Mental Health

@aggie you ever fancy a chat or a socially distanced walk round the park let me know mate, always available for a catch up pal

Include me in the walk, Leith Links or tide out Portobello beach perhaps.

Leith Tide Times | TideTimes.org.uk

Get back anytime my good amigos.

Another worthwhile mental health tool

Leaving aside the disappointment of tonight, how's everybody feeling? I feel like this is the darkest time of the whole pandemic for me, which seems objectively odd when there's a vaccine being rolled out. Feels a bit one step forward, two steps back at the moment.

I am mighty pissed off at Hibs, hate the current lockdown, dinnae see any end of the life we now live, but weirdly feel ok tonight. I refuse to let Hibs spoil my life, as they are in it for the the good times they irregulary bring me.

Whenever Hibs fuck me right off I think back to the 2001 cup final. Walking along Aikenhead road and the Celtic supporters were on the parallel road. They looked like they couldn't give a hoot at picking up another trophy. I wouldn't swap that with being a Hibby for all the tea in China. We might have a lot of lows but by fuck the highs are worth it.

Leaving aside the disappointment of tonight, how's everybody feeling? I feel like this is the darkest time of the whole pandemic for me, which seems objectively odd when there's a vaccine being rolled out. Feels a bit one step forward, two steps back at the moment.
This time of year in the best of years feels like a slog to some. These times are certainly gonna magnify that massively. I’ve just broken it down into each day at a time, no point looking at two, three days or a week ahead. Just tackling the day as it hits.

Last week and a bit has been difficult juggling work with nurseries closed and homeschooling here but regular fresh air keeps it balanced (Hibs being gutless doesnae help that balance mind you).

stick in. Winter tips | clearyourhead.scot

Never been diagnosed but im certain i suffer from SAD hate the winter and the dark nights almost as much as i hate the huns.
I try and get out as much as possible but 12hr shifts and home schooling are playing havoc with attempts at getting some sun light

January is always a bad month. Weather awful, the post Christmas and New Year hangover etc.

This year however it's just magnified.

I live on my own, so the worst effects of all this for me are definitely isolation, and the relatively minor inconveniences of not being able to go to the gym/fitness classes, football, and gigs. Working from home instead of the big office I did work in for years till last March is also dreadful. The sheer monotony. I hate it. It's like being in prison.

I'm fortunate however. I still have a job.

I do think the relentless daily negativity in both mainstream and social media does not help the situation with people's mental health, especially when much of it is without much foundation. It just makes people feel worse and the long term effect on mental health with all this just cannot be emphasised enough just now. It's going to have massive effects for years to some.

I'm an optimist with Covid though. I think with the vaccine roll-outs/better treatments/more population immunity/better testing/realistic social distancing measures, we will start to see decreases in new cases in the next few months with schools being re-opened much earlier than is being said just now. By the summer I think we will have significantly more normal life back.

Covid will never disappear though. I wish people/politicians would just get their heads round that. We absolutely must get used to living with this virus for evermore. Whilst doing that and taking personal responsibility regarding risk, we have to open up the country and get back to as much normality as possible. Lockdowns (which are nothing more than a panic measure by politicians to suppress the infection rate and save their own political skins) cannot be allowed to be the norm otherwise we really are finished.

A good result from Hibs would have swept away lockdown blues from thousands.

I find December the worst, January is a step in the right direction with the lighter nights.

not really paying much attention to the virus suppression or lack of it helps me.

This will sound really sad and pathetic but my 6yr old daughter wanted a bird feeder for the garden,finally gave in on Friday,it took a couple of days till any birds came to feed but I spent a good half an hour today just sitting watching them today.
It was really relaxing and calming

Nothing wrong with watching birds feeding.

Watching them getting changed can be a bit tricky.

This will sound really sad and pathetic but my 6yr old daughter wanted a bird feeder for the garden,finally gave in on Friday,it took a couple of days till any birds came to feed but I spent a good half an hour today just sitting watching them today.

I do it daily and even record what I see. It’s very relaxing.

Getting up later and later.Going to bed later and later.Looking for a reason to go out and get some fresh air.So going up to the shops is a relief.I'm away from my flat which I was going back to once a week and staying over but I don't feel safe at the moment.I want to go out into the garden but the snow is still hanging about like a bad smell.I love my mum to bits but I hanker after some company of my own age group.I want to swear, I want to get rat arsed,I want to get into a heated debate and kick a table and behave badly.Instead I'm being polite and being helpful and being sober and spending a lot of time on facebook and here and it's doing my head in.

I've put a bird feeder for the 1st time also. But nae feathered beasties will look at it!!
It's high up, and has been there for 2 weeks, it's got fat balls ( easy @Sir Shrink ) seeds and nuts (again!!).
I do have a cat which is a prolific hunter, but he can t get near it. Any advice, anyone??
My cat is called Sir Patrick Stanton , Paddy to his pals, so he must stay!!

I've put a bird feeder for the 1st time also. But nae feathered beasties will look at it!!
It's high up, and has been there for 2 weeks, it's got fat balls ( easy @Sir Shrink ) seeds and nuts (again!!).
I do have a cat which is a prolific hunter, but he can t get near it. Any advice, anyone??
My cat is called Sir Patrick Stanton , Paddy to his pals, so he must stay!!

Give it time. The Tits (steady Shrink) love the peanuts, other wee birds prefer seeds. The fat balls I notice are for Robins, Sparraes and wee birds. Make a wee birdtable for thrushes, blackies, doos and suchlike, they can work the bird feeders normally. Paddy will no be helping like.

My old flat on albion Road, the woman next door to me had feeders for squirrels and all the birds.
Came home one day looked out my window to catch a sparrowhawk feeding on a pigeon..
Maybe a bit much for some, but it was pretty cool seeing a bird of prey up close.

Stared straight at the camera for a picture too ?

The sunshine and fresh air helps but a feeling of drowning has taken a hold.

Have you contacted your doctor?

My old flat on albion Road, the woman next door to me had feeders for squirrels and all the birds.
Came home one day looked out my window to catch a sparrowhawk feeding on a pigeon..
Maybe a bit much for some, but it was pretty cool seeing a bird of prey up close.

Stared straight at the camera for a picture too ?
I got video of one ripping a pigeon to bits in my back garden, was amazing to watch. View attachment DSCF0097.mp4

My trail cam got one flying off with a magpie about 3 weeks ago!

Got any snuff movies to share on this thread about mental health mate?

My missus throws a cupful of bird seed out onto the back lawn for the birds. Problem is it started growing and the grass is fucked now ?

Give it time. The Tits (steady Shrink) love the peanuts, other wee birds prefer seeds. The fat balls I notice are for Robins, Sparraes and wee birds. Make a wee birdtable for thrushes, blackies, doos and suchlike, they can work the bird feeders normally. Paddy will no be helping like.
They do brighten the mood, for sure.
Until Woody comes along and bullies the rest.
When it first appeared it was the peanuts that got hammered, but he/she must be getting lazy because it's the fat balls that get decimated now.
There is a Sparrowhawk comes along occasionally. He puts the shits up everything in the air.

My Brother in law put out a bird feeder during the first lock down and become obsessed with identifying every visitor. His wife now calls him Bill Oddity.

Might be a good idea to have a weekly check in for those struggling even if its just to vent?

Good idea. I haven't really followed the advice given on here previously about getting out for a walk this week cos the weather's been so awful. Kinda feel like just hibernating till the sun comes oot and the pandemic is over.

I was brain washed into thinking working additional because you were in the house and it would keep you occupied and help mental illness. I can safely say it’s the exact opposite

How are you doing? I saw an article the other day about the extra hours people are working in lockdown and thought of your posts. Seems to be a pretty widespread problem.

Dodging along waiting on paper work for a new position. Have a bit guilt leaving through a project but still doing average 60 hour week in the last 2 weeeks which has calmed down a bit. Think I’ll be in a bit better mindset once the move and more time to exercise and not think about work every minute of the day.

Good stuff, all the best with the new role.

T
Good stuff, all the best with the new role.
Thank you

Have a bit guilt leaving through a project but still doing average 60 hour week in the last 2 weeeks which has calmed down a bit.
Fuk that, they were clearly taking the piss and risking your health. Onwards and upwards.

You won’t look back.

Fuk that, they were clearly taking the piss and risking your health. Onwards and upwards.

You won’t look back.
Some days we would be at the laptop from 07:00 until 10:00... brutal it’s not uncommon for guys to do 12-15 hours for 3 months on live campaigns

I’ve been there masel but thankfully just binge watching Granny Porn rather than being forced to by a wank employer. Glad you’ll soon be away from it.

Anyway, wish you all the best and Fuk the Hearts ?

I’ve been there masel but thankfully just binge watching Granny Porn rather than being forced to by a wank employer. Glad you’ll soon be away from it.

Anyway, wish you all the best and Fuk the Hearts ?
Good advice mate.
I’m sure this will help Fife and many others who may be struggling a bit but not brave enough to put their hand up to it like Fifehibs has done.

Any links to the granny porn?
Asking for a friend.

Sorry to hear so many of you are struggling. I am one of the lucky ones who has managed to work throughout and that helps a lot. Does get boring not having anywhere to go to on a day off but I have a couple of friends I can meet and
go for a walk with etc.

It is my ex wife who suffered mental health issues in the past and they have returned big time and this lock down has not helped at all. I had to bite the bullet and push for medical/psychiatric help as it was/is affecting my work and rest times. Everything seems so magnified when you cannot get some relief for a while and for her she cant even wander about a charity shop for an hour.

Hope all your days get better and as Aggie said, Jack Ross gives us something to smile about.

Probably against the rules but I go back to my flat once a week. Fuck 'em I'm on my own, so the only risk is the bus back, and once I get my bike back on the road it won't even be that.
Anyway my point. If you go to my flat ,there's a walkway between the Macdonalds in Gorgie Rd and Aldi and if your lucky amongst the trees you will spot a white squirrel. I spotted it today but unfortunately my phone would be way at the bottom of my bag. I have taken photo's before but it is not very clear. But if I can capture decent shots I will put them on here.

White squirrel but you can’t get a pic.
I sympathise.
Harvey my giant white rabbit talks a good game but as soon as I get the camera out.... bam..... he fucks off. So annoying. I can hear the *&*^ taking the piss, but no fucking sign of him.

Good advice mate.
I’m sure this will help Fife and many others who may be struggling a bit but not brave enough to put their hand up to it like Fifehibs has done.

Any links to the granny porn?
Asking for a friend.
Photos of Mrs Shrink or is that great,great granny porn?

This thread has been viewed 16434 times.