Vaccine passports

By the logic of your argument @Jack , which is in line with the Scottish Governments, surprise there, it must be a resounding Yes. Close nightclubs, play football behind closed doors again, if they are serious. They know that this is a damp squib. People who unwisely decline to be vaccinated are foolish, however this in my opinion, will be totally ineffectual.

I travel by public transport. Numerous maskless numerous young gadgies also do too daily , who may or may not be vaccinated in a space which anyone will correctly argue is more confined than terraces at ER. Am I going to see me having to presenting my bus pass and passport before I can get on in future? I am safer at ER than an ERT bus. I know it, you know it and Sturgeon and everyone in the Gasworks know it.
This is the illogical actions that are presented to us when politicians are the pissing in the wind.

I don't understand why people continue to think this is about keeping unvaccinated people out of these venues, it's not. It'll be lightly enforced, if at all. The whole point of it is to encourage those who haven't come forward yet to get their vaccines.

Disingenuous? Deceitful? Maybe. But public health management in a pandemic requires a degree of pragmatism.

The herd immunity threshold for Delta variant is very high. If everyone who can get the vaccine does get it we may just get there though. And then we can stop thinking about fecking covid altogether.

I don't understand why people continue to think this is about keeping unvaccinated people out of these venues, it's not. It'll be lightly enforced, if at all. The whole point of it is to encourage those who haven't come forward yet to get their vaccines.

Disingenuous? Deceitful? Maybe. But public health management in a pandemic requires a degree of pragmatism.

The herd immunity threshold for Delta variant is very high. If everyone who can get the vaccine does get it we may just get there though. And then we can stop thinking about fecking covid altogether. ''

''I don't understand why people continue to think this is about keeping unvaccinated people out of these venues, it's not. It'll be lightly enforced, if at all. The whole point of it is to encourage those who haven't come forward yet to get their vaccines.''

How many angels dance on your pin?

You say Disingenuous? Deceitful? I would add bloody Dishonest. I watched Sturgeon live doing verbal gymnastics, talking ethics, balance, against the increase in cases. It was political spin, without coming out clearly and honestly about the real intention behind this.

Aggie has dealt adequately about fans attending stadia.

It is an illusion if anyone, including the Scottish Government think that this will bring the results they want.

By the logic of your argument @Jack , which is in line with the Scottish Governments, surprise there, it must be a resounding Yes. Close nightclubs, play football behind closed doors again, if they are serious. They know that this is a damp squib. People who unwisely decline to be vaccinated are foolish, however this in my opinion, will be totally ineffectual.

I travel by public transport. Numerous maskless numerous young gadgies also do too daily , who may or may not be vaccinated in a space which anyone will correctly argue is more confined than terraces at ER. Am I going to see me having to presenting my bus pass and passport before I can get on in future? I am safer at ER than an ERT bus. I know it, you know it and Sturgeon and everyone in the Gasworks know it.
This is the illogical actions that are presented to us when politicians are the pissing in the wind.

Nothing to do with the SNP or indeed the governments around the world of different hues that have or are planning to introduce similar. But no surprise there you try a wee sly dig. šŸ˜ It wouldn't be you if you didn't!

Your point around public transport and ER is a good one from a social perspective but I don't see this policy as having a direct link.

I was going to describe the non vaccinated through choice in my OP as anti social types but thought that was a bit far, maybe not. Maybe many of them are just anti anything they think they can get away with including wearing masks. There will be no available stats for it but I'd suggest there's a correlation between the two and other anti social traits in many cases.

I think the passport policy now is about coercing the soft unvaccinated to get it done. It's not so much about the venues being covid hot spots (probably quite hot though) but that's where the target audience, the unvaccinated, hang out.

Get them done and we'll both be safer on the bus, clubbers can hip hop, grannies will get their hip ops and the rest of the NHS can do what it does best while the vast majority of us get on with as much of the good stuff as we can.

Ive worked in a factory of roughly 400 people throughout covid , the vast majority wore masks , used the one way system and respected social distancing . The vast majority now dont wear masks and theres bugger all the company can do same as shops as you cant challenge people .
Amazing the amount of people who can smoke and vape but a bit of cloth would choke them

Ive worked in a factory of roughly 400 people throughout covid , the vast majority wore masks , used the one way system and respected social distancing . The vast majority now dont wear masks and theres bugger all the company can do same as shops as you cant challenge people .
Amazing the amount of people who can smoke and vape but a bit of cloth would choke them
Ever heard of Bacterial Pneumonia?

A single mask should never be worn for more than 2 hours.

Dr Fauci even wrote a paper about a decade ago arguing that excessive mask usage was responsible for the majority of deaths during the Spanish Flu!

Your body is getting rid of that bacteria for a reason,and breathing it back in increases your chance of serious illness dramatically.

Dr Fauci even wrote a paper about a decade ago arguing that excessive mask usage was responsible for the majority of deaths during the Spanish Flu!

Your body is getting rid of that bacteria for a reason,and breathing it back in increases your chance of serious illness dramatically.
Dont wear them for 2 hours though , only when moving around the place . Smokings no bad for you though obviously

Not arguing about smoking being bad for you.

Wearing a mask for say an 8 hour shift...is definately more harmful too you however.

Some people wear them religiously,and some are absolutely filthy too.

Not arguing about smoking being bad for you.

Wearing a mask for say an 8 hour shift...is definately more harmful too you however.

Some people wear them religiously,and some are absolutely filthy too.
no doubt but thats not what we were talking about either

It was what your talking about.
People will smoke but won't wear a mask.

I bet your one of the ones that drives in a car on his own wearing a mask...

Bet you are one of those who drive around whilst licking your windows.

Just googled Bacterial Pneumonia

You have a higher risk of getting bacteria pneumonia if you:
  • Are 65 or older
  • Have other conditions like asthma, diabetes, or heart disease
  • Are recovering from surgery
  • Donā€™t eat right or get enough vitamins and minerals
  • Have another condition that weakens your bodyā€™s defenses
  • Smoke
  • Drink too much alcohol
  • Have viral pneumonia
Disnae mention masks.
ETA . lick windaes

šŸ‘šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚

How much ???

Bit im bold is the first time youve made sense on the bounce!

I think Fauci's paper took the line that excessive mask use excaserbated an already horrific time, rather than the majority of deaths.

Too easy :gigglle:

Back to the vaccine passport. I donā€™t get the negativity around it. Itā€™s not imo a government led thing, they stand to gain nothing from it, in the way of secrecy. Anyone who has a phone , or uses credit / debit cards, can be tracked to the nearest metre almost to where you are, who you are with , what you buy, when you buy it . FFS, most of us have nothing to hide .
We live our lives by rules . They tell us what substances we are allowed . Where we can buy them and at what time. They allow us to be part of some groups, but not others. How fast we can drive our cars, what countries we can visit, what songs we can sing . How many wifeā€™s we can have, how much of our hard earned we need to return to them.
The list is fuckin endless.
Now they want everyone to follow the world scientists advice , by taking a fuckin jab or two, so most of us can survive and get back to normal , and folk are taking offence?
What the fuck am I missing?
Nobody wants this shit, nobody enjoys wearing masks, or getting jabbed or all the other shit that comes around . We are simply trying to cope with a pandemic, the world has not clubbed together just to piss everyone off and take away our liberties , we are trying to get our freedom back !

How many wifeā€™s we can have
Aye? šŸ„° :22:

You're right though, we live in a society where we rely on [most] people conforming to what's expected. In normal times that can be really broad and it doesn't matter as a whole, society still functions. During a pandemic outliers cost lives and much more besides.

Aye? šŸ„° :22:

You're right though, we live in a society where we rely on [most] people conforming to what's expected. In normal times that can be really broad and it doesn't matter as a whole, society still functions. During a pandemic outliers cost lives and much more besides.
Can you remember the outcry when it was made law to wear a seatbelt? That hassle of clipping a tab in a socket, just to help keep us alive.
Cheeky bastards, where will it stop šŸ¤Ŗ

If it saves lives Iā€™m ok with it.
I also want it to save lives. But at some point things have to be weighed up. Once the vaccine has been rolled out to the vast majority..which it has in UK, then how many are dying? what is the age range of those dying? And contrast that to how many are dying as a result of lockdowns and the vaccine itself. The latter is probably a small minority but life is life. But more to the point is how many people are dying of other things, suicide through feelings of hopelessness or isolation, loss of motivation, alcoholism, failed businesses, children growing up not knowing how to socialise properly.

How many deaths would have happened anyway within the same period or slightly longer of the flu or other viruses? I would imagine the other side is that there were far fewer road traffic accidents or stabbings in high streets late at night etc.

But like I said before the vaccine will not stop people catching covid, merely possibly lessen the effects, and the numbers I heard on TV today are way lower than before, for example I heard if I remember correctly the vaccine will cut between a quarter to one third of deaths. That doesn't seem quite the cure we were promised.

Do people really want to hide their lives behind closed doors? What if every time there is an increase in infections we constantly shut down? Which is a very likely scenario.

Looking back at your reply though doc, I did not realise you were replying solely to the football question of covid passports.

While I got the vaccine very early, I am still not convinced we should be stopping people from watching football because they refused the vaccine. What if our star players refused the vaccine, should they not be allowed to play football?

This doesn't apply to people who are unable to take the vaccine.

There is a relatively small percentage, but a fairly hefty number in real terms, of people who won't take the vaccine.

It's come to the stage, in my opinion, that the Delta variant is now pretty much out of control. We need to reduce the numbers getting the virus, taking up hospital beds and ultimately being dead! There's also the implications of more and more people ending up with long covid and that alone will impact the NHS for everyone.

Something needs to be done.

We need restrictions of some sort to impede the spread.

Do we restrict everyone in a lockdown of sorts, including those who have done as much as they can do and having the vaccination, civic duty call it what you like.

Or do we restrict the few?
There is a chance, however slim, that the few could be correct and maybe in a few years we will find the vaccine is harmful. I don't think it is, well not quite true, because people have died of blood clots and many side effects reported but I hope it isn't in the long term, but I cant be sure, and so why should people be refused their right to refusal?

Just downloaded mine. It didn't hurt a bit.

I also want it to save lives. But at some point things have to be weighed up. Once the vaccine has been rolled out to the vast majority..which it has in UK, then how many are dying? what is the age range of those dying? And contrast that to how many are dying as a result of lockdowns and the vaccine itself. The latter is probably a small minority but life is life. But more to the point is how many people are dying of other things, suicide through feelings of hopelessness or isolation, loss of motivation, alcoholism, failed businesses, children growing up not knowing how to socialise properly.

How many deaths would have happened anyway within the same period or slightly longer of the flu or other viruses? I would imagine the other side is that there were far fewer road traffic accidents or stabbings in high streets late at night etc.

But like I said before the vaccine will not stop people catching covid, merely possibly lessen the effects, and the numbers I heard on TV today are way lower than before, for example I heard if I remember correctly the vaccine will cut between a quarter to one third of deaths. That doesn't seem quite the cure we were promised.

Do people really want to hide their lives behind closed doors? What if every time there is an increase in infections we constantly shut down? Which is a very likely scenario.

Looking back at your reply though doc, I did not realise you were replying solely to the football question of covid passports.

While I got the vaccine very early, I am still not convinced we should be stopping people from watching football because they refused the vaccine. What if our star players refused the vaccine, should they not be allowed to play football?
Around 20% more people have died the last 18 months than normally would have , judged over the last 40 years . Thatā€™s a lot , even by my maths . And the more beds taken up by COVID, the more normally treatable diseases will prove fatal. This ā€œ fluā€ needs sorting, make no mistake . It kills healthy people , and makes countless other millions seriously ill, life changing ill.
You almost complain that it merely lessens the effects, then state deaths are down šŸ˜¬, thatā€™s because folk are getting vaccinated!!. A 1/4 to a 1/3 of less deaths is a fuckin huge amount of people . They people could be your Mum , Dad, Brother , sister , granny , or , wait for it , even you .
The rate of people catching it , and dying is reducing because, more than likely , we are being vaccinated, hence encourage people to vaccinate.
Folk go to the doctors with i.e. a stomach ulcer, the doc says take this , and most folk take it, otherwise donā€™t go to the fuckin doctors.
And yes , if star players, or any fuckin players simply refuse the vaccine, then yes , they can join the queue of the wait in line and do F A until his bug is terminated. Whenever, if ever that is.

Last edited by a moderator:
There is a chance, however slim, that the few could be correct and maybe in a few years we will find the vaccine is harmful. I don't think it is, well not quite true, because people have died of blood clots and many side effects reported but I hope it isn't in the long term, but I cant be sure, and so why should people be refused their right to refusal?
Any side effects from taking a vaccine normally show within the first couple of hours, a tiny amount up to two months.

No-one is being refused their right to refusal. Everyone has been offered the vaccine and its up to the individual whether they take up that offer. If they don't take up that offer they will be denying themselves the opportunity to take part in some activities.

Just downloaded mine. It didn't hurt a bit.
Well done, brave brave laddie šŸ˜‰

Any side effects from taking a vaccine normally show within the first couple of hours, a tiny amount up to two months.

No-one is being refused their right to refusal. Everyone has been offered the vaccine and its up to the individual whether they take up that offer. If they don't take up that offer they will be denying themselves the opportunity to take part in some activities.
My arm is still sore 4 months after my first jab!

Worth the pain mate. I reckon without my two jags, I would be in hospital with this bastard virus, its not nice at all.

If you're sure it's vaccine related I'd phone NHS24 or someone, 1 to make sure you're arm is 'OK' or 2 start the treatment to fix it.

Shall do.

Your correct, i have a couple fit and healthy neighbours who died of blood clots sadly, this is still a trial drug so it might be fine to a degree now but until many years later we wont know the full effect on us.

Aye, got my second one a month ago amd had very sore pain in my leg to the extent im limping about, know others with similar problems wjth arms and legs.

Yeh and I don'`t agree with it. The vaccine we were told would lead us back to normal, but it appears that you can still catch covid with double jab. Those who don't have the vaccine will probably we are told fare worse, less so, us who have the vaccine. There is no real freedom to choose when threatened you cannot join in normal activities if you refuse

The vaccine was only ever part of the solution and no-one in authority ever said is was 100% effective just much better than not having it.

Nobody is being threatened. Those who want to opt out of taking the vaccine are denying themselves the opportunity to join in normal activities.

The8e
The vaccine was only ever part of the solution and no-one in authority ever said is was 100% effective just much better than not having it.

Nobody is being threatened. Those who want to opt out of taking the vaccine are denying themselves the opportunity to join in normal activitie
Thier not not vaccinating most under 15s so the virus will survive. The vaccine will give some protection but wont stop the spread

The8e

Thier not not vaccinating most under 15s so the virus will survive. The vaccine will give some protection but wont stop the spread
I suspect they will offer the vaccines to under 16s. It seems the JCVI remit is very narrow and doesn't consider wider points like community transmission and school absences etc. My guess would be that within the coming days it'll be announced that the vaccine is being made available to under 16s if they want it. I don't think they'll fall within the scope of vaccine passports though. My daughter is 14 and very keen to get the vaccine and I've not seen anything that would lead me to dissuade her from making that choice.

How is your eyesight?

Strangely stopped going blind thanks for asking!

The8e

As already been said they will be.

Nothing, in my opinion, is going to stop the spread of the deadly virus but the vaccine has the capability of vastly/hugely reducing the consequences of the virus. That's from being dead to transmitting the fucker and all points in between.

Around 500,000 non vaccers are holding the rest of us to ransom.

The vaccine doesn't stop you catching Covid 19 and I've no idea why ppl think this.
It simply makes the effect of the virus much less severe leading to less hospitalisation and fewer fatalities.

The vaccine doesn't stop you catching Covid 19 and I've no idea why ppl think this.
It simply makes the effect of the virus much less severe leading to less hospitalisation and fewer fatalities.
It reduces your chance of catching covid at all by about 50% with delta variant as well as reducing symptoms and likelihood of onward transmission if you do catch it.

This thread has been viewed 16076 times.

Ā£100.00
Ā£100.75