Parking around Easter Road

greencol

We're heading for ER on Saturday. First time in a long time.
Which streets are no go?( around ER)
Where to park? Where not to park? Is there anywhere TO park? That is the question.....

Leith Walk, one way south.
They've changed the works at the top of the Walk today, so that will be a mess.
The foot of Leith Walk is a mess.
Brunswick Road is no entry from Leith Walk and Mcdonald Road.
Pilrig is closed at Leith Walk and so are various 'parking' streets.
I'd imagine Easter Road will be a nightmare after the game. Its regularly backed up at both ends with long delays.
The bottom road by the Shore normally has delays sometimes as far back as Ocean Terminal.
If I've missed out any major roads they'll probably be at the least restricted.

Park and Ride at the airport and tram/Airport bus into town. Having said that I think from this week the tram terminates in St Andrews Square.

You can use your old age pensioners bus pass on any busses you use but non Edinburgh residents can't get free trams.

If you do persevere with the car into Leith then the parking is pretty much as it was when you were last down except for small parts of streets where they have been narrowed for pedestrian covid shite!

Stay clear of Leith Walk and Leith altogether to be honest.....

Lochend/Restalrig is where I park ( I was brought up there, so know the area well). You can usually get parked no problem in that area and it's a 10 minute walk to ER.

Stay clear of Leith Walk and Leith altogether to be honest.....

Lochend/Restalrig is where I park ( I was brought up there, so know the area well). You can usually get parked no problem in that area and it's a 10 minute walk to ER.
That’s where I was going to suggest, my partner stayed in Lochend up until 2016 and could usually get parked around there on match days no bother as long as you didn’t leave it too close to kick-off. 5 minute walk to the ground.

I’m not sure if Meadowbank Retail Park is also still an option?

I've been lucky enough to get park just off Albert Street the last few times

Park at bottom of Restalrig Rd i.e. on Blackie Road or down on links and walk up to ground, should be able to rat run out at the end pretty quick.

This'll be my first match since 2nd Nov 19.
Looking forward to it.
Have a bit of a rush to get a flight after the match. I take it there won't be any barrier erected to allow away fans to get away first?

I have been going in via the Western Approach Road/ Grassmarket/ Abbeyhill direction and its been pretty ok, park south of London Road and walk ( I have a space near the ground, through a friend). Booking a space online isn't dear as another option.

This'll be my first match since 2nd Nov 19.
Looking forward to it.
Have a bit of a rush to get a flight after the match. I take it there won't be any barrier erected to allow away fans to get away first?
Nah there won't be a barrier in place for this game so you'll be fine for getting a sharp exit after a hibs win hopefully 😀

I've been parking as far up pilrig Street as possible

Been parking in the tesco at the bottom of easter road and just walking up. There in 10mins, always spaces

I have been going in via the Western Approach Road/ Grassmarket/ Abbeyhill direction and its been pretty ok, park south of London Road and walk ( I have a space near the ground, through a friend). Booking a space online isn't dear as another option.
Abbeyhill has been closed to traffic, up the hill, last week and down the hill off and on. I'm not sure if that's still the case. I might be passing there later on today so I'll update if I can.

Avoid the West Port.

Avoid old ERI and Fountainbridge East if that's your way home, it's closed at Lothian Road, down to Tollcross quite often backed up to old ERI.

Thanks all.
It's my son who's doing the driving/parking.
Luckily, he doesn't get stressed like his old man.
When he suggested going to the game I said oh the parking / street closures/ traffic yada, yada ,yada.....
He looked at me and said 'itll be fine'.......
I'm already thinking about it and the associated problems!
Bugger these clay feet.

Abbeyhill has been closed to traffic, up the hill, last week and down the hill off and on. I'm not sure if that's still the case. I might be passing there later on today so I'll update if I can.

Avoid the West Port.

Avoid old ERI and Fountainbridge East if that's your way home, it's closed at Lothian Road.

Just to be clear, I have been coming up Abbey Mount from the High Street and down Easter Road, is that where you mean?

Yup.

Bugger, I am running out of routes to get to the game from the west side of town.

I've just remembered I have a link for this website which might be helpful. I'd also recommend the Waze app.

Looks like the Abbeyhill roadworks will be gone before Saturday?

There's none here!

Abbyhill roadworks are away.

I know it's nearly rush hour. The traffic going down ER starts queuing about a football pitch length along London Road, a wee break from Albion Road and starts queuing again not long after where the Coopers was for the junction at Old Leith Academy.

You'd find a space in front of my mum's-Findlay Grove; it's a culde sac just off Sleigh Drive.My mum doesn't use her drive in, so it'd be fine.Ten minutes walk up to the stadium.

Been parking in the tesco at the bottom of easter road and just walking up. There in 10mins, always spaces
Can you park there for that long ?

They have wardens patrolling

You'd find a space in front of my mum's-Findlay Grove; it's a culde sac just off Sleigh Drive.My mum doesn't use her drive in, so it'd be fine.Ten minutes walk up to the stadium.
Hope it's multi storey cos I'll be there with 27 others I suspect. Tell her to put the kettle on!

3 hours

Hope it's multi storey cos I'll be there with 27 others I suspect. Tell her to put the kettle on!
First come first served.The early bird catches the worm etc.Actually all the Findlays are a good shout.

It's actually a semi detached villa. x-SSHA -ask Jack he was after a hoose up the road.Although Restalrig House -or whatever they're called is to the South and Lochend House or whatver they're called are to the West.

Yes but £70 fine if you overstay your welcome!

First come first served.The early bird catches the worm etc.Actually all the Findlays are a good shout.
I'll give the worm a miss and settle for a bacon roll, brown sauce!

Unenforceable in Scotland, got about 20 tickets from over the years, all ignored

It's actually a semi detached villa. x-SSHA -ask Jack he was after a hoose up the road.Although Restalrig House -or whatever they're called is to the South and Lochend House or whatver they're called are to the West.
If I knew what the question was I'd do my best to provide an answer 🤔

That's more than enough time if you're just going to the match and not hanging about. Never had an issue

If I can't get my usual spoke up Albert Street
May give this a try.

I got parked on Sloan Street, unbelievably, for the St Mirren match. That's cos the missus insisted on driving, she ended up in hospitality, but that's another matter!

Unenforceable in Scotland, got about 20 tickets from over the years, all ignored
I got one from Kinross service station ( my daughter did but car in my name) about 3 years ago and the cnuts won’t give up!
Every few months they send a “ final warning, bailiffs are on the way pish” . I’ve never replied and just hope they give up one day.😳

If I knew what the question was I'd do my best to provide an answer 🤔
Whether or not you'd be likely to find a parking space in the Findlays on match day.

I got one from Kinross service station ( my daughter did but car in my name) about 3 years ago and the cnuts won’t give up!
Every few months they send a “ final warning, bailiffs are on the way pish” . I’ve never replied and just hope they give up one day.😳
Not sure baillifs can do anything tbh 👀

I park in Meadowbank Retail Park off London Road. 5 Min walk over the new bridge at the back of Sainsbury's. Past Lawrie Reilly Place and you're there!

You could currently get about twenty cars in Findlay Grove nae probs.

Here's a notification for a consultation about Controlled Parking Zones in the Easter Road/Leith Walk area. If follows rumours that have been circulating for some time. Early "warnings" of the same to the Leith Links area and that to the east of the stadium have been doing the rounds for months.

We all know that the word consultation from the City of Edinburgh Council is a misnomer and they will be imposing these restrictions whatever the outcome.

Looks like free parking anywhere close to the ground will be nothing more than a memory in the not too distant future.

This thread has been viewed 14977 times.