Bitcoin

I've been accumulating since last year while it was low. Everytime it dipped under $20,000 I bought more. Starting to see some upside moves this year. I've been mostly buying:

Bitcoin
CELR
XRP
Link

Still see it reaching $100,000 and the rest making bigger percentage gains.

Bitcoin is sitting around $27,300.

Since my brokerage has started to offer Crypto exchange I decided to have a little flutter on Bitcoin and Ethereum. May start to load up on it a bit more later.

Bitcoin trading at $30,000 along with most other cryptos in the green. Buying the dips and cost averaging in last year and this year was the smart play. I still think it's a great price to keep cost averaging in until the next bull run really starts.

I get a lot of shit on here, but the numbers don't lie.

Bitcoin trading at $30,000 along with most other cryptos in the green. Buying the dips and cost averaging in last year and this year was the smart play. I still think it's a great price to keep cost averaging in until the next bull run really starts.

If people are gaining , people are losing, surely . Someone has to

All the mugs that bought when Bitcoin was near it's all time high and sold when it crashed. Those mostly lost. It's the psychology of most people. When something is hot, they all want in. When it's crashing and cold, they don't want to know.

You watch 99% of gamblers. When they are winning, they don't press and go for it. Most try and protect there profits and win just a little more. Same gamblers when losing start betting bigger chasing loses. Have to flip that mentality.

Scottish wifie ripped off tae the tune of 150K from dodgy dealers, on the news earlier.

All the mugs that bought when Bitcoin was near it's all time high and sold when it crashed. Those mostly lost. It's the psychology of most people. When something is hot, they all want in. When it's crashing and cold, they don't want to know.

You watch 99% of gamblers. When they are winning, they don't press and go for it. Most try and protect there profits and win just a little more. Same gamblers when losing start betting bigger chasing loses. Have to flip that mentality.
You've just described the Greater Fool theory which is precisely what those of us who are critical of crypto have been saying all along.

And I'm intrigued by your description of people who bought at over $30k as mugs when you were so adamant (and offering bets as I recall) that it was going to $100k within months. Was that last year or the year before?

You've just described the Greater Fool theory which is precisely what those of us who are critical of crypto have been saying all along.

And I'm intrigued by your description of people who bought at over $30k as mugs when you were so adamant (and offering bets as I recall) that it was going to $100k within months. Was that last year or the year before?

I've already gone over this a million times with you. I declared taking profits on the run up last time. I didn't advocate buying near the top. Go through the entire thread and you'll see that.

And yes, I still see Bitcoin reaching $100,000

I've already gone over this a million times with you. I declared taking profits on the run up last time. I didn't advocate buying near the top. Go through the entire thread and you'll see that.

And yes, I still see Bitcoin reaching $100,000
If you buy at $20k and the price goes up to $30k it's because "mugs" who aren't as good at timing as you are buying at $30k. That is the greater fool theory. As I've said a hundred times before, that doesn't mean no-one makes money out of it (though very, very few will as they don't convert it back to fiat so all they have is whatever today's price is), it just means that it's a straight up gamble with winners and losers.

I'll agree with you on that point. Investing in anything is a gamble. MOST that invest in cryptocurrency never do the research and take the time to study and take profits. It's like regular gambling. Blackjack card counters study and know the game and come out ahead in the long run. Same with very shrewd sports bettors. They take the time to study and have that edge. They'll all have losing sessions, but over the course of their lifetime, come out ahead.

For the record, when Bitcoin hits $40,000, I'll take 15% of what I've invested and cash out. I don't aim to hit a top and cash out at the very top, that's foolish. And again at $60,000 I'll take another % out. I've not thought that far ahead yet and markets change, so I'm being loose with those figures, but want to be 100% transparent.

Bitcoin up ~9% over the week, Ethereum up ~13% over the week. I just purchased a little more. I won't get rich from the amount I have even if Bitcoin goes to $100k but anytime you can get a double digit return, that's good.

Still buying when BTC dips below $30K. The halving event which comes around every four years is upon us. Usually when this occurs nothing immediate happens, usually 9-12 months later the bull run starts.

Invested in another crypto called ALI. It's AI related and see those projects getting bigger.

BTC
ETH
XRP
LINK
CELR
AAVE
QNT
EDDA
MATIC
AVAX
ALI
CATGIRL (gamble)

Invested in all these projects since last year and adding here and there until the crypto bull market takes place. Bitcoin already touched $30K and doubled since last year, let's see what happens in the next 12 months.

Another crypto broker is in trouble which is having a ripple effect on the crypto currencies.

The Securities and Exchange Commission filed a lawsuit against cryptocurrency exchange Coinbase Global (COIN) as the regulator turns up its pressure on the crypto world. The SEC alleges Coinbase, the largest crypto exchange in the US, violated securities laws by acting as an exchange, a broker and a clearing agency without registering with the agency. It also offered and sold securities without registering its offers and sales, the SEC said. Bitcoin was down 4% over the last 24 hours to $25,680 as of Tuesday 8 am New York time. The total market capitalization for crypto assets is down 3.8% for the same period.

Yahoo

I'd take more Bitcoin at that price.

The SEC also suing Binance for some bullshit too. The conspiracy theorist in me wonders why it's just good Ole Uncle Sam coming after crypto. They seem to be doing everything possible to scare Americans into investing. Personally think the SEC case against Ripple XRP has been lost and now turning there attention to other sources. The move in XRP over the last 10 days has been steadily moving upward while everything else stays the same. That was up until yesterday, but everything went down. Moving back up now though.

Also another wallet exchange Atomic was hacked to the tune of about $40 million. Like I've said in most previous posts, I wouldn't keep my crypto on any exchanges. Hard wallet only.

Bitcoin trending upwards and breaking the $31,000 barrier. All the negative media spin and court cases were enough to weed out the scared money while the big final institutions bought at a discount.

Coinbase named as Blackrock's bitcoin custodian. 'mon the inside dealers, bloody brilliant 😀

XRP, Ripple just won the case against the SEC and lifted off.

1000008916.png

I'm still sceptical of Bitcoin due to the lack of any actual use for it beyond extortion and buying drugs on the dark web.

That said, it seems to perform better than my investments (pension, house, ISAs) except the most risky (tech stock) which seems to follow a similar trend.

I'm still sceptical of Bitcoin due to the lack of any actual use for it beyond extortion and buying drugs on the dark web.

That said, it seems to perform better than my investments (pension, house, ISAs) except the most risky (tech stock) which seems to follow a similar trend.
I’m sceptical of it too, and also depressed by it. Environmentally ruinous and pure speculation - I.e. money invested in betting on ‘money’ rather than creating anything.

Late stage capitalism distilled to its essence.

XRP, Ripple just won the case against the SEC and lifted off.

View attachment 11361
I don't fully understand the ruling but I would have thought it would be significant for all crypto and they all might have taken a big jump. Do you know why it's only XRP itself that's taken a big leap?

I’m sceptical of it too, and also depressed by it. Environmentally ruinous and pure speculation - I.e. money invested in betting on ‘money’ rather than creating anything.

Late stage capitalism distilled to its essence.
Agreed. Good to see you back. Think I owe you a few quid since we're not traveling around in self driving cars which was what I incorrectly predicted some time ago. Can't find the thread but remember it.

Thanks. I can’t remember that one, but knowing my techno scepticism I’d say in practice it’s a score draw as we are closer than I probably expected. However, I’m still pretty sure that’s as close as we will get for a long long time - the last 1% of what’s required will take way more than the first 99%.

It's a good point about AI in general, only time will tell whether the current leap will continue at this rate or level off until another breakthrough.

Name a charity of your choice and I'll chuck it a ten spot.

I don't fully understand the ruling but I would have thought it would be significant for all crypto and they all might have taken a big jump. Do you know why it's only XRP itself that's taken a big leap?

I think big investors have been holding off until the court case and jumped in as soon as it was cleared. It's also not been available on the exchanges to buy. All the big exchange's delisted it while the court case was ongoing. I see it probably correcting a little as long-term investors take profits, but long-term I'm holding. I might take profit of it bits $1.00 and then some at $3.00.

It's a good point about AI in general, only time will tell whether the current leap will continue at this rate or level off until another breakthrough.

Name a charity of your choice and I'll chuck it a ten spot.
Nah dinnae, seriously. But if you must, stick it in the bounce or sightsavers.

On AI I personally believe it will never ever become artificial general intelligence; not with all the compute power in the universe.

I think the whole idea is a category mistake by an industry filled with neuro divergent people who don’t really understand human beings including themselves - I’m not being gratuitous here or intending to knock any conditions, I genuinely believe this.

This may sound stupid but consider the fact that they all blather about AIs exterminating us all - no one ever suggests an AI might say, fuck this I’m going to knock off and watch Eastenders instead. Which a true AGI might just as likely do (albeit it may only occupy it for a second or two to ‘watch’ every episode ever made).

A badly coded AI could certainly turn our own weapons systems against us (for example), but that’s not it ‘thinking’, it’s badly set parameters for a sophisticated but slavish system - because it’s slavish.

However, I think AI as it is, or very nearly is, is plenty dangerous enough. And that danger isn’t homicidal robots but job destruction and yet more funnelling upwards of wealth. On the bright side, the left will at least be able to reengage with challenging this, rather than actively abet global capitalism as they have done up until now, as it’s goals are inseparable from their own shibboleths.

I think big investors have been holding off until the court case and jumped in as soon as it was cleared. It's also not been available on the exchanges to buy. All the big exchange's delisted it while the court case was ongoing. I see it probably correcting a little as long-term investors take profits, but long-term I'm holding. I might take profit of it bits $1.00 and then some at $3.00.
Ah, I didn't realise it was effectively suspended, that explains why the jump was so sharp. I guess the outcome of the SEC case was already more or less priced in to the other cryptos.

I have a very small amount of Bitcoin and have no intention of using them to purchase anything. I'm in it purely as a speculator hoping to make a few bucks. I will never get rich from it, nor will it ruin me if it collapses tomorrow. But I'm starting to approach it as a wee hobby. A bit like gambling I suppose. It's quite interesting, I have no idea wtf I am doing and so far I'm up.

I read this story about a major back owning millions in crypto (Cardano and Doge) So basically it's like going into a casino and you can't lose. They are gambling on crypto going up with investors money and also hoping the investors don't cash in and withdraw their OWN money. And if the crypto market collapses and goes down, they just file bankruptcy, or get a bail out. So fucking corrupt! 😡

Is SoFi Bank unique in having such large holdings in Crypto?

Anyway, could be time to buy that dip. Bitcoin has struggled to hit and hold $30k and is now taking a bit of a dump, trading at $25/$26k.

Is SoFi Bank unique in having such large holdings in Crypto?

Anyway, could be time to buy that dip. Bitcoin has struggled to hit and hold $30k and is now taking a bit of a dump, trading at $25/$26k.

Nope, quite a few banks hold crypto. Couple recently filed for bankruptcy too.

I bought the dip yesterday and this morning. Bought some Bitcoin, XDC, ETH and Bitcoin Cash. Great dip to load up. Hoping it stays like this until the end of the year.

You're telling us not to trust exchanges yes?

This likely means that all Bitcoin will soon be worth nothing (and lots of other even bigger problems too): Record-breaking quantum computer has more than 1000 qubits

nice one mate. Let’s say it it hits either 9500 or 38k any time between now and end of year then someone wins?

Squeaky bum time 🧐

Don't give a shit about the Bitcoin officer but see when you no longer need that Toblerone for evidence 😏

The raider then used the bar to make a “throat slitting gesture”.

🤣🤣🤣

Squeaky bum time 🧐
Why?

We made that bet in summer 2022 when it was trading about 19k.

At the end of the year it had fallen to about 15k.

Why?

We made that bet in summer 2022 when it was trading about 19k.

At the end of the year it had fallen to about 15k.

So we did mate. Time doesn't have go by fast 😳

Hahaha, you had me a bit confused there.

By the way I bought Bitcoin in June this year when the Fed stopped their tightening. And more in September and more today.

For me its just a play versus monetary policy. Was a massive buy in QE days, a massive sell when they said they would start tightening. And now a smaller conviction buy as they stop the tightening.

CleanSpark shares were up 17% to $7.28 after the company said it mined 666 bitcoin in November, up 24% from a year ago. The stock is up 217% in the past 12 months. For the 11 months so far in 2023, the company has mined 6,671 bitcoin. CleanSpark sold 402 bitcoin in November at an average of $36,600 per bitcoin. Sales of bitcoin equated to proceeds of $14.7 million. Bitcoin was trading at $38,452 per bitcoin at 11 a.m. ET, up 12% in the past month, and 127% higher in the past 12 months.

News

Bitcoin starting to climb again.

News

Bitcoin starting to climb again.

I predict it's going to start really moving in 2024 into 2025. I'm still buying Bitcoin and quite a few others cryptos right now. The amount of Bitcoin that can be mined will half in approximately 6-8 months. That will spark a rally.

This thread has been viewed 71905 times.