Corona virus on its own thread.

Just nipped out here on the bike to replenish my stash at the coffeeshop. This latest 'almost-total' lockdown here in NL has certainly quietened the streets right down, takes me back to last April...

Only 4 weeks to go and still trying to get an appointment for a booster somewhere I don't need a car or a train to get to. Pfff! 👺

Just nipped out here on the bike to replenish my stash at the coffeeshop.
A splendid way to blow away the bloody Covid blues my good man.

Higher and Higher - Jackie Wilson

I want a to take you Higher - Sly and the Family Stone.

Eight Miles High - The Byrds

You were, it's been explained to you in much detail why, including with pictures. I'm afraid I can't use crayons on here to make it any clearer to you.

Are you really still banging on about one minor paragraph in a four page post which a) you didn't read or understand properly and b) you didn't understand the data in?

And you can shove your "people like you" patter right up your hole. You've got zero justification for saying that either.

I won't be replying to you again as you've shown yourself to be entirely incapable of reading what's actually being said and instead go on lengthy rants about something else entirely.
How’s the stuff about Italy from that post panning out?

Sounds like action to be taken in the 27th in regards to crowds, behind closed doors again?

Jason Leitch was on BBC Radio 4's Today at 7.00 this morning. He sounded a bit pissed off that the medical advisors of the four nations have spelled out collectively and clearly the consequences of not acting sooner than later. Up to the politicians now.
When asked about 48,000 at Hampden yesterday he said that the felt this may not be sustainable along with concern about supporters in buses and pubs. Thanks Jason but I could have told her that.

The worst PM of ALL time.
Oh I don't know.I heard William Pitt the younger was a bit of a *&*^.

Jason Leitch was on BBC Radio 4's Today at 7.00 this morning. He sounded a bit pissed off that the medical advisors of the four nations have spelled out collectively and clearly the consequences of not acting sooner than later. Up to the politicians now.
When asked about 48,000 at Hampden yesterday he said that the felt this may not be sustainable along with concern about supporters in buses and pubs. Thanks Jason but I could have told her that.

The sooner Westminster gets its arse in gear the sooner we'll all be telt (although we all know what's coming) there's some form of restrictions coming and businesses and therefore staff can be properly compensated.

The sooner we ditch Westminster the sooner we can make these decisions for ourselves. As countries elsewhere have already done.

Like Wales you mean.

Spectators will be banned from all sports events in Wales from 26 December to try to control the spread of the Omicron Covid variant.

Economy Minister Vaughan Gething said a £3m Spectator Sports Fund will be available to support clubs and venues.

Like Wales you mean.

Spectators will be banned from all sports events in Wales from 26 December to try to control the spread of the Omicron Covid variant.

Economy Minister Vaughan Gething said a £3m Spectator Sports Fund will be available to support clubs and venues.

Like Wales but many European countries too.

You really don't do irony Jack. The last time I looked Wales had not ditched Westminster yet they are taking bold steps in an attempt to try and control the spread of Covid netherless.
The Scottish Government should follow Wales lead now. If the game against the Merricks is a casualty so be it. Dinnae wait until the Tories move and then fall into line.
48,000 men, women and Children on Sunday were treated to a bizarre Public Health Warning over the big screens to be reminded that it is mandatory (required by law or mandate,compulsory) to wear masks inside Hampden. Why 99% of people ignored it I have no idea. When Jason Letch came on the screens there was a certain amount of audible derision went his way, which is unfortunate as I think that he is a straight down the middle medical advisor.
I stood there thinking that the cynicim is bourne of Covid exhaustion but also that this mass gathering should never have taken place but postponed until the New Year and before people arranged transport, ticket sales etc. We will see if my theory that Scot.Gov never raised a finger to cancel was inextricably linked to fear of having to do the same for massive Hogmany street parties may or not come home to roost.
If they do follow the lead of the Welsh Government and do as they have done today, the Hogmany street parties will not be postponed whether in Cardiff, Edinburgh, Glasgow, London or anywhere in my opinion. Too much dough involved and massive street parties aren't sports events are they, don't ye know.
I shudder to think of the consequences of the utter flimflam we all hear from politicians, MSM and talking heads, every single day .

You really don't do irony Jack. The last time I looked Wales had not ditched Westminster yet they are taking bold steps in an attempt to try and control the spread of Covid netherless.
The Scottish Government should follow Wales lead now. If the game against the Merricks is a casualty so be it. Dinnae wait until the Tories move and then fall into line.
48,000 men, women and Children on Sunday were treated to a bizarre Public Health Warning over the big screens to be reminded that it is mandatory (required by law or mandate,compulsory) to wear masks inside Hampden. Why 99% of people ignored it I have no idea. When Jason Letch came on the screens there was a certain amount of audible derision went his way, which is unfortunate as I think that he is a straight down the middle medical advisor.
I stood there thinking that the cynicim is bourne of Covid exhaustion but also that this mass gathering should never have taken place but postponed until the New Year and before people arranged transport, ticket sales etc. We will see if my theory that Scot.Gov never raised a finger to cancel was inextricably linked to fear of having to do the same for massive Hogmany street parties may or not come home to roost.
If they do follow the lead of the Welsh Government and do as they have done today, the Hogmany street parties will not be postponed whether in Cardiff, Edinburgh, Glasgow, London or anywhere in my opinion. Too much dough involved and massive street parties aren't sports events are they, don't ye know.
I shudder to think of the consequences of the utter flimflam we all hear from politicians, MSM and talking heads, every single day .

Hogmany party cancelled.

Believe me there will still be thousands congregating, I suspect, throughout Scotland. They will need more than yon device that blocks off Albion Road after games I fear.

I was watching the news earlier saying that 9 out 10 of new cases of Covid in the US are new varient. Depressingly low take up of 1st,2nd and booster jags.As though 800,000+ death does not seem to convince many people these stats should, that I captured (rather badly).

20211221_150756.jpg

20211221_150801.jpg

Don't know if they are comparable to the UK or not. Perhaps showing a similar format should be shown in the UK though, to ram home the message.

I was watching the news earlier saying that 9 out 10 of new cases of Covid in the US are new varient. Depressingly low take up of 1st,2nd and booster jags.As though 800,000+ death does not seem to convince many people these stats should, that I captured (rather badly).

View attachment 7262

View attachment 7263

Don't know if they are comparable to the UK or not. Perhaps showing a similar format should be shown in the UK though, to ram home the message.

They have god on their side G.

Hallelujah brother.

Poor bastards.

Hogmany party cancelled.
House party it is then.

They have god on their side G.

Hallelujah brother.

Poor bastards.
And freedom, remember freedom. As you say, poor bastards.

And guns.
Must not forget the 2nd amendment!

98% of pregnant women in scotland who had covid and ended in critical care were un vaccinated latest figures show.

Almost all people on COVID wards are unvaxed

Apparently the final was a super spreader even a cording to Swinney....

Shows the stats Swinney.

It's ok though No COVID transmitting tomorrow.

Shows the stats Swinney.

To be fair, I got the first "Ping" I have had throughout the Pandemic saying that I had been in close contact with someone on Sunday today.

I was in about 2/3 pubs in Glasgow so the Ping will have come from one of those.

Did a LTF and came back negative, so thankful for that.

When Jason Letch came on the screens there was a certain amount of audible derision went his way, which is unfortunate as I think that he is a straight down the middle medical advisor.
Maybe they, like me, are becoming irritated by the condescending tone of a man who is the literal embodiment of the state infantilization we continue to endure.
This comment didn't age well, did it? Apparently the bourgeois capitalist shills are not calling the shots from the shadows on that one.

Maybe they, like me, are becoming irritated by the condescending tone of a man who is the literal embodiment of the state infantilization we continue to endure.

This comment didn't age well, did it? Apparently the bourgeois capitalist shills are not calling the shots from the shadows on that one.
Oh yes they are and will ensure that that this pandemic will be with us, on our wee planet of years.
Written back at the beginning of January this year, it shows why , brilliantly in my opinion, step by step, the reasons why. Obviously a Socialist analysis and not guff dished out to ordinary punters in shovel loads daily, throughout the world,from various MSM internationally owned by a handful of billionaires. Obscene. Oh the irony. Our money internationally, has paid Big Pharm to make billions in profits, yet ensure that this will not be over whilst there is no plan of production.

PS. People like Jason Leitch are doing exactly what Medical advisor do. Advise. Whether here or Internationally, they pass that advice to politicians International. It's the up to them to do the tactical gymnastics to minimise the spread. I would be very surprised even if they do not agree with the conclusions of the above article, would not disagree with the substance of it. Outwith the limits of their job in my opinion obviously. I dont think that his advice is either ill informed nor condescending.

Shows the stats Swinney.

I heard that as well. Ridiculous statement to make without a single stat to back it up, scaremongering of the highest order.

A terrifying insight into how the SNP would run an independent Scotland, power through fear.

I imagine that the Centre next to the Holy Ground in Hawkhill will have a huge supply of kits pre match. I tested ok an hour ago, with the older kit which did make me boak.
I'll pick up some new ones pre match. What gives me a bigger boak, though not affecting me personally, is the crazy walk up price for fans. Here in EH6, just round the corner it is freezing and pishing down. New manager, last game in front of crowds or not, not a good combination to get folk in Hibernian.

Hate to tell you this but my nephew John who was on the St Pat's bus on Sunday and was at the club; has come down with Covid,so I'd suggest i f you were on that bus or in the club you'd be better to take a lateral flow test at least.

I heard that as well. Ridiculous statement to make without a single stat to back it up, scaremongering of the highest order.

A terrifying insight into how the SNP would run an independent Scotland, power through fear.

I'm not convinced he said it was a super-spreader event, in fact I don't think he did, more like that it had the potential to be one or something.

The Scum newspaper mis-quoted him, go figure.

What a fucking surprise!!

Why say anything that’s speculation and open to interpretation? They’re supposed to be telling us facts, not it’s and buts. It’s stupidity at best, stirring up hysteria at worst.

Not going to pretend I fully understand the paper, but this sentence seems to indicate that this is the best data available in the world right now:

"Cox proportional hazard models were used to estimate the risk of
COVID-19 hospitalisation adjusted for age, sex, socioeconomic status, vaccination status and clinical
risk factors."

I don't think any of the numbers coming out of South Africa have been adjusted in that way so they didn't really show that Omicron was intrinsically less severe than Delta. It sure looks like great news as far as my limited understanding can make out.

Just read that few mins ago and was what I was talking with a guy at work about. We all know the virus has to mutate to be less deadly in order for it's long term survival...as to like the common cold virus. This mutation is not attacking the lungs in same wat and is a step closer to its goal. We should see less deaths from here on or head of population infected.

Kids growing up and being infected also should have a greater ability to recognise and fight the disease The world might get wiped by a virus one day...but it wont be this one.

We all know the virus has to mutate to be less deadly in order for it's long term survival
That's not necessarily true for a virus like Covid which can spread pretty effectively before symptoms even start. It happens with viruses that cause rapid illness and death because if you're dead or lying in your bed sick you can't spread it so the transmission chain dies.

Why say anything that’s speculation and open to interpretation? They’re supposed to be telling us facts, not it’s and buts. It’s stupidity at best, stirring up hysteria at worst.

I don't think it was either speculation or open to interpretation. I might see if I can find the interview to confirm.

BBC Scotland Drivetime presenter Nick Sheridan asked Mr Swinney: “Was the Cup Final a super spreader event and why did it go ahead?”

Mr Swinney replied: “It could well be. I think it stands to reason that if we have large numbers of people, 50,000 fans travelling towards a sporting event in one particular part of the country, using multiple modes of transport and interacting with each other – there is a very high danger that will be a super spreader event.

I regret the fact we didn’t make this decision earlier.”

BBC Scotland Drivetime presenter Nick Sheridan asked Mr Swinney: “Was the Cup Final a super spreader event and why did it go ahead?”

Mr Swinney replied: “It could well be. I think it stands to reason that if we have large numbers of people, 50,000 fans travelling towards a sporting event in one particular part of the country, using multiple modes of transport and interacting with each other – there is a very high danger that will be a super spreader event.

I regret the fact we didn’t make this decision earlier.”
Must admit I don't feel particularly hysterical after reading that - do people really think it's stirring up hysteria?

Some do it appears. I didn't tremble with rage. No more than the usual tremors and shouty fit anyway.

Pretty beige stuff from Swinney.

This thread has been viewed 319739 times.