The Bounce these Days

I remember when you used to crash your fags!
??????

I just checked and I originally joined this lace back in the heady days of 2003. I feel old certainly!

There are still plenty of messageboards out there but I think these have become more niche over the last few years. THings like Discord Servers have become more popular I believe.

I had a while away and came back a couple of years ago and certainly it is quieter but the Just Back posts from 1875 are still the best you can find in Hibs internet content.

Last time I went to .net was during "Crowthergate"...... Never went back.

Lots of regulars I remember have moved on........ Shrink was always here and will still be here once we have all shuffled off stage left I feel.....

Lots of regulars I remember have moved on...... Shrink was always here and will still be here once we have all shuffled off stage left I feel.....
Shrink is the Francis Gay of the Hibs Internet

Or, on a darker note, the Dorian Gray 😳

29825578._SX540_-1.jpg

I've been here since 2003, too - joined around the time of Straitongate, iirc.
Been here so long I can remember when you weren't allowed to write iirc.
Now it's AOK.
FFS.

I just checked and I originally joined this lace back in the heady days of 2003. I feel old certainly!

There are still plenty of messageboards out there but I think these have become more niche over the last few years. THings like Discord Servers have become more popular I believe.

I had a while away and came back a couple of years ago and certainly it is quieter but the Just Back posts from 1875 are still the best you can find in Hibs internet content.

Last time I went to .net was during "Crowthergate".... Never went back.

Lots of regulars I remember have moved on...... Shrink was always here and will still be here once we have all shuffled off stage left I feel.....
One day I will learn to proof read my witterings. Today be not that day....

Thanks Jamie for keeping this place going!

Ive enjoyed it over the years but have dipped in and out of the site. It felt like a really refreshing and open forum at the outset and there were certainly some very "robust" exchanges.

Its the first place I go after a game to discuss it (other than the pub when we could) on the Just Back thread. Still think it has its place and the quality of the debates is often preferable to the number of threads and contributors elsewhere.

Most debate I read elsewhere...twitter, .net, group chats on whatsapp etc often has the hyperbole turned up to 11.

It’s H18S …. in fact.
He got it right about the Volvo…..old git😀

The craic on the Bounce is good, most threads dinnae end up an argument like they do on Taliban.

I joined with Shrink in the good old days when you could abuse folk and jambos used to infiltrate 😂

Been posting on here for nearly 19 years. Was introduced to it by Bartok.
After the news headlines this is where I head to see the latest Hibs news, Shrinks pics, Billy's chronic 'jokes', Smurf not getting satisfaction(?), GM talking a bit of sense and all the other bams utilising the place to keep sane.
It has changed quite a bit, but it is possible to get away with some pretty heavy stuff.
LLtB.

No idea when I joined as my account got deleted when everything went tits-up here in 2012 (server crash), but I remember why I joined - Id been on .net when some supercilious knob (Crowther) threatened to take me to court for accusing him of being a mouthpiece and apologist for the club - I think this was about his support for moving us to mid-lothian. So I thought fuck this if this is the kind of twat running these and didnt go near Hibs fan-boards for a while before stumbling onto this one via a pal.

It is, along with Mikey on Twitter (Piltonstany), my main source for Hibs info. (even if I have to put up with the Huns presence (on ignore, but I know hes here) and the few knobs that joined last season)

Funnily enough it was Stuart Crowther that told me to join here.
So I hijacked my mums account because it wouldn't let me make my own. Pretty sure she never spoke, just read what was going on.

Mind my first post was asking if we thought Hibs should retire Eddie Turnbull's shirt after his death.

Funnily enough it was Stuart Crowther that told me to join here.
So I hijacked my mums account because it wouldn't let me make my own. Pretty sure she never spoke, just read what was going on.

Mind my first post was asking if we thought Hibs should retire Lawrie Reillys shirt after his death.
I was thinking last night that you were Stuart Crowther.... 👀

Stuart passed away a few years ago.

Never knew that. RIP.

I wouldn't have been agreeing with him back then either by the sounds of it.
But to me he was always a good guy, helped me out with stuff.
Get a bit put off when folk start bad mouthing him here, especially considering he's not around anymore either.

Good guy, Hibs views or not.

I wouldn't have been agreeing with him back then either by the sounds of it.
But to me he was always a good guy, helped me out with stuff.
Get a bit put off when folk start bad mouthing him here, especially considering he's not around anymore either.

Good guy, Hibs views or not.
I think it was just the historical stuff that used to get thrown about like "Did you say that just because you can" etc. It was good fun back in the day. I remember a point when he was quite frequently discussed on her and not in a good guy way.

90% of the time anyway

That was a lot of Shirt eh... 🤣

I think people are more comfortable using social media, and there's now so much more of them.

I think you get a bit more intelligent chat on the bounces, and varying opinions....I like that, I think you learn much more from someone that doesnt share your opinion.

I often see on twitter people who are surrounded by people just like them reading a timeline of the same thing over and over. It's an echo chamber, it's not real. But hey if it works for them crack on.

most of us still read but don’t post

met some of my best mates through the bounce and many great people

most of us still read but don’t post

met some of my best mates through the bounce and many great people
So your best mates aren't great people? 👻

That was a lot of Shirt eh... 🤣
You remember Bartok too, eh?
Shrink was always a bit jealous of Bartoks snazzy shirts.

I am a relative newbie on the Bounce and have always enjoyed the chat.
I go through spells when I post regularly or not but I visit the site most days at least once or twice.
I often wonder if some bouncers are as torn faced as their posts often suggest 😉

• Haha

What happened with Bartok? One of the old regulars I was looking out for when I returned.

He's on Twitter but never seems to tweet anything about Hibs? He was great on here.

I still keep in touch with Bartok.

When I first joined the bounce (at the age of 14 😬) it seemed like jambos would always be posting here on the wind up, thankfully that's subsided over time. Seem to remember folk getting "bounced out" a lot more often but I suppose that was because there were more users in general

I use Twitter, I use Facebook, but I find the level they have on Hibs related stuff was just poor. I think I lasted a day on .Net, my username was Kollontai maybe I'm not banned? I use this place just about every day because I think I can say things on here that I may not say in real life. I'm actually quite shy. For my sins I was actually banned here, I had to do a lot of brown nosing to get back on. It was actually over supporting Tommy Sheridan, I can't believe I'd get that het up about supporting that arse, pity I couldn't see it at the time. Anyway I made a few friends on here from the social side. I've tried to flounce off a few times, but it usually only lasts for about two days. I'm addicted to the place.

What is it with the young team on twitter constantly attacking the “HIBS da’s” as they say. Especially on twitter, little fannies all band together. Wee fuds

It’s a Celtc thing. We would still knock fuck out of them all these years later.

:grrr:Naw a wisnae.

Maybe a wee bit.:coffee1:

Bartok's shirts... back to the future but louder

I was here in the early days along with Hibs Net. I look a both every day for gossip and stuff. I love the 'Just Backs'. But I think a number of things have changed. The growth of a range of immediate social media apps has really had an impact. I remember when Facebook was everywhere. Does anyone under 40 use it? I think another thing is how hard it is to keep up the energy required. The explosion that was the early Bounce wasn't sustainable. But it was fun. And kudos to all of you who put the work in. It's not done yet.

So your best mates aren't great people? 👻
My best mate is a well known fud called pugget
Have other fud mates called Hattie Jamie glen calzone

most of who are not posting

Ma comment was just meant tae be a joke based on how you couched your orig comment 😜

But your mates look like great blokes indeed!

They all post fido 😁

Ma comment was just meant tae be a joke based on how you couched your orig comment 😜

But your mates look like great blokes indeed!
Thought I would post some of my best bounce pics, my best mates are all bouncers and we have been around the world ggtth0B6969FC-1813-4335-91DA-8135980E7EC3.jpeg

• B7B6A469-6C7C-4639-B93D-D5F38E8A48AA.jpeg
    B7B6A469-6C7C-4639-B93D-D5F38E8A48AA.jpeg
    128.4 KB · Views: 36

This thread has been viewed 4162 times.