compensate for their lack of financial muscle. Both had stopped even that till they got in new managers and there has accordingly been a bounce at both clubs. Livi especially.

I made the point yesterday about us having collapsed ever since Ross went through the players after the Dundee United game....a match we should have won comfortably but threw away two valuable points. We played well against the huns after that, but that game was a free hit. Nobody expected us to get anything from it. Since then however we have been outplayed by two of the leagues minnows on our own patch with no goals scored and five conceded. No evidence to back up my theory, but I have a bad feeling something has gone wrong behind the scenes.

We have had to go with a small squad this season for financial reasons and it has unfortunately caught up with us. We signed some very good players in the summer but some have been injured too often. Both Magennis and Murphy had recent long periods out with serious injuries before we signed them. We took a risk with them, but sometimes at clubs like ours you have to take risks with signings if you want quality into your team. I think it will be next season before we see the best of both. I can't remember the last new signing who was given a 5 year deal so Kyle Magennis must have something going for him for the club to make that sort of commitment.

By far the biggest miss this season has been Scott Allan. His ability in the final third to open up a defence with a pass cannot be equalled by any of our other players. Again, unfortunately I think it will be next season before we see Scott back to his best.

With a small squad of players, we cannot afford too many players out injured at the same time. Add to that form loss which affects every player at some stage of the season and you have the perfect storm. Unfortunately too many of our players who were playing well for us up till a week ago have either gone into hiding or have lost form collectively at the same time. The lack of work rate though there is no excuse for. This what clubs like Livingston and Ross County do all the time to compensate for their lack of financial muscle. Both had stopped even that till they got in new managers and there has accordingly been a bounce at both clubs. Livi especially.

I made the point yesterday about us having collapsed ever since Ross went through the players after the Dundee United game....a match we should have won comfortably but threw away two valuable points. We played well against the huns after that, but that game was a free hit. Nobody expected us to get anything from it. Since then however we have been outplayed by two of the leagues minnows on our own patch with no goals scored and five conceded. No evidence to back up my theory, but I have a bad feeling something has gone wrong behind the scenes.
Add Leeann away , does she ken something we dinnae? Pure speculation by the way. Probs just the club goin doon the tubes and nothing tae worry aboot. ?

This thread has been viewed 7740 times.