Patrick Kielty Docu.

Watched it last night.Patrick,whom I used to think of as a bit of a lightweight comedian did a piece on Norn.Ireland.Not a place I've ever been to; but I know Newhoose is just back from Belfast.
What a feckin, place. Quite depressing really, like the Weedge on steroids.Having seen the scenes I can see the place erupting again
,I understood the guy saying 'I might move to Spain'. Johnson and his shenanigans have only exasperated the problem.The only solution as far as I can see is a United Ireland and the 'Brits' such as they are now in the minority in their own little piece of 'Britain' can fuck off to Ayr.

Didnae see it masel but it sounds an interesting watch, much as I despise what the majority of them represent the solution isnae as simple as telling them tae fuck off back tae the UK. Many of their families have been there for centuries. It'd be like telling the descendants of Irish men in the States tae hand everything they own back tae the Native Americans and fuck off back tae Ireland, its never gonnae happen.
Whatever the solution is its got tae stop being a them and us situation, its got tae be a whats better for all of us solution and that'll come through education and diluting the polarisation of religion.
Would standards rise under a united Ireland? who knows.
What I do find baffling is there are Scots who support a United independent Ireland but are against an independent Scotland.

His dad was murdered by loyalist paramilitaries?

a quick perusal of the case leads to the amazing discovery that roger cook is still alive.

There are no good solutions, just least worse ones.

Didnae see it masel but it sounds an interesting watch, much as I despise what the majority of them represent the solution isnae as simple as telling them tae fuck off back tae the UK. Many of their families have been there for centuries. It'd be like telling the descendants of Irish men in the States tae hand everything they own back tae the Native Americans and fuck off back tae Ireland, its never gonnae happen.
Whatever the solution is its got tae stop being a them and us situation, its got tae be a whats better for all of us solution and that'll come through education and diluting the polarisation of religion.
Would standards rise under a united Ireland? who knows.
What I do find baffling is there are Scots who support a United independent Ireland but are against an independent Scotland.
They are not wanted here. They arnae "fucking off back" anywhere. They dont come from here. They are chronic. Their patter honks. They are disgusting hateful people. We wish to remain living in Scotland in peace. Stay in your country and keep your hatred. (no directed at you paigntonhibby).

Watched it last night.Patrick,whom I used to think of as a bit of a lightweight comedian did a piece on Norn.Ireland.Not a place I've ever been to; but I know Newhoose is just back from Belfast.
What a feckin, place. Quite depressing really, like the Weedge on steroids.Having seen the scenes I can see the place erupting again
,I understood the guy saying 'I might move to Spain'. Johnson and his shenanigans have only exasperated the problem.The only solution as far as I can see is a United Ireland and the 'Brits' such as they are now in the minority in their own little piece of 'Britain' can fuck off to Ayr.
What benefits do you think a United Ireland on a Capitalist basis would bring to workers of Norther Ireland?
De industrialised Northern Ireland ceased to be of strategic value to the British ruling class decades ago and has been regarded privately as a burden on the British State.

His dad was murdered by loyalist paramilitaries?
As was Arlene Fosters by Republican paramilitaries.

They are not wanted here. They arnae "fucking off back" anywhere. They dont come from here. They are chronic. Their patter honks. They are disgusting hateful people. We wish to remain living in Scotland in peace. Stay in your country and keep your hatred. (no directed at you paigntonhibby).
I was quoting Moaty

"can fuck off to ayr".

Aye I see that.

Another documentary that looks at the Irish divide from a different angle is Brian O'Driscoll's film on BT sport. Looks at the history of the Irish rugby team, republicans playing along side British army players and a general look at both sides of the (at times literal) fence.

It’s a desperate situation, which was definitely improving until that buffoon boris started having an influence . Britain canny half fcuk things up .
It’s a poison , fed evermore by they two fuckwits through the West, and all their followers throughout Scotland wide. F@@kin marching up Cowdenbeath high St a couple of weeks ago, bunch of plums.

Ironically the PUL community of the North would have more say and clout within Dublin than they would in Westminster due to the numbers. Ireland is better off now and not controlled by the church anymore so it would make sense for a united Ireland all round. But as we know some loyalists have fuck all sense!

I am a supporter of a United Ireland and agree the church has little say now, but the fuck all comment goes both ways. Many of my Irish friends (of all hues) want fuck all to do with much of Ulster, its toxic.

That’s the bigger question would Ireland want to take on all that grief if NI did vote in favour….

I'll need to give that a watch.
Dunno if the Spotlight on the troubles documentary is still on iplayer but well worth a watch

I'll need to give that a watch.
Dunno if the Spotlight on the troubles documentary is still on iplayer but well worth a watch
I've not watched the programme but obviously seen the comments. I first worked in Northern Ireland in 1982 and we were paid 'danger money rates'
for agreeing to work there! The job was in Newtonards and curfews were still in force entering the town. Fabulous people who welcomed us without question. Over the years I've worked or stayed in Lisburn,Colraine ,Port Rush etc. beautiful places by the way and never ever been drawn into politics.
Imagine If someone was to make a documentary about religion in Glasgow, would that represent Scotland? Like fuck it would just like the vast majority of the Northern Irish people have the same feeling.

I've not watched the programme but obviously seen the comments. I first worked in Northern Ireland in 1982 and we were paid 'danger money rates'
for agreeing to work there! The job was in Newtonards and curfews were still in force entering the town. Fabulous people who welcomed us without question. Over the years I've worked or stayed in Lisburn,Colraine ,Port Rush etc. beautiful places by the way and never ever been drawn into politics.
Imagine If someone was to make a documentary about religion in Glasgow, would that represent Scotland? Like fuck it would just like the vast majority of the Northern Irish people have the same feeling.
This program looked at both sides equally and without bias and was Norn irn produced.
I'm sure there were good ppl on both sides

They did come from here.They were Scots who settled in Ulster.

Yep you're right but
there were different reasons for them going there, some went to escape famine in Scotland, some were forcibly resettled and some no doubt, obviously went because they saw profit in it.
Even the conflicts were not as black and white as Scots settlers against indiginous Catholics ( a fair proportion of the settlers were themselves catholic).
In many cases Catholics and protestants joined forces against the English.
But resentment and anger amongst the Irish community at these " invaders" was and is understandable, ( much as there is resentment in the country today of communities being taken over by East europeans etc.)
Even the battle of the boyne , which for some reason orangemen claim as a protestant victory over Catholics ( even though William of Orange was sponsored by the pope) had catholics and protestants on both sides.
Norn Irn is a mess and will be as long as religious and political extremists run the politics.
There's got to be a middle ground and the one bit of hope is i believe the majority of people in the province just want to be left alone to live peaceful lives.
What I find worse is the cun#s in Scotland that perpetuate this crap.

I did't think it quite as good as some of you. I thought the whole thing of Kielty helping build the bonfire with the tricolour on top hard to take, it tried to strip out the deeply bigoted politics of the whole bonfire season and seemed set up simply to keep dialogue going with the young unionist.
I also thought there was a real naivety in the notion that a solution can be found where everyone is happy, thats just not possible, its not even possible in Scotland never mind N.Ireland.
That said, there's something interesting in the way identity is made to work, that people can have no material goods or hope so lean heavily on identity, its what DuBois called psychological compensation, I might be poor, I might have nothing, I might have no hope, but i have my identity as not being one of them

sakes moaty! Ah ken fine aboot "Ulster Scots" and their history.

Once those originals died hunnners o years ago thats gone. Their offspring were Irish. Born and bread in Ireland? yer Irish!.. So naw, someone born and bread in Ireland, isnae coming "back" if they came to Scotland. Ayr or no. Apologies not making my point clearer.

I hate everything to do with it. Awful.

I did't think it quite as good as some of you. I thought the whole thing of Kielty helping build the bonfire with the tricolour on top hard to take, it tried to strip out the deeply bigoted politics of the whole bonfire season and seemed set up simply to keep dialogue going with the young unionist.
I also thought there was a real naivety in the notion that a solution can be found where everyone is happy, thats just not possible, its not even possible in Scotland never mind N.Ireland.
That said, there's something interesting in the way identity is made to work, that people can have no material goods or hope so lean heavily on identity, its what DuBois called psychological compensation, I might be poor, I might have nothing, I might have no hope, but i have my identity as not being one of them
Quality Gareth :50: :54:

I'll ask my brother if he wants to 'fuck off to Ayr'

I'll come back to you on it.

What was the programme called

I'll ask my brother if he wants to 'fuck off to Ayr'

I'll come back to you on it.
Don't take too long.

OK. Just spoke to him.

He said that as he was born in Belfast, spent the early part of his childhood there, and moved back over 20 years ago, he feels he is fully entitled and happy to stay there and not fuck off to Ayr. He did also say he likes debate and if you ever actually GO there he'll meet up for a beer and discussion.

For a decent poster most of the time sometimes you come across as a fuckin clown.

His words, mind.

Ok.

This thread has been viewed 1465 times.