Tory with a point?

Im in the public sector. They like their shite speak, mostly always taken from the private sectors corporate shite speak..... that bit in bold, Ive never heard of being used orally or in written coms
Let's run it up the flagpole and see who salutes

See that's what i like, some clear sky thinking...

:54:
See that's what i like, some clear sky thinking...
Just thought I'd reach out and touch base. It's "blue sky thinking".

Low hanging fruit.

Im in the public sector. They like their shite speak, mostly always taken from the private sectors corporate shite speak..... that bit in bold, Ive never heard of being used orally or in written coms
Just wait then- if the public sector follows private as you say, it's coming!

Google the term for yards of bullshit

Edit- I think you've said you work in the NHS apologies if I have that wrong. If so the neighbours are on it, so its only a matter of time!

Some spod once left me completely speechless advocating we should 'reach out and give it a little lick, and see how it tastes'

And yes, Doc Shrink, this was in a work setting :giggle

Some spod once left me completely speechless advocating we should 'reach out and give it a little lick, and see how it tastes'

And yes, Doc Shrink, this was in a work setting :giggle
Ah, a fellow guitarist then?

Lost me there H?

Edit- ah, no. Not that kind of lick.

I know because he mimed his intended action :shocked:

Low hanging fruit.
Ha ha, I've worked in IT in the private sector for 10 years and now 37 years in the public sector.

One of the favourite "hobbies" of us older folk is when we are in meetings with young, up and coming colleagues is playing "Bullshit Bingo" and seeing how many of these types of phrases come up, it's great fun.

A couple of newish Project Management terms:

A project is no longer in progress, it is "Inflight" and you no longer roll new Technology out to staff, you "On Board" them.

Boils ma piss!

Low hanging fruit.
stuck behind the 8 ball

At one point every strategy document I read spoke about "embedding a robust culture of ...
Everything became a fast moving/changing situation or a fast moving feast
There was a plain English campaign at some time in the 90's but it soon disappeared and wank speak took further hold.

Fortunately I worked in maintenance and construction.Work-speak comprised of That’s shite, bollocks,fuck off get your finger out and break time.

You'd be reported accused of bullying nowadays.

My pal in Canada said yesterday that the workers 'fuck the dog when I'm not there'.

Apparently a saying about skiving when the boss is offski.

This new law reeks of state censorship to me. Dont speak out or we will have you. The number of snowflakes around these days means people will be getting lifted left right and centre. Imagine your neighbours seeing you carted away, you missing work because you are in cop shop etc etc.

Ha ha, I've worked in IT in the private sector for 10 years and now 37 years in the public sector.

One of the favourite "hobbies" of us older folk is when we are in meetings with young, up and coming colleagues is playing "Bullshit Bingo" and seeing how many of these types of phrases come up, it's great fun.

A project is no longer in progress, it is "Inflight" and you no longer roll new Technology out to staff, you "On Board" them.

Boils ma piss!

Jotted these down for use, should explode a couple of heads!

Wonder how polis Scotland will find themselves not guilty regarding this ....

IMG_20240327_151800.jpg

You'd be reported accused of bullying nowadays.
That's shite,fuck off and I'm retired

Boils ma piss!
Yeah, played bullshit bingo at many a tedious meeting. Mate and I would also nominate crawlybot wank of the meeting which was a bit like man of the match for fitba but not in a good way.

Boils ma piss!
I spent years putting up with more and more anglicisms being introduced to French business speak.

I worked closely with property developers and the worst were the salesmen - holy fuck!

I literally laughed out loud at some of the shite they came out with.

Just wait then- if the public sector follows private as you say, it's coming!

Google the term for yards of bullshit

Edit- I think you've said you work in the NHS apologies if I have that wrong. If so the neighbours are on it, so its only a matter of time!

That looks brutal..... most of our corporate shoite comes from board level..... there is a few services under this board, they really do the governance. My Service are protected somewhat from this in the main as its a front line service, where in the main one can delete their emails without even bothering to read them. I do see more and more of the kind of nonsense in your link creeping in up here.

I genuinly reckon you could remove a good 5 or 6 out of every 10 corporate jobs and cause no discernable reduction to the services they govern (services extremely important to the maintaing of the health of the people of Scotland). There are some eye watering salaries also, but thats a different thread.

Mind it just used to be 'my people will meet your people'.

My pal in Canada has always liked how we answer our own questions.

'gaun for a pint aye?' 'You gaun oot naw?'

'Ma bit or your bit aye?'.

Wonder how polis Scotland will find themselves not guilty regarding this ....

View attachment 13640
That looks lifted from the right leaning GB News.

A whole 200 women. Wow that's almost every woman in the country isn't it?

I reckon prizing your own freedom of speech over other people’s ability to live safe and good lives aligns with or overlaps with rightwing politicians and bigoted pundits whose speech poisons public discourse. So what if physiology, genetics, etc cannot be completely changed when people seek to align their physical selves with how they wish to live. Why not frame the subject from another angle, that of considering how a decent society might best accommodate and protect all its citizens without pitting their various rights against one another, or “othering” some of them in dehumanising ways.

Live and let live.

I reckon prizing your own freedom of speech over other people’s ability to live safe and good lives aligns with or overlaps with rightwing politicians and bigoted pundits whose speech poisons public discourse. So what if physiology, genetics, etc cannot be completely changed when people seek to align their physical selves with how they wish to live. Why not frame the subject from another angle, that of considering how a decent society might best accommodate and protect all its citizens without pitting their various rights against one another, or “othering” some of them in dehumanising ways.I

Live and let live.

Your words?

I reckon prizing your own freedom of speech over other people’s ability to live safe and good lives aligns with or overlaps with rightwing politicians and bigoted pundits whose speech poisons public discourse. So what if physiology, genetics, etc cannot be completely changed when people seek to align their physical selves with how they wish to live. Why not frame the subject from another angle, that of considering how a decent society might best accommodate and protect all its citizens without pitting their various rights against one another, or “othering” some of them in dehumanising ways.

Live and let live.
I completely agree that society shouldn't put one group's rights over another. But there is real public concern that the legislation does exactly that. And it's pretty smeary to imply that criticism is somehow 'right wing'.

So folks how many complaints will be made against JK Rowling on the 1st of April?

I'm thinking around the 5,000 mark.

What think ye?
About 5

I completely agree that society shouldn't put one group's rights over another. But there is real public concern that the legislation does exactly that. And it's pretty smeary to imply that criticism is somehow 'right wing'.

Live and let live.
I don’t think free speech is trumped by people wanting ‘safety’; that is increasingly a charter for tyranny.

It becomes especially so when free statement of objective facts comes into the cross hairs. The whole basis of feminism and gay rights is getting tanned at the moment, as well as objective truth. This is what happens when the latter goes out the window, irreconcilable contradictions can’t be wished away.

i mean where does it end? Should Richard Dawkins be gagged if he pisses off Christians (the poor old buffer has been cancelled by his own flock when he dared to comment on Islam mind you). Should the whiteness mob or users of the term gammons get thrown in the clink?

Should the left be banned if their ideas offend people? Or the right? Or those somewhat irritating centrist dads? Muslims, Christians, trans activists?

There’ll always been someone that takes the hump at things someone else says. What kind of totalitarianism will satisfy your desire here?

I’m tempted to muse that that implication might be a hate crime.

Guessed it.
No spellin errors.

I don’t think free speech is trumped by people wanting ‘safety’; that is increasingly a charter for tyranny.

It becomes especially so when free statement of objective facts comes into the cross hairs. The whole basis of feminism and gay rights is getting tanned at the moment, as well as objective truth. This is what happens when objective truth goes out the window, irreconcilable contradictions can’t be wished away.

i mean where does it end? Should Richard Dawkins be gagged if he pisses off Christians (the poor old buffer has been cancelled by his own flock when he dared to comment on Islam mind you). Should the whiteness mob or users of the term gammons get thrown in the clink?

Should the left be banned if their ideas offend people? Or the right? Or those somewhat irritating centrist dads? Muslims, Christians, trans activists?

There’ll always been someone that takes the hump at things someone else says. What kind of totalitarianism will satisfy your desire here?
Reported.

Reported.
That’s the spirit Doc. Soon we’ll all be dobbing each other in, and what a wonderful world it will be.

The colours of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people going by
I see friends shaking hands sayin' how do you do
They're really sayin' I love you.

Apart from the bastards that have some sort of a big deal about my problem.
It's not necessarily an issue as you know.
To some it's a matter of ridicule, to others it's 'golden showers' for £25.00.

Just a gentle reminder that 'pay in advance' is recommended.

It becomes especially so when free statement of objective facts comes into the cross hairs. The whole basis of feminism and gay rights is getting tanned at the moment, as well as objective truth. This is what happens when objective truth goes out the window, irreconcilable contradictions can’t be wished away.

I think there are safeguards in the new act to cover free speech.
Individuals and organised groups will make vaxatious and irrelevant complaints. Hopefully they will be weeded out at the reporting stage as the complaint in the OP was.

Except it wasn’t 'weeded out'. It was recorded without the person being complained about knowing. This is not a no consequence action. As wellnas potential employment implications (for example through enhanced disclosure) are you really comfortable with the police being the arbiter of hate with no due process?

Can you imagine the effort that will take, from a police force that has already substantially given up on policing actual crime vs thought crime?

And this also presupposes that things will be deemed irrelevant. Looking at the materials the cops are groomed on, I have some doubts there. And then there is Archie’s point.

Places like this forum are about to become dependent on us all operating with a high degree of trust in one another…

Sir,

There are only two ways a citizen can respond to Humza Yousaf’s Hate Crime Act, the most pernicious piece of legislation produced by any government within the territory of the UK in modern times: zip the mind, zip the lips, as acts of self-censorship, or continue to speak out on any subject we wish.

In our society the combination of freedom of thought and speech has been the rock on which democracy rests. Self-censorship, based on fear of the government and its police, will corrode and ultimately destroy what makes life here so different from regimes for whom free speech is toxic, and something they must crush. We cannot allow Scotland to take that dark road. The Act must be resisted. I intend to resist, by not changing in any way my practice of saying what I think and writing what I think. If all of us do the same, if we point blank refuse to be intimidated by a Police service that is translating itself into a Police force for one particular purpose, and stand by those it seeks to punish by joining them in repeating the alleged offence, we can render this Hate Crime Act unworkable.

This Act is an absurdity. If it nets a major writer with worldwide reputation, as some believe it will, Scotland will be rendered a laughing stock. It is our democratic duty to beat it and the key to doing that is not to be afraid. For my part, on 1st. April I intend to re-publish a speech I made in Dundee on 12th March 2023, in which I explained that women have XX Chromosomes and men XY ones, and that no legislation can make the XX become XY.

Yours etc

Jim Sillars

Edinburgh

Can you imagine the effort that will take, from a police force that has already substantially given up on policing actual crime vs thought crime?

And this also presupposes that things will be deemed irrelevant. Looking at the materials the cops are groomed on, I have some doubts there. And then there is Archie’s point.

Places like this forum are about to become dependent on us all operating with a high degree of trust in one another…
On your last point, stuff can be robust here, but I think it's done in a spirit of live and let live. But even here there's been some pile ons, often involving people who don't post so much. Can I be confident It wouldn't go down the reporting route?

Some grand sayings
Same here.
Once had a Head of Service( council) come to give a spiel.
He started off with a load of buzzwords and phrases.
A voice from the middle of the room pipes up....'Hemmin! Ony chance ye can spik fuckin english?'
'I beg your pardon?'
' yer spikkin a load of shite. Using words nae hoor kens. At disna mak ye clever.
It makes ye fuckin smarterse, n naebody likes a smarterse'.
End of meeting.

On your last point, stuff can be robust here, but I think it's done in a spirit of live and let live. But even here there's been some pile ons, often involving people who don't post so much. Can I be confident It wouldn't go down the reporting route?
I'd better get busy slagging off blacks , gays,transgender, huns, soapdodgers, women,Muslims, catholics and proddys before the 1st or I'm gonnae be right in the shit

' yer spikkin a load of shite. Using words nae hoor kens. At disna mak ye clever.
It makes ye fuckin smarterse, n naebody likes a smarterse'.
End of meeting.
Just like most of the posts on the Cooshed.

This thread has been viewed 5941 times.