Razor advice

Following on from the brilliant electric car thread…

anyone want to recommend a razor?

I’m sick of buying random razors every few months and trying to work out what blades I need, and I’d like to not be ripped off too!

I stopped shaving when Covid kicked in, before that I only used Mach 3's.

Started using "Harry's", decent blades and reasonably priced.

I get the blades from Harry’s and been decent and not too bad price wise

I use Dorco, from Amazon, good enough and cheap enough.

Mach 3 for me. Every couple of years I think it's worth trying a supermarket own brand on the basis that they're probably made in the same factory anyway. Every time they end up launched in the bin.

I've used Harry's for the last few years now and would definitely recommend them.

Razors are a bit of a lottery. You can buy a pack of cheap disposable ones,one of them can be great and last for ages yet the other ones from the same pack can be as blunt as the St Mirren forwards.
The fancy ones with multiple blades can be okay but the head is too bulky to do that wee bit between your nose and top lip. They are adding so many blades to the thing that they are becoming so heavy you need both hands to lift the fucker. As for those swivel head ones aye well you just go ahead and take your chances with that one if you’re brave enough but just make sure you’ve got plenty of tissue paper and plasters before you start as for the price don’t get me on about that.
But have no fear gents, over the last few years I’ve been working on a razor that is not only 100%safe but is also affordable and doesn’t require batteries,water or that messy foam so I’m glad that someone on the Bounce has raised the subject.
Gentlemen I give you the future of shaving……….The E-Razor no blades just rub vigorously.
TBF it does take a bit longer,well quite a bit longer actually but it is still at the proto type stage however if any of you want to pre order please feel free to message me.

I use Dorco, from Amazon, good enough and cheap enough.
Of course .
Made in Korea.
That's why you look like Kim Jong- un.
Try sandpaper.....

I use Mach3, Wilkinson, whichever has a sale on the blades.
They're a rip off in some shops.

Wilkinson Sword Hydro 5 Razor. Its a 5 blade job funnily enough.

To be honest having to shave twice a week and blades lasting forever* due to my ultra soft stubble I'm probably not the best person to ask!

I changed my blade at Christmas last year and only changed again in July to give myself a wee birthday treat. It was still working fine and could have probably lasted till this Christmas lol

Handy hint I heard on razors. Apparently the blades don't blunt as such, they just get a build up of skin cells / oils etc. So supposedly if you strop them by running them the "wrong" way down your arm they last a bit longer.

I prefer Mach 3. I've tried other brands 4 blades, 5 blades etc etc and didn't find they were that great at all.

Of course .
Made in Korea.
That's why you look like Kim Jong- un.
Try sandpaper.....

I use Mach3, Wilkinson, whichever has a sale on the blades.
They're a rip off in some shops.
I widnae pay their prices, I dinnae shave much anyway, got the beard trimmer, I use that for hairs that grow out of places it didnae used tae grow out of until I turned fuckin 60😂

Aye. The bloody stuff appears everywhere.
Eyebrows like Denis Healey and fuzz comin oot ma lugs like weeds growin between paving slabs.
Christ knows fit ma ers........
Best not go there.

It's a cutthroat market, right enough.

I make do nowadays with an ancient Contour/Excel remnant whose head I have to support with 2 fingers to stop it falling off the handle bit.

Then dry shave as much as poss. Done in 10 mins usually. Often take off heavier growth with a standard trimmer first to make it easier for the razor.

Anyone not yet asleep having got this far needs a new direction in life.

Use mach 3. They last about 10 mins unless you shave every day.

All razor blade manufacturers are wankers.

Aye. The bloody stuff appears everywhere.
Eyebrows like Denis Healey and fuzz comin oot ma lugs like weeds growin between paving slabs.
Christ knows fit ma ers......
Best not go there.
You got a clean shaven mirror tae? 😂

It's a cutthroat market, right enough.

I make do nowadays with an ancient Contour/Excel remnant whose head I have to support with 2 fingers to stop it falling off the handle bit.

Then dry shave as much as poss. Done in 10 mins usually. Often take off heavier growth with a standard trimmer first to make it easier for the razor.

Anyone not yet asleep having got this far needs a new direction in life.
ZZZzzz

Used to use mach 3 but since switching to Harry's I wouldn't use anything else.
Plus you can choose a green handle for the blades and all the packaging is green too .
Most supermarkets stock them now.

Plus you can choose a green handle for the blades and all the packaging is green too .
Best endorsement yet

How do you think they compare in terms of price? Could be tempted to give them a go. I usually buy Mach 3 when they're on special for a 24 pack at Costco. Can get about 2 years out of that!

That is what I do, but in Morrison's or Semichem.

The fancy ones with multiple blades can be okay but the head is too bulky to do that wee bit between your nose and top lip. They are adding so many blades to the thing that they are becoming so heavy you need both hands to lift the fucker. As for those swivel head ones aye well you just go ahead and take your chances with that one if you’re brave enough but just make sure you’ve got plenty of tissue paper and plasters before you start as for the price don’t get me on about that.
In recent times settled on Wilkinson Sword Hydro 5. I'm not sure if they're better or worse than others mentioned here but they do have a top edge that can be released and swung down so that you can get the blades around your nose etc. Works well, you can even get the blades up your nose and give your brain a bit of a scrape if necessary.*

The swivel headed ones can swivel. They're a health risk.

*I haven't tried this.

Started using "Harry's", decent blades and reasonably priced.

Me too, very happy with them.

I forgot to say I did try Boldking for a while.
They had 3 different blades. For soft skin, ordinary skin and tough skin.
I tried them all.
Hopeless.
You'd have thought Gene Hackman had been practising his barber shop routine for Mississippi's Burning.
AB neg running everywhere.....

Dunno how it compares in bulk but a lot cheaper than Mach 3 and a much better shave

Mach 3 turbo £10:50 for 4 cartridges,Harry's £8 for 4.
Both tesco.
Harry's do a subscription too

Found these quite good for shaving my head and got an engraved razor- https://www.cornerstone.co.uk/

Mach 3 turbo £10:50 for 4 cartridges,Harry's £8 for 4.
Both tesco.
Harry's do a subscription too
I only buy Mach 3 (the regular jobs, not the Turbo) when I can get them for just over a quid each. I'm still tempted to have a crack at those Harry's ones just for the green handle!

In recent times settled on Wilkinson Sword Hydro 5. I'm not sure if they're better or worse than others mentioned here but they do have a top edge that can be released and swung down so that you can get the blades around your nose etc. Works well, you can even get the blades up your nose and give your brain a bit of a scrape if necessary.*

The swivel headed ones can swivel. They're a health risk.

*I haven't tried this.
That’s a good idea wished I’d thought of that.

electric car thread…
Wasnt that bad that you need to slit yer wrists mate

Get yourself a safety razor. Been using one for many years and love it. Blades are unbelievably cheap. You'll have to find what you like but my god, the Japanese blades are beyond sharp.

Haven't used one for years but quite fancy the idea. Any recommendations for razors and how many shaves do you tend to get from the blades?

Just get yourself a normal safety razor. There are some expensive ones out there...you don't need them. You want one that has some weight to it. I'm American I think mine cost about $40 or so and it's great. Regarding finding out which blades you like, I recommend going onto Amazon and buying a variety pack that will have many, many different blades from different brands. You'll go through the pack and find out what you like and don't like and then you can buy what you like when you run out.

Reactions: Stu
Just get yourself a normal safety razor. There are some expensive ones out there...you don't need them. You want one that has some weight to it. I'm American I think mine cost about $40 or so and it's great. Regarding finding out which blades you like, I recommend going onto Amazon and buying a variety pack that will have many, many different blades from different brands. You'll go through the pack and find out what you like and don't like and then you can buy what you like when you run out.
Thanks a lot for that, it's appreciated. I see now I'm reading a little about it that there's far more too it than I remembered! I thought all blades were pretty much the same but I see not. Talk of more 'agressive' blades and razors. That's great, thank you. 👍

I buy razor blades in bulk from Amazon and use a double edged shaver along with Arko shaving soap.

Reactions: Stu
I get the blades from Harry’s and been decent and not too bad price wise
Do's Harry have a lot of razors?That's two of you borrowing his.You should never use someone elses razor.

I only buy Mach 3 (the regular jobs, not the Turbo) when I can get them for just over a quid each. I'm still tempted to have a crack at those Harry's ones just for the green handle!
You know you want toScreenshot_20210913-163449_Chrome.jpg

I've had the same razor since I was 16,I've only ever changed the blades 100 times and the handle 3 times but it's the same razor.

Anyone else get a flashback to Trigger and Only Fools and Horses?

This thread has been viewed 3448 times.