A quick hello from Hibs new content team

Oh no, I dunno about that.
Tbf I dunno how Hibernia is pronounced so I could've been wrong my whole life 😬
Sure there's a few songs on the glory glory CD that pronounce us Hi(gh)bernian

The chant is Hibees, Hibees
Happy Hibee draw
Can mind the Happy Hibby from Tanner pissed a few off on here too. @Doc Shrink I think?
The Tanner criticism is fair because the draw is called Happy Hibee

Plus the chant is in support of the team, who are the Hibees, but it's sung by Hibbys. Who are also sometimes called Hibees. It's really very simple 😂

I'm dropping out of this now 🤣

Also in conversation if I'm talking about an individual he/she is a Hibby but if it's more than one they are Hibees.

As the song goes "We are Hibernian FC we Jamtarts and we hate Dundee"

Not confusing at all :lauff:

Took the words right out of my keyboard.

I remember as a wee laddie sometimes the only way I'd find out a Hibs result was Final Score on council telly. The bastard's would give you Vauxhall conference league results before the Scottish ones...

And I remember thinking away back then that Hibs were the only team that had their name shortened and used officially? Though of course on Final score it was and is Hibernian... Are we the only club? Yes others have other used terms such as Don's, Celts of whatever but it's in a different context than how Hibs is used.

If I meet someone and they ask what team I support I say "I'm Hibs".

I probably say it defiantly and sound aggressive... 🤣🤣🤣

I remember as a wee laddie sometimes the only way I'd find out a Hibs result was Final Score on council telly. The bastard's would give you Vauxhall conference league results before the Scottish ones...

And I remember thinking away back then that Hibs were the only team that had their name shortened and used officially? Though of course on Final score it was and is Hibernian... Are we the only club? Yes others have other used terms such as Don's, Celts of whatever but it's in a different context than how Hibs is used.

If I meet someone and they ask what team I support I say "I'm Hibs".

I probably say it defiantly and sound aggressive... 🤣🤣🤣

Aye I say “I’m Hibs” not “I’m a Hibby” as well.

If we’re being technical about the name shortening thing… Hearts are shortened from Heart of Midlothian, which I suppose is strange considering Queen of the South are using given their full title. So looks like it’s mainly us and the Gorgie vermin that get shortened treatment.

There's also Hunco, who have had aboit 4 different names in the last few years

Think they're currently the rangers football club International plc or some such shit.

My recollection is that the term 'Hibby' was started in the 1970s by Hearts supporters deliberately mispronouncing 'Hibee' to annoy Hibs fans, eventually it was adopted by Hibs fans but because of its origins I've never liked using it. Although I can't deny it is now firmly part of our identity, oo to be etc etc

I stand corrected if wrong, however I remember the young team, myself included, who are all of a pensionable age now, singing in the 60's, to the tune of She'll be coming round the Mountain......splendidly sung here by Tommy Scott, nae relation tae Billy or John.

She'll be coming round the Mountain ,when she comes,

Singing aye aye yippee ,
The Pope's a fuckin Hibby
Singing aye aye yippee yippee aye.

Allouryesterdays_inglis-1.jpg

I suspect that only youngsters @MeanwoodHibee , @Doc Shrink @WJC1848 and @greencol on here can corroborate or shoot me down.

One things for sure, Ben the comms. guy will be telling his comms. team at his Monday morning feed back meeting, 'Well I though thought that the .net folk were odd, however that Bounce mob are fucking nuts. No wonder they were kicked out two decades ago.'

BIG Brian Inglis

I forgot about that lot....

• Haha
I stand corrected if wrong, however I remember the young team, myself included, who are all of a pensionable age now, singing in the 60's, to the tune of She'll be coming round the Mountain......splendidly sung here by Tommy Scott, nae relation tae Billy or John.

Singing aye aye yippee ,

View attachment 5361

I suspect that only youngsters @MeanwoodHibee , @Doc Shrink @WJC1848 and @greencol on here can corroborate or shoot me down.

One things for sure, Ben the comms. guy will be telling his comms. team at his Monday morning feed back meeting, 'Well I though thought that the .net folk were odd, however that Bounce mob are fucking nuts. No wonder they were kicked out two decades ago.'

BIG Brian Inglis

We have a reputation to uphold.

Agree with everything there except the Hibs/Hibernian thing. I like when the club, and those representing it, refers to club by its proper name (except maybe during commentary when it’s a bit too long).
Agree with this totally 👍

Welcome Ben,this is possibly outwith your remit,I'd really like the club to stand up for themselves more in the media,a case in point being Leigh Griffiths,a celtc player,pictured on the front page of The Scum wearing a Hibs top in relation to the allegations of his online conduct.
The club shouldn't stand for this and statements should be issued to.show public disapproval.

Singing aye aye yippee ,

View attachment 5361

BIG Brian Inglis
Now that does take me back! Thanks for the memory, as the Illustrious Mr Hope would have said.

Welcome Ben,this is possibly outwith your remit,I'd really like the club to stand up for themselves more in the media,a case in point being Leigh Griffiths,a celtc player,pictured on the front page of The Scum wearing a Hibs top in relation to the allegations of his online conduct.
The club shouldn't stand for this and statements should be issued to.show public disapproval.
I personally disagree, I think Hibs are better not to lower themselves to that pish.

There's plenty other examples of where we should've stuck up for ourselves over something like that. (although he does have a point about the papers using our imagery even though he was never our player)
Comments against Hunco would've been better suited instead of apologizing and accepting we were wrong. Defending Boyle from the likes of Hughes, Defending Ryan from Gerrard.

There's plenty other examples of where we should've stuck up for ourselves over something like that. (although he does have a point about the papers using our imagery even though he was never our player)
Comments against Hunco would've been better suited instead of apologizing and accepting we were wrong. Defending Boyle from the likes of Hughes, Defending Ryan from Gerrard.
Still wouldnae lower myself to that pish. What would it achieve? A wee rosy glow for insecure Hibs fans while other clubs laugh at us and put us at the top of the "statement league"?

So when another club or manager attacks our players we should just let them?
I'd rather we defended our own tbh.

I think I’m with Rocky on this one.
Unless Hibs are prepared to wage a war against the tabloids, which is unwinnable frankly….. it’s not worth the effort.
I’m happy with the “we’re better than that” approach we took under Rodders and have carried on.

Having said that, there are occasions when a retaliatory blow was justified. Maybe the new communications folk could deal with that. A response from our Twitter feed for instance ripping the pish out of stupid press stories could be much more effective than a ‘club statement’.

So when another club or manager attacks our players we should just let them?
I'd rather we defended our own tbh.

When it comes to comments by other managers/players having a go at a Hibernian player, we should absolutely be defending them.

As for the tabloids, not so much. It’s gutter journalism and everyone knows it, so I agree with @Rocky that there’s no point in lowering ourselves to that stuff.

When it comes to comments by other managers/players having a go at a Hibernian player, we should absolutely be defending them

Agreed. As I said before, no way we should be having Yogi as a guest of Hibs TV. Ban the arse.

When it comes to comments by other managers/players having a go at a Hibernian player, we should absolutely be defending them.

As for the tabloids, not so much. It’s gutter journalism and everyone knows it, so I agree with @Rocky that there’s no point in lowering ourselves to that stuff.

Aye, that's all I meant.

A working RSS feed please....

The "Europe returns to Easter Road" montage was excellent with an interesting montage of goals and crowd scenes and rather unusual but effective music.✅.

Some suggested feedback for the future is don't show any goals by Flo Kamberi who is a universally despised figure due to his disrespectful comments on leaving to go on loan to "Scotland's Shame 2012" .

Replace the ratboy goal with David Gray away to Brondby and you would have had the perfect video.✅

Bye Ben.

:coffee1:

What's this 🤷‍♂️

He didn’t stay long.

Sacked ?

No announcement- just gone. His assistant is now the top banana.
No announcement that Ron had appointed his son either, but that would always be a difficult one to spin.

???? Interesting , maybe he got passed off with the SFA scenario and Rangers.

RIP Ben

No announcement that Ron had appointed his son either, but that would always be a difficult one to spin.

Ben Jacobs has worked as a freelance consultant for years, maybe he was never really employed by us at all. Might just have been there to help Adam Tomlinson to get started in the role.

Wasn't about long .
Seemed a bit of an odd character tbh. Always walking round the side of the pitch the different lassies in a very oversized suit (Stuart McCall type)

Wasn't about long .
Seemed a bit of an odd character tbh. Always walking round the side of the pitch the different lassies in a very oversized suit (Stuart McCall type)
Eh?

This thread has been viewed 5777 times.