Scotland v Israel

I am back at Hampden at Saturday, first time since Sweden Ukrania in the Euros. I have a love/ hate relationship with attendance at Scotland games, got my laddies hooked at the wee and big home games, and as they have gotten older they are both patriotic Scots (and nationalists) just like their Dad and will be sitting beside me on Saturday in the South Stand Upper at Easter Road West.

I am also going on the lash in the weej with my boys and their pals, first time since I caught that bastard covid and I am looking forward to it although I fear I may have become a two can dan. Quick pint in Glasgow town centre meeting No 1 son who lives there and awaiting the arrival of No 2 from his home in the Dee. We have a table booked in a bar on the south side, where we will meet my sons pals, who are all Hibs and Celtc fans, I expect carnage around me. I also expect to pay a) in rounds and b) the next day! Some of you might remember Bomber (Sunshine on Leith) who posted here, I modelled my laddies fitba following development (and much of their musical tastes) on the good work he did with his laddies. It worked.

Fitba wise, much like Hibs, I go with hope but expect disappointment. As I get older I look for the simple things, Nissy having a good game, Super John showing the world how good he is, Scotland winning, no missing the last train home and wakening up before my stop.

Anyone else heading along and is so, what are your plans.

I am back at Hampden at Saturday, first time since Sweden Ukrania in the Euros. I have a love/ hate relationship with attendance at Scotland games, got my laddies hooked at the wee and big home games, and as they have gotten older they are both patriotic Scots (and nationalists) just like their Dad and will be sitting beside me on Saturday in the South Stand Upper at Easter Road West.

I am also going on the lash in the weej with my boys and their pals, first time since I caught that bastard covid and I am looking forward to it although I fear I may have become a two can dan. Quick pint in Glasgow town centre meeting No 1 son who lives there and awaiting the arrival of No 2 from his home in the Dee. We have a table booked in a bar on the south side, where we will meet my sons pals, who are all Hibs and Celtc fans, I expect carnage around me. I also expect to pay a) in rounds and b) the next day! Some of you might remember Bomber (Sunshine on Leith) who posted here, I modelled my laddies fitba following development (and much of their musical tastes) on the good work he did with his laddies. It worked.

Fitba wise, much like Hibs, I go with hope but expect disappointment. As I get older I look for the simple things, Nissy having a good game, Super John showing the world how good he is, Scotland winning, no missing the last train home and wakening up before my stop.

In Doha for 4 weeks with work, will be watching it in the Holiday Inn Sports Bar. Would’ve likely been at Hampden otherwise 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Been in there, its decent. What is a pint in and out of happy hour there nowadays? My main haunt was happy hour in Champions Sports Bar at the Marriott where I would meet the late Brian fi Qatar (RIP) to talk for hours about Hibs, Edinburgh and the Blessed Margaret Sinclair whilst drinking our weight in some kiddy on Irish Heavy.

I used to drink out looking onto a Marina on the edge of town too, forgotten the name now, it was nice once you got passed the price of a pint on UK wages when all your workmates were earning 5 times as much!

Been in there, its decent. What is a pint in and out of happy hour there nowadays? My main haunt was happy hour in Champions Sports Bar at the Marriott where I would meet the late Brian fi Qatar (RIP) to talk for hours about Hibs, Edinburgh and the Blessed Margaret Sinclair whilst drinking our weight in some kiddy on Irish Heavy.

I used to drink out looking onto a Marina on the edge of town too, forgotten the name now, it was nice once you got passed the price of a pint on UK wages when all your workmates were earning 5 times as much!
This is the first time I’ve been back since Covid, it’s roughly a tenner a pint or 7 quid during happy hour(s). I’ve not been to the Marriott, might have to check it out! I’ve only ever stayed in the holiday inn, the Radisson Blu, or one of the hotels in Al Khor close to Ras Laffan.

Don’t mind Qatar in comparison to some of the shitholes I get sent to, obviously their record on slavery with the World Cup approaching is shameful 😒 Still can’t believe they’re hosting a World Cup, it’s not big enough?

Heading through as always with a few other Hibs fans and meeting my Inverness supporting cousin and his lad ( who attends that school where nick walsh teaches PE which I’ll grill him about )
Italian restaurant at shawlands booked for 2pm

The late lamented Iron Horse a big miss for Scotland games

Heading through as always with a few other Hibs fans and meeting my Inverness supporting cousin and his lad ( who attends that school where nick walsh teaches PE which I’ll grill him about )
Italian restaurant at shawlands booked for 2pm

The late lamented Iron Horse a big miss for Scotland games

I am not far from you in the Linen 19something.

How is Bomber? Used to see him outside the Iona a lot.

Heading through, about 12 train. Was meant to be me my son and daughter but she's stuck in Salford. So my BIL stepping in. All hibees and will be the usual dissection of everything good and bad about us. No booked in anywhere, Big game tomorrow, here's hoping for a good result.

Victoria Road usually a decent bet before, few pubs and plenty cafes etc and can walk up to Hampden

Absolute must-win game for Scotland.
I think we are going to have to be patient though, Israel will be tough to beat.
Hope Kevin Nisbet gets some game time.

Going through on the train with StickyRicky,straight to the game but might have a few after while the boxing is on before catching the train home.

Bomber and EGBs sartorial threads a big miss on here

Now and again , I feel a nap bet on the fitba. A super confident , nae doubt in my mind feeling. I honestly had it before SDG day. I have the same vibe. Scotland will triumph on Saturday. A surprisingly comfortable bigG 3 zero.
Poor Rocky will have a sair back 🤪

My daughter is dragging me there on Saturday, tickets in the north. I’ll probably head up in the afternoon and get lunch, this is her first big game at hampden.

C'mon Scotland. 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

How is Bomber? Used to see him outside the Iona a lot.

Not spoke to him in person since Covid, seen him walk past at Tannadice but was too far away to chat. Natter with him on Facebook occasionally, he is as dapper as ever, still loves his mod, soul and jazz music, makes a braw Friday night tea and I think he is moving to a new house in Leith soon?

Usual routine for wife and me. Head out to Abington Services area and get something to eat there, although it's nowhere near as good as it used to be. Up the M74 to the Rutherglen turnoff, and then a wee rat run to park at Kerrycroy Avenue. If our defence stays solid, (Where have we heard that before?) I think we'll win, as long as Clarke disnae play silly buggers with his line-up.

Not spoke to him in person since Covid, seen him walk past at Tannadice but was too far away to chat. Natter with him on Facebook occasionally, he is as dapper as ever, still loves his mod, soul and jazz music, makes a braw Friday night tea and I think he is moving to a new house in Leith soon?

He was always a snazzy dresser. Used to put most of the drinkers in the Jinglin' Geordie to shame on a Friday night when I was the manager there.

Looks a not to bad side on paper apart from the strikers 😩

• B1F49AEF-1C51-4CBA-9916-8E01D5C23976.png
    B1F49AEF-1C51-4CBA-9916-8E01D5C23976.png
    283.8 KB · Views: 10
Mctominay RB??

Right CB I'd say

Aye Paterson is the RB/WB

pretty standard Scotland squad though.

My big concern about this encounter is that it is not the type of match that suits this Scotland team. Playing at Hampden in front of a capacity expectant crowd, in a match where we have to be on the front foot, create chances and score goals is not the strongest feature of Clarke's outfit. We are better at getting results away from home like in Serbia, Austria and Wembley for that matter.

Hope I am wrong, but I see this being a bit of a struggle for Scotland. We just have to try to find some way of winning what is a huge game.

Booing and chanting over their national anthem, pretty disgraceful and embarrassing stuff from the Scotland fans.

Shocking foul to give away by Hendry

Great free kick though.

Least now we need to attack, no time to play safe anymore.

1-0 Israel...after 3 minutes.

It was stupid foul, and the wall was crap.

I agree, and the ball finished up pretty centrally, Gordon should be doing better IMO.

We’re ropey at the back, particularly to the long ball. Then again starting a match with one actual centre half is mental, and Hendry isn’t exactly the commanding type.

I kind of get the Tierney thing, but McTominay would be far more effective in midfield than Callum McGregor. That would have allowed space for a proper centre half to be in there.

They’re at team that literally only has 2 or 3 good players, you’d think Clarke might have learnt something from the many times we’ve played them before 🙄 Actually make that 4 the RB, Biton, Zahavi and Rocky. Should still be beating them though…

Hampden looks amazing packed though 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Ah John McGinn, what a man!

John McGinn doing what he does best.

Being fuckin super

Great finish, good play by Robertson in the build up.

Fuckin Peach SUPER John

Oh dear! 😞

Fucking defending is criminal

For fuck sake
Hopeless at the back

For fuck sake
Hopeless at the back

Shambolic defending eh, madness playing an international game with one recognised centre half.

Goal should’ve been disallowed?

Penalty, definite penalty.
Poor challenge.

This thread has been viewed 3373 times.