Corona virus on its own thread.

On the subject of Covid miscreants , is Margaret Ferrier still an SNP member ?

Suspended.

A guy in the media was trying to embroil Swinney in SNPness while doing the Scottish Government covid briefing but he wasn't having any of it. Quite rightly stuck to Government business.

The party process will be allowed to run its course was about as much as he was saying. I'm sure similar processes are rumbling on in all parties at the moment.

Or are they?

Suspended.

A guy in the media was trying to embroil Swinney in SNPness while doing the Scottish Government covid briefing but he wasn't having any of it. Quite rightly stuck to Government business.

The party process will be allowed to run its course was about as much as he was saying. I'm sure similar processes are rumbling on in all parties at the moment.

Or are they?

So that's a yes then. Still an SNP member.

I've never been a member of any party but I assume suspended means you're in limbo until the party/club decides what to do with you.

Maybe they're waiting to see how other political parties deal with their covid miscreants, or perhaps even discussing with those other parties the best way to deal with them.

I've never been a member of any party but I assume suspended means you're in limbo until the party/club decides what to do with you.

Maybe they're waiting to see how other political parties deal with their covid miscreants, or perhaps even discussing with those other parties the best way to deal with them.

What gets me about her is that she is acting exactly like Blairite MPS in the Labour Party who vociferously opposes mandatory reselection. These people regard being an MP as a job for life no matter what. They always say they have the mandate of their voters, when in fact it was their Constituency Parties and the Party name and apparatus which selected them to stand. In this case her SNP Association has on several occasions requested her to stand down. She has told them to beat it.

I've made my opinion that very clear on here a number of times and we have no disagreement there.

Until such time as the system changes we're stuck with what we have. She's not first and as turkeys don't vote for Christmas its unlikely she'll be the last to be in this position.

Good point. Stick Bawless Johnson on that list.

On his watch, about a year, there have been more civilian deaths (excess deaths) in the UK than his hero Churchill oversaw in the whole of WW2.
Do you think there's an outside chance Johnson and Sturgeon will do jail time, is it incompetence or neglect. The only stablemates each have is trump and bolsonaro who didn't believe in covid.

We can't blame England for everything, worse deaths per capita than the USA, people with covid sent back to nursing homes, opening up borders in the summer, a weaker lockdown than most of Europe, keeping glasgow in tier 3 while its recording more deaths than some countries in Europe

Do you think there's an outside chance Johnson and Sturgeon will do jail time, is it incompetence or neglect. The only stablemates each have is trump and bolsonaro who didn't believe in covid.

We can't blame England for everything, worse deaths per capita than the USA, people with covid sent back to nursing homes, opening up borders in the summer, a weaker lockdown than most of Europe, keeping glasgow in tier 3 while its recording more deaths than some countries in Europe
I'd firstly call out the worst figures in the world stat. Its not good but there's no standard way of counting around the world, there's not even a standard around the UK! Count this, don't count that is all massaging the numbers. Once we get through this shitfest each country will have its excess deaths figure which will tell the story.

For what you describe I think the chances are absolutely miniscule of jail time. The recent care home report already cleared the Scottish Government of any/most misdeeds. Ministers at the Scottish Government will be able, I'm sure, to point to the advice given by experts etc. to justify the actions they've taken and when they've taken them.

For the Scottish Government I'd also suggest their failures have been technical in nature, such as the miss coding which effected the track and trace system.

The tier system is good but doesn't go far enough. I'll be ragin if it turns out keeping east of the central belt on level 3 is more political than science to appease the west.

I'd also like to see the science behind keeping schools as open as they are. There's virtually fuck all open in a socialising sort of way and all the other stuff that previously got the 'blame' but we're still struggling to control the spread.

Next in my crosshairs are the folk not following the guidance. Masks are compulsory. If folk aren't wearing them don't let them on the bus or serve them in shops. Make it an on the spot fine for a first offence with the usual repeat offender stuff. I don't get this 'you can't expect bus drivers' etc. stuff. If someone was taking a piss on the bus or in the vegetable section of the supermarket they'd be quick to react!

House parties! WTF! It's a premeditated action hosting one or rocking up to one with a slab of Tenents under your arm. Host, huge fine; slab of Tenents holder hefty fine.

If I found out one of the reasons the Scottish Government was taking this softly, softly approach was because fine income goes to the Treasury I'd be livid!

The tory bastards should get time for the misappropriation of public funds.

Apologies to all for the long post/rant!

House parties! WTF! It's a premeditated action hosting one or rocking up to one with a slab of Tenents under your arm. Host, huge fine; slab of Tenents holder hefty fine.
I'm curious – how do you define "house party"? Upwards of, say, ten folk and loud music? What if there's ten folk and no music, how do you propose establishing that there is a party going on? What if, say, someone has 2 or 3 mates round for a few wines and a chat? Is that a party? In which case, how do you propose establishing that?

As for "huge fines", what are you suggesting - a grand? A few hundred quid? If so, how much efficacy do you think that will have if the folk having the party are, for example, now jobless and on Universal Credit? It's always a challenge punishing folk who have nothing to lose.

A 12 hour shift cleaning covid wards might be an enlightening bit of community service for them.

I'm curious – how do you define "house party"? Upwards of, say, ten folk and loud music? What if there's ten folk and no music, how do you propose establishing that there is a party going on? What if, say, someone has 2 or 3 mates round for a few wines and a chat? Is that a party? In which case, how do you propose establishing that?

As for "huge fines", what are you suggesting - a grand? A few hundred quid? If so, how much efficacy do you think that will have if the folk having the party are, for example, now jobless and on Universal Credit? It's always a challenge punishing folk who have nothing to lose.
The guidelines as to who can meet and where are quite clear, 10 is breaking the guidelines without a doubt. Having 2 or 3 mates round probably breaks these guidelines although in certain circumstances I'm sure it wouldn't. These people would know themselves if it did or not.

The level of huge could depend on the size of party and why shouldn't run into thousands? I'm sure there are those that you mention have broken the law and been fined for other offences. No reason same rules for applying the law shouldn't apply.

Ignorance of the Law has never been the best excuse for breaking it.

Edit: We're not reinventing the wheel, just adding more wheels.

The reason the schools are open is because, if they have to close, then the whole country stops completely as the choice for parents is either go to work and leave their kids at home by themselves or let them go feral or stay at home with their kids because they legally have to care for them.
Basically, if the schools shut nobody can go to work for looking after their kids, therefore the economy goes around the u bend of the shitter it’s presently in.

House party is misleading, “gathering” should be used, we should not be doing it.

I understand that, that's why I'm asking (and what @Jack didn't answer): how do those who feel this should be in some way "enforced" propose to do that; i.e. how do they establish that a gathering is indeed occurring, when it's not some loud party with folk outside smoking, music pumping, etc?

Sorry house party was an exaggeration eckmf has described it more accurately. I was giving a picture rather than an official report :))

Over the past few weekends its been reported, at least twice, over 300 parties/gatherings have been broken up. They could have started with them. The police are obviously finding them but it seems only the ridiculous ticketed rave type doos are attracting fines.

There must be something important tae get done this week, Boris is self isolating again.

Before we get all excited about the 95% effective Moderna vaccine that can easily be stored in a normal fridge ...

Bouncers may recall the UK government fucked up joining a deal with the EU at the start of the crisis to preorder a vaccine. You might remember the "we didn't get the email" "we did get the email but we're Independent now" "what's the point of hanging on to the EUs coat tails" tory shite, tory shite ...

Aye, this is the one.

That's not to say the UK won't have access to it but surely we're way down the list when the boys are loading up the van!

Before we get all excited about the 95% effective Moderna vaccine that can easily be stored in a normal fridge ...

Bouncers may recall the UK government fucked up joining a deal with the EU at the start of the crisis to preorder a vaccine. You might remember the "we didn't get the email" "we did get the email but we're Independent now" "what's the point of hanging on to the EUs coat tails" tory shite, tory shite ...

Aye, this is the one.

That's not to say the UK won't have access to it but surely we're way down the list when the boys are loading up the van!
Agree with what you are saying...but I think something will be sorted out.

Hugely encouraging to see new vaccines being approved. The Oxford Group vaccine will be next IMO.

Very encouraging news with two potential vaccines announced in last week.

Politics are and always will be divisive, I have little interest in the big P. It is often full of the same shite, no matter what persuasion.

Bring on the vaccine, I cannae wait and remain cautiously optimistic.

I do think Nicola S has done pretty well through the pandemic, clear and concise and rarely missed a beat.

The reason the schools are open is because, if they have to close, then the whole country stops completely as the choice for parents is either go to work and leave their kids at home by themselves or let them go feral or stay at home with their kids because they legally have to care for them.
Basically, if the schools shut nobody can go to work for looking after their kids, therefore the economy goes around the u bend of the shitter it’s presently in.

Johnson, Sturgeon, Starmer et al understand this however their rush to get children back to school will come back to haunt them. Starmer went as far as sacking Rebecca Long Bailey as Shadow Education Minister with spurious nonsense, because she urged caution and was listening to the teaching Unions.

Labour and Trade Unions should be demanding that the Tories ensure safe work or full pay for all workers.

The creation of ‘Nightingale’ schools, with additional buildings and teachers, in order to create space and ensure social distancing; free laptops and wifi for all pupils, to provide universal access to online learning; and, again, a robust test-and-trace system.

Although not in power in Westminster, in many areas Labour are in power: in Wales; in important mayoral positions in London, Manchester, Liverpool, and elsewhere; and in local councils across the country.

Just today the NHS chief in Hull has said that there should be a city wide shutdown and school closures.

Just watched the sorry looking Johnson speaking in lockdown again.
Dominic Cummings and his clique are gone and he looks perilously vulnerable now without them at his back. This is clearly an open power struggle in the Tory Party, as the Ruling Class looks to take back control of it's first team, whilst at the same time quietly, trying to cultivating a safe second eleven in case the first team blow it catastrophically.
I think I will find out odds from my bookies for when the first team manager will get his jotters.

That'll my electricity bill doubling again and the WiFi up to about 500 gig a day for their Xboxes

Regarding an earlier post where I suggested the media put together a list of dodgy contracts awarded by the thieving torys.

It seems the National Audit Office (also thieving, useless bastards but that's another story) have cobbled together such a list. Of the £18bn worth of contracts awarded in relation to the coronavirus crisis £10.5bn* worth were possibly hooky!

I'd expect to hear a similar story when the Brexit clusterfuck is investigated.

* To give some idea of how much that is in government spending power its almost enough to run NHS Scotland for a year, £12ish bn.

West Lothian is going into tier 4 lockdown this Friday. I do believe that schools are contributing to driving the infection rates up however I gather that Livingston Centre has been mobbed with bus loads of people coming in from Ayrshire, Glasgow and fuckin Newcastle. No doubt from other places too. All out for a jolly around the shops. Folk too wandering around with no face covering and the centre security taking no preventative measures. At least the designer outlet over the road have made an effort with its one way system and security stopping folk at the entrances with a non nonsense ’nae mask=nae entry’ policy. We’re fucked if folk don’t start taking this seriously.

Yes Beagle you're right although the powers that be don't think it's the schools that are driving the infection rate up. It's the grown-up's that you describe in your post that can't take any responsibility for themselves and disregard the safety of others. Time for these people to wise up but then they probably can't. We live in a thick nation I'm afraid.

We live in a thick nation I'm afraid.
Know that you are not alone.

Its the anti mask wearers making it worse, ffs if you’re indoors, esp shopping malls wtf is wrong with wearing a mask? Yet its these anti mask wearers who are desperately trying to blame the govt. the govt has not been blamesless i kniw, but if you’re refusing to wear a mask you dont have a right to blame anyone. Just fecking idiots.
Had a guy on twitter yesterday, saying gyms should be open cause he is fit as feck and has a 99.8% chance surviving!!! Not a shit about who he could infect??

Oxford University vaccine trial shows 70% protection from Covid....excellent news.

If you look at Sky news, it says the same vaccine shows 90% protection.
Fingers on the pulse , eh?

If you look at Sky news, it says the same vaccine shows 90% protection.
Fingers on the pulse , eh?
Apparently both are correct,

70% one dose, 90% if a half dose followed by a full dose.

I read that it was 62% with two full doses and 90% if a half dose followed by a full dose. I don't think there are enough cases in the sample to be confident in those numbers though so they can only quote the overall number of 70% as it stands. Even 70% should be enough to get to herd immunity levels of protection and I believe they've been manufacturing the Oxford vaccine since around July in anticipation of approval being received so hopefully the rollout of that one can start pretty quickly. It's much cheaper than the Pfizer / Moderna ones too and the UK has 100 million doses ordered (enough for 50 million people) plus it doesn't need stored at -70 degrees like the other ones do. I could see us ending up rolling out the Pfizer one to highest risk groups with the Oxford one going to everyone else.

Apparently both are correct,

70% one dose, 90% if a half dose followed by a full dose.
I read that it was 62% with two full doses and 90% if a half dose followed by a full dose. I don't think there are enough cases in the sample to be confident in those numbers though so they can only quote the overall number of 70% as it stands. Even 70% should be enough to get to herd immunity levels of protection and I believe they've been manufacturing the Oxford vaccine since around July in anticipation of approval being received so hopefully the rollout of that one can start pretty quickly. It's much cheaper than the Pfizer / Moderna ones too and the UK has 100 million doses ordered (enough for 50 million people) plus it doesn't need stored at -70 degrees like the other ones do. I could see us ending up rolling out the Pfizer one to highest risk groups with the Oxford one going to everyone else.
Crystal clear.

18,500 new cases of Covid19 in the past 24 hours and 696 deaths. I wonder if there is an increase in new cases and deaths following the Christmas Covid restriction break, Johnson, Sturgeon, Foster and Drakeford will publically say that they got it wrong or more likely, say we gave you the chance and you the people have fucked it up.

I think yesterday’s announcement is taking the wrong approach but the governments were better trying to set some ground rules rather than a blanket ban because we all know every *&*^ was going to ignore the advice. I can guarantee Hogmanay will be a disaster Covid wise because folk cannie celebrate new year without getting pissed. The infection rate will be through the roof by spring, vaccine or not.

Hats off to you mate. The only Nationalist on here to raise doubts about this Christmas break lunacy. If it were Boris and England only, I have no doubt many on here would be giving it 'stupid Tory Bastards'. Knocked on the heid with Sturgeon at al supporting this. Looks like the baws burst. NI and Wales increasing restrictions today, after lockdowns.
I was the only person criticising the hurry up to open Schools and Universities, particularly the Sir Starmer colluding with Johnson. Is anyone in the know, able to explain that there is speculation that Scottish School and University Christmas breaks could be extended. A conundrum within a cunumbrum.

Mind you I am living in a myopic wee world apparently.

Today.....16022 new cases, 521 coffins.

Ps just watch Nimrod Sweeney. He does not look convinced about what he's saying.

I don’t think the Scottish government were left with many options. Full lockdown? Folk will just say, “Aye right. It won’t happen to me or anyone I know so I’ll just ignore the rules, ‘cos Christmas innit”
People are more likely to comply with a relaxation albeit with set guidelines than a total ban. Human nature.

Agree about the Christmas break being lunacy with the easing somewhat of restrictions. However Christmas is a non-event for me unfortunately and has been for several years. But people MUST have their fun world wide pandemic or not. The attitude of some would be - Bl**dy SNP Govt. won't even let us have Xmas! The crux of the matter is some folk refuse to take any responsibility for themselves or others. They have grown up from childhood getting everything they want. They must have Christmas, they must have their drinks in the pubs, they must self indulge. Well I hope they enjoy themselves it may be their last festive season.

Well I hope they enjoy themselves it may be their last festive season.

It will be for many loved ones as things stand. This madness will unnecessary exacerbate that for many more. Shocking decision. My Party will shamefully back the Tories on Tuesday. Any Nats with the ear of SNP high heid yins know their position for Tuesday.

If you look around the 'Christian' world rules are being relaxed in all that I've seen.

I don't necessarily agree with it but my Christmas was planned with the current rules still being in place and won't change unless I get out at sometime for a wee drink although I can't see that happening.

Schools and universities are the elephant in the room. These kids super spreaders. Not their fault in the main but they are.

If you look around the 'Christian' world rules are being relaxed in all that I've seen.

I don't necessarily agree with it but my Christmas was planned with the current rules still being in place and won't change unless I get out at sometime for a wee drink although I can't see that happening.

Schools and universities are the elephant in the room. These kids super spreaders. Not their fault in the main but they are.

Where is this Christian world, what have they done? How bad are their death rates?

Agree about the Christmas break being lunacy with the easing somewhat of restrictions. However Christmas is a non-event for me unfortunately and has been for several years. But people MUST have their fun world wide pandemic or not. The attitude of some would be - Bl**dy SNP Govt. won't even let us have Xmas! The crux of the matter is some folk refuse to take any responsibility for themselves or others. They have grown up from childhood getting everything they want. They must have Christmas, they must have their drinks in the pubs, they must self indulge. Well I hope they enjoy themselves it may be their last festive season.
Exactly what I was meaning but you put it better than me

This thread has been viewed 319752 times.