First time in a boozer since lockdown

Decided to head down to Leith tonight for a couple of pints for the first time since about February.

Went to the big Weatherspoons in Duke Street. Had to fill out a form with all my details. Then told to sit at a high chair and someone would be over to take my order. Waited about 10 minutes till someone came over. Enjoyed a couple of beers for the first time in 6 months but it was a strange experience. I am not digital minded so I can't quite understand how the app thing works when you are ordering beers and food. How do they know who you are and where you are sitting ?

Don't think I will be going out much from now on to be honest. I think the days of going out to a pub at the week-end and just mixing freely with others are over for good.

The way that *&*^ treats his staff.I will never set foot in Wetherspoon's again.

Pre Lockdown I went now and again to Spoons for cheap and cheerful food and always used the app.

Sit down at a table and order using the app which detects the branch you’re in and asks for your table number.

Easy way to get your order in and to be served and even more so in current times. Be a while before I’m back indoors when socialising and would prefer to support local business rather than a chain and then as the Moat says there’s Spoons treatment of their staff.

Mrs Jackie and I have been out a few times. The Windsor is our local and from the start of #resocialising they appear to have everything in place. We also visited the Old Chain Pier the other day during a walk, something we used to do quite often, again everything seemed in place.

The bunch of guys I regularly used to drink with up town haven't reconvened. I've passed through the Grassmarket a number of times since reopening and it just looks too busy with tourists. I'm not sure 8 or so guys from 8 different households is within the guidelines anyway.

I've always tried to avoid spoons in the past. It will be a cold day in hell the next time I'm in.

Old chain pier was my local back in the late sixties early seventies. Used tae be a belting wee boozer

Been to leith depot twice for a pint in last month but am basically avoiding pubs, was enjoying the takeaway pints / jugs from Nauticus on duke st before it reopened

I'm not sure 8 or so guys from 8 different households is within the guidelines anyway.
It's not. No more than three households indoors. Still with social distancing.

I'm only going tae pubs wi' outside areas, dinnae feel comfortable inside.

Decided to head down to Leith tonight for a couple of pints for the first time since about February.

Went to the big Weatherspoons in Duke Street. Had to fill out a form with all my details. Then told to sit at a high chair and someone would be over to take my order. Waited about 10 minutes till someone came over. Enjoyed a couple of beers for the first time in 6 months but it was a strange experience. I am not digital minded so I can't quite understand how the app thing works when you are ordering beers and food. How do they know who you are and where you are sitting ?

Don't think I will be going out much from now on to be honest. I think the days of going out to a pub at the week-end and just mixing freely with others are over for good.

With the app when you register your details I think you enter your table number you are sitting at mate.

The outbreak in Aberdeen has now got me thinking twice about going back into a pub (at least inside). It’s looking like I’ve given up the bevvy anyway so I might be less likely to head to one now.

I’m not a great pub go-er I tend to enjoy a glass or three in the house in my own company.
All right. I’ve no mates. Harsh but true.

I’m off in a few days in a hired Motorhome and heading northwest. That will be the first time I’ll hit a pub or restaurant.
Cant say I’m really missing nights in the pub. Used to like a wee night out for some scran and a glass or two. It’s been a few months now.
Strange times.

I’m not a great pub go-er I tend to enjoy a glass or three in the house in my own company.

I’m off in a few days in a hired Motorhome and heading northwest. That will be the first time I’ll hit a pub or restaurant.
Cant say I’m really missing nights in the pub. Used to like a wee night out for some scran and a glass or two. It’s been a few months now.
Strange times.
Have a great time shrink

Victoria (one of the Swedish group) has had a Covid-19 case where the guy had just come back from Malta.

Strange times.
Got a van booked for October, was also planning to head up that way but been reading about the lack of facilities and how most of the locals are feeling about visitors I'm thinking about changing where I'm going. Looks like most sites have closed their shower blocks/toilets and grey water facilities are harder to find.

Take a look at this site. Obviously the extreme end of the debate, but worth considering. NC500 The Land Weeps

Re pubs, been in once, loved it but was on my own and wasn't the same. Would never give Spoons any money, especially post covid and his chat. total scumbag.

I've had a couple of nights in The Bailie but due to not being able to stand at the bar I've sat outside. Also had a few beers in Robbies with @wee 162 and his good lady Fiona, which was nice.

Take a look at this site. Obviously the extreme end of the debate, but worth considering. NC500 The Land Weeps

That's a closed group mate.

It's basically locals on the NC 500 complaining about motorhomes, folk parking and camping badly, lack of facilities during pandemic, and the local infrastructure not being able to cope with the number of visitors.
There will be another side to that with other locals keen on visitors, but the moaners are pretty vocal and seem fairly large numbers.
I still might do the NC500, I know I'll take the right approach to it all and can take snyde comments from local dafties in my stride, but it's worth considering. I thought Mull and eigg looked pretty nice..

Join it, read it and then unjoin it if you don't want to remain a member.

Unjoin it.
:grinning-smiley-045:

Unjoin it.
:grinning-smiley-045:

Do you have a problem with the english language you old goat?

unjoin
/ʌnˈdʒɔɪn/

verb
archaic
verb: unjoin; 3rd person present: unjoins; past tense: unjoined; past participle: unjoined; gerund or present participle: unjoining
  1. detach; separate.

I been going to ma local for a few weeks now, just to prevent life becoming excruciating. Pretty well organised, you have to book, sanitise your hands and take your temperature on the way in. Going to the pub won't be the same again for quite a while, but the taste of draft beer is the perfect anaesthetic....

Joined @wee 162 and his two others at a table outside Robbies a couple of weeks back in the designated square for an Irn Bru ? (not drinking atm - 5 months in). It was a strange experience (meant to be 3 to an outside table so had to sit in a chair on the square next to them - that’s the rules). Not so much about the alcohol and relaxing, more important about the socialising and shooting the shit about this, that and the other. Very much missed since early March.

When I do have a beer next, I’m sure we’ll be a lot further down the line and potentially closer to returning to days closer to norm ✅

Was in one today to take advantage of the 50 percent off food. Find how quiet it is so weird. Bit like eating in a library

Away up north from Saturday so will have to find a pub for football. Again will be strange to have no sound on tvs

Was in a well kent borders pub on Saturday evening briefly (will remain nameless). Left after half an hour because it was an absolute shambles. Folk all over the place, pished idiots coming and trying to sit at our table. Despite roars of “table service only” from staff, there were pished up daftys insistent on standing at the bar. Security didn’t even warn them. Young folk are (in this instance) ruining it for everyone else.

Name and shame the pub. At least so that others can avoid.

My wife and I took a drive down to gullane to have a walk on the beach with the dog on Sunday. On the way home we thought about visiting the pub in aberlady, it was exactly as you described above but not all younger folk but the more well to do, I’m untouchable element.

Was in Perth last weekend and most pubs were fine, one or two had folk on the door taking names and phone numbers. Some just had a notepad on the bar so you could do it yourself. One had folks standing but apart from that everybody had tae be seated. Last one I was in on Saturday night was One Flew Over Perth, aboot 10 folk in it, to a man/woman, melted. Even the barmaid didnae look sober. Had a bottle of beer and left.

Fair request. Any borders based bouncers who want to know can pm

Been going to the Persevere for a quick pint on Monday nights after 5 a sides, have to say it’s well organised, also had odd pint outside Teuchters at the shore, also well run, been nowhere else really

I’ve been to Pitt Street Market and the wee pub round the corner from it (forget the name), both had decent set ups.

In a way I hope table service is here to stay in some bigger places, it works well.

I’ve been in my wee local bar here a couple o times. It’s a bit of a redneck trumpet place so I’m a bit wary. Usually just picking up food and trying to support them thru the hard times. Place is very quiet. Shame. Great wee hole in the wall bar despite the clientele political views.
Hope we eventually get back to old normal.

This thread has been viewed 2739 times.