Scotland National Team

That was our first international championship in 23 years....Croatia were World Cup finalists three years ago.

Rather than blaming players and managers, we would be better off looking at what similar sized countries like Croatia and Denmark are doing right compared to us.

Scotland are getting better, but we are still some way off being a competitive nation at international level.

To make this worse, walks like, runs like, talks like a girl, diver, Sterling scores another girly three points goal for England.

From a so called Socialist that's a pathetic comment.

Maybe we should be looking at Wales who are smaller than us?

Scotland have played well

Armstrong is the worst player on the park though
Very disappointing. He’s a decent player but didn’t turn up.
Quality goal from a quality player
Aye. He’s no youngster but total class.
Dykes is one poor player
He is a stinking goal scorer. I can understand why he gets a game, but it’s not really working.
Made a decent number of chances in each game but persisted with forwards who showed no sign of being able to convert them.
Our forwards seem to lack the ability to score but apparently are better at setting up chances for a goal scorer.
Which we don’t have.

Very disappointing. He’s a decent player but didn’t turn up.

Aye. He’s no youngster but total class.

He is a stinking goal scorer. I can understand why he gets a game, but it’s not really working.

Our forwards seem to lack the ability to score but apparently are better at setting up chances for a goal scorer.
Which we don’t have.

Should’ve taken Griffiths? 🤷‍♂️

If he is fit and his head isnae full of bubbles, then he should have been there. I’ve no idea if he’s physically or mentally up to scratch though.

They don't guarantee wins but they win far more than they lose. Only need to look at who wins the SPL every year. Teams have a better chance in cup tournaments but again it is harder when it is played as a league, we tend to show up for the biggest games and have no energy for the others. Scotland have a few good players but overall the quality is nowhere near required.
Also I am a bit fed up hearing how we are a small nation of 5-6m people. Wales are half our size as are Ireland but consistently pull out better results

This was tournament fitbaw, 3 games not 38. Give your all, attack, have no regrets… Scotland done none of that, just happy to be there. Losers mentality.

I never said it guaranteed results. Most of the time, if one team has far superior players, that team wins.
If the teams are reasonably evenly matched, determination and belief can make the difference.

Take yer chances and you win fitbaw matches, plain and simple. Against the Czech’s and Croat’s Scotland created enough to win the game, and cover up the amateurish defending, but lacked the belief they could score and win the game. They turned up against England, why not the other games? Nothing to do with quality or calibre of player.

If he is fit and his head isnae full of bubbles, then he should have been there. I’ve no idea if he’s physically or mentally up to scratch though.

Even if he’s no fit and totally radge, he’d have offered more in the last 15 than either Dykes or Adams did all tournament.

Let’s no forget we qualified through a back door route, courtesy of consecutive 0-0 draws and shootout wins. Wimpering out with 1 point and 1 goal scored is about right. We’ve got some good players, but will go nowhere with a negative manager playing for draws and being too loyal to huddies.

Even if he’s no fit and totally radge, he’d have offered more in the last 15 than either Dykes or Adams did all tournament.

In terms of goal scoring I completely agree.

For a so called Bouncer and thinker you should know that back on this thread, these comments were apportioned to Sterling by someone, which I critisised and even sarcastically had Devine singing Walk like a Man.

So yourself in particular and the thumbs up guys are making a wee bit of an arse of youselves. What's new?

For a so called Bouncer you should know that back on this thread, these comments were apportioned to Sterling which I critisised and even sarcastically had Devine singing Walk like a Man.

So yourself in particular and the thumbs up guys are making wee bit of an arse of youselves. What's new?

FYI I gave a laugh response for exactly the reasons you point out above.

FFS your on the ball C thousands of miles away in Atlanta. The bold boy isnae, 5 miles away up in Gorgie. Ha ha.

Take yer chances and you win fitbaw matches, plain and simple. Against the Czech’s and Croat’s Scotland created enough to win the game, and cover up the amateurish defending, but lacked the belief they could score and win the game. They turned up against England, why not the other games? Nothing to do with quality or calibre of player.
You were doing so well.
It wasn’t a lack of belief that they could score. It was a lack of quality and composure. That’s the difference. The great players stick their chances away because they have ability and technique. Not because they are trying harder. 🤣
By your measure if only Benny Brazil had the same self belief as Ronaldo he’d have be n blasting in 30 yarders for juventus. 🤣

I didn't watch the Scotland game tonight (because I was watching the England one) so my opinion is fairly worthless. But from the bits I've seen through the whole tournament I thought Scotland, despite the end result, were quite good and basically a quality striker short of being a top 'tier two' international team.

There are opportunities in international football now for second tier sides to go deep into these tournaments. Indeed there always have been - Denmark, Greece. Even more so at the moment the top players care about their clubs more and play about 40 games for them so they're knackered and - maybe this is harsh - feel like they're participating in a friendly, or at least something less important than when they play for their main paymaster. So a well organised Scotland type side (or England if I'm brutally honest, because theres not that much difference) should be able to do some damage.

Against England Scotland looked organised and tough to beat. But not entirely without ideas and a bit of threat. And although England are very 6/10 I still think Scotland might have done similarly well against an Italy or Germany. There's a point buried in here somewhere. You celebrate when you draw with England but you also think they're shit. Does that... entirely make sense?

You need a goalscorer. There won't be loads of chances so you have to have a poacher. You didn't. The accent on defence that helps less skilled sides means that, conversely, nobody generates many chances - so you can't have that Dykes guy up front. Or Adams. I'm sure they're great and do a job, but it won't work, because between them they average a goal every 4.5 games. You need someone who will score more often than not when you get an opportunity.

"Ah, but we can't sign players!" Obviously. But a bit of me salivates over a Scotland team that got here with Leigh Griffiths in his pomp, strutting his stuff 15 yards ahead of John McGinn. I remember watching him pull off some extraordinary feat or other for Celtic or Scotland (or hibs, I try to tell myself, but it wasn't) with my father in law and him muttering, "you've got nothing like that", and he was right.

Anyway, international football is a load of nonsense anyway. GGTTH.

I hope Clarke's experiment with Dykes is over. Didn't think he played poorly, he's just not a goal scorer and it doesn't work. If we want goals, that's not the way to go.

I think he speaks in jest Moaty

We're just not good enough. Not enough players of genuine quality.
We're just a team of runners and workers, that used all their running on Friday. Croatia have a far better technical quality about them the bulk of their team have been competitive at a national standard for years.

We let them control the tempo for 60 minutes of the game and had bursts of energy spattered through the other 30.

1624435281041.png

I laugh at the idea that Socialists are apparently so more compassionate....

You were doing so well.
It wasn’t a lack of belief that they could score. It was a lack of quality and composure. That’s the difference. The great players stick their chances away because they have ability and technique. Not because they are trying harder. 🤣
By your measure if only Benny Brazil had the same self belief as Ronaldo he’d have be n blasting in 30 yarders for juventus. 🤣

Utter nonsense.

So confidence and self belief don’t affect footballers aye? Think you’ll find composure is a mental quality not a technical or physical one.

As for trying hard, how do you think the great players become great? It’s not luck and hoping for the best, it’s through sheer will and hard work. If you’ve ever read a thing about Ronaldo, you’ll know he’s the worker on and off the training pitch, he doesn’t sit back and hope his natural talent will be enough.

Well said John Collins and in particular Graeme Souness calling out our horrendous version of the beautiful game last night on ITV4. We have a lot of very good players. And we proved at Wembley that we can play. Pity we have a defensive coach that has us launching it up the park to Dykes. We will never do well at international level playing this way.

Every country takes their best players to tournaments, Scotland seem to look for reasons not to. It’s bonkers.

North Macedonia took the ancient Goran Pandev because he’s still their best player, and he scored! Bale and Ramsay had poor seasons but are crucial for Wales. Croatia still rely for the ageing Modric and Peresic, we saw what they can still do. Scotland… we leave Griffiths at home, leave Forrest and Fraser on the bench, and don’t even at least try to get our best goalkeeper out of retirement (horrible hun or no, he’s still an excellent goalkeeper).

Every country takes their best players to tournaments, Scotland seem to look for reasons not to. It’s bonkers.

North Macedonia took the ancient Goran Pandev because he’s still their best player, and he scored! Bale and Ramsay had poor seasons but are crucial for Wales. Croatia still rely for the ageing Modric and Peresic, we saw what they can still do. Scotland… we leave Griffiths at home, leave Forrest and Fraser on the bench, and don’t even at least try to get our best goalkeeper out of retirement (horrible hun or no, he’s still an excellent goalkeeper).

Spot on. One of the first calls Steve Clarke made when appointed was David Marshall. Tells its story.

IMO we gave it our best shot, but in the end we were just not good enough.

Scotland have improved in the last few years, but we still don't have enough players of genuine international quality, especially in the forward areas. Every successful international team has a reliable goalscorer, we haven't had one for many years.

I thought we looked jaded against Croatia, the Wembley match against England (only 4 days previously) clearly took a lot out of them physically and mentally, but no excuses, Croatia were in a different class and had a football artist pulling the strings for them (Modric). I would have made changes to the starting line-up with some fresh impetus but Clarke chose to be loyal to the team that done so well against England, so fair enough.

Hopefully Scotland can continue to improve. It was great to finally take part in an international Championship, I very much hope we can qualify for the Qatar World Cup next year.

Hope that’s not a serious suggestion trying to recall Allan McGregor for the tournament…..

Spot on. One of the first calls Steve Clarke made when appointed was David Marshall. Tells its story.

Feel that's harsh.
Aye he played in midfield for a goal, but he also got us through the penalties and qualifying. He justified his inclusion tbf.

Feel that's harsh.
Aye he played in midfield for a goal, but he also got us through the penalties and qualifying. He justified his inclusion tbf.

He played his part? yes. Do we have better? yes.

I
Utter nonsense.

So confidence and self belief don’t affect footballers aye? Think you’ll find composure is a mental quality not a technical or physical one.

As for trying hard, how do you think the great players become great? It’s not luck and hoping for the best, it’s through sheer will and hard work. If you’ve ever read a thing about Ronaldo, you’ll know he’s the worker on and off the training pitch, he doesn’t sit back and hope his natural talent will be enough.
I believe I can fly

Feel that's harsh.

No sure I agree there. Leigh Griffiths scored one of the penalties to get us there, yet wasn’t included. For me Clarke is far too loyal to certain players, to his determinant. Marshall is one of those, O’Donnell, Christie and Dykes the others.

Griffiths hasn’t scored for Scotland in 4 years. I don’t think he would have made a difference. Can’t believe he’s wanting to sign on again at Celtic.

Must have a game coming up against Israel soon

Feel that's harsh.
Rather have him than fuckin spotty. McGregors a prick, his bridges are well and truly burnt.

Griffiths hasn’t scored for Scotland in 4 years. I don’t think he would have made a difference. Can’t believe he’s wanting to sign on again at Celtic.

I think he would have taken any of the chances missed by Dykes.

How many starts for Scotland has had since his last goal?

I think he would have made a difference, despite his limited game time at Celtic. We’ve seen with other nations that club form and match sharpness doesn’t always matter.

Hope that’s not a serious suggestion trying to recall Allan McGregor for the tournament…..

He'll be fcukin ragin'
:52:

No really, but at the same time it proves the point that we look for reasons not to pick our best players. We can’t pick McGregor for this reason, we can’t pick Griffiths for that… so we settle for inferior options. Other countries don’t do it.

Retirement is a fairly decent reason to not pick someone though.
Shouldn't run around begging folk to play, if he doesn't wanna then he doesn't play.

He'll be fcukin ragin'
:52:
When is he ever not raging?

This thread has been viewed 9906 times.