Sweets

Do you have a favourite sweet?Mine's Wine Gums.I love a Wine Gum me.

If we're going with sweeties as distinct from chocolate I'd go with those drumstick squashies.

Frutellas or Everton Mints for me.

Rhubarb and Custard.

Mmmmmmmmm

1633093278914.png

Soor plooms, until they make the roof of my mouth bleed šŸ˜³

I'm a big bairn when it comes to old fashioned sweets, love 'em all.

Strawberry bon bons, butternuts, kola cubes, cherry lips, Edinburgh rock, traffic light lollys, sugar mice, liquorice comfits, soor plooms, cannonballs... Mmmmm

Here is a question though: When I was a kid (1980s), I used to love these sweets that were multicoloured cubes that had a sweet coconut filling. I never see them anymore, even in old fashioned sweet shops, I remember them being called something like Japanese Whispers but that's an album by The Cure so Googling hasn't really helped...

I'm a big bairn when it comes to old fashioned sweets, love 'em all.

Strawberry bon bons, butternuts, kola cubes, cherry lips, Edinburgh rock, traffic light lollys, sugar mice, liquorice comfits, soor plooms, cannonballs... Mmmmm

Here is a question though: When I was a kid (1980s), I used to love these sweets that were multicoloured cubes that had a sweet coconut filling. I never see them anymore, even in old fashioned sweet shops, I remember them being called something like Japanese Whispers but that's an album by The Cure so Googling hasn't really helped...
They were called Jap Desserts. I particularly liked the chocolate ones.

I have not seen them for years.

My all-time favourite is Love Hearts. I can get through a whole pack in no time.

Jelly babies. Proper juicy fruits.

It's almost chocolate ... has anyone tried the new Cadbury Caramilk šŸ˜‹ It's like Caramac but more refined.

My all-time favourite is Love Hearts. I can get through a whole pack in no time.
That's them.

Just did some Googling to see if I could source some and it looks like they have disappeared.

Not a sweetie eater tbf.. but when in mood, old style strawberry bon bonsā€¦ eat them till my jaw gets too sore šŸ¤£

Mitsubishi's and Doves,

Try the sweet shop on leith walk.

That's them.

Just did some Googling to see if I could source some and it looks like they have disappeared.
You didnt look very hard though did you...

Jelly babies. Proper juicy fruits.

It's almost chocolate ... has anyone tried the new Cadbury Caramilk šŸ˜‹ It's like Caramac but more refined.
More refined than Caramac?

You're Nuts šŸ˜›

That's them.

Can only get them in dolly mixtures by the looks of it.

You didnt look very hard though did you...

Obviously I wasn't talking about them.

I wouldn't eat anything with Hearts in the title anyway.

šŸ¤¢

Can only get them in dolly mixtures by the looks of it.
They're not the same. They used to be big and taste stronger.

Aye I never even knew they were the same thing.
They sound good tae, there's lots of online shops showing them, but all unavailable.

Look like they might be done.

Sherbet Lemons, Kola Cubes, Fruit Gums

Used to love sherbet lemons, but they make my teeth rattle these days.
Liquorice All-sorts or just liquorice for me.

Obviously I wasn't talking about them.

I wouldn't eat anything with Hearts in the title anyway.

šŸ¤¢
That might give you a Heart attack.

Used to live sherbet lemons, but they make my teeth rattle these days.
Liquorice All-sorts or just liquorice for me.
You lived sherbet lemons.That's deep man.Sure it wasn't acid?

75ED3BC1-60DA-4AA2-A552-F16A42E6C4DC.png

Haribo Tangfastics!

If we're talking sweets of yesteryear - a Sherbet Fountain!

Haribo Tangfastics!

I remember going into your grandads shop wi my pocket money tae buy a thruppenny mixture. That wisnae yesterday :cryy:

Haribo Tangfastics!

As a Rab, my older brothers used to call me Sherb, as In Sherbet Dib Dab.

Am the size i am partly due to never being able to go to the shop for something without buying sweeties

Love a midget gem or wine gum at the moment its Drumstick Squashies could eat those things till am sick

Haribo Tangfastics!

Tangfastics are a great shout!

Also if anyone wants to taste what a Dairy Milk used to taste like before Kraft bought Cadbury's and changed the recipe, get the 30% less sugar one, so much better

A penny dainty. Loved it!

I can feel my fillings getting sucked out.......

Mint Cracknel.
Now THAT was a taste sensation.

Are Refreshers still a thing? Zing zing

This thread has been viewed 1667 times.

Ā£100.00
Ā£100.75