Get ross to fuck

Not sure he's for me either, but he's been around and will no doubt have learned that football has moved on since he played. He won't be the same guy.

That said, he got a campaign against Boyle started, so there could already be an issue before he theoretically did come in the door.
Sorry, no chance i want that fud back at ER

I'd bring Yogi in until the end of the season. I think the big man has actually progressed since his last stint. Evaluate him at the end of the session.
The guy that signed Patrick Cregg and said Kevin McBride was the best passer of a ball he'd worked with? 6-6? Getting humped by St J 5-1. Dragging Hibs through the mud with 'Boyle diver' sh*** to cover for his own sh*** team. He's a bit of a blow hole is Yogi. Not for me.

Sorry, no chance i want that fud back at ER
Fud supreme indeed. I don't think he's changed that much.

Think we’re getting ahead of ourselves . Remember how long it took to get shot of headingbottom 😩
Bottom 5 or xmas before any change is made IMO

Think we’re getting ahead of ourselves . Remember how long it took to get shot of headingbottom 😩
Bottom 5 or xmas before any change is made IMO

Won’t be easy, Ron & Ross have a really good relationship, but if things continue then I would imagine the decision is already made for Ron or was his speech about challenging the Old Firm just a passing comment.

pie in the sky bollocks . I was excited when he came in but now it just like same old same old with tv screens

That's a genuine worry mate.

I can only hope that he wouldn't spunk cash on screens and tarting the place up and neglect the main concern...the team.

Time will tell.

The chances are we will be on four defeats on the bounce for the first time since Hecky by the weekend.

However, I still don't think you can sack him this early, especially when Magennis, Porteous and Doidge are all out and he's been left with a thin squad.

The memory of sacking Fenlon (who was far worse than JR in both league and cup final terms) and bringing in Butcher (who was doing a better job with a wee team than Goodwin is) is still raw.

The chances are we will be on four defeats on the bounce for the first time since Hecky by the weekend.

However, I still don't think you can sack him this early, especially when Magennis, Porteous and Doidge are all out and he's been left with a thin squad.

The memory of sacking Fenlon (who was far worse than JR in both league and cup final terms) and bringing in Butcher (who was doing a better job with a wee team than Goodwin is) is still raw.
Fenlon got us to two cup finals - we were crap in both but we played OK in some of the earlier rounds. JR so far is 1.

So you reckon Ross can Doidge the bullet?? :bolt:

It’s fuckin depressing after a defeat on social media. I tend to stay off it.
Firstly , I must say, I didn’t see any of the game today. And I’m as disappointed as anybody with the current run of results.
But fans in general, on the internet especially, just want to see managers sacked. It’s as if they feel they have some power . My argument is , sack him for who?. Mcinnes? Yogi? Brian Rice? Who exactly is banging on our door wanting to manage us?
What else pisses me off, is just a very short time ago, we were one up at sevco, then a cheating bastard of a ref changed our rhythm.That has been the turning point in my book. He robbed us of a very inspirational player for that game and two more. The mood of the club nosedived, I’m sure they ( the players) think what’s the fucking point if we are just going to get cheated anytime we threaten to challenge.
Throw in losing Doidge, and Nisbet and Doig basically disappearing , and it’s hard not have a bit sympathy for JR. Alex Miller won one cup in nine years, and had us playing some utter pish, ( with a couple of decent seasons as well) losing to the gunts whenever we met them , yet there was never this clamour to sack him.
I don’t know what the answer is, and it might not be JR , but watch what you wish for . I’d sooner we spent money on players firstly.
I would go as far as to say, every player whos ever played for Hibs against rangers (old or new version), will have had to deal with biased refereeing, its hardly a new phenomenon. But they didn't all down tools. Not saying for one second sevco cheating should not be challenged but its not an excuse to just give up for the rest of the season.

Fenlon got us to two cup finals - we were crap in both but we played OK in some of the earlier rounds. JR so far is 1.

So you reckon Ross can Doidge the bullet?? :bolt:
Who knows.... I think he has a better chance than some we've had in the past.

I'd have given Yogi more time too. Bulleting him and watching him go on to win a Scottish cup and manager of the year with ICT was quite something.

What I am sure of though, is that sacking a manager for dropping out the top four for a fortnight, given our recent history, would be pretty ridiculous. Especially when there are glaring squad issues.

Until JR gets to a Lennon style fall from glory he deserves more time.

If we lose our next two games then he's under severe pressure but he won't be sacked. He's losing my confidence fast but talk of him being sacked is ridiculous. If our owners were to sack him just now they too would look utterly ridiculous.

Agreed.

My worry though is that he has possibly lost the players confidence and respect. What I want to see against Celtic on Wednesday night is a fighting, determined performance that at least shows some clear evidence that the players are giving their all for their manager and the fans. If we take anything from the match then all the better, but we need to see some sign on the park, not just talk in the media, that the squad of players are 100% behind the boss and are determined to get this season back up and running again. We then without doubt need a win at Dingwall on Saturday.

He wont be sacked but I have zero confidence in him regards motivational and tactical nous . As regards our present run , players attitudes /work rate isn’t helping 😡

Why has this change in players attitudes/work rate happened though in the space of three weeks ? We were outstanding at Ibrox till Porteous was sent off, and the week before we beat St Johnstone for the first time in years and we were near the top of the league.

I would go as far as to say, every player whos ever played for Hibs against rangers (old or new version), will have had to deal with biased refereeing, its hardly a new phenomenon. But they didn't all down tools. Not saying for one second sevco cheating should not be challenged but its not an excuse to just give up for the rest of the season.
I didn’t mean it was acceptable. I meant it was a factor. Even if the downturn in form is due to a lack of respect after JR did not back RP, the common denominator is still being cheated. There is no denying the wheels fell off the minute that red came out.

One thing seems clear to me -- win, lose, or draw, we are going to learn a lot about this team on Wednesday night.

I also sincerely hope that JR is the type of manager who can learn, and indeed admit fault and change tack. The fact is, putting out a Hibs team that's as insipid as this one for home gams means you are always going to be one defeat away from he fans turning n you (as GM so eloquently outlined). He really needs to start producing some "front foot football" in front of our own fans -- to take a slightly contrary stance to GM, though, in my opinion boredom, even when winning, is almost more corrosive than chaotic-but-exciting losses over the long term.

The fact is, no team ouside the Weedge is ever going to put together enough boring 1-0 wins to take the title. So our team sure as hell better entertain us a bit. I come to the games partly to escape the drudge of working life etc, not to see a fucking metaphor for it.

I come to the games partly to escape the drudge of working life etc, not to see a fucking metaphor for it.
Spot on mate.

Based on results alone, I agree it’s far too early to sack Jack Ross.

However if he’s lost the dressing room (not saying that’s the case, just hypothetically) then there’s no real benefit carrying on with the manager.

Hecky was given about 13 games to turn it around. Possibly the same for JR?

Why has this change in players attitudes/work rate happened though in the space of three weeks ? We were outstanding at Ibrox till Porteous was sent off, and the week before we beat St Johnstone for the first time in years and we were near the top of the league.
Could be players response to JR’s non- backing of Ryan /non-criticism of slippy and others 🤔

Hecky was given about 13 games to turn it around. Possibly the same for JR?

Heckinbottom wasn't Ron Gordon's man. He inherited him.

On Ron Gordon's watch he appointed Jack Ross. And didn't he give him an improved new deal only 3 months ago?

I didn’t mean it was acceptable. I meant it was a factor. Even if the downturn in form is due to a lack of respect after JR did not back RP, the common denominator is still being cheated. There is no denying the wheels fell off the minute that red came out.
I'm not saying you did mean it was acceptable. I think the wheels have been rattling loose for a while and losing RP was the final straw. No professional football team should collapse at the loss of a 22 year old player though. RP should be and still is learning his trade, he shouldn't be in the position where he's by far the best defender we have, nor at his age should he have that pressure on him.

Based on results alone, I agree it’s far too early to sack Jack Ross.

However if he’s lost the dressing room (not saying that’s the case, just hypothetically) then there’s no real benefit carrying on with the manager.

I wonder how many of that team will still be with us starting next season. Seems to me most won't be.... It's a huge rebuild ahead and it depends on whether it's viewed that he's the man for it. To do it assets that are not delivering will need to be sold. These assets though are fast losing value in more ways than one.

There’s massive rebuild to be done, no doubt about it.

We’re only 10 games in to this season, plenty to play for and where we end up will have an impact on our budget for rebuilding. Plenty to focus on getting right in the short term: tactics, motivation, morale, performances and results to begin with. That will determine who is involved in the rebuild to come.

Sorry if this has been mentioned previously but do our backroom/management staff actually carry out background checks and do the required "homework" on the opposition, their tactics, team formations etc. Seems to me that teams come to Easter Road and know exactly how we are set up and how we will play and consequently how they go about nullifying our attacking threat. We don't appear to have any sort of Plan B or able to change formations etc to alter our game plan. Just a thought but surely one of the basic jobs of the manager and his coaching staff is to identify other teams strengths/weaknesses which would allow our players to combat their tactics etc.

They do.They're just not very good at it!

Sorry if this has been mentioned previously but do our backroom/management staff actually carry out background checks and do the required "homework" on the opposition, their tactics, team formations etc. Seems to me that teams come to Easter Road and know exactly how we are set up and how we will play and consequently how they go about nullifying our attacking threat. We don't appear to have any sort of Plan B or able to change formations etc to alter our game plan. Just a thought but surely one of the basic jobs of the manager and his coaching staff is to identify other teams strengths/weaknesses which would allow our players to combat their tactics etc.
The work of the English GIRFUY Scotland now not on Twitter dude.....

Heckinbottom wasn't Ron Gordon's man. He inherited him.

On Ron Gordon's watch he appointed Jack Ross. And didn't he give him an improved new deal only 3 months ago?

I had to check back about the timings but you are right, Ron Gordon bought the club in July 2019 and Ross was appointed in the November.
Has to be said though I am fairly sure the appointment of Jack Ross as manager was very much Leeann Dempster's decision, though obviously Ron would have had to authorise it.

Wouldn't surprise me if we got a result against Celtc.

Probably beat celtic then draw with Ross County.

He will play not to lose against celtic ( as usual ) may well get a 0-0 , not so sure of a result in dingwall though 🤷‍♂️

Can't see it with this team. Obviously hoping I'm completely wrong. I want to see a Hibs team go out and make the uglies cake themselves when they come to ER. Not a case of defending for their lives and 30% of play. No team (bar Barca... and maybe some other Euro elites) should be allowed to come to our home turf and dictate play.

Interesting seeing Jack Ross's comments in the Evening News today. He says we really needed a third striker in, but he has been saying this since January.

We are in a situation now where we only have one fit striker...as in his words, Jamie Gullan isn't a striker, more of a wide player. The biggest damage to Hibs preparation for this season was Doidge getting a serious injury in Croatia. We still had a fortnight left of the transfer window and it is beyond belief that the club were unable to secure an adequate replacement for Doidge, even for a short-term, just to give the manager that option for six months.

Interesting seeing Jack Ross's comments in the Evening News today. He says we really needed a third striker in, but he has been saying this since January.

We are in a situation now where we only have one fit striker...as in his words, Jamie Gullan isn't a striker, more of a wide player. The biggest damage to Hibs preparation for this season was Doidge getting a serious injury in Croatia. We still had a fortnight left of the transfer window and it is beyond belief that the club were unable to secure an adequate replacement for Doidge, even for a short-term, just to give the manager that option for six months.
It's a disgrace that we started the season a striker short. Why did we sign another non goalscoring forward from Hull? I said at the time it was a ridiculous signing and I stand by that. It was a goalscoring forward we needed. And with Doidge out injured we needed two. It's mystifying that the young laddie O'Connor hasn't even got on the bench.

Cummings would have been better shout than james scott

A poacher and a strong personality. Would dig in when the going gets tough instead of standing on the spot with his hands on his hips sulking.

Plus he loves Hibs, aScottish Cup winner and hates the Jambos!

Does he? He was wanting away for a while, it took lennon a big talk to persuade him to stay.

Could have had Sparky back tae 🤬

This thread has been viewed 12735 times.