The Hibs are Here - Miller to Millennium

GORDONSMITH7

Really looking forward to this book.

Released on March 29th. Pre order is available.

EuR97JwXUAU-v9v.jpeg

The Hibs are Here is the follow-up to Ian Colquhoun's previous book onHibernian Football Club: From Oblivion to Hampden. That culminated in the club's successful League Cup winning season in 1991/92. This next volume is subtitled Miller to Millennium and charts the period from 1992 through to 1999. With fresh insight via exclusive interviews with a number of the club's players, coaches and managers, Colquhoun threads these together with a fan narrative and analysis of that iconic decade. He relives the joy of a UEFA Cup run, reaching another cup final and an historic third-placed finish in the Scottish Premiership; the highs and lows of an instant promotion following relegation; and the heartbreak of losing that final and two semi-final defeats. From the pen of a passionate Hibs fan who was there for it all, The Hibs are Here is a wonderful trip down memory lane for any Hibernian supporter.

BIG

Looks good - also have it on pre-order

I have on on pre order too, miss Ian on here, although still keep in touch as he only lives a few streets from me.

There’s a book about Hibs in the 80s in the pipeline from another hibby author too

Will definitely get this.

St. Patrick's Branch is sometimes referred to as the Provisional wing of the Hibernian Supporters Association by detractors .
I rather take the view that we are the thinking man's Branch, with authors Sandy Macnair, Ian Collquhoun, Ted Brack, historian and journalist Ian S Wood and Bobby Sinnet all members.

Just pre ordered.

Matty Fairnie of the splendid Longbangers tells me that they are going to arrange to get Ian on the show. Look forward to hear him discuss the players that he talked to in preparation for the book.

St. Patrick's Branch is sometimes referred to as the Provisional wing of the Hibernian Supporters Association by detractors .
I rather take the view that we are the thinking man's Branch, with authors Sandy Macnair, Ian Collquhoun, Ted Brack, historian and journalist Ian S Wood and Bobby Sinnet all members.

By detractors?I thought it was admirers.

Got my copy - I’m enjoying it.

the player interviews are really good, but they don’t half witter on about how good Alex Miller was.

Stockholm syndrome I think it’s called.

Id like to see Darren Jackson back at Easter road at some point.

Just to wave to the fans like.

the player interviews are really good, but they don’t half witter on about how good Alex Miller was.

Only confirms what I thought was the case based on many interviews i've read with players who played at that time. They all to a man thought he was a fantastic manager, and he got the best out of them and improved them as players. I remember chatting to Keith Wright about 15 years ago and he said the same thing.

For me, Alex Miller was one of the best managers Hibs have had in my lifetime.

Agree about Darren Jackson. Great player, and Hibs were lucky to have got the best five years of his career between 1992 and 1997.

There’s a book about Hibs in the 80s in the pipeline from another hibby author too
What book?

He owns a minibus company now, he may have been back to ER already?

Just to wave to the fans like.
He'd probably be more mobile now than a few we've played in the past.

A few years ago Willie Miller our Scottish League Cup winning legend was at a family party as he's a family friend. I got talking to him about these wonderful years 1991-1995. Great chats. However, I slagged off Alex Miller a wee bit and nope he wasn't having it. Looking back I think that team underachieved.

It sure as hell did in the derbies ?

Argghh I wish you hadnt said that - made me go and look at his dismal record in them again - its not like I wasn't at all of them (bar one, and we only went and won that one!) anyhow. Awful. Im not someone who thinks that beating that lot is the be all and end all (I much prefer beating the huns) but jeezo how he got away with that record for ten years I dont know.
Looking back he probably wasnt as bad a manager as I thought at the time, but 10 years is way too long to be in the job, unless you are Ferguson obvs.

I think there was a run of 7 games that we didn't score against them. Sadly he like our current club captain just treated it like "another game". ?

I agree his record in derbies was poor, and I will not even attempt at trying to defend it. What I would say however is that two factors have to be taken into account. (One) Hearts just had a better team than Hibs for the majority of the time between 1986 and 1996, and (Two) they had John Robertson.

In the early 90's...between say 1991 and 1994..things were much more even between the two teams and arguably Hibs had the better team during those three years. It helped that Miller was given some decent money to spend after the Farmer takeover. This was reflected in much improved derby results for us during that period. From 1995 onwards till 1999 Hearts again regained the upper hand, I would say that Miller's last two years at Hibs (1995 and 1996) were severely hampered by the massive costs of building the Famous Five Stand and the South Stand.

I agree he stayed far too long as manager. This would never happen now.

RE Robertson; We had no striker even near him in terms of goalscoring ability. In many derbies during Miller's time Hibs had the better of the game, or it was fairly even. Robertson made the difference invariably either scoring the goal or goals that won Hearts the game or saving them from defeat. He is their all time top goalscorer, and as we all know, he specialised in goals in derby matches.

I think that’s the definition of a paradox

A book I would love to read would be the definitive account of Duff/Gray, the Mercer takeover bid, Hands Off Hibs and Tom Farmer's acquisition. Surprised it hasn't been attempted after all this time, probably too late now.

I agree his record in derbies was poor, and I will not even attempt at trying to defend it. What I would say however is that two factors have to be taken into account. (One) Hearts just had a better team than Hibs for the majority of the time between 1986 and 1996, and (Two) they had John Robertson.

In the early 90's...between say 1991 and 1994..things were much more even between the two teams and arguably Hibs had the better team during those three years. It helped that Miller was given some decent money to spend after the Farmer takeover. This was reflected in much improved derby results for us during that period. From 1995 onwards till 1999 Hearts again regained the upper hand, I would say that Miller's last two years at Hibs (1995 and 1996) were severely hampered by the massive costs of building the Famous Five Stand and the South Stand.

I agree he stayed far too long as manager. This would never happen now.

RE Robertson; We had no striker even near him in terms of goalscoring ability. In many derbies during Miller's time Hibs had the better of the game, or it was fairly even. Robertson made the difference invariably either scoring the goal or goals that won Hearts the game or saving them from defeat. He is their all time top goalscorer, and a we all know, he specialised in goals in derby matches.
Am not praising him. Lucky wee barsteward imo. Couldnae hack it down south. Scored off his arse, hit of him and in, scuffed goals... aye in the right place at the right time..... which invariable was the 6yard line. Him, and those gunt teams of the time were very very lucky in derbies... and as alluded to by Miller on vast sums of money compared to the Hibernian teams he had. The perverts also had the luck to dominate in the ludicrous 4x per seasn we have now. We would have racked up twice the derby wins we did in the 70's.

I disagree they had the betterv team for the vast majority. Whether you like or not they had carthorses all over - kenny black? shite. Medals mckay? (the rascist bastard) shite. Neil pointon? Shite henry (drop the ball) smith? shite neil berry? shite hugh burns? shite mike galloway? shite walter feckin kid? shite jimmy sandison? shite brian whittaker? shite ian jardine? shite scott crabbe? shite wayne foster? shite... I could go on and on, but even mentioning these wankers is a stain on the bounce.

They were lucky lucky bastards in the vast majority of their wins versus us. The amount of draws they scrapped from the jaws of defeat beggars belief!

Fucking perverts.

This thread has been viewed 1723 times.