Commons

A fit Commons will be a top signing for us ...Regarding SJM I have a feeling we will sell him at the end of the window without him getting replaced .

Lennon has already publically stated that it would take a bid of around 4 to 5 Million for us to even consider selling John McGinn during this transfer window. That is effectively saying that he is not for sale at all just now as no club, not even Celtic, is going to offer that sort of money for a highly promising young Scottish midfielder who has only ever really played in the Scottish Championship. I think he will be at Hibs for another season. He might even sign an extension to his current deal which would mean a bigger fee for him and more money for St Mirren as part of the sell-on fee. If he stays another year both McGinn and Hibs will have had benefitted greatly from his move to Easter Road. A Scottish Cup winner and league winner, and a full internationalist in his time here. He will then get his big move he deserves, probably to Celtic.

Dinnae kid yersel. He probably has a trigger clause in his contract (as most players seem to nowadays) that if Celtc come in with a certain figure he'll be offski. Anyone saying things like £4-5M is only trying to put off other bidders from down south. I'm pretty sure it'll be stipulated that Celtc will be the preferred destination when Celtc and SJM decide it's time. Sadly, Hibs only bargaining chip will be to get the best fee off them.

I agree with you. I just don't think that will happen during this transfer window.

SJM is just about the most level-headed young footballer you will ever meet. And he has set his sights on England, not the Smellies.

Good interview with Commons yesterday on BBC Scotland. I'm confident that if he does join us he will be doing so to absolutely contribute. Amazing statistic from Celtc that in over 200 appearances he scored or assisted in 72% of they games.

Lenny saying he will get to use the facilities and soecialists at east majns but can't even look to offer him anything until he proved his fitness. Hopefully ease the mind of anyone worrying about wasted money etc.

Commons sounds hungry for action. Isn't coming to be an add on. A hungry, fit commons would be a sensational signing; even if we only get 60/70 mins out him most games.

Will be amazed if he's still with us at the end of the window.

Me too mate.

While Henderson might be free to sign, Celtic will be due a development fee even if he is out of contract. That fee will be substantial, possibly more than we could afford, and if his wage is £7K per week as has been suggested, then his next likely move will be down south.

If we offered 250k for Berry what's an extra 50k to get such a quality player like Hendo, I would much rather see Hendo taking our corners instead of Boyle. He would take the drop in wages for regular football.

Me too mate.

If we offered 250k for Berry what's an extra 50k to get such a quality player like Hendo, I would much rather see Hendo taking our corners instead of Boyle. He would take the drop in wages for regular football.

Apparently we weren't in for Berry and no agreement had been made. On the other hand we had a bid accepted for Berry but weren't willing to give him an extra £700 a week. Not a dig at you, the rumor mill was all over the place with this "deal" :surp@

My point is we should be paying the compo fee now before someone else steps in mate, heard the Berry deal broke down but wasn't informed why and I wouldn't expect anyone else would know unless they were in the room when the deal was taking place.

Me too mate.

What's to say Celtic want £300K? Secondly, Berry won't be on (or looking for) as much as £7K per week. That's a wage beyond our means, and quite simply too much for a player of Liam Henderson's calibre. Don't get me wrong, he's a fine player, but he's not so good that we could justify such an outlay of wages & fee.

Yesterday was probably a fine example of when a fit Kris Commons would be handy to offer something different in attack, for those who suggested he would struggle to make the squad etc.

4 weeks since this thread was last added to. Heard little about Commons after our first two games either.
As much as loads of people were getting carried away after TWO league games, I wouldn't be too concerned after yesterday that I'd be wanting to add a 34 year old who hasn't played in nearly a year.

Hope that Swanson and the Man City young blade come onto a game mind you.....

4 weeks since this thread was last added to. Heard little about Commons after our first two games either.
As much as loads of people were getting carried away after TWO league games, I wouldn't be too concerned after yesterday that I'd be wanting to add a 34 year old who hasn't played in nearly a year.

Hope that Swanson and the Man City young blade come onto a game mind you.....

Barker looked like he could be the mutt's nuts.

Really missed Squirrel yesterday.

Barker looked like he could be the mutt's nuts.

Really missed Squirrel yesterday.

Really harsh to judge him on such a short time but I wasn't impressed at all. He will be better away from home where there's more space though as Hamilton were pretty shrewd defensively albeit we played into their hands.

Agree re Boyle though and good news that he might be back sooner than first thought.

I'm still pretty positive that we can go to Dens and pick up 3 points which would be a good start from 4 games.

Commons wouldn't have added to us yesterday because we would have bypassed him all game with the pish digs forward that Murray was supposed to chase down all day.

Commons like Slivka will take shots at goal from distance and manage to test the keeper at very least by hitting the target. Some of the shots at goal against Hamilton were shocking.

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

Hibs just uploaded a clip of him smashing a freekick with no caption etc to facebook.. Random

Hopefully a wee hint at his signing. Although he looks cosy punditing.

Hibs just uploaded a clip of him smashing a freekick with no caption etc to facebook.. Random

He scored a free kick last on this day last year to put us on top of championship. Just spotted it on Twitter.

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

The freezing cold game last Hogmanay at their place. A year today. Judging by the sloppiness of the social media yesterday it's probably just a "on this day" clip. Nothing clever...

His footballing days are over due to his back

Decent contribution while here, great free kick at Falkirk

I don't think Commons has confirmed he's retired...

When will he be announcing this?

There isn't much point in not telling people he's retiring if that's the case.

Was of the understanding he was never going to be fit before this month, if this month at all.
Sure Lennon himself said something of the sort.
And I'm sure Kris is quoted saying he still has football left in him.

Aye he's making money on TV, why not? He might still fancy a bit of it, especially sitting at games in his new seat.

This thread has been viewed 6504 times.