Hibernian DNA

Hammi

Cable Selling Radge

Interesting enough read.

A few things aligning and I think we'll be on the way to some very good times.

It's quite exciting šŸ™ˆ

Interesting enough read.

A few things aligning and I think we'll be on the way to some very good times.

It's quite exciting
A wee story of the signings and young players of recent years hung on a title to get us clicking.
Nothing we didn't know or couldn't have written ourselves.
The problem for tabloid journalists these days is that through the bounce, .net, and msm online content we quickly know everything about our club that is released publicly and the club doesn't appear to tell them anything much over and above that.
They write these fluff pieces instead whilst of answering the obvious questions. The example of which is the club not telling us the length of Mueller's contract but no journalist has bothered to ask that question directly at a press conference in the 6 months since the signing was made.
Have they been told not to ask this question?
The journalist had the perfect opportunity to state his source when stating the length of the Mueller contract in this piece. Without that information it can't be confirmed as a fact.

A wee story of the signings and young players of recent years hung on a title to get us clicking.
The problem for tabloid journalists these days is that through the bounce, .net, and msm online content we quickly know everything about our club that is released publicly and the club doesn't appear to tell them anything much over and above that.
They write these fluff pieces instead whilst of answering the obvious questions. The example of which is the club not telling us the length of Mueller's contract but no journalist has bothered to ask that question directly at a press conference in the 6 months since the signing was made.
The journalist had the perfect opportunity to state his source when stating the length of the Mueller contract in this piece. Without that information it can't be confirmed as a fact.

It's really bothering you eh?

Not that big a deal, it is a bit strange it's never been stated, but this isn't the first time that length has been alluded to.
I'd take it as near enough fact. It's probably been asked and not directly quoted somewhere down the line.

All that matters is that he's signed.
And he is. So all good.

It's really bothering you eh?

Not that big a deal, it is a bit strange it's never been stated, but this isn't the first time that length has been alluded to.
I'd take it as near enough fact. It's probably been asked and not directly quoted somewhere down the line.

All that matters is that he's signed.
And he is. So all good.
It does bug me :grrr:. Hibs controlling the narrative for some reason.
If you see him up the toon mind to ask him.

However, things are looking exciting and interesting for the 1st time in a while.
I've even bought a ticket to the televised cup game to get a first up close look at the new guys.

It does bug me :grrr:. Hibs controlling the narrative for some reason.
If you see him up the toon mind to ask him.

However, things are looking exciting and interesting for the 1st time in a while.
I've even bought a ticket to the televised cup game to get a first up close look at the new guys.

Controlling it how exactly?
They're not refusing to answer the question if nobody has put it to them.

Probably just got lost along the way with the pre-contract, trying to do a deal to bring him.straight away, waiting for him to actually get here.

It's not a secret, it's just not been asked in an interview.
The fact that 2025 has popped up twice now, makes me think this is known

Have you asked anyone, except on here?

@Power how long is Mueller's contract? šŸ˜„

Controlling it how exactly?
They're not refusing to answer the question if nobody has put it to them.

Probably just got lost along the way with the pre-contract, trying to do a deal to bring him.straight away, waiting for him to actually get here.

It's not a secret, it's just not been asked in an interview.
The fact that 2025 has popped up twice now, makes me think this is known
When you look at every new player signing announcement in the news section on the club website they always follow the same template.
As part of that template the contract details are always in paragraph 2.
The Mueller announcement is the only one that doesn't state this information.

Could be something or nothing but the club is a different beast in the Ron Gordon and Ben Kensell era.
They are sharp, all business, tell us what they want to tell us for a reason and omit to tell us other things for a reason. There are no oversights.
I have no complaints and see the club moving onto a new level, one which hasn't been seen for 50 years.

Petrie and Farmer did a monumental job to bring us back from near closure, playing in a hovel and training in public parks to financial stability, a modern stadium and HTC. A remarkable effort which a lot of folk didn't appreciate at the time because it had to be done at a cost of the team on the park.
Ron Gordon came in with everything sorted but he did a great job through covid. As a result I reckon we lost a lot less cash than our rivals and he even managed to take advantage of the situation to bring in the likes of Nisbet and Magennis when Covid was at it's height
He has continued to held his nerve on the player transfer out front and is now pushing the club ahead again.
Right man at the right time as Farmer was.

But I don't think I believe in an oversight on the Mueller contract announcement given no crowing opportunity is missed by the current efficient regime. If only journalists existed they could have asked directly.

When you look at every new player signing announcement in the news section on the club website they always follow the same template.

Could be something or nothing but the club is a different beast in the Ron Gordon and Ben Kensell era.
They are sharp, all business, tell us what they want to tell us for a reason and omit to tell us other things for a reason. There are no oversights.
I have no complaints and see the club moving onto a new level, one which hasn't been seen for 50 years.

Petrie and Farmer did a monumental job to bring us back from near closure, playing in a hovel and training in public parks to financial stability, a modern stadium and HTC. A remarkable effort which a lot of folk didn't appreciate at the time because it had to be done at a cost of the team on the park.
Ron Gordon came in with everything sorted but he did a great job through covid. As a result I reckon we lost a lot less cash than our rivals and he even managed to take advantage of the situation to bring in the likes of Nisbet and Magennis when Covid was at it's height
He has continued to held his nerve on the player transfer out front and is now pushing the club ahead again.

But I don't think I believe in an oversight on the Mueller contract announcement given no crowing opportunity is missed by the current efficient regime. If only journalists existed they could have asked directly.

I'd bet its an oversight.

I'm now quite interested in what you think the big conspiracy and your assumed refusal to tell us the length of the contract is all about?

Why, what do they have to gain?

Find it a bit conspiratorial

I'd bet its an oversight.

I'm now quite interested in what you think the big conspiracy and your assumed refusal to tell us the length of the contract is all about?

Why, what do they have to gain?

Find it a bit conspiratorial
I can understand an oversight from the club media staff which might be down to a staff change somewhere in the last 6 months but for no journalist to ask the question is weird especially considering how little info they get before it is on Hibs online account, twitter etc.

The only thing I can think off with the contract is that there is an open contract.
Gordon tells him he can put himself in the shop window for England.
If he does well an English team will sign him and he will be allowed to go for brussel sprout.
Meanwhile Ron gets a sexy signing to help get bums on seats.
Doesn't sound very likely I grant you.

I can understand an oversight from the club media staff which might be down to a staff change somewhere in the last 6 months but for no journalist to ask the question is weird especially considering how little info they get before it is on Hibs online account, twitter etc.

The only thing I can think off with the contract is that there is an open contract.
If he does well an English team will sign him and he will be allowed to go for brussel sprout.

Zero chance of that.

It was an oversight and nobody has asked the question and attached quotation marks to it.
But like I said, 2025 has popped up a couple times now, I'd take that as the length of the contract as it has been asked and they just haven't reported it as " I asked Hibs directly and (insert name) says 2025 "

Not everything needs to be quoted.

Zero chance of that.

It was an oversight and nobody has asked the question and attached quotation marks to it.
But like I said, 2025 has popped up a couple times now, I'd take that as the length of the contract as it has been asked and they just haven't reported it as " I asked Hibs directly and (insert name) says 2025 "

Not everything needs to be quoted.
Okay, now we can guess at whether McGinn and/or Murphy have year options on their contracts and who haste option, player or club, or are they triggered by playing a certain number of games?
I read about their being an option on McGinn's contract ages ago and suspect it is the clubs given there was no mention of Paul when all the new contracts were being handed out. Obviously the club will wait until the last minute in such a scenario incase the player should get a bad injury allowing them not to take up their option.
Murphy was something I read on here or .net recently so probably guff.
There is always little bits and pieces we don't know.

No journalist has asked because itā€™s probably already known to them. Transfermarkt has it listed as 2025, that site is very accurate when it comes to contract end dates.

Muellerā€™s signing announcement was different from the January arrivals because it was a pre-contract, and the club seem to have completely changed the style of announcements from previous - multiple articles on the website about each player now, much more professional than whatā€™s gone on before.

Think youā€™re looking for something sinister that isnā€™t there.

No journalist has asked because itā€™s probably already known to them. Transfermarkt has it listed as 2025, that site is very accurate when it comes to contract end dates.

Muellerā€™s signing announcement was different from the January arrivals because it was a pre-contract, and the club seem to have completely changed the style of announcements from previous - multiple articles on the website about each player now, much more professional than whatā€™s gone on before.

Think youā€™re looking for something sinister that isnā€™t there.
In most cases that is true but nothing wrong in discussing it.

Where do Transfermakt get their info?
I suspect clubs official media and Google.
In cases of an inaccuracy on google they just end up repeating the inaccuracy.
The source of information is always important.

I have seen folk on here and .net getting triggered by guff.
Hell, brexit occurred because people were triggered by guff and didn't fact check.

Okay, now we can guess at whether McGinn and/or Murphy have year options on their contracts and who haste option, player or club, or are they triggered by playing a certain number of games?
I read about their being an option on McGinn's contract ages ago and suspect it is the clubs given there was no mention of Paul when all the new contracts were being handed out. Obviously the club will wait until the last minute in such a scenario incase the player should get a bad injury allowing them not to take up their option.
Murphy was something I read on here or .net recently so probably guff.
There is always little bits and pieces we don't know.

The source was here, Ben Keswell told one of our fellow bouncers about McGinn and Murphy's deals quite openly in a meeting they had.

I wouldn't worry too much Jack. Can't see an American based businessman making a Didier Agathe sized gaff like our club did some years ago. If memory serves me Agathe came to Hibs from Raith on a short term contract to show if he was worth a longer deal. Celtic snapped him up for Ā£27000 while Hibs dithered and he was off after 5 games.

The source was here, Ben Keswell told one of our fellow bouncers about McGinn and Murphy's deals quite openly in a meeting they had.
Thanks for that.
Is the year contract option the clubs, the players or triggered by a certain number of appearances.
And
If so is it the same type option for both players

D.N.A. an overused phrase which should be left back in the science lab.'It's in his D.N.A.' no it fucking isnae otherwise we could grow fitballers in a test tube.

I wouldn't worry too much Jack. Can't see an American based businessman making a Didier Agathe sized gaff like our club did some years ago. If memory serves me Agathe came to Hibs from Raith on a short term contract to show if he was worth a longer deal. Celtic snapped him up for Ā£27000 while Hibs dithered and he was off after 5 games.

Yeah, that was a sore one.
Made worse by him playing very well at Cellik.
Strangely, he disappeared without trace when he left Scotland.

Thanks for that.
Is the year contract option the clubs, the players or triggered by a certain number of appearances.
And
If so is it the same type option for both players

Triggered by a certain number of appearances for both players.

D.N.A. an overused phrase which should be left back in the science lab.'It's in his D.N.A.' no it fucking isnae otherwise we could grow fitballers in a test tube.
:happiness-1::happiness: maybe that is what they are doing at East Mains.
Yeah tabloid, low brow journalist pish

Have you asked anyone, except on here?

@Power how long is Mueller's contract? šŸ˜„
Can I ask a question too?

Do we own his playing rights 100%?

Iā€™ve heard from an unsubstantiated source we donā€™t.

Triggered by a certain number of appearances for both players.
You are on it 1875.
One final question.
Is it all appearances, starting appearances or minutes played that is the decider?
If it's all appearances both players must be almost there.

That could be another angle on Hibs being light on his contract detail.
I don't know what the ownership rules are in the MLS.
Mueller came from College Football and wasn't high profile.
I think the MLS owns all the players so don't see a third party being allowed a share but I am guessing.

I think this is nonsense,

We tried to buy him in January and he's come here for free.
Where would we need the money for someone else to own a share of him?

It's not something regularly done in UK football and the players that are usually co-owned are from South America.
I think there's a few hoops that need jumped through to do it over here.

You are on it 1875.
One final question.
Is it all appearances, starting appearances or minutes played that is the decider?
If it's all appearances both players must be almost there.
All appearances and both expected to trigger the deals

Unless neither kick a ball for the rest of the season.
Unlikely, but you never know.

I'm guessing the benchmark is 20 games.

Unless neither kick a ball for the rest of the season.
Unlikely, but you never know.

I'm guessing the benchmark is 20 games.
That bit I don't know .
Just know it's a further year contract .

That bit I don't know .
Just know it's a further year contract .

Yeah, just with him saying they're both pretty much guaranteed to hit the mark, Paul having played 17 and Jamie playing 18, there's no guarantee they'll reach 30.. So 20/25 seems a reasonable bet.
Went for 20 being half the season.

Yeah, just with him saying they're both pretty much guaranteed to hit the mark, Paul having played 17 and Jamie playing 18, there's no guarantee they'll reach 30.. So 20/25 seems a reasonable bet.
Went for 20 being half the season.
Most likely šŸ‘

Thanx
I agree with Hammi, it's likely to be 20-25 games and as you say both are likely to easily trigger the deals unless the owner forbids playing them to prevent it, which I can't see.

Thanx
I agree with Hammi, it's likely to be 20-25 games and as you say both are likely to easily trigger the deals unless the owner forbids playing them to prevent it, which I can't see.
Or if Murphy stays fit long enough šŸ¤£

• Haha

For what it's worth, I think there's some merit in the fact that your nose is twitching on the Mueller contract situation. Not that I'm suggesting that it's a bad deal but I wouldn't be surprised if there's some kind of contractual clauses knocking abour that would let him go to eg the English Prenier League if certain conditions are met.

I haven't read all of this cos it sounds complicated af but it's interesting that the Scottish Premier counts as a higher band for gaining work permit points than MLS does.

For what it's worth, I think there's some merit in the fact that your nose is twitching on the Mueller contract situation. Not that I'm suggesting that it's a bad deal but I wouldn't be surprised if there's some kind of contractual clauses knocking abour that would let him go to eg the English Prenier League if certain conditions are met.

I haven't read all of this cos it sounds complicated af but it's interesting that the Scottish Premier counts as a higher band for gaining work permit points than MLS does.

Nothing wrong with him wanting to earn a move elsewhere.
Everyone should aim to move on to bigger and better things, without those goals they'll achieve very little.

Nothing wrong with him wanting to earn a move elsewhere.
Everyone should aim to move on to bigger and better things, without those goals they'll achieve very little.
I didn't say there was, it's fairly obvious his aim will be to use Hibs as a stepping stone, which is absolutely fine. I'm just saying that I wouldn't be surprised if his contract isn't as straightforward as a 3.5 year deal where Hibs have full control until 2025. Eg there could be a clause where Hibs have to allow him to go on loan to an English club if they cover his wages plus x amount of compensation. Pure speculation but it wouldn't surprise me.

I expect a sell on clause, pretty standard, but outwith that, he's a Hibs player.

Why would there be a sell on clause when we've not even paid a fee for him? You think Orlando are due a percentage of any future transfer fee? I thought he was out of contract?

Sorry, I meant a fee, something agreed in advance, minimum fee or whatever.
Like Boyles old one.

Sorry, I meant a fee, something agreed in advance, minimum fee or whatever.
Like Boyles old one.
A release clause, agreed, and I think it may well be one that's expected to be triggered well before 2025. He's 25 now, if he's as ambitious as he appears to be he won't necessarily want to be hanging around in Scotland till 28/29.

That's the words I was looking for šŸ˜

Perfectly fine with stuff like that, the downside is agreeing a fee before kicking a ball.
Say we've agreed a Ā£1.5m release and he turns out to be a Ā£4m player, then we lose potential value despite still getting a decent sum.

But if you have those ambitions you're not gonna move half way around the world without some guarantees. Which is fair enough.

Outwith that, I very much doubt there's any funny business in his contract

Great post Rocky.
A contract can be anything the parties decide as long as it's agreed and in writing.
The highlighted section is a great point. (Scottish Premiership is a Band 3 League and MLS Band 4 for those interested).
If there is a journalist worthy of the name they could ask Hibs about Mueller's contract but as a rule they are intellectual pygmies more comfortable asking the same inane drivel every week.

This thread has been viewed 2050 times.

Ā£100.00
Ā£100.75