Prince Philip deid

@cleanyman... ah mind seeing one of your posts on Hibs.net before you got papped oot. It simply said "Rule Britannia".

yer at it

@cleanyman... ah mind seeing one of your posts on Hibs.net before you got papped oot. It simply said "Rule Britannia".

yer at it
Totally

yer at it

Hes always been at it - had him on block for god knows how long

People can vote and way they wish and say so on here, but we all know that the bounce and probably the Hibs support is majority left leaning and Indy supporting, so most people with a counter opinion tend to say less, with some honourable exceptions of course.

I have been reading a little about China as they are clearly not communist anymore with exception to the leaders having full control. It could open a whole discussion on the merits of communism, socialism, capitalism etc. The leaders failed to bring communism and first suggested to find a socialist base before moving into full communism, but they need cash to survive and so tolerate entrepreneurs making money. Yet we all know the leaders are never on a par with the poor anyway as we also seen in USSR.

Been trying a long time to figure what is the best system. I too have more socialist leanings and would like to see greater equality. People though do appear to respond to capitalism. I mean how many of use here given the chance would turn down the chance to make a million or two? Would we then re-distribute the wealth with our neighbours or form a commune to share?

A very interesting study I learned of a few years back was one where a teacher trying to find a solution to the inbalance of exam results, and testing theories set out a classroom system whereby all the test results would be averaged out, so no top or bottom scores.
At first the kids were excited, they were all getting pass marks. However something interesting happened, the top scoring kids stopped working so hard, but so did the kids who usually got lower marks. The first lot deciding why should they work harder for less reward and the bottom kids thinking they would be carried through all the time. This one isolated study showed a benefit to capitalism and benefits of rewards.

Could look at many other studies that may give opposite results, however I have rarely ever heard anyone say, I have too much please share my wage with my lesser paid neighbour, or come over and take some of my furniture, I have too much and you too little. Would be great if we could all be more like that, but my cynical self tells me it wont happen in my lifetime other than on very small communal living basis.

I have been reading a little about China as they are clearly not communist anymore with exception to the leaders having full control. It could open a whole discussion on the merits of communism, socialism, capitalism etc. The leaders failed to bring communism and first suggested to find a socialist base before moving into full communism, but they need cash to survive and so tolerate entrepreneurs making money. Yet we all know the leaders are never on a par with the poor anyway as we also seen in USSR.

Been trying a long time to figure what is the best system. I too have more socialist leanings and would like to see greater equality. People though do appear to respond to capitalism. I mean how many of use here given the chance would turn down the chance to make a million or two? Would we then re-distribute the wealth with our neighbours or form a commune to share?

A very interesting study I learned of a few years back was one where a teacher trying to find a solution to the inbalance of exam results, and testing theories set out a classroom system whereby all the test results would be averaged out, so no top or bottom scores.
At first the kids were excited, they were all getting pass marks. However something interesting happened, the top scoring kids stopped working so hard, but so did the kids who usually got lower marks. The first lot deciding why should they work harder for less reward and the bottom kids thinking they would be carried through all the time. This one isolated study showed a benefit to capitalism and benefits of rewards.

Could look at many other studies that may give opposite results, however I have rarely ever heard anyone say, I have too much please share my wage with my lesser paid neighbour, or come over and take some of my furniture, I have too much and you too little. Would be great if we could all be more like that, but my cynical self tells me it wont happen in my lifetime other than on very small communal living basis.
It doesn't have to be either extreme. A world where Jeff Bezos can be loaded but not obscenely wealthy and the poorest in society can afford to eat and heat their homes would be a start.

In this very sad and mournful time it's only right and proper Her Majesty's Government withdraw from all parliamentary and public events for at least a week and if they think they can get away with it probably a lot longer.

Its not as if there's fuck all going on.

Belfast is burning as one of the many adverse consequences of Brexit; England begins to open up again this week after months of lockdown amid the worst global pandemic in over a century, made worse in the UK by one of the most inept leaders in the world who has yet to acknowledge the 116,000+ deaths; Rishi Bawsack under intense scrutiny for pressuring the Treasury into bunging former tory PM and pig fucker Cameron a few million. To list but just a few.

While the government has gone into hiding, again, avoiding questions from all corners I doubt Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, Earl of Merioneth and Baron Greenwich will be all that's buried this week.

In this very sad and mournful time it's only right and proper Her Majesty's Government withdraw from all parliamentary and public events for at least a week and if they think they can get away with it probably a lot longer.

Its not as if there's fuck all going on.

Belfast is burning as one of the many adverse consequences of Brexit; England begins to open up again this week after months of lockdown amid the worst global pandemic in over a century, made worse in the UK by one of the most inept leaders in the world who has yet to acknowledge the 116,000+ deaths; Rishi Bawsack under intense scrutiny for pressuring the Treasury into bunging former tory PM and pig fucker Cameron a few million. To list but just a few.

While the government has gone into hiding, again, avoiding questions from all corners I doubt Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, Earl of Merioneth and Baron Greenwich will be all that's buried this week.
So, dae yi reckon Boris snuck into Buck hoose and held a pillae over the Chookieembras napper?:eek:

And yet he won medals with the Royal Navy. He cannot be held responsible for the choices of his family. There was a full list of things he said on BBC weblink that were deemed to be racist or bigoted. A couple of them definately were, althought they were exactly the things scriptwriters were writing in In sickness and in health and Love thy neighbour and no doubt repeated by millions up and down the country as a copy cat joke. He lacked wisdom in that respect and a couple of the jokes were definately out of date by the time he repeated them, but to be honest most seemed to be meant as jokes and I suspect a lot of people he spoke to took them that way. He said to a Scots driving instructor, "How do you get the people here to remain off the wagon long enough" words may differ a little, but I found that quite funny.

Netflix showed him up as a bit of a lad in his younger day, no doubt the same as many people here were, it is what comes with youth until you find maturity, and has been pointed out his Parents were not much around to be role models. I never much liked the guy but after the Crown on Netflix I actually had some sympathy towards him. He never really wanted the his wife to become Queen, particularly so soon as he knew he would lose a lot of freedom to continue in the RN and meet his mates. Eventually he buckled down and not many people stay married for as long as them.

I am not particularly a Royalist and never have been, but I do respect the commitment the Queen has shown, though little time for most of the rest of the family and I would be quite happy if it ended after this regime, or at least toned down. I have other views which are too long to go into.

Lastly on Unionist, not all Unionists are or have to be Huns/Hearts supporters although I accept many are. I voted indy at last election but even since then my attitude has changed a lot. Maybe because I have an English daughter in law now and also that one son is in the military that I see we all have a common goal to protect our country and having fought alongside the rest of the UK I am not in a rush anymore to become a small independent country within Europe having little say over the Angela Merkels of the world. I expect there are other Hibs supporters who are quite happy to remain in the Union, but maybe they steer clear of the bounce. I notice the UK are going to protect a couple of fishing areas that are being ripped by European boats, the EU are up in arms about it, the same people who claim to want to save the oceans, yet are fighting for the right to fish in a very small area, already published as a protected area and almost stripped dry of sea creatures, yet the same people hide behind a teeny lassie called Greta and expect us to listen to them.

Sorry I veered a little, guess was replying to a few threads there

RIP Phillip
Unionism is valid opinion but given Brexit, a right wing Tory Gov that couldn’t care less for Scotland and an embarrassment of a Prime Minister, the case for independence has never been stronger. Rather be a sovereign nation in Merkels Europe than a just Colony in a Tory UK.

So, dae yi reckon Boris snuck into Buck hoose and held a pillae over the Chookieembras napper?:eek:
Not at all.

But his death was not unexpected. There were rumours in January when he was hospitalised that his time was up. Besides avoiding scrutiny for the turmoil the country is currently experiencing I wouldn't put it past the torys to be up to no good while we're all distracted.

There has never been a catholic PM. A bit unusual dont you think?
Btw i do not care what religion anyone is, its the discrimination that does ma nut in
Any more unusual than Hibs never having fielded an Italian though ?

Really?

really what ??

As in its quite different than Hibs not playing an international out of the hundreds of internationals possible. Compared to basically 2 “main”religions in uk over centuries

I guess these things are what you want them to be . I assume that when the main parties select a new leader they have to be protestant incase they win an election ? I assume also they are all red hot religious types like all of us ? Sorry mate i just don't buy that

Tbf i dont think they are all religious at all.
I dont care, im assuming you don’t either.
I just find religious discrimination the same as racism
But over 3/4 hundred years no catholic PM is clearly something that just hasn’t happened imo.
How does it happen? I dont know but thems the facts mate.
I couldn’t care what religion anyone is, definitely wouldn’t discriminate against anyone
I was just pointing out a strange “coincidence” which is the establishment of the UK

Joe T? 😁

A few openly unionists post on here
Disnae look like a unionist post tae me just an opinion, but then again no doubt if you disagree you'll be calling it racist or bigoted.
I ken at least 1 Hibs fan , of irish catholic ancestry that voted against independence, does that make him a unionist ?

Next weeks scottish games look to be called off for his funeral. Joke

But over 3/4 hundred years no catholic PM is clearly something that just hasn’t happened imo.
I couldn’t care what religion anyone is, definitely wouldn’t discriminate against anyone
I was just pointing out a strange “coincidence” which is the establishment of the UK
Aye fair enough Stu , i couldnt give a shite what religion (if any at all) the next PM may be .
You're right i dont care about religion either neither do i look for anything which may or mate not be a coincidence , far more to life for me

Next weeks scottish games look to be called off for his funeral. Joke
They can ram that idea right up their hoop, we're meant to be on telly at 12.15.

Absolutely agree.

Unionism is a perfectly legitimate argument - albeit not one I agree with.
However as I have said repeatedly hear not said that the SNPs position on Her Majesty as the Head of State in an Independent Scotland is a fucking disgrace pandering to Scottish Loyalists . Rocky was the only person on here to have the balls to accept this and salute him. Any other supporter of Independence, avoiding the term which gets some folk incandescent, agree with Rocky, as I do.

I don't really understand why you're so appalled about a political party taking a position that helps them win a vote. Maybe Labour should try it, then we might not be perpetually stuck under a nationalist Tory government and I wouldn't see a need for independence.

yer at it

:53:

Careless use of the space bar.

Does it matter one iota and would it make the slightest bit of difference to your life if hermaj was or wasnt the head of state.
As long as Scotland gets independence does it really matter a fuck who is the head of state.

I don't really understand why you're so appalled about a political party taking a position that helps them win a vote. Maybe Labour should try it, then we might not be perpetually stuck under a nationalist Tory government and I wouldn't see a need for independence.
I am a Labour Party member for 50 years and a Marxist for 45 in that Party. Your synopsis is wanting. Must burst your arse that your generalisation turns to dust.

Hearing the hun/celtic cup game will be Friday night

Disnae look like a unionist post tae me just an opinion, but then again no doubt if you disagree you'll be calling it racist or bigoted.
I ken at least 1 Hibs fan , of irish catholic ancestry that voted against independence, does that make him a unionist ?
Of course it does.

Does it matter one iota and would it make the slightest bit of difference to your life if hermaj was or wasnt the head of state.
As long as Scotland gets independence does it really matter a fuck who is the head of state.
Yes.

I am a Labour Party member for 50 years and a Marxist for 45 in that Party. Your synopsis is wanting. Must burst your arse that your generalisation turns to dust.

Genuinely not sure what it is about this post that makes my generalisation turn to dust? It's surely a matter of fact that Labour haven't won an election in 16 years and show no sign of winning one anytime soon if polls are anything to go by. It's also a fact that we are stuck under a nationalist Tory government. And it's also a fact that if the UK was electing Labour governments my desire for independence would all but disappear. As for the royals, I find it hard to get worked up about them. The concept of royalty seems daft to me, but then so does religion. I'd prefer if neither were in the world but hey ho, each to their own.

That's why being a Marxist in the Labour Party is tough. I am a Marxist not a ping pong, you said she said , player that's for bairns.

It matters not a jot which faction of the Labour party anyone is in if they're not laying a glove on the Tories, I'm sure we can agree on that.

BIG
It matters not a jot which faction of the Labour party anyone is in if they're not laying a glove on the Tories, I'm sure we can agree on that.
Yup

Yes.

In the Scottish context someone who wishes to remain in a political union with the UK is, by definition, a unionist. However someone who wishes Scotland to become an independent nation is not necessarily a nationalist.

Almost correct! People who want independence for Scotland are not necessarily SNP supporters. Many people believe they are the same thing( independence and the SNP ). I want an independent Scotland where the people will vote in a democratic manner for the party of their choice. It will not be a one party state as far as I'm aware.

Why almost correct? My post was nothing to do with SNP.

Hearing the hun/celtic cup game will be Friday night
Hibs game against Stranraer in doubt as well.

Possibly also will be moved.

You vote for the union, you are a unionist. Disnae matter if your granny comes from Donegal and went to mass, that is irrelevant.

Nope.

This thread has been viewed 16553 times.