Anyone following the Sturgeon v Salmond shenanigans

Do you think Sturgeon should resign

• No, she's nothing to resign for

Votes: 31 58.5%
  • No, she's really popular even if she had done something we can overlook it

Votes: 3 5.7%
  • Yes, although her breaches of the ministerial code were trivial rules are rules

Votes: 2 3.8%
  • Yes, the manoeuvres of the first minister and her allies have brought shame on the parliament

Votes: 17 32.1%

• Total voters

Anyone following it, and have any opinions?

The only way this could be a resignation matter is if it is found that she has broken the ministerial code. Don't think she has though. Unless Salmond can come up with some new significant evidence at his appearance tomorrow this will just fizzle out. The public aren't interested in politicians falling out with each other.

I was interested to begin with but its all got a bit meh!

I never liked Salmond though, he always seemed as slimy as an mucus covered snake.

NS is a shrewd politician and also a lawyer. I'd be really surprised if she left herself open to such a serious charge.

If NS, who I do like quite a lot, is found guilty of breaking the code what then?

There's at least a couple of ministers down south have been guilty of breaking the code and apparently its nothing to be concerned about.

What about the elections and independence? I don't really think even if she stayed on after a guilty verdict it would make that much difference. Scotland is gripped in a political binary star system spinning around the constitution. Its like a minor smut of dirt verses the slag heap down south.

It’s all party infighting, Salmond has a big ego and let's not forget he is a sleaze ball, you can’t present evidence that’s just hearsay and under Scots Law you can't just slander peoples names with zero evidence, SNP still getting my vote in May. Boris has broken the code multiple times and no demands down there for resignations. The Unionist press bay for blood on the orders of there Tory masters, it’s clear to see, Union Unit in full swing.

My priority is independence, we can deal with the cults afterwards, when let's be honest, they may be irrelevant in a newly independent Scotland where I think a good Scottish Socialist/ Labour Party would clean up.

I find Salmond a smart but smarmy bastard, Sturgeon a good 'cooncil' leader but too slow to push for what the independence movement want, she seems to enjoy her current role too much, I have never liked Macaskill, if that is the SNP left, we are fucked, and Cherry I cannae take too much as others love her.

The infighting sometimes smacks of third party involvement but that makes you sound like a loony, possibly deliberately so?

My priority is independence, we can deal with the cults afterwards, when let's be honest, they may be irrelevant in a newly independent Scotland where I think a good Scottish Socialist/ Labour Party would clean up.

I find Salmond a smart but smarmy bastard, Sturgeon a good 'cooncil' leader but too slow to push for what the independence movement want, she seems to enjoy her current role too much, I have never liked Macaskill, if that is the SNP left, we are fucked, and Cherry I cannae take too much as others love her.

The infighting sometimes smacks of third party involvement but that makes you sound like a loony, possibly deliberately so?
I find it quite funny the amount of small new independent Indy parties popping up with certain Salmond allies involved, some of them pretty loony. Watching James Mathews sky journalist frothing at the mouth not hiding his hatred of people who care about Scotland just makes me want to vote for the SNP more.

Scottish independence might seem like none of my business, but it matters to me in that if Scotland leaves the Union, Unionists in the North of Ireland, who have always viewed Scotland as their anchor point to the Union, will be cut adrift from their spiritual home. Scottish independence will hasten the inevitable reunification of Ireland.
I had great respect for Salmond during the IndyRef: he was more than a match for anything that was put up against him. Now it seems that when the country is ready to embrace destiny, he's prepared to jeopardise that, like a jilted lover carrying out an acid attack on the ex.
If he had any iota of dignity and integrity, he'd drift off quietly into the background, but his inflated sense of importance won't let him. Having said that, I don't think he'll succeed in what he's trying.
Without having to start a thread on the topic, it might be a convenient place to mention Boris' latest bullshit to mollify demoralised unionists in the North of Ireland: a tunnel connecting Larne and Stranraer. Whilst it might seem like a great idea( there's already two holes at either side!), did ye ever hear such a pile o pish!

Took a wee interest in it a few weeks back but in recent weeks on twitter it’s just become tedious reading the same guff from the same folk day after day.
Totally zoned out now and reckon most outside the wee bubble are the same.

I've been an snp member now for approaching 20 years, due in part to a fellow admin on this site. In the beginning I think the snps aims and mine were intertwined. Now, not so much. The purge of Salmond and the Trans rights shite is a complete turn off. I've never liked Salmond, I've never liked Sturgeon and you've used a word that I use all the time about Sturgeon, and Salmond before her - it's a cult.

I was looking at Scottish Parliament election data and the snp are no further forward support wise than they were in 2011. Despite Brexit. Despite Boris. Despite Covid. Independence support has increased though - clearly - which hints at big problems for the snp going forward. Sturgeon is strategically useless compared to Salmond IMHO.

As for third party involvement, there is a lot of chatter about it, it does seem so implausible but it also seems mental that nobody can see the damage that is being done by the ongoing committee fiasco.

Took a wee interest in it a few weeks back but in recent weeks on twitter it’s just become tedious reading the same guff from the same folk day after day.
Totally zoned out now and reckon most outside the wee bubble are the same.
You might have seen my tweets, but I think you are right - I've one politics twitter group where the Salmond affair is the central topic daily and the absolute disgust at the actions of Sturgeon trying to shut down the investigations and I've another WhatsApp group which is full of people who just don't care about it. "Who cares if she broke the code, she's so popular, and it was a long time ago anyway"

That's the paradox, but the longer term damage I suspect will be similar to the parliament building fiasco (which had nothing to do with the snp) but gives Scots a negative impression of Scottish politicians ability to run the affairs of Scotland?

If he had any iota of dignity and integrity, he'd drift off quietly into the background
To be fair if someone was complicit in a plot to try and get me jailed for rape I doubt drifting off quietly is something I would be thinking of.

I’ve heard a lot of the Salmond supporters referred to as StuAnon (Wings over Scotland fans),made me chuckle

No helping indy.

To be fair if someone was complicit in a plot to try and get me jailed for rape I doubt drifting off quietly is something I would be thinking of.
Exactly, that statement makes out like a guilty man escaping justice ffs

Well it’s all kicked off now.

quite a sight seeing the first minister get Rag dolled by Willie Rennie

Well it’s all kicked off now.

quite a sight seeing the first minister get Rag dolled by Willie Rennie
Aye , in yer dreams.

Take away all political leanings, NS is by far the person I would want leading me and my country than any other politician on offer.
Even W Rennie ??

Aye , in yer dreams.

Take away all political leanings, NS is by far the person I would want leading me and my country than any other politician on offer.
Even W Rennie ??
Did you see today’s exchange?

Had Salmond been convicted of rape he'd be in the gaol. The reason he's not is because he had a defence witness say that the rape couldn't have happened because the woman making the allegation wasn't at the event and location she claimed. The jury believed Salmond's defence.

The current investigation and trial by media isn't about Salmond, but about Scot government procedure.
Weirdly, the yoon media and the Scot government are trying their best to still make it about Salmond being a sex pest. It's character assassination.
I don't even care why. It's politicians and journos all being *&*^ to each other and that's why they're all so happy. That's the game.

Yes I did, and I seen an opportunist little sleaze ball, attacking someone under so many different pressures .

Would you like to reply to my previous question?

Aye , in yer dreams.

Even W Rennie ??

My leanings are nationalist, and I wouldn't want any of the opposition politicians running the country.

I don't think she'll deliver independence, so I wouldn't be upset if she stepped aside and passed on to an snp colleague who can deliver independence.

My leanings are nationalist, and I wouldn't want any of the opposition politicians running the country.

I don't think she'll deliver independence, so I wouldn't be upset if she stepped aside and passed on to an snp colleague who can deliver independence.

I feel the same P&G, however I cannot think of anyone better who could do it, can you?

I saw today's exchange [and by today I mean yesterday].

Rooth the Mooth used the usual bully tactics and got put in her place.
Jackie Baillie came across as a Salmond fan which given she's on the enquiry board was nothing short of ridiculous.
To say Wullie Rennie ragdolled anyone is just a fantasy. He was his usual ineffectual weak-minded arsehole who regurgitated something Bailie had already been shot down for.

I feel the same P&G, however I cannot think of anyone better who could do it, can you?
I think it's being lined up for Angus Robertson - who will be even more divisive. I think Joanna Cherry might have been that person but she's clearly damaged goods after all the friendly fire inflicted on her. I like Keith Brown and I'd happily support Ian Blackford but I don't think they want it. Maybe Stewart Hosie who inflicted a fair bit of damage on himself a while back - but this is another snp schism - all the power is in Holyrood, but a fair bit of the talent is at Westminster and was hindered from moving to Holyrood.

I really don't know, it seems to me that there's a really big fracture in the party and it's believed it has lost 50,000 members in the last couple of years. My membership expires in June, and I can't see me renewing it.

I saw today's exchange [and by today I mean yesterday].

Rooth the Mooth used the usual bully tactics and got put in her place.
Jackie Baillie came across as a Salmond fan which given she's on the enquiry board was nothing short of ridiculous.
To say Wullie Rennie ragdolled anyone is just a fantasy. He was his usual ineffectual weak-minded arsehole who regurgitated something Bailie had already been shot down for.
I think her answer to Rennie might be the undoing of her.

I think it's being lined up for Angus Robertson - who will be even more divisive. I think Joanna Cherry might have been that person but she's clearly damaged goods after all the friendly fire inflicted on her. I like Keith Brown and I'd happily support Ian Blackford but I don't think they want it. Maybe Stewart Hosie who inflicted a fair bit of damage on himself a while back - but this is another snp schism - all the power is in Holyrood, but a fair bit of the talent is at Westminster and was hindered from moving to Holyrood.

I really don't know, it seems to me that there's a really big fracture in the party and it's believed it has lost 50,000 members in the last couple of years. My membership expires in June, and I can't see me renewing it.

That is really my point, no natural successor. As I said way further up, it does feel like too much of a coincidence all of this, but that is maybe me thinking out loud and after wearing my tinfoil hat for my jag yesterday.

Does anyone think there's room for two or more bona fide independence parties?

The SNP has always been a bit of an odd political cabal in my opinion with a broad spectrum of political views. Its been referred to as the Tartan Tories in the distant past then a huge influx of new members a few years ago saw that well and truly gubbed.

Holding together such a diverse range of views has been some achievement in itself and I'm surprised the unity has been so strong - up till now.

Trust that wee fat egotistical jambo to blow that out the water. He was not guilty of all the charges laid against him but his character type was never going to do the cause any good once the inevitable revelations broke.

The SNP has always been a bit of an odd political cabal in my opinion with a broad spectrum of political views. Its been referred to as the Tartan Tories in the distant past then a huge influx of new members a few years ago saw that well and truly gubbed.

Holding together such a diverse range of views has been some achievement in itself and I'm surprised the unity has been so strong - up till now.

Trust that wee fat egotistical jambo to blow that out the water. He was not guilty of all the charges laid against him but his character type was never going to do the cause any good once the inevitable revelations broke.
I've always thought that the SNP was never a political party as such but a vehicle for independence and when that's achieved there will be no more need for them.

SNP vote in 2011 election was 45%, it seems to have flatlined since. Yet over the same period support for indy has risen from 30% to over 50%.

It does seem clear that the snp isn't the heart and soul of the independence movement in the way it once was.

SNP vote in 2011 election was 45%, it seems to have flatlined since. Yet over the same period support for indy has risen from 30% to over 50%.

It does seem clear that the snp isn't the heart and soul of the independence movement in the way it once was.
I wonder how much of that rise is Labour voters who can't bare the thought of voting SNP?

I know there's a Independent Socialist Party but to me that name suggests they're probably a bit left of where these independence leaning Labour voters are, a bit like in the Colin Fox mold and that didn't really take off.

I do think there is a gap for another party, especially given the second vote broohaha that is ongoing and I still cannae quite get my head around?

Alyn Smith would be my personal favourite for when Nicola moves on.

Media vultures everywhere outside Holyrood, if only they showed the level of interest in Patel, Williamson, Jenirik, Hancock and Johnson corrupt activities.

I think the ongoing shenanigans have shown that this is now a must. The SNP have got to the position of strength that they are in nowadays because they are 'the party of independence' and the only real option for independence minded voters.

They have taken our vote for granted for so long now that they think they are bulletproof. The way they have dealt with the Hate Crimes Bill and the GRA are two examples of that. The levels of obstruction they have gone to with the 'salmond enquiry' are staggering.

I am 50 years old and have voted SNP in every election since I was old enough to. This May I was planning to give my second vote to one of the new list only independence parties as, in my opinion, it is a no brainer that would reduce the number of unionist list MSPs.

As things stand at the moment though the SNP are unlikely to get my first vote* let alone my second vote such is the mess they have gotten themselves into. And it saddens me.

* I will probably spoil my first vote rather than vote for tories, labour, lib dem etc

Alyn Smith would be my personal favourite for when Nicola moves on.

Media vultures everywhere outside Holyrood, if only they showed the level of interest in Patel, Williamson, Jenirik, Hancock and Johnson corrupt activities.

I think Alyn Smith as leader would seal the deal on me leaving the snp, never to return and finding another home for my independence vote.

The national interest in the case...yeah you're right spot on.

I think Alyn Smith as leader would seal the deal on me leaving the snp, never to return and finding another home for my independence vote.

The national interest in the case...yeah you're right spot on.
That's fair enough, I've just found him a very good listen too recently, liked Cherry but she's probably damaged goods now sadly.

Listening to the enquiry so far all I'm really getting is a guy and his ego pissed off that he was charged with crimes, almost as if he thought he was above the law, 'She said' just doesn't cut it without real concrete evidence.

My, perhaps blinkered take on it is thus.
NS has performed admirably since she was leader, more so during the pandemic. Westminster recognise this , hence she is a serious threat to their comfy status quo. Therefore , it's all hands to the pump and let's get rid of this little Jock pest.
Alex Salmond is a f&&#@n sleaze ball That is as plain as the nose on your face. Are we to think that a few ladies stood up in court and blatantly lied? If NS had heard rumours of his sexual behaviour, and instead of pursuing it, she chose to brush it under the carpet, she , quite rightly would have been taken to the cleaners. It appears she even met him as a friend to discuss matters, and he has used this against her .
NS is our route to independence, and by fuck Tories and unionists know it. I beg people to see the bigger picture. If we can break free from nukes, illegal wars , corruption and Tory rule, then we will very soon after get to vote for whatever Scottish gov WE choose.

No quite the smoking gun, but a few grenades that might blow up and cause damage to Sturgeons cabal.

Government being forced to publish legal advice would probably swing this for Salmond, along with forcing publication of the four months of missing evidence.

It's over to the Lord Advocate on Monday, and Nicola on Wednesday - Nicola has made some big claims on full co-operation (bearing in mind the previous paragraph) she now has to walk the walk.

I've never watched more than five minutes of parliament for about 30 years.

I've watched all of that - I'm knackered!

Salmond's closing remarks.....it just highlights the farcical nature of where we are.

He's a wuckin fanker.

I've never watched more than five minutes of parliament for about 30 years.

I've watched all of that - I'm knackered!

Salmond's closing remarks.....it just highlights the farcical nature of where we are.
Wtf did he talk about for 6 or 7 hours?

Being a slippery Jambo fud?

This thread has been viewed 17552 times.