New Music - post your random newly discovered gems

gun ainm

always on the look out for new music and thought a thread for our favourite new and previously undiscovered artists could be good?

doesn't have to be achingly cool or even really new - just new to you and something you like. To kick off I found this the other week after reading an interview with Black Francis (its 3 years old) - nae bad imo

[video=youtube_share;Lh4Ls6s0UZ0]http://youtu.be/Lh4Ls6s0UZ0[/video]

moving to a different side - maybe well known now but then maybe not?

[video=youtube_share;TXZ2whuVXLs]http://youtu.be/TXZ2whuVXLs[/video]

[video=youtube;oIVhv-q5nmk]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oIVhv-q5nmk[/video]

Watch "Chris Spheeris- Culture" on YouTube
Chris Spheeris- Culture: Chris Spheeris- Culture - YouTube

Since I heard this about 4 years ago I've discovered a lot of other stuff of his that I like.

The Who's first single in 8 years...

[video=youtube;D4CiedGbjaQ]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D4CiedGbjaQ&utm_source=cc&utm_medium=email&utm_content=Untitled29&utm_campaign=2861612[/video]

[video=youtube;JEBkyxofmUw]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JEBkyxofmUw[/video]

Young Scouse band supporting Mick Head tomorrow in Liverpool. Cannae wait

[video=youtube;PAP9tM2uI7Q]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PAP9tM2uI7Q[/video]

[video=youtube;Qxa5NBIjAwo]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qxa5NBIjAwo[/video]

Discovered a guy a wee while back (cant remember how.. :g:) called Mark Kozalek. A sort of American folk/indie rock dude his projects include a band called "Red House Painters" from the late 80`s/early 90`s and "Sun Kil Moon", a band which he still maintains. I like this sort of stuff anyway but i think this guy is particularly good.

This tune is a good example of his style.

It`s from an collaboration with American post-rock band 'Desertshore'. A band, incidentally, who i also rate highly... :lookaround:

[video=youtube_share;_QpP2nc9R48]http://youtu.be/_QpP2nc9R48[/video]

Probably old but i just discovered it the other day and enjoyed it that much i laughed all the way through

Thunderstruck by SteveSeagulls (LIVE) - YouTube

9 minutes long but worth every minute
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/C46PEbXLYCs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Another young band that's keeping the scene healthy...

[video=youtube;HVqHVBeoF14]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HVqHVBeoF14[/video]

New Mod Jazz - Alicante

[video=youtube;XPHF2LOCb8I]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPHF2LOCb8I&feature=youtu.be[/video]

Loving the Joel White Quartet in post 3. Was hoping to find more but a Google search only comes up with the same track so was wondering if any of you music buffs out there was aware of anything else they have produced. Surely this can't be their one and only song.

Aye, ancient thread but discovered these guys. I like `em...

[video]https://youtu.be/0HTCr7clfyg[/video]

[video=youtube;dHCt0D4-B20]https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=121&v=dHCt0D4-B20[/video]

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/ioq_t_GHBtg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I really like these guys, and this is one of my favourites from them ...

[video=youtube_share;RnahB3SYN84]http://youtu.be/RnahB3SYN84[/video]

I don't know how new this is but it's new to me and I like it

[video=youtube;VWD-hHwsfOM]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VWD-hHwsfOM[/video]

2 old but new to me, one new and getting loads of airplay. All excellent IMO.

Grace Jones - Williams Blood
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_rjsYVXZ2hs

Pastor TL Barrett and the Youth for Christ Choir
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=lypO8pt_8NQ

public Service Broadcasting
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BHIo6qwJarI

Young band from Yorkshire...

[video=youtube;T2x0YY-purY]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T2x0YY-purY[/video]

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/VAMOHU8EfDU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

:raisehat:

They're not new but I only found them a couple o' months ago so new to me.

English funk fae Colombia...

If anybody does listen to it, can ya verify who's playing the piano at the end? I hink it's Les Dawson likes :hmmm

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/snCqx6IOzNU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

From, of all things, the FIFA 15 soundtrack! Decent synth track though:

[video=youtube;ng4291cptOk]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ng4291cptOk[/video]

[video=youtube;89Oc1UE7SS4]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=89Oc1UE7SS4&list=RD89Oc1UE7SS4[/video]

Anyone who likes electronic music

Fuck Buttons

An Australian band that i am into. There are a ton of really decent Oz bands. Another being the great blues band Teskey Brothers

Well after seeing the splendid Chief Inspector Mieckleson the other night there I decided to look up yon Nova Scotia the Truth woman and discovered she is really quite good. Sorry not good at this you tube stuff.

Also my mates band the Tango Rhums have been around for a while now,but if you like punkie sounds you might like them.

This thread has been viewed 4466 times.