Hibs Casuals, Heroes or Villians

I came a cropper after the Leeds Utd friendly in the early 90s. I'd travelled up from the South with some York City pals for a weekend. We got jumped not far from Tamsons after the game. I got a grudging apology when I finally got through to them that I was Hibs and these were my friends. I didn't come back to ER for quite a few years after that.

Sorry for you and your pals, as I said above I can only confirm what I have witnessed first hand.
[automerge]1611409713[/automerge]

This was a well planned action ambushing Huns and Hertz scum after an Orange walk....what’s not to like

Even more pleasing is it was all their older lot that got blitzed by Hibs younger lot ?

That battle plays a major part in the mini-series Barbarians on Netflix.

Bundesliga team Arminia Bielefeld named after Arminius of Teutoborg Forest.

I've watched the youtube video and read the article, and can only say that whilst there may have been an element of ambush involved, references made in the article to great historic ambush victories are just a tad fanciful: the ambushed were a bunch of drunken, middle aged, washed up stereotypical huns who looked like they had come straight off the set of the T2 orange bar scene. That's not to say the losers didn't deserve a good tanking.They were up for it and, from the look of them, I'd be pretty sure they were no strangers to handing out that treatment in their heyday. To be fair to the silly bar steward, one of them got a great kick on the heid but still managed to get to his feet and give chase.
If I had to name this ambush and elevate it to one from history, I'd call it the battle of the Tuborg Forest

Bundesliga team Arminia Bielefeld named after Arminius of Teutoborg Forest.
Currently on the end of a 1-4 hiding from Eintracht Frankfurt

Sorry for you and your pals, as I said above I can only confirm what I have witnessed first hand.
[automerge]1611409713[/automerge]

Even more pleasing is it was all their older lot that got blitzed by Hibs younger lot ?
Did the huns get a right doin down the road off camera that day?

I got a kicking at Pittodrie. Me and a couple of mates , minding our own business, on the way to the game.
Let me assure you, their was nothing romantic about it.

I got a kicking at Pittodrie. Me and a couple of mates , minding our own business, on the way to the game.
Let me assure you, their was nothing romantic about it.
By Aberdeen fans ? You and your pals in colours or not ? I am aware back in the day Aberdeen had a big firm and they were supposedly well organised . Only went to pittodrie a few times and never saw any issues at all ( also didn’t understand a f kin word they said )??

Difficult to view things now as opposed to back then when it started in the early to mid eighties. When it did hit I've never seen a youth movement grow like it..especially as it was fuelled from within with no real external stimulus. It might seem to younger folk now that the 80s were a fun time (given the programs you see on tv) but my memory is of my Dad being made redundant, having a constant and hated Tory govt, being treated like absolute scum by the Police at football, and sporadic and indiscriminate violence on the news (miners strike especially where it seemed it was open season on pickets) in pubs, clubs and up the town (Lothian Road especially). To some extent my group of 14/15 year old mates and I were pretty conditioned to violence and we had a pretty nihilistic view on society so I guess we were pretty suggestable when a new and exciting movement came along.

Hibs was pretty tight knit..most boys still let on to each other to this day..we were a very good mob by any yardstick (if your club was going to have a mob it might as well be decent). There were some absolute lunatics amongst it and other lads like me and my mates who were loosely connected but not main protagonists. I stopped getting involved in the late 80' early 90s after an arrest at Ibrox nearly resulted in me losing my job, a mortgage Id just been approved for and my girlfriend at the time. Clubbing had come along and lots of lads were into that rather than the casual thing anymore (tho they still turned out for big games).

I made friends I still speak with to this day, had some great laughs, was scared out of my wits, took a couple of pastings and came out of it relatively unscathed. Looking back now if I had kids of that age Id be absolutely horrified if they got involved in anything similar. It is romanticised to an extent imo, there were incidents I;ve seen that made me feel sick tbh but as others have pointed out that was usually down to individual bams rather than a collective decision.

Im not trying to mount a defence a for it..obviously ethically its difficult to do that, just provide a context round it.

Difficult to view things now as opposed to back then when it started in the early to mid eighties. When it did hit I've never seen a youth movement grow like it..especially as it was fuelled from within with no real external stimulus. It might seem to younger folk now that the 80s were a fun time (given the programs you see on tv) but my memory is of my Dad being made redundant, having a constant and hated Tory govt, being treated like absolute scum by the Police at football, and sporadic and indiscriminate violence on the news (miners strike especially where it seemed it was open season on pickets) in pubs, clubs and up the town (Lothian Road especially). To some extent my group of 14/15 year old mates and I were pretty conditioned to violence and we had a pretty nihilistic view on society so I guess we were pretty suggestable when a new and exciting movement came along.

Hibs was pretty tight knit..most boys still let on to each other to this day..we were a very good mob by any yardstick (if your club was going to have a mob it might as well be decent). There were some absolute lunatics amongst it and other lads like me and my mates who were loosely connected but not main protagonists. I stopped getting involved in the late 80' early 90s after an arrest at Ibrox nearly resulted in me losing my job, a mortgage Id just been approved for and my girlfriend at the time. Clubbing had come along and lots of lads were into that rather than the casual thing anymore (tho they still turned out for big games).

I made friends I still speak with to this day, had some great laughs, was scared out of my wits, took a couple of pastings and came out of it relatively unscathed. Looking back now if I had kids of that age Id be absolutely horrified if they got involved in anything similar. It is romanticised to an extent imo, there were incidents I;ve seen that made me feel sick tbh but as others have pointed out that was usually down to individual bams rather than a collective decision.

Im not trying to mount a defence a for it..obviously ethically its difficult to do that, just provide a context round it.

Superb summary G.

Thinking of the Hun game tomorrow there has been some notable victories for the Family v the Huns over the years.
Jocks Lodge,London Road,Slateford,Kelvingrove,Paisley Rd West,Gorbals ,Glasgow Central,Dundee & Amsterdam

Probably been a few others as well.

Thinking of the Hun game tomorrow there has been some notable victories for the Family v the Huns over the years.
Jocks Lodge,London Road,Slateford,Kelvingrove,Paisley Rd West,Gorbals ,Glasgow Central,Dundee & Amsterdam

Add the Kingston Bridge (underneath it), St Enoch tube station, Meadowbank, Outside the Rutland at the West End, to name but a few ?
[automerge]1611680271[/automerge]
Did the huns get a right doin down the road off camera that day?

They did mate, they got lured into that street as there is no cameras ?

That battle plays a major part in the mini-series Barbarians on Netflix.
So not the one in Gladiator where the Romans gave the Germanic hordes a kicking?

No

I was never part of it. Coming from a punk rock background. The idea of dressing up smart in order to go scrapping was an anathema to me. However, I did witness some of it, and as far as I was concerned it was a case of as long as it doesn't involve me and get in the way of me enjoying the game let them get on with it. I know a few folks who were involved and at least two are good friends as well as comrades. Raymond M who nearly lost his life to a knife attack and Tommy M a Jambo who was a member of a gang called the Red Hand Gang. They both left the scene and they joined me in the SWP and we put our energies into fighting the Tories and the BNP and EDL.All three of us have joined FLLAF but as I say I'm not that fussed about the fashion side of it.

Slateford was probably the most one sided beating i've ever seen.

Amsterdam when they jumped in the canals to get away from us ??
[automerge]1611769689[/automerge]
I was never part of it. Coming from a punk rock background. The idea of dressing up smart in order to go scrapping was an anathema to me. However, I did witness some of it, and as far as I was concerned it was a case of as long as it doesn't involve me and get in the way of me enjoying the game let them get on with it. I know a few folks who were involved and at least two are good friends as well as comrades. Raymond M who nearly lost his life to a knife attack and Tommy M a Jambo who was a member of a gang called the Red Hand Gang. They both left the scene and they joined me in the SWP and we put our energies into fighting the Tories and the BNP and EDL.All three of us have joined FLLAF but as I say I'm not that fussed about the fashion side of it.

Raymond wasn’t a knife attack mate, it was loads of Aberdeen hitting him with Golf Brollys and continuing to jump on his head. Sick fuckers made a song about it, that’s when everyone agreed this would never happen again and every time we played them every man and their dug was out for them.

Oh well Golf Brollies gave him a nasty scar in his neck.

Who were hibs playing in the dam - was it Ajax - old stadium with the sort of mist around it - think at one point Ajax had 3 grounds

Stopped off their before going to Belgium

I mind the Hibs mob got split in two that day and both were still massive...Aberdeen had a fair number as well. Boy who threw the petrol bomb was at our school I think if Im remebering the incident correctly. Was only 14 or 15 at the time..was well out my depth looking back!?

That should have read moat not mist
[automerge]1611816289[/automerge]
Stopped off their before going to Belgium
And a pre arranged meet with Ajax? What in your opinion was the biggest row you witnessed hibs having ? In Scotland or overseas ?

No, the Huns, not Ajax. Hibs were heading to Anderlecht in Belgium, I think the Huns were heading to Denmark?

Ah ok
Apologies

@Boo Think it was the old Olympic stadium in A'dam that Ajax were just about to abandon for tje new Arena at the time?

Yes - they also had their original ground that was about 20 k capacity and I believe they played games at before utilising the Olympic stadium

As @1875 said above.

In Scotland Aberdeen at Easter Road Hundreds on both sides going at it proper, body’s dropping on both sides before Aberdeen started to run.

I wasn’t present but I heard the trip to Russia to Di Nipro was mental, only 50 lads at the most went over ?

As @1875 said above.

In Scotland Aberdeen at Easter Road Hundreds on both sides going at it proper, body’s dropping on both sides before Aberdeen started to run.

I wasn’t present but I heard the trip to Russia to Di Nipro was mental, only 50 lads at the most went over ?

Ukraine, not Russia, for an hour or so yes, but it was fans, not just the CCS. Portugal when we played Forest was tasty.

A Tim I worked with has had a crush on our mob ever since his mum shouted him through to the window to watch the huns getting hammered in the Gorbals 91 when he was 12.
Was it as much of a doing as he remembers?

Nothing better than middle aged men reviving old dreams of past glories.

Ukraine, not Russia, for an hour or so yes, but it was fans, not just the CCS. Portugal when we played Forest was tasty.

Ukraine that’s right, just remember the boys got a sore one when they bombarded the pub with everything they could land their hands on ?
A Tim I worked with has had a crush on our mob ever since his mum shouted him through to the window to watch the huns getting hammered in the Gorbals 91 when he was 12.
Was it as much of a doing as he remembers?

The Gorbals went completely wrong for them, they had every junkie, scally from Weegie land in their mob that night, try to surround us at those high rise flats but they got blitzed up and down the place, then Keith Keith Keith put the ball into their net ?

Nothing better than middle aged men reviving old dreams of past glories.

you started it ya radge

Probably not even a hibs game

1988 England v Scotland

Did Irvine Welsh run with the casuals? Or does he just feed on it?

I was always a boring scarfer. The casuals would come into the game 20 mins late, and leave 20 mins early. That.wasn't what my Saturday was all about.Got a couple of sare faces up the toon from then as well, despite my insistence I was pure Hibs. That kinda put me off them!!
I must admit though, they did put an end to the " gorgie gauntlet". Coming out of there in the 70s and early 80s was not for the faint hearted.

Did Irvine Welsh run with the casuals? Or does he just feed on it?

I was always a boring scarfer. The casuals would come into the game 20 mins late, and leave 20 mins early. That.wasn't what my Saturday was all about.Got a couple of sare faces up the toon from then as well, despite my insistence I was pure Hibs. That kinda put me off them!!
I must admit though, they did put an end to the " gorgie gauntlet". Coming out of there in the 70s and early 80s was not for the faint hearted.

Irvine Welsh - Not in my life time he never.

I was always quite happy when the casuals beat the crap out of Huns at Ibrox. I took a couple of sore ones there in my younger days. Probably wearing a green tailored suit to stand on the terracing there was a bit rash.
I remember at Anderlecht the casuals were not at all welcomed by many of the ‘scarfers’ who saw them as letting the club down. There was nearly a showdown at one point outside a pub as I recall it.

Probably not even a hibs game

1988 England v Scotland
I wasnae there!And I wasnae mist!
Sorry aimed at Boo.

“wasnae mist”? Was that Scot’s mist or did you mean wasnae missed as in nobody gave a fuck. ?

Endless column inches and books written about CCS. A fair amount of fact and fantasy. Hibs fans I know including prominent members have different opinions ranging at random I guess from

Proud they were Hibs,
Pretoian guard to travelling fans,
Defenders of the Faith
Gave Hibs a bad name,
People who joined a gang,
People who got immense pleasure from battering folk,
No feelings one way or another.

As a Scarfer who had been following Hibernian before any CCS punter was born I feel there has been a dreadful amount of romanticism surrounding the whole scene.

The people involved then are some of the most loyal supporters which is something else entirely.

By the way if everyone who said they were at the famous Hibs V Napoli match, the crowd that night was 100,000
Similarly if everyone who say they were involved with CCS, it must have had a team of thousands.

Thoughts!

I should add that some of the thuggish new wave of casuals in my experience were not avense to turning on rank and file Hibs fans.

Lot of teary eyed reminiscing about "the casuals". Let's end one myth though. Scarfers at the time felt no affiliation or pride towards them whatsoever. As for "protecting" us? Give it a rest. If anything it made the trek from Pittodrie etc more of a challenge to reach the station intact! That said the Hibs support in general were no shrinking violets back then either!

Then there was the incident at Paisley. These eejits thought it was a good idea to pour onto the pitch by the fence and try and "get intae the St Mirren kids". Scarfers stopped them getting back into the Hibs section so the polis escorted them behind the goals. They stood for some time near the exit and I for one was expecting them to come over and pile into the Hibs support who had stood up to them.

So spare us the Robin Hood depiction.

We sorted our ain shit out in the 70's and didnae need protecting by a ring of 'casuals'. The casuals that some folk are misty eyed about, is that the same casuals that go intae hibs pubs and folk are too scared tae say anything if they get a bit overexcited in case they get a doing

Was gonnae play 'Misty' for the romantics, however this is more appropriate for the two bit hard men mentioned by bothTony and John.

This thread has been viewed 46867 times.