Unionists

Hattie

Sorry but i fuckin really think they are ignorant, dumb as fuck, hate their country, vote as per the football team they support šŸ™ˆ, or simply scared and naive.
why the feck would anyone Vote, basically for. ANOTHER countrys govt, who have and are still, destroying the very country they live in???
I will never understand that, ever!
Im sick of the ā€œdont like Salmondā€ now its ā€œ dont like Nicolaā€ it mayters not a fuckin jot, thats a pathetic excuse!!!!
An indy Scotland would vote in the government it wanted!! For Scotland!
for the first time in centuries Scotland would have a government it actually voted for. Who in their right mind doesnā€™t want that? šŸ¤·ā€ā™‚ļø

Sorry but i fuckin really think they are ignorant, dumb as fuck, hate their country, vote as per the football team they support šŸ™ˆ, or simply scared and naive.
why the feck would anyone Vote, basically for. ANOTHER countrys govt, who have and are still, destroying the very country they live in???
Im sick of the ā€œdont like Salmondā€ now its ā€œ dont like Nicolaā€ it mayters not a fuckin jot, thats a pathetic excuse!!!!
for the first time in centuries Scotland would have a government it actually voted for. Who in their right mind doesnā€™t want that? šŸ¤·ā€ā™‚ļø
I donā€™t so much those with genuine belief that it would be a mistake and want to remain in the union. I disagree with it but itā€™s a democracy, thatā€™s their right and opinion. What I do hate is those who hold on to the union because of sectarian or bigoted reasons, believing this makes them one of ā€˜ra peepulā€™. Just perpetuating the unionist belief because it ties in with their notion of supremacy. Before anyone jumps in, i contend that it does still exist in Scotland. Voting to stay in a union because of tribal sympathies and adherence to a unionist culture steeped in the past. Thatā€™s what pisses me off

There are plenty who vote because of their team just as there are those who vote with an anti English sentiment . I'm for it because i think its time to try something different though i'm not 100 % convinced its totally right . At the end of the day i don't get upset about it because everyone has the right to vote as they see fit regardless of reasons

I'm just flabbergasted that the tory bastards are doing so well in England despite the corruption, bodies piled in the streets, cronyism, nepotism, international law breaking and I don't know where to start with Brexit although I think the worst has still to come. And to make matters worse almost 50% of people living in Scotland think its a good idea to be part of it!

I might be a bit behind here but a tory bastard got a constituency seat in the Highlands with more the 15,000 votes. Of all the areas in the UK, never mind Scotland, the Highlands must be one of the worst affected areas by Brexit so far and the Borders most effected by the covid ridden English government's poor handling of the pandemic with all the Graham's and Mahargs crossing the border and stealing sheep!

Independence is the solution for Scotland. If you're not for it you're part of the English problem.

vote as per the football team they support šŸ™ˆ,

I've just been thinking about this again reading Powers post informing us that the new SNP MSP for East Lothian is a good Hibby.

The leader in Westminster is a good Hibby; the husband of the leader in Holyrood is a good Hibby and there's a few others too that are Hibby's in the SNP.

It's maybe not voting as per the team they support but they, the supporters that mold the team [support/club]. Or something like that lol

Hibs are an open welcoming club, a forward thinking club that likes to think its fair with a bit of flair; the Lawrie Reilly Fx I like to call it. A bit like the SNPs vision of Scotland.

Independence is the solution for Scotland. If you're not for it you're part of the English problem.
Problem is, as long as the status quote remains, all Scots will be dragged into the whirlpool, even those like yourself who can see whatā€™s going on

Yup, it's frustrating.

I live your pain.
I watch and listen to our not so great leaders, such as Johnson ,Gove , JRM, Patel, Douglas Ross , Ruth the mooth , Farage and many others . I shake my head in disbelief , wondering just what the fuck some others actually see and hear when they do likewise.
it must be something they put in their tea, or that vaccine!!!!!

I'm just flabbergasted that the tory bastards are doing so well in England despite the corruption, bodies piled in the streets, cronyism, nepotism, international law breaking
Unfortunately none of the above are the sole responsibility of any one party, although the tories do have it down to a fine art.
With the demise of the Monster Raving Loonies you'd be hard pushed to find a party that wasnt guilty of most of that to some extent or other.
Politics is rotten to the core whatever the colour of the rosette.

I've just been thinking about this again reading Powers post informing us that the new SNP MSP for East Lothian is a good Hibby.

The leader in Westminster is a good Hibby; the husband of the leader in Holyrood is a good Hibby and there's a few others too that are Hibby's in the SNP.

It's maybe not voting as per the team they support but they, the supporters that mold the team [support/club]. Or something like that lol

Hibs are an open welcoming club, a forward thinking club that likes to think its fair with a bit of flair; the Lawrie Reilly Fx I like to call it. A bit like the SNPs vision of Scotland.
I know lots of huns who vote because (i think) it makes them staunch / a real Rangers man etc etc . I honestly can't think of a worse way of choosing who to vote for than football . Vote for who the fuck you like but do it for sensible reasons ffs

I think there are many reasons for Unionism but not all unionists are flag waving nationalist tories.
Two types that get on my wick are the boomers who did okay out of the union and are selfishly holding back progress for the subsequent generations.
The other type is people who have an issue with any type of nationalism yet support parties with staunch unionist policies and tie themselves in knots attempting to rationalise it.

I'm just flabbergasted that the tory bastards are doing so well in England despite the corruption, bodies piled in the streets, cronyism, nepotism, international law breaking and I don't know where to start with Brexit although I think the worst has still to come. And to make matters worse almost 50% of people living in Scotland think its a good idea to be part of it!

I might be a bit behind here but a tory bastard got a constituency seat in the Highlands with more the 15,000 votes. Of all the areas in the UK, never mind Scotland, the Highlands must be one of the worst affected areas by Brexit so far and the Borders most effected by the covid ridden English government's poor handling of the pandemic with all the Graham's and Mahargs crossing the border and stealing sheep!

A lengthy but unusually sensible post.

Only kidding.

It wasnā€™t that long.

Where i live almost everyone supports the orcs (largest the rangers supporters club in the world) yet the Western isle's were the first seat that the SNP one way back in time , and continues to vote SNP. Strange i know.

What on earth is this balderbash about Jack. Must be a slow news day.

As it stands the neighbours next door to you have a a high probability of having less brains than a petrified, self loathing amoeba, amigo? Shirley not.

Where i live almost everyone supports the orcs (largest the Huns supporters club in the world) yet the Western isle's were the first seat that the SNP one way back in time , and continues to vote SNP. Strange i know.
The SNP's Christina McKelvie held Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse
Must be a fair number of Huns vote SNP. To draw any meaningful conclusion would be fatuous in my opinion.

Johnson's popularity in England outside of London is intriguing. I've got a few theories.

Most people in the UK have no interest in politics. As long as they have a job, can feed their bairns, keep a roof over their heads and maybe get a holiday every summer they couldn't really care less who is in power. Every five years however, they are asked to vote for a party. If their lives are still OK many of those people will vote for whoever is in power at the moment rather than risk the alternative. If things have went pear shaped in their lives, they will vote for the alternative so long as they are not led by someone unsuitable to be in the office of Prime Minister. The Tories are the natural party of government in England and always will be. It's a right leaning nation. The only time the Tories are kicked out is when things have went so badly in the economy that those aforementioned peoples individual lives have been affected and their standards of living declined.

Most people in England and Wales wanted the UK out of the EU, and voted accordingly to a straight forward simple question. Outside of London, there was a substantial amount of people in England and Wales who wanted the UK to leave the European Union. Labour were seen by these people as obstructing the Brexit decision and indeed calling for another referendum because the result of the 2016 one did not suit them. Johnson and his Brexiteers told them they would get Brexit done and they voted for him because of this. He got Britain out the EU, so in their eyes he did what he promised to do, so they will vote for him and his party again, which they now have done. Labour is in deep trouble at Westminster. They have completely lost touch with it's core support in the north, mainly for the reasons I have just given, but also because they just don't speak their language any more. Labour needs to apologise for (what many perceive) is it's obstructiveness over the Brexit vote. IMO Lisa Nandy should have been the leader after Corbyn. Being from the north of England she understands voters there and she also knows Labour has to atone to them for it's behaviour in parliament over the Brexit vote before it can recover their support. She is more in touch with their core support in England than Sir Keir Starmer will ever be.

In Scotland, it's a different problem Labour have. Scotland has been completely divided as a nation by yet another referendum in 2014. It has lost too many voters to the SNP, but I would argue that many SNP voters do not necessarily support independence. They just think they are the best of a bad lot in Scotland and Sturgeon is the most effective candidate for First Minister. There has never been a majority in Scotland for independence. It has far more support now than it ever has done, but not enough IMO to win a vote to such an extent that the creation of a separate scottish state can be justified. Scotland is a cautious nation. Many people here are still tied to the union and always will be, for whatever reason. They feel safer...it's too much of a risk to go the other way...they still feel as much British as they do Scottish....whatever it is, that feeling still permeates through much of the scottish populace. This might change in time, but until such time as there is a substantial majority in support of Scottish independence I cannot see the justification for another vote so soon after the last one. The SNP and the Yes movement would be far better served by continuing to try to drum up support for their cause amongst the scottish people rather than continually moaning at Johnson for not giving them the referendum they want. He won't, and neither will any Westminster Tory Prime Minister.

Referendums are wrongly seen as a solution to a problem by so many politicians. In reality, they just create more problems. I don't like them.

Just to finish. The Covid-19 disaster and how we collectively recover from it is going to be the biggest challenge for Scotland and everywhere else in the UK for the next five years and more. IMO this is what we need to face up to more than anything else.

Being a lefty,I can understand folk sticking with Labour come hell or high water.Having read books like The Ragged Trousered Philanphropist I can understand the worker voting for their bosses party.Especially if the party that is supposed to be your party has shat on you from a great hight for 30 odd years.Look at Hartlepool, don't believe the hype it wasnae Corbyn,Corbyn led Labour won twice in Hartlepool.The people of Hartlepool voted for Brexit,Labour hummed and hawed,they could have led a left Brexit after all that would have been the Benn, Crow, Morning Star, SWP, RMT,my position, but instead they sat on two horses and fell off one.Now the Tories said'don't worry back us and we'll give you a Brexit' and guess what?They did.
Then the story goes out from the media 'the People of Hartlepool have rejected Labour' they wheel on about 4 people (strangely in huge xxL raincoats) one with a beard and a hoard of badges and one of these shitty leather cowboy hats, another 'I used to be a shop steward but I'm alright now' who says 'I used to be a shop steward but Hartlepool has moved on' weirdy beard says;; 'Corbyn scared the shit out of me and I didn't understand Starmer' as if, another beardy man, promising to renationalise things and giving your kids laptops was scary.
Back to the Stickies, because I've gone off pistte as they say in Morningside. The Huns. Why would a plumber fae Airdrie support the Union? Because as a famous Socialist fae the Coogate once said it's like tuppance happney looking down on tuppance, if it makes you feel a bit better than your neighbours voting for the 'winning' ideology you'll go for it. If jingoism, lazy xenophobia, fishing rights gives you a job on a trawler or a fish market or if you know somebody that it does, then why not go for it?. If your Hunnish team keeps winning the League, why go for a team that never gets out the First Division? It's simple the Tories keep winning.

I just think down here in hobbiton, as bad as the tories are, there is no viable alternative. Labour are damaged goods and the Liberal Democratā€™s are about as much use as a cheeseburger to a drowning elephant. The political landscape is beyond bleak down here. I think thatā€™s why a lot of people here vote Tory. Not my personal stance by the way, just saying I think thatā€™s why the tories still get votes down here despite how vile they are.

I can understand Starmer's strategy of trying to become electable by not alienating eg Brexit voters, it's a logical approach on the face of it. However it has comprehensively failed and Labour are destined for a generation on the sidelines unless they regroup, figure out what they stand for, and concentrate all their efforts on convincing people that their way is the right way, regardless of whether that's initially unpopular. Constantly treading on eggshells and sitting on the fence in an attempt to chummy up to the electorate just isn't working.

They can't relitigate brexit but if they think it's going badly they need to say so and say what they're going to do about it. They can't go full lefty because half the party doesn't even want that, never mind the electorate so they need to paint some kind of centre left vision that people can engage with. And convince the left of the party that a step to the left is at least progress even if it's not the destination they want.

It's a massive uphill struggle because the English electorate seem to have been won over to a bad place of flag shagging and othering. But Labour simply can't win that struggle without a core set of principles that the party can unite behind and start the long, hard slog of communicating to the population. And that's going to need grass roots activism to drive the engagement so they need to stop alienating the people who are prepared to pound the streets.

The feet pounders can't wait on Labour to get some sort of act together. If the left don't do it the Union Jacks will start appearing with swastikas in the corner. There was huge support for the NHS in this last year. The left has to build the biggest support for a pro NHS demo ready for when this pandemic is declared sorted.

I can understand Starmer's strategy of trying to become electable by not alienating eg Brexit voters, it's a logical approach on the face of it.
An approach like being the cheer leader for a second Brexit referendum and imposing candidates on local activists giving them zero say in the selection process. The candidate in Hartlepool is a case in hand but only one of many. ......right wing Blairite uber remainer and big fan of Saudi Arabia who lost his seat in 2019.

that's going to need grass roots activism to drive the engagement so they need to stop alienating the people who are prepared to pound the streets.
I agree with that, however at present that is highly unlikely. As I have reported elsewhere since his election Starmer has abandoned all his 10 progressive pledges on which he stood. Along with his hand picked General Sectetary, buddy of and ex employee of Tony Blair, David Evans have undertaken a full scale unprecedented purge of left activists, with hundreds of Chairs and Secretaries of local Parties being suspended for having the temerity of allowing resolutions to be heard and discussed by rank and file members, giving support to Corbyn and calling for his reinstatement following Starmers lunacy of removing the Labour Whip from him. Right wing Labour MPs who continuously aided the Big Business owned MSM by publically attacking Corbyn since day one in 2015, may have curried favour with Starmer by doing so and been rewarded with Shadow Front Bench portfolios. By and large they are dud hacks. However as it says in the Good Book you reap what you sow. That came to pass yesterday.
Across the UK thousands of activists like myself, who had done faithfully for years. not being prone to be used as doormats, said fuck this and abandoned campaigning in light of these disgracfull machinations and manoeuvring,

So what about all the unionists that support celtc or Hibs?

I was a tad tipsy, my main gripe is the tories and the idiotic football team voters

Difference is they don't support the union for flag waving reasons.

Me

This thread has been viewed 1524 times.

Ā£100.00
Ā£47.50