Magennis

The Family

Capital Radge
Turning out to be another Drey Wright type of signing, not impressed and I don’t see what quality he brings to us, played a team of part timers today and never once stood out.

The Family'what negative comment can I make this week?I know!Mcgennis!'.

Easy for you to say 👀

I thought he had been decent coming off the bench the last couple of games, didn't impact the game today though. One cross in the first half I think, but he's not in Drey Wright territory yet.

He's missed a lot of football and I didn't really expect to see him or much of him for the rest of this season, a while ago, so ill reserve judgement for next season.
However, Mallan seems the better of the 2...

He is right though? He was shite.

Didn't show much today but again played out of position. I think I'll reserve proper judgement next season.

I thought he had been decent coming off the bench the last couple of games, didn't impact the game today though. One cross in the first half I think, but he's not in Drey Wright territory yet.

He's missed a lot of football and I didn't really expect to see him or much of him for the rest of this season, a while ago, so ill reserve judgement for next season.
However, Mallan seems the better of the 2...

Both Mallan and Magennis aren’t good enough. Recruitment failure again as we should have stayed clear with his injuries.

I'm not so quick to just write him off, despite coming in as a reaction to losing out on the sheep shagging hun, I think we were moving in for him anyway.
There will be something to him, he's just not been able to make a mark and prove it this season.
If he doesn't next season then I think he'll quickly find out that we'll move on past him.

My understanding is that in the main our head coach/manager doesn't usually specify an individual player he wants. He highlights positions he wants to strengthen and names are put to him. However, there are instances of a manager/coach wanting a specific individual player. Neil Lennon with Efe Ambrose. Paul Heckinbottom with Adam Jackson. And Kyle Magennis with Jack Ross. And Jack Ross wanted him so much he persuaded the club to invest a huge amount of money on him. I'll suggest he's a £500,000 investment. Let's hope he comes good.

Regrettably there are no signs to suggest he will improve, I hope I am wrong obviously but today I thought he offered nothing and each game I have seen him in was the same outcome.

He wasn’t great, but he wasn’t terrible either. Considering he’s been injured for so long and hasn’t started a match this year, I think it’s a bit much to be on his back already.

I’ve said previously I didn’t understand why Hibs rushed to sign him last summer, when we could have waited and come to a pre-contract agreement in January. That’s not the players’ fault though, he needs a good pre-season and a run of games before we can really judge him as a player.

I really wish he had put his chance away this week.You'd have to look a round for another scapegoat.

He will come good.

Have some patience.

Ross rates him very highly and was desperate to get him to Easter Road. Due to the bad injury he had, Covid illness and his lack of game time, the manager has already said it will be next season before we see the real Kyle Magennis.

I hope so. nothing so far

Good to see the grooming of a new scapegoat instead of the usual suspects.

Has he really been bad enough, or even played enough, to be written off?

I'd give him the benefit of the doubt just now.

I agree with what appears to be the majority, we should wait till next season to see what he offers, with some games under his belt and having had a full pre-season training.

I remember the last time we were discussing McGennis i thought then we'd have to show a bit of patience with him. The stop start nature of his injury recoveries/illness tends to mean it takes a run of games to find some form. Having said that when he he has briefly featured Id like to have seen flashes of what he might be capable of, however he hasnt shown much at all imo. Im not particularly aware of what type of player he is..and what his strengths are (yet).

I think some game time towards the end of the season followed by an uninterrupted pre season will give him a better chance to show us what he has. He seems to be pretty highly rated by those in the game so he must have something about him. He needs to hit the ground running next season tho for me.

I'm happy to have faith in JR and KM for the time being. Even though I still don't know where his position is.

Somebody up the thread a bit said he’s playing out of position. Like you I don’t know where his position is either.

Good to see the grooming of a new scapegoat instead of the usual suspects.
I do not think its scapegoat L, if players are not performing then fans will moan, its up to him to prove us wrong. He was and has been poor in what I have seen.

We havent seen that much though, J.
If he'd been a regular starter then yes, by all means weigh in but, I'm with most here.
Let's judge him after 10-15 games next season.

Somebody up the thread a bit said he’s playing out of position. Like you I don’t know where his position is either.

I thought he was a box to box central midfielder.
So far he's played mainly wide right from what I've seen.
And when he has come off the bench into central midfield, he's looked more of an advanced player.
So I've honestly not a clue either.

I thought he was a box to box central midfielder.
So far he's played mainly wide right from what I've seen.
And when he has come off the bench into central midfield, he's looked more of an advanced player.
So I've honestly not a clue either.
Wide left?

I've not a clue either........

Wide left?

I've not a clue either......

Aye, left, I meant left as he was taking Drey Wrights spot.
Cheers

See, clueless 🙈

He will come good.

Have some patience.

Ross rates him very highly and was desperate to get him to Easter Road. Due to the bad injury he had, Covid illness and his lack of game time, the manager has already said it will be next season before we see the real Kyle Magennis.

Maybe so but you'd think we would have seen even flashes thus far and we've seen nothing...

Im thinking he might be the type of player that needs to be at 100% fitness and strength for him to be able to play the game that suits him. Here’s hoping anyway..

To be honest I'm more concerned about Nisbet than Magennis. He doesn't have the excuse of injury / lack of consistent game time and I'd say his conversion rate of good chances to goals is well short of what I'd expect based on the hype.

But nowhere near as bad as Doidge.

Agreed but he's not a Ross signing and his performances are very much in line with my expectations. Which are low.

Nissy has excuses. Ironically two very positive Hibs fans discussing the wee tiny issues two good players have.

I'm not slating Nisbet, I'm more sticking up for Magennis. Just saying that considering their respective circumstances I'm more concerned about Nisbet than Magennis. Everything is relative though, I'm not particularly concerned about either.

Some players join us with a decent reputation, but can't live up to the hype when playing for a bigger club. Liam Craig and Danny Swanson come to mind.

This thread has been viewed 3795 times.