Zitelli

westsidehibs

Thoughts ?
Probably one of the best striker's I have seen at Easter Road.

One of the most overrated. He scored 10 goals for us....in 51 games but most were crackers!!

Ability was definitely there but we didn’t see it enough but the YouTube videos and memories of Fir Park, Dens and AEK goals are overriding for most.

To be honest...I expected more from Zitelli than we actually got.

That's maybe being unfair on the guy because he was a talented striker.
In those days I had too high expectations of players coming to Hibs.

He came to a fantastic Hibs team, and he certainly added to it.

I remember being at his debut against St Johnstone at McDairmid Park. Travelled up in the car with my brother. Hibs won 3-0 in one of the most one-sided games I have ever been to. He scored a fine, well taken goal, and the following week he scored the only goal of the game in a 1-0 win over the huns at Easter Road. I just thought he would be better than he was.

He was probably over hyped before he came to Hibs, in the same way De La Cruz was.
Both players were actually very good for Hibs, but the fans were wrongly built up at the time to expect world beaters.

and the following week he scored the only goal of the game in a 1-0 win over the huns at Easter Road.
...and the week after that I think he got a goal in a certain match too!

Some moments of magic but for a huge investment the return was minimal.

Think he rattled the chops of a Marseille player in Lorient during a pre season unfriendly

Thoughts ?
Stevie Cowan for me

He was good, not great, but capable of the spectacular.

21st century cult hero for me rather than an all time great. He sits well with the likes of Benji, Zoomer, the Polar Bear and King Dom.

And Jimmy Boco.

No chance, scoring rate at Hibs about half of that of Christian Doidge who loads are giving a hard time for not scoring enough!

Stevie Cowan for me
He was certainly more prolific Stevie .
But as flair and excitement I thought Zetelli was class.

No chance, scoring rate at Hibs about half of that of Christian Doidge who loads are giving a hard time for not scoring enough!
I'm not just talking about his goal ratio

Of the four players you mentioned, I would say Benji, Zemmama and Malonga were very talented players who done well for the club. Their problem in all three cases was attitude. Agree none of them are anywhere near all time Hibs greats.

Conrad Logan was a decent keeper and done very well in the short time he was at Easter Road becoming a club legend in the process. He was instrumental in our Scottish Cup success.

Stevie Cowan for me
Yup Cowan that season, and Durie, Irvine before that, Archie after, but maybe the best was Kenny Who or Deek or GOC

I'm not just talking about his goal ratio
Fair enough - but nothing about him stands out for me apart from the spectacular goals - maybe you can remember more than I can - goals he created etc. But, not for me - nowhere near the best.

He was a brilliant striker, but his best days were behind him when he reached us. Glimpses of brilliance, but he probably encapsulated the folly of bringing in ageing stars on big money for little return.

During my time watching Hibs, strikers as good or better than Zitelli include Alan Gordon, Ally McLeod, Gordon Durie, Stevie Cowan, Steve Archibald, Garry O'Connor, Paul and Keith Wright, Derek Riordan, Kenny Miller, Willie Irvine, Darren Jackson and recently Kevin Nisbet.

Add Chris Killen to that list ?

How did I forget about Keef and Daz! Yup in addition to my list, those two too.

Didnt see enough of Paul W due to that He@rts thug Berry to put him on the list, too early to say for me for Kevin NIsbet.

Never saw Alan Gordon and never liked Ally that much.

Thoughts ?

He scored some lovely goals, but I wouldn’t put him down as one of the best strikers. From the time Zitelli signed for Hibs I’d say Mixu, O’Connor, Riordan, Stokes, Fletcher, Griffiths & Cummings were all better strikers.

All about opinions of course .
I'd have zitelli anytime over doidge

He scored some lovely goals, but I wouldn’t put him down as one of the best strikers. From the time Zitelli signed for Hibs I’d say Mixu, O’Connor, Riordan, Stokes, Fletcher, Griffiths & Cummings were all better strikers.

Bugger missed Mixu and Sparky on my list.

No heard from him in ages.Is he still working in the bins?Lets have an Israel debate.Oh that Zitelli!Aye he was pretty good too.Mind his goal against the huns,our pal Pogo missed it going to the bog.

never liked Ally that much.
What????

Two of the best as well!

Stevie Cowan for me
mind him being quite slow...liked him likes..... but him and dury were excellant together....

loved zitelli tae

Deeks, Leigh - wonderful strikers of the ball, Zitelli could dae that tae. Stevie Archibald - just loved it when he signed! .. loved it even mair when he slipped the 2nd past the permed pervert henry smith at their shithole.

Loved Keef keef keef tae

I have Zitelli’s shirt from the AEK game, spectacularly outjumped @southfieldhibby when he chucked it in the terracing at full time..

Zitelli was exciting but fell short I thought.
Archigoal just oozed class. He had a choice of signing for us or Liverpool and chose us. Unthinkable now.

Whatever happened to Zitellis heid? He was an interesting poster, miss his input.

Only saw him at the second half of his career with us, looked fat and lazy to my young eyes

ooops me too - seems there has been thousands of strikers (inc Stokes, Fletcher ... ) I rate miles ahead of Zitelli (obviously not Doige, despite his far superior strike rate at Hibs)

Keith Keith Keith Keith.

Leigh is the outstanding candidate for best in my lifetime I think.
Followed by Derek. Fletch and Garry following.

2 of the most naturally talented strikers of a ball.
Both possibly could have done far more.

I seen Keith Wright, Stevie Crawford, Craig Brewster, Mixu and Darren Jackson, but I was too young to really appreciate whether or not they were good.
I can remember liking Dirk Lehmann, record isn't very impressive though. So that might tell its own story ?‍♂️

Only saw him at the second half of his career with us, looked fat and lazy to my young eyes
Yes Ally McLeod often looked like a man doing an impression of someone wading through treacle but 99 goals in 208 appearances puts him alongside almost any other Hibs striker you care to mention. Maybe not the best Hibs player I've ever seen, but definitely one of my favourites.

Difficult to mention Alan Gordon without including Jimmy O'Rourke imo

I have Zitelli’s shirt from the AEK game, spectacularly outjumped @southfieldhibby when he chucked it in the terracing at full time..
Thuggishly elbowed me in the throat as David tried to pass his top to me more like it

Two of the best as well!

Ye get to my age, you miss out whole eras!

I can remember liking Dirk Lehmann, record isn't very impressive though. So that might tell its own story ?‍♂️

Aw naw, missed pornstar too.

Best for me is a peak Derek Riordan

Wow man

The amount of goals from outside the box.....can't think of any other player in Scotland who did that on such a consistent basis

I'm 29 so forgive me for missing out others

Ye get to my age, you miss out whole eras!
Quote of the week!

Best for me is a peak Derek Riordan

Wow man

The amount of goals from outside the box.....can't think of any other player in Scotland who did that on such a consistent basis

I'm 29 so forgive me for missing out others
I've got a decade on you and Deek would be number 1 for me too. So good.

This thread has been viewed 3447 times.