Corona virus on its own thread.

You don't have to book - just walk in.
Isn't that just for the asymptomatic lateral flow jobs? I think you need to book for PCR ones if you have symptoms.

I had to.

I had to.
How are you and the laddie feeling?

Oh aye, my mistake. Misread the thread obviously - though it was a symptomatic we were discussing. 🤐

How are you and the laddie feeling?
Laddie finished his isolation on Sunday. He feels fine but his sense of smell and taste is still poor. I feel like I have flu, today’s new symptom was sore legs and shoulders, yesterday’s was losing taste and smell. Cough, sneezing, tight chest and knackeredness comes and goes all day. Always feel a bit better after 2 Panadol.

How you are feeling?

500 in hospital in Scotland with Covid according to figures today...
Would be interesting to see how many of them were unvaccinated.

Laddie finished his isolation on Sunday. He feels fine but his sense of smell and taste is still poor. I feel like I have flu, today’s new symptom was sore legs and shoulders, yesterday’s was losing taste and smell. Cough, sneezing, tight chest and knackeredness comes and goes all day. Always feel a bit better after 2 Panadol.

How you are feeling?
That sounds rough, hope it clears soon. I'm ok, it's my laddie on his return from Leeds festival that I was getting a test for. Tbh I think the coughing is just because he's hoarse from singing but thought it best to get him tested anyway.

JVCI recommend not to give vaccine to kids, goverment likely to press ahead anyway.

Yep.
Politicians will listen to the scientists and act on their advice when it suits their agenda, and ignore their advice when it doesn't.

Yep.
Politicians will listen to the scientists and act on their advice when it suits their agenda, and ignore their advice when it doesn't.

In this case the JCVI has a narrow set of considerations, whereas the gov and their experts have a wider one. The decision to vaccinate brings us into line with most other European countries and rightly so IMO.

It’s about risk management for us ‘more mature’ guys. The vast majority of old folk have been double vaccinated (I could have said “double jabbed” but there would have been too many pricks replying) so we are relatively safe whilst socialising with our own generation.
But youngsters are still potential infection factories and best avoided.
My shed is out of bounds for the foreseeable. If they can avoid Covid they can surely avoid dehydration.

My dad went in to the western a couple of weeks back for a big cancer op, went well and he was recovering slowly. Over the last 18 months he's been very diligently following rules and mitigating any risks of covid. After all that time isolating/shielding and a big operation he's caught Covid when in the fucking hospital. Feel gutted for him, he's now in a side room, no visitors allowed, his mental health being affected by the lack of interaction. Nightmare.

That's hellish, hope he's ok.

Sorry to hear that, best wishes for a speedy recovery

That’s horrible Mark, reminds me of my dad, in the old Royal after a stroke, caught MRSA. My Ma, a month after my Dad had his stroke was diagnosed with brain cancer, was taken in tae Liberton hospital. They widnae move my Dad up tae Liberton because of his MRSA. Eventually 2 weeks later they move him, same ward, in a side room, my Ma died a week later, my Dad 3 weeks after her.
Hope your Dad gets better quick bud.

That’s horrible Mark, reminds me of my dad, in the old Royal after a stroke, caught MRSA. My Ma, a month after my Dad had his stroke was diagnosed with brain cancer, was taken in tae Liberton hospital. They widnae move my Dad up tae Liberton because of his MRSA. Eventually 2 weeks later they move him, same ward, in a side room, my Ma died a week later, my Dad 3 weeks after her.
Fuck sake Bill, that's brutal. the pessimist in me worries about how he's getting out of the situation he's in, but need to keep my head down and get on with providing him with all the help and encouragement he needs. This last year or so has been a total *&*^.

What a position tae be in Mark, I hope you manage tae get in and speak tae him or even talk on a phone.

Wishing your Dad a speedy recovery mate. I've had a horrendous year with my Dad suffering a sudden cardiac arrest and the knock on consequences of it. I know exactly how you're feeling. The worry and frustration is awful. 💚

Christ thats tragic Bill. Sorry to hear that. It mustve been a really hard time mate.. 😟

Sorry to hear this Mark. Hope he makes a speedy recovery, wishing him and your family well

Christ thats tragic Bill. Sorry to hear that. It mustve been a really hard time mate.. 😟
It was Stu, can sympathise wi people wi family members with covid not being able tae visit their loved ones. I had tae robe up when I was in visiting my dad but at least I got in.

Very best wishes for your dads @Smurf and @southfieldhibby . Sincerely. What a hard time for you.

Best wishes tae @hibbybilly. That was a tough read too mate.

Wishing your Dad a speedy recovery mate. I've had a horrendous year with my Dad suffering a sudden cardiac arrest and the knock on consequences of it. I know exactly how you're feeling. The worry and frustration is awful. 💚
Hope your Dad makes a speedy recovery Kenny

That’s awful, hope he feels better soon

There’s no appropriate words. Thoughts with you.

Cheers, that happened a long time ago though.

Ffs
My sympathy and thoughts to @southfieldhibby @Smurf and @hibbybilly.

We got a message for the management at work yesterday asking us to stringently follow the covid protocols they have in place.
West Lothian positive cases are the highest they have ever been!
Had the 1st positive case in my department since the pandemic started and whole departments/shifts have been isolating.

Ffs
My sympathy and thoughts to @southfieldhibby @Smurf and @hibbybilly.
Don’t forget our esteemed Bouncer and legend @1875.
I visited him this week (just to get my Tiny ticket to be honest)
A man who can barely move off the settee, and has to rely on others to feed clothe and wash him. Fuckin sad. And that was before he got ill.
On the bright side, Covid has made little difference. He’s still a lazy *&*^ and since Covid prevents you shaving apparently he looks like a fuckin yeti.

Bet his ‘just back’ is still class though.

Don’t forget our esteemed Bouncer and legend @1875.
I visited him this week (just to get my Tiny ticket to be honest)
A man who can barely move off the settee, and has to rely on others to feed clothe and wash him. Fuckin sad. And that was before he got ill.
On the bright side, Covid has made little difference. He’s still a lazy *&*^ and since Covid prevents you shaving apparently he looks like a fuckin yeti.

Bet his ‘just back’ is still class though.
That goes without saying @1875 is a legend.
On a very very rare serious point Mark's just backs are a lifeline to those of us who are unable to make it to the games.
To the best of my knowledge I've only met 4 bouncers all gentlemen even you

Sorry to hear about you Dad M. Keep in touch with him as much as you can. If you need anything, just shout.

Listened to the woman who led the team that created the Oxford jab on the radio. She was talking about booster jabs and said it’s far more important that folk get flu jabs. You really really do not want to get rona and flu at the same time.

3 days ago, my old boss at the RIE posted this:

"Chris Findlay

@SCNChris1975

·
Sep 10

Probably my hardest week in Nursing I care to remember. #covid is relentless again at the moment. Patients are really sick, of all ages and we are doing our best to save every single one. The staff in @204Rie are beyond heroes and deserve far more than claps and pay rises."

Scary stuff and especially when they are talking about lifting restrictions etc. Plus, this is before the 'normal' winter viruses kick in... :wondering:

That goes without saying @1875 is a legend.
On a very very rare serious point Mark's just backs are a lifeline to those of us who are unable to make it to the games.
To the best of my knowledge I've only met 4 bouncers all gentlemen even you
Crawler.
Wait until you meet Hibbybilly....

Crawler.
HOI! Am a fuckin gentleman tae ya fuckin @*^*’ yi!

Crawler.
I'm sure our William is a complete gent
But the other 4 have made me laugh

3 days ago, my old boss at the RIE posted this:

"Chris Findlay
@SCNChris1975
·
Sep 10

Probably my hardest week in Nursing I care to remember. #covid is relentless again at the moment. Patients are really sick, of all ages and we are doing our best to save every single one. The staff in @204Rie are beyond heroes and deserve far more than claps and pay rises."

Scary stuff and especially when they are talking about lifting restrictions etc. Plus, this is before the 'normal' winter viruses kick in... :wondering:
Aye one of my household tested positive and I've recently become breathless, cough etc despite me testing negative, reckon I have it like hopefully the vaccines doing its job. Seems rife in schools etch just now, caught it from the bairns.

Hope you feel better soon.

Hope you're ok. If you don't have one it might be worth getting hold of a blood oxygen monitor. That can give you a bit of early warning just in case.

My daughter tested positive on a lateral flow on Sunday and confirmed by PCR yesterday. The rest of us tested negative.

As someone slowly recovering from it, coughing and breathlessness are both common symptoms I still have. I would go down and get a PCR, don't rely on the home tests.

This thread has been viewed 320858 times.