Draught Beer machines

Noting they are all the rage and have birthday coming up. Any suggestions on what to buy? Fave pint is Deuchars IPA or similar.

Earlier on in the year I fancied a beer machine and did a fair bit of research. I really liked the Blade but the Philips PerfectDraft was the more sensible option for me - it fitted in the kitchen! I don't like the SUB. That's the 3 main ones.

A few weeks ago Mrs Jackie had said we're not buying Christmas presents again this year, doing what we did in previous years, a weekend away. We managed Alicante before the world shut down.

She's been awfy quiet of late when I'd be expected her to be reinforcing no presents rule so I think she's upto something.

Either way I'll be happy.
I refer the honourable gentleman to a post I wrote on the Christmas present thread.

While I'd love to give feedback on the machine I got, I got F'all!

Here's something I wrote elsewhere

Jack;6359447 said:
I saw a Blade in action in a pub in Spain just before the world shut down and I was so impressed.

I don't normally drink in the house, I like draught, so since March I've been developing a bit of a thirst! The temporary reprieve for pubs up till a few weeks ago didn't help much!

The Krupts machine at around £100 looks ideal but I think the 2 litre torp is in no mans land. You could quite easily be caught between torps, particularly with friends (remember them) round. An hour between even pre chilled torps is no good. A torp stays fresh for a fortnight, thats OK.

The Perfect Pour by Philips at £300 or so and 6 litre kegs that last a month is getting to a reasonable performance level with its 15 minute change over. It looks very functional, it doesn't have the looks of the ...

The Blade beer machine which has a bit of a steampunk look about it! Whats not to like? Well the current beer choice is not great for any of them but this has fewer than a dozen in the UK just now. At over £400, 8 litre kegs and a 15 minute change over I'm sure I'd find a beer I'd enjoy so its time to get Sophie Ellis Bexter in for the kitchen disco/party! I want one!

Alas with the size of them, and they're all surprisingly not quiet, Mrs Jackie would just give me one of those looks and politely enquire as to where the bleep I thought I might be setting it up!

Maybe when we move house :-)

I refer the honourable gentleman to a post I wrote on the Christmas present thread.

While I'd love to give feedback on the machine I got, I got F'all!

Here's something I wrote elsewhere

Thanks, and know what you mean about the wee 2 litre sub, but £400, fuck that.

I got the Phillips perfect draft one at Christmas, it was from Beer Hawk. Get the kegs from them too, they can collect the finished kegs and credit your account with £5 a keg.

Have to say, the beer tastes lovely out of it.

• 75BD6DA5-7B6E-4043-BAF1-22196369C40C.png
    75BD6DA5-7B6E-4043-BAF1-22196369C40C.png
    1.3 MB · Views: 34
I got the Phillips perfect draft one at Christmas, it was from Beer Hawk. Get the kegs from them too, they can collect the finished kegs and credit your account with £5 a keg.

I have a PD too, have had it for nearly 3 years and it's been a great investment! Fantastic choice of beers to suit almost every taste (the German ones are my favourites). When you factor in all the discounts it works out at under 2 quid a pint which is reasonable value but you're really paying for the quality.

Can you get Guinness?

No - but they do a nice stout - Magic Rock 'Dark Arts'. Did a keg of that over Christmas, lovely stuff.

Bunch of Alkies!

And your point is?

;-)

Aye it’s a great bit of kit. I’ve not tried the German ones yet, but they are on the list!

Bunch of Alkies!
Not at all, I've been very strict during lockdown. The weekend ends on a Wednesday morning and never starts again until late Wednesday afternoon.

Few guys at work have got these and christ its all they talk about
posting pics off there pints on Facebook

Just open a can

Or a bottle?

Just open a can

Or a bottle?
For some of us its not as easy as that.

I've never liked drinking from cans or bottles to the extent since the pubs have been closed starting last March I've probably had fewer than a dozen bottles of booze, mostly at Christmas.

BC (before covid) I'd probably be out 4 or more times a week drinking maybe 5 pints each time.

I can't say I've missed the booze but I have really missed the socialising. Seems I'm a socialholic more than an alcoholic! I sometimes wondered lol

But although I haven't missed it there have been times I'd like a wee sesh so one of these machines would be ideal.

For some of us its not as easy as that.

I've never liked drinking from cans or bottles to the extent since the pubs have been closed stating last March I've probably had fewer than a dozen bottles of booze, mostly at Christmas.

BC (before covid) I'd probably be out 4 or more times a week drinking maybe 5 pints each time.

I can't say I've missed the booze but I have really missed the socialising. Seems I'm a socialholic more than an alcoholic! I sometimes wondered lol

But although I haven't missed it there have been times I'd like a wee sesh so one of these machines would be ideal.
Yeah, i miss the social aspect massively.

A year or two late but I've joined the revolution and I now have the Philips PerfectDraft beer machine 😁

But no beer!

How are Bouncers getting on with whatever they have?

Rather than shop online (Beer Hawk seems to be the go to) I'd like to go to a shop and browse but they seem to be few and far between. I know there's one out Bathgate somewhere but it's closed on a Tuesday when I'm likely to be passing and there's one down the Golf Coast way, Macmerry I think. Bits of Glasgow are accessible as are parts of Fife and of course Edinburgh.

A year or two late but I've joined the revolution and I now have the Philips PerfectDraft beer machine 😁

But no beer!

How are Bouncers getting on with whatever they have?

Rather than shop online (Beer Hawk seems to be the go to) I'd like to go to a shop and browse but they seem to be few and far between. I know there's one out Bathgate somewhere but it's closed on a Tuesday when I'm likely to be passing and there's one down the Golf Coast way, Macmerry I think. Bits of Glasgow are accessible as are parts of Fife and of course Edinburgh.

I usually pick up my kegs at DayToday at Wallyford. When you have any empties take them back and get £5 per keg back.

Can mind @tricky and me getting a keg and all the fittings out of I think the pear tree maybe 25 years ago for a party, that was pretty good. Also tried the Bellfield wee kegs they do but I find them too fiddly. Prefer a can in the house and a pint in the pub

I usually pick up my kegs at DayToday at Wallyford. When you have any empties take them back and get £5 per keg back.
Aye Wallyford felly is the only “in person” place to buy kegs in the Edinburgh area I’m aware of. The further west you go the more options there are.

Day Today as Salamander court off the links has them, fairly new shop

That’s good to know, cheers.

Excellent news, thanks 👍

Wish I could get one in the states

Excellent news, thanks 👍

Salamander Place in fact, just visited it for some German beer

I appear to have a magic beer machine!

Given there's no pressure [Aye there is. How would you get your beer otherwise?], or need, to have a pint [or the lesser spotted half pint], I'm just pouring a couple of gulps at a time. That's about 2/3rds of a pint when I'm in the mood.

I've been drinking my first ever keg for ages, 20 days. The wee beer gauge showed there was 1/2 a pint left when I got back from the pub tonight. Two pours later there's still some leffed. [Leffe with an added d/left??? Geddit? lol awe FFS!] [not sure I had to explain that] [probably did mate] [this is the Bounce. Everyone will be pished] [best wait for the night crew] [the vampires?] [Aye, the ones that post post 2am] [prick!].

Goodnight 😅

I didn't realise my beer machine could also test for covid! I found this in the instructions.

HOME COVID TEST
1. Load a barrel, pour and try and smell it.
2. If you can smell it drink it and see if you can taste it.
3. If you can taste and smell it this confirms you do not have COVID.

Last night I took the test 18 times. They were all negative.

Tonight I'm doing the test again (and again and again) because I woke up this morning with a headache and feeling I'm coming down with something.

Don't worry guys. I've got more test barrels in the fridge.

I didn't realise my beer machine could also test for covid! I found this in the instructions.

HOME COVID TEST
1. Load a barrel, pour and try and smell it.
2. If you can smell it drink it and see if you can taste it.
3. If you can taste and smell it this confirms you do not have COVID.

Last night I took the test 18 times. They were all negative.

Tonight I'm doing the test again (and again and again) because I woke up this morning with a headache and feeling I'm coming down with something.

Don't worry guys. I've got more test barrels in the fridge.
Was at my laddies last night and he has a machine. He had Moretti in his and although it’s a cvnt tae pour it was very good. I done the test a few times myself and they were all negative too, although I do have the symptoms of a hangover but I’ll not know if I have one until I get up the pub later.

Looking for a skin for my perfect draught machine.

• FB_IMG_1640434337385.jpg
    FB_IMG_1640434337385.jpg
    58.3 KB · Views: 49
  • Love

Where did you get that?!

It's my mates but he can't remember where he got it.

Hope someone can direct me where to get one like this.

It's my mates but he can't remember where he got it.

Hope someone can direct me where to get one like this.

I’m guessing he must have got the cover made, if your mate tells you where he got it from let me know! Cheers

Will do 👍

My brother has one but not as good as that just a central strip and drip tray as opposed to all-over wrap:

388C3CFB-228C-4FEA-9AA8-EB046CB69EFA.jpeg

How much does it work out per pint?

Depends what keg you buy as some are more expensive than others. A 6L keg of lager is around £30, the IPA kegs are about £35.

Generally you get about 10 pints out of the keg, so a pint is £3 to £3.50.

Plus you get £5 off your next keg if you return your old one, so works out slightly cheaper again.

Depends what keg you buy as some are more expensive than others. A 6L keg of lager is around £30, the IPA kegs are about £35.

Generally you get about 10 pints out of the keg, so a pint is £3 to £3.50.

Plus you get £5 off your next keg if you return your old one, so works out slightly cheaper again.
Thanks

As @Zab mentions you get a fiver back per keg returned but you can also save 15% on Beerhawk if you buy 3 at a time, takes the net cost down to around £20/keg or just under 2 quid a pint. Some of the super-strong Belgian Trappist beers and IPAs are more expensive though, so the cost per pint can go up around 3 quid 🤪

Found a guy on face that can supply theses @ £45 each

• received_414755573765075.jpeg
    received_414755573765075.jpeg
    298.2 KB · Views: 27
  • received_1097536447713305.jpeg
    received_1097536447713305.jpeg
    380.5 KB · Views: 30
As @Zab mentions you get a fiver back per keg returned but you can also save 15% on Beerhawk if you buy 3 at a time, takes the net cost down to around £20/keg or just under 2 quid a pint. Some of the super-strong Belgian Trappist beers and IPAs are more expensive though, so the cost per pint can go up around 3 quid 🤪
do you need a voucher code to get the 15% off? Cheers.

15PDKT is the code

This thread has been viewed 5728 times.