Greta Greta whatshername

Davy

Is it only me bored to death with her? I've no doubt she has a lot of good points but I'm just bored of her blah blah rhetoric She was up on day 2 of the cop conference saying it was a failure.. it probably will be, but how can you decide that before it has hardly begun? Add to that she is just annoying!
If it is a failure then go protest in Russia or China or even USA where they refuse to sign up to anything. Please leave us rum drinking music loving people in peace please!

I think she famously sailed to the USA?As for Russia or China,would she even get past the visa stage?People who protest against Putin and( sorry I've forgotten the China leader's name)-tend to 'disappear'.
Ok she could do with a little work on her speeches she can't get away with the 'blah blah blah' stuff much longer, but for what she has done mobilising hundreds of thousands of young folk ready to stand up and be counted she is to be complimented on. Very easy to be snidey about the young when you yourself have got piles from sitting on your arse.

I just think she’s really ineffective. The novelty has worn off.

I think she needs to learn a bit more on strategy now. The clip of her singing last week was embarrassing.

I think she famously sailed to the USA?As for Russia or China,would she even get past the visa stage?People who protest against Putin and( sorry I've forgotten the China leader's name)-tend to 'disappear'.
Ok she could do with a little work on her speeches she can't get away with the 'blah blah blah' stuff much longer, but for what she has done mobilising hundreds of thousands of young folk ready to stand up and be counted she is to be complimented on. Very easy to be snidey about the young when you yourself have got piles from sitting on your arse.
Blah blah blah

She's mobilising young people in way our leaders have failed to, or indeed anyone managed to mobilise us in the 80's and 90's when we should have been doing more to help the environment.

She's also done it without without resorting to disrupting traffic, resteraunts etc... like her older peers.

Could she be a better public speaker? Possibly, but at her age I struggled to hold a conversation longer than minute that wasn't about football, Britpop or wanking.

There should be more like her in my opinion.

Greta Thunberg is not the enemy.

She's helped get my kids interested in politics and the environment, so I stand with Greta. Also amazes me how many middle aged middle class men seem to hold a particular dislike for her, every rag in the country and their editors hate her, so I stand with Greta

She’s helped young people become engaged in the climate change debate which can only be a positive.

However her rhetoric is becoming pretty boring and she’s becoming a parody of herself.

Greta's Swedish mammyScreenshot_20211108_211234_com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox.jpg

How remiss of you not to tag @Doc Shrink

How many has she got ????

Is it only me bored to death with her? I've no doubt she has a lot of good points but I'm just bored of her blah blah rhetoric She was up on day 2 of the cop conference saying it was a failure.. it probably will be, but how can you decide that before it has hardly begun? Add to that she is just annoying!
If it is a failure then go protest in Russia or China or even USA where they refuse to sign up to anything. Please leave us rum drinking music loving people in peace please!

She was not the only person who said it would be an utterly useless failure.

She has done nowt wrong. I think that many good intentioned people are a bit naive. Full support to anyone opposing this fiasco of liars and hypocritical barsrewards.

Oh the irony, the leaders in Glasgow whose adventure in Afghanistan cost thousands of £billions, and ended in humiliation, nod politely whilst a million innocent Afgans face starvation and doing nowt.

Get off your pretentious arses and do something that will save kids lives in the here and now.

How many has she got ????
Mother Earth is another

Greta is a wee pest.
One out of ten for her performance at COP.
As for her mum, I’d give her one also.

She’s helped young people become engaged in the climate change debate which can only be a positive.

However her rhetoric is becoming pretty boring and she’s becoming a parody of herself.
And for that she deserves respect, but being a kid who influences others is great, but she is 18 now and I don't hear much of anything practical for her. Listen to her speech here, watch closely as she repeats herself then appears to know not what to say next when the applause stops

This guy talks more sense :D

And the lies

And for that she deserves respect, but being a kid who influences others is great, but she is 18 now and I don't hear much of anything practical for her. Listen to her speech here, watch closely as she repeats herself then appears to know not what to say next when the applause stops

And the lies

Sky news. Au. (Australia) What reactionary shite. Murdoch could only get away with that in his homeland or Fox News in the USA.
You've been suckered on social media mate, or maybe a S** reader to boot. I don't do any of those abnoxious things. Thank fuck.

Sky news. Au. (Australia) What reactionary shite. Murdoch could only get away with that in his homeland or Fox News in the USA.
You've been suckered on social media mate, or maybe a S** reader to boot. I don't do any of those abnoxious things. Thank fuck.

Was expecting you to be first on as they criticise Marxism, I still see her rhetoric is causing kids to fear and not in a useful way. Anyway it's a forum and debate is good so I am led to believe. If people are fed only one side all the time then they are more likely to become sheep. Sorry but blah blah blah doesn't cut anymore

And the lies

You've been suckered on social media mate, or maybe a S** reader to boot. I don't do any of those noxious things. Thank fuck.

Was expecting you to be first on as they criticise Marxism, I still see her rhetoric is causing kids to fear and not in a useful way. Anyway it's a forum and debate is good so I am led to believe. If people are fed only one side all the time then they are more likely to become sheep. Sorry but blah blah blah doesn't cut anymore
If you think that utterly ridiculous right wing politicomumbojumbo is a criticism of Marxism or even a bizarrely feeble attempt at it you are really utterly deluded mate. Kelvin Mackenzie stuff.

And the lies

Just so we're clear...

Alan Jones says he does not believe in significant human induced climate change and has been critical of Government policy to use the Australian taxation system as a means of reducing carbon emissions.[55] His radio show often promotes climate change denial, including claims that increases in carbon dioxide are natural and that there is significant scientific disagreement on the IPCC's findings.[56] After the 2010 Australian Federal Election, Jones was critical of Prime Minister Julia Gillard's decision to introduce a price on carbon claiming that this was breaking a pre-election promise.[57] In 2012, the Australian Communications and Media Authority censured Jones for broadcasting falsities about anthropological carbon dioxide, ordering him to undergo factual accuracy training and employ a fact-checker.[58]

Jones is a supporter of the Galileo Movement, a climate change denial group which argues that climate change is a hoax perpetrated to form a world government.[59][60]

Andrew Bolt (born 26 September 1959[3]) is an Australian conservative social and political commentator, and climate change denier.[4] He has worked at the Melbourne-based newspaper company The Herald and Weekly Times (HWT) for many years, for both The Herald and its successor, the Herald Sun. His current roles include blogger and columnist at the Herald Sun and host of television show The Bolt Report each weeknight. In Australia, Bolt is a controversial public figure, who has frequently been criticised for his abrasive demeanour and accused of inappropriate remarks on various political and social issues.

Why does blah blah blah not cut it, three word slogans is all our political leaders offer, build back better, get brexit done, stronger for scotland, fuck the poor, lets invade iraq etc.

I also think its a tired argument that protesters have to have a fully laid out and costed manifesto as a counter to the whole government apparatuses 'option', as if there is some equivalence here. Its perfectly legitimate to say 'this is a shitshow' and 'you're greenwashing' without providing a raft of alternatives. That said, i think she and others do suggest options and i think she was perfectly lucid in that speech.

Incidentally, those two middle aged, middle class white Aussies talked some amount of absolute pish there, marxism blah blah blah, 8 minutes i'll never get back.

Just so we're clear...

Alan Jones says he does not believe in significant human induced climate change and has been critical of Government policy to use the Australian taxation system as a means of reducing carbon emissions.[55] His radio show often promotes climate change denial, including claims that increases in carbon dioxide are natural and that there is significant scientific disagreement on the IPCC's findings.[56] After the 2010 Australian Federal Election, Jones was critical of Prime Minister Julia Gillard's decision to introduce a price on carbon claiming that this was breaking a pre-election promise.[57] In 2012, the Australian Communications and Media Authority censured Jones for broadcasting falsities about anthropological carbon dioxide, ordering him to undergo factual accuracy training and employ a fact-checker.[58]

Jones is a supporter of the Galileo Movement, a climate change denial group which argues that climate change is a hoax perpetrated to form a world government.[59][60]

Andrew Bolt (born 26 September 1959[3]) is an Australian conservative social and political commentator, and climate change denier.[4] He has worked at the Melbourne-based newspaper company The Herald and Weekly Times (HWT) for many years, for both The Herald and its successor, the Herald Sun. His current roles include blogger and columnist at the Herald Sun and host of television show The Bolt Report each weeknight. In Australia, Bolt is a controversial public figure, who has frequently been criticised for his abrasive demeanour and accused of inappropriate remarks on various political and social issues.

Good thought out reply. I do not follow these guys, merely saw a different slant on things. It is also good to look at things from different sides to figure out what appears to be more truthful. I will say though that just because someone disagrees with another does not always de-validate what they say. We have seen many horrible methods of dealing with mentally ill patients over the years for example and so called experts pretty much torturing people in the name of medicine. I am not much into conspiracy theories and had no time for them during covid. There is though a time when things can be put down as conspiracy theories whilst they may actually have some truth in them. For example America are now actively saying certain UFO sightings are unexplainable, where in the past they tried to give us excuses. I have seen, but not yet watched, videos where certain people challenge the whole carbon data and what makes global warming. Some things are not exactly new, we have always had earthquakes, volcanos, even whole island and swathes of countries disappearing beneath the sea. And it would be interesting to see if that island has actually resurfaced as I also seen a video showing that much of the Antartic ice has also enlarged in some areas.
But I am satisfied with the data that the earth is heating up, but it is still debatable what causes what. But what we do is also important and while we can talk about middle class suits, those who care about global warming should also look at what they can do themselves. Football fans for example, how much fuel do they use travelling to home and away games and games in other countries? What do they eat on the way and what packaging do they use? I just think that it is important to look at issues and come up with some solutions, but I am also quite selfish in that I still like to travel and do things that might increase my carbon footprint, like sitting on my computer just now.
But a lot of what has been said in these videos is true, children today enjoy far more luxuries and safety than ever before. Why should we subject them to this level of fear? When us slightly older guys grew up we were fed a diet of cold war propaganda and how the world was heading for doomsday with all the nuclear weapons, that to me is still a possibility but not something that keeps me awake at night anymore. What seems far more relevant these days is children who are having to seek counselling at ridiculously young ages, and being encouraged to fear everything. Most of us were let out to play in the morning and come back at mealtimes. We never worried about every possible scenario for what could happen when we were outside. Kids today are fed on social media fears and abuse and Greta crying about how her childhood has been stolen does not help.

As to Andrew Bolt being accused of having an aggressive demeanour, good on him, I am pig sick of all the flakey socially and politically correct teabags we are normally subjected to

Good thought out reply. I do not follow these guys, merely saw a different slant on things. It is also good to look at things from different sides to figure out what appears to be more truthful. I will say though that just because someone disagrees with another does not always de-validate what they say. We have seen many horrible methods of dealing with mentally ill patients over the years for example and so called experts pretty much torturing people in the name of medicine. I am not much into conspiracy theories and had no time for them during covid. There is though a time when things can be put down as conspiracy theories whilst they may actually have some truth in them. For example America are now actively saying certain UFO sightings are unexplainable, where in the past they tried to give us excuses. I have seen, but not yet watched, videos where certain people challenge the whole carbon data and what makes global warming. Some things are not exactly new, we have always had earthquakes, volcanos, even whole island and swathes of countries disappearing beneath the sea. And it would be interesting to see if that island has actually resurfaced as I also seen a video showing that much of the Antartic ice has also enlarged in some areas.
But I am satisfied with the data that the earth is heating up, but it is still debatable what causes what. But what we do is also important and while we can talk about middle class suits, those who care about global warming should also look at what they can do themselves. Football fans for example, how much fuel do they use travelling to home and away games and games in other countries? What do they eat on the way and what packaging do they use? I just think that it is important to look at issues and come up with some solutions, but I am also quite selfish in that I still like to travel and do things that might increase my carbon footprint, like sitting on my computer just now.
But a lot of what has been said in these videos is true, children today enjoy far more luxuries and safety than ever before. Why should we subject them to this level of fear? When us slightly older guys grew up we were fed a diet of cold war propaganda and how the world was heading for doomsday with all the nuclear weapons, that to me is still a possibility but not something that keeps me awake at night anymore. What seems far more relevant these days is children who are having to seek counselling at ridiculously young ages, and being encouraged to fear everything. Most of us were let out to play in the morning and come back at mealtimes. We never worried about every possible scenario for what could happen when we were outside. Kids today are fed on social media fears and abuse and Greta crying about how her childhood has been stolen does not help.

As to Andrew Bolt being accused of having an aggressive demeanour, good on him, I am pig sick of all the flakey socially and politically correct teabags we are normally subjected to

Nothing you or I do or anyone in Leith, Scotland, UK, Europe,.....fucking World do Personally will make an iota of a difference in the grand scale. Individuals may feel better and why not, however the wheels of the Capitalist mode of production will grind on. Profit before People, or before this wee Planet is inevitable unless radical change is achieved. If folk deny this my next stop after this is to join the more accessible and believable Flat Earth Society.

Greta set a good example for kids to get involved in the climate change discussion, however I don't think repetitive bleating and not building on what she started is productive or a good influence on those who support her. She has to move into the industry career-wise and be part of the solution to stay relevant in my opinion.

In any case I won't take her seriously until she starts advocating for nuclear energy as a bridge between fossil fuels and renewables

Nothing you or I do or anyone in Leith, Scotland, UK, Europe,.....fucking World do Personally will make an iota of a difference in the grand scale. Individuals may feel better and why not, however the wheels of the Capitalist mode of production will grind on. Profit before People, or before this wee Planet is inevitable unless radical change is achieved. If folk deny this my next stop after this is to join the more accessible and believable Flat Earth Society.

Exactly. We are asked to turn a light off when not in use .meanwhile North Korea blasts the crap out of the oceans, russia blows up satellites in space and everyone gets excited at air and motor sport shows.

No Davy, I'll look you straight in the eye mate and say to you that he is is a lying, right wing, reactionary, gobshite, @@$@.

Leave this flaky and politically correct populist shite to the S*n, Mail and Express. Grow up young fella.

No Davy, I'll look you straight in the eye mate and say to you that he is is a lying, right wing, reactionary, gobshite, @@$@.

Leave this flaky and politically correct populist shite to the S*n, Mail and Express. Grow up young fella.

I dont know him as I said. Still speaks his mind though. I'll go with socialism if I seen evidence that the country as a whole would adopt it but whatever

I dont know the guy so I will take your word for that. Least he does speak his mind. I would also follow socialism If we had leaders and people with a mind to have a fairer society but unfortunately greed seems to win over

Exactly. We are asked to turn a light off when not in use .meanwhile North Korea blasts the crap out of the oceans, russia blows up satellites in space and everyone gets excited at air and motor sport shows.
Motor sport has been the cutting edge of technological advances in vehicles almost since their invention. They are currently developing new fuels, engines, aerodynamics which if found successful will find there way into the cars you and I will drive in the future as they have done in the past.

Last weekends Brazil (of all places) race fully offset the total emissions the race caused.

And then there's Formula E, fully electric grand prix and even electric cars and hybrids competing at Le Man's.

Motor sport is probably greener than many sports.

Motor sport has been the cutting edge of technological advances in vehicles almost since their invention. They are currently developing new fuels, engines, aerodynamics which if found successful will find there way into the cars you and I will drive in the future as they have done in the past.

Last weekends Brazil (of all places) race fully offset the total emissions the race caused.

And then there's Formula E, fully electric grand prix and even electric cars and hybrids competing at Le Man's.

I had read that about formula 1. Hopefully and no doubt it will trickle down What I mean and I am playing devils advocate is should they not cease all such sports right now as they want us to change our ways right now? After all if the crisis is as huge as is being made out surely we should take immediate action and cease emissions except where necessary. Mind you I dont see many fast electric buses from edinburgh west to dalkeith at out of hour times for my work that would stop me using the car

Absolutely, the innovations from motorsport have had a great impact on road vehicles being more green. I believe F1 are looking to shift to hydrogen engines from 2026, which will be a major step in making government targets around ending the production of combustion engines much more realistic.

I had read that about formula 1. Hopefully and no doubt it will trickle down What I mean and I am playing devils advocate is should they not cease all such sports right now as they want us to change our ways right now? After all if the crisis is as huge as is being made out surely we should take immediate action and cease emissions except where necessary. Mind you I dont see many fast electric buses from edinburgh west to dalkeith at out of hour times for my work that would stop me using the car

If they stopped F1, for example, it would end the significant investment in R&D. That investment is is required to develop more environmental vehicles for mass production, which will have a massive impact of future emissions from road users. If the climate crisis was so urgent, air travel would be suspended before motor sport.

if they stopped F1 we'd also be able to stop pretending that driving a car is a sport

😅

This is it exactly - this obsession with individual consumer behaviour as the main driver of change is the new climate denialism in my opinion, much of it may well be naievety or ignorance but you can't help thinking that narrative suits those with a vested interest in the status quo quite nicely. Keep people distracted from thinking systemically and analysing power dynamics, keep them agonising about the use of keep-cups and plastic forks etc.

Have seen many such examples that should be beyond parody, along the lines of "10 ways to reduce your carbon footprint, sponsored by BP". Its great so many young folks are mobilized around this, and no doubt Greta Thunberg played a role there - but depressing that a good % of them seem to view the key battleground as individual consumption, which is encouraged by many "green" politicians who surely know better. Capitalist logic internalized

I thought this post was about Greta?

I'm right behind her mammy, or I should say would like to be!

I dont know him as I said. Still speaks his mind though. I'll go with socialism if I seen evidence that the country as a whole would adopt it but whatever

I dont know the guy so I will take your word for that. Least he does speak his mind. I would also follow socialism If we had leaders and people with a mind to have a fairer society but unfortunately greed seems to win over
That's the thing though, these guys don't speak their mind they speak whatever shite that will sustain their grift

If wee Greta was a fat middle aged bloater these guys would pick on the blubber factor. If Greta was a black guy they would complain about the erosion of Anglo Saxon values.

That is how these fuckers roll, and it's got nothing whatsoever about speaking truth to power.

I suppose it's quite telling that a teenager is about the only credible opposition. However I don't see her saying anything different from other climate change activists. The problem is the capitalist system, as by nature it is incompatible with protection of the environmental future of the planet.

Capitalism worked for Sir Tom Farmer

That's the thing though, these guys don't speak their mind they speak whatever shite that will sustain their grift

If wee Greta was a fat middle aged bloater these guys would pick on the blubber factor. If Greta was a black guy they would complain about the erosion of Anglo Saxon values.

That is how these fuckers roll, and it's got nothing whatsoever about speaking truth to power.
Spot on.

Needs more folk to defend the wee munter.

Capitalism worked for Sir Tom Farmer
Aye I remember the stupid fucking dance the Quick Fit Fitters had to do.

This thread has been viewed 2383 times.