Jack Ross must stay....

I can imagine the uproar from many, but I think we need to calm our jets and accept that this season was Jack's first full season in charge, he got us 3rd by a margin, we were a deserved third, fuck that nonsense about other teams being shite, Livingston and St Johnstone were not, we left them behind, no one got near statistically, he did fail in the cups, by frankly not winning them, and the fitba was McInnes not Guardiola, I agree.

The pish about Jack and Hibs being bottlers is easily dispelled, we were 3rd, we played in semis and cup finals, for me its Hibs fans sounding like the Daily Record and fans of other clubs, say it enough it kind of becomes fact, sorry if that upsets the perennially aggrieved, we are all equally pissed off at not winning the cup, his tactics and players approach.

We have a long way to go, Jack does too. For me he needs the time to do it, I am sick of this knee jerk, instant success reaction to everything, the weeping and wailing of the last few days has bordered on hysterical. Jim Goodwin or John Hughes, for fucks sake.

I agree fans should be allowed to vent, the feeling at the weekend was awful, the performance not good enough, they let us down. If this thread is too soon for some, I am sorry.

Me, I am looking forward to Jack and the backroom team papping the shite and replacing them with better.

I do reserve the right to change my mind at any time if he and his team fuck it up at any point, its a HIbs/ Fitba fans prerogative.

I will retire to a bunker. INCOMING!

He dresses like a Guardiola, plays football like McAnus.
If only he'd dress like McAnus and play Pep football

I'll not be surprised to see him leave for a gig down south this summer.

I find his football pretty boring and too cautious but I'll accept it if it's winning football. And 4 games against St Johnstone with no wins and no goals suggests he's some way to go to be a winning manager.

Recruitment this summer is going to be crucial to how long he will still be in the post. We need to recruit proven quality that are men and promising youngsters. And he needs to mould them to produce winning football. Aberdeen will be better. Gunts will spend heavily. And St Johnstone might be better still....

Thanks for this. I came off this site for a few days, thinking of asking to delete my account cos everything became so silly. It was frankly depressing seeing so many crazy viewpoints. Don't get me wrong, a bit part of that depression was the feeling after a pretty poor game of football I thought we'd win, and a small part of it was a hangover. I'll take a break from it anyway as there ain't much football on, but generally I think we can go into the summer feeling optimistic. I want to feel optimistic and there is good reason to. Long live the bounce, long live the hibees, and long live Jonathan Ross (or whatever his name is).

Third was a good achievement and I agree that the fact others were poor does nothing to take away from that achievement, playing without fans clearly affects everyone. The covid situation has meant this season has been a big bunch of wank all round so I'm not really minded to make too much of a judgment on Jack or any of the players. Except Doidge and Newell, they can jog on as far as I'm concerned, they've been around long enough and not convinced me, I don't want to be in another Slivka situation of persevering year after year with no real evidence they're going to really contribute what we need.

I'm looking forward to next season but ideally we need a flying start as the team and manager aren't carrying a big store of goodwill with many fans.

Any suggestion he should go is madness in my opinion. 3rd a semi and a final is better than we have done in years. Nobody is happy that we lost those games at Hampden, but a scorched earth policy based on a few games will get us nowhere... infact look at what it has done to us in the last decade - yo-yoing about the league achieving fuck all bar one glorious day in 2016.

He has to have earned the chance to go again.

Hibs were rotten on Sat,no one would disagree.
Years ago in the Retard Stuart Cosgrove hit the nail on the head.Hibs win 3 games in a row and the treble is in the bag,lose a game and the manager,board and players need sacked.
Over the course of this season the same few posters disappear when the goings good then are out demanding half the club need put on the dole after a loss.
Like a poster said above I logged out just after half time and considered just blocking the Bounce,pissed off the some of the posts.
Hibs and this place ain't good for your mental health.

Aye, we've got to where we want in the league. It won't be an easy job staying there and how the club tackle that will obviously be very important. This season set a high bar for reaching the latter stages of the cup competitions so to go on from that would be just dandy!

Next year as well as fighting on the home front we have the challenge of Europe. We did very well, very very well, under Lennon where I always thought before that in recentish history Europe was almost an inconvenience. Let's see if Ron wants to take the European highway or settle for the byway!

Ross has had an excellent first full season in charge.
We are a far better team than we were when he took over.
Won more away games than Celtic...that takes some doing.
Top goalscorers outside the Old Firm and conceded fewest goals outside the Old Firm.
Highest league finish in 16 years. Best of the rest finishing third and European qualification.

All of the above tells me he is doing something right.

His problem is big cup matches at Hampden and derbies. We have been truly dreadful in both since he took over as manager.

IMO unfortunately Ross has now lost the goodwill and support of many of the fans.
The display from Hibs on Saturday was an absolute shocker considering the size and importance of the game.
Even today I still can't get over how poor we were. It was like we were playing a pre-season friendly rather than a Scottish Cup Final.
I suspect the team preparations were affected by all the mischief making and speculation in the media, and as I mentioned at the week-end IMO several players were just not focussed on the game because I strongly suspect they knew they were on the way out and had one eye on their next club. Ross even mentioned in the media it was having a bad effect on his preparations. No excuses though.

Personally, I was not surprised we lost the game (frankly Hibs have turned losing cup finals and semi-finals at Hampden into an art form), what I was surprised at was how bad we were, how lacking in drive, energy and inspiration we were. I'm beginning to think now we won't win another trophy for many years....hope I am wrong obviously.

Ross needs time to build his own team and recruitment this summer is crucial. We are IMO about to lose some key players, and it's how we replace them that will determine Ross's future at Hibs. That and how we start next season. We have to win the first derby to at least start to get some of his naysayers back on board. We need some experienced players through the spine of the team, and leaders. I like the policy of signing young scottish talent, nurturing it, then selling it on for big money...but we cannot have a whole team made up of such players. We need a good mix of youth and experience, and definitly a new captain.

Jack Ross was manager of the year a few years ago at St Mirren, managed a big club in England (and was shafted by the board there IMO) and has now taken Hibs to our best league season since 2004/05. He is highly rated in the scottish game. I support him and want him to build another great Hibs team for us all to enjoy. It's a results business though and we have to start well next season or he really is in trouble...it's a season which will be harder to succeed in than this one was.

Third was a good achievement and I agree that the fact others were poor does nothing to take away from that achievement, playing without fans clearly affects everyone. The covid situation has meant this season has been a big bunch of wank all round so I'm not really minded to make too much of a judgment on Jack or any of the players. Except Doidge and Newell, they can jog on as far as I'm concerned, they've been around long enough and not convinced me, I don't want to be in another Slivka situation of persevering year after year with no real evidence they're going to really contribute what we need.

I'm looking forward to next season but ideally we need a flying start as the team and manager aren't carrying a big store of goodwill with many fans.
Quite like Doidge tbh, 32 goals in two seasons doesn’t seem too bad a return to me? Definitely agree about a fast start next season, especially with the fans hopefully being present.

Doidge? really. Newell has just signed a new contract so he won't be going anywhere and I certainly wouldn't be wantiong shot of the Welsh wizard especially if someone comes in for Nisbet in the summer.

One thing I do regret is that young Ethan Laidlaw didn't get some cameo appearances especially given the number of big guns down south looking to snap him up.

Doidge? really. Newell has just signed a new contract so he won't be going anywhere and I certainly wouldn't be wantiong shot of the Welsh wizard especially if someone comes in for Nisbet in the summer.

One thing I do regret is that young Ethan Laidlaw didn't get some cameo appearances especially given the number of big guns down south looking to snap him up.
It's interesting that you say Newell has signed a new contract so won't be going anywhere. You don't think anyone would be prepared to pay a fee for him then?

Forest Green still in playoff contention I think so maybe they'll have some bucks to splash on reclaiming the "Welsh wizard".

Had we exited the cups earlier, and to either half of the old firm, the perspective on the end of this season would be vastly more positive than it is right now.

Few teams been third recently and changed managers and went down not too long after.

Good league season. 3 bad results in cups.

I want to see what the team can do with fans there. People say the games are boring but I find all games without fans boring. I've struggled to watch any games on TV these days that don't involve Hibs.

I think any player or indeed coaching staff who can’t prove they donate regularly to charity should be sacked.

It's interesting that you say Newell has signed a new contract so won't be going anywhere. You don't think anyone would be prepared to pay a fee for him then?

Forest Green still in playoff contention I think so maybe they'll have some bucks to splash on reclaiming the "Welsh wizard".

Comparing those 2 to Slivka?
Newell maybe, except he gets actual game time.
But, Doidge has already contributed with proof.

Forest Green are out

Aye I just saw that, after winning 4-3 in second leg. Must have been some game.

I can imagine the uproar from many, but I think we need to calm our jets and accept that this season was Jack's first full season in charge, he got us 3rd by a margin, we were a deserved third, fuck that nonsense about other teams being shite, Livingston and St Johnstone were not, we left them behind, no one got near statistically, he did fail in the cups, by frankly not winning them, and the fitba was McInnes not Guardiola, I agree.

The pish about Jack and Hibs being bottlers is easily dispelled, we were 3rd, we played in semis and cup finals, for me its Hibs fans sounding like the Daily Record and fans of other clubs, say it enough it kind of becomes fact, sorry if that upsets the perennially aggrieved, we are all equally pissed off at not winning the cup, his tactics and players approach.

We have a long way to go, Jack does too. For me he needs the time to do it, I am sick of this knee jerk, instant success reaction to everything, the weeping and wailing of the last few days has bordered on hysterical. Jim Goodwin or John Hughes, for fucks sake.

I agree fans should be allowed to vent, the feeling at the weekend was awful, the performance not good enough, they let us down. If this thread is too soon for some, I am sorry.

Me, I am looking forward to Jack and the backroom team papping the shite and replacing them with better.

I do reserve the right to change my mind at any time if he and his team fuck it up at any point, its a HIbs/ Fitba fans prerogative.

I will retire to a bunker. INCOMING!
Cannot agree with u at all.Hibs Will do nothing with Ross in charge.

Aye I just saw that, after winning 4-3 in second leg. Must have been some game.
It was , pishing down too but great to watch . A 42 year old came on and scored for Newport , peach of a goal too

Hibs were rotten on Sat,no one would disagree.
Years ago in the Retard Stuart Cosgrove hit the nail on the head.Hibs win 3 games in a row and the treble is in the bag,lose a game and the manager,board and players need sacked.
Over the course of this season the same few posters disappear when the goings good then are out demanding half the club need put on the dole after a loss.
Like a poster said above I logged out just after half time and considered just blocking the Bounce,pissed off the some of the posts.
Hibs and this place ain't good for your mental health.
Do you not think Hibs should be aiming high? It's about setting a big club mentality which Lennon attempted before his team fell apart. I don't think it's acceptable for Hibs to lose to St Johnstone but thrice in a season is ridiculous. Our best chance in years to win silverware and we blew it big time. Not just the result but the performances as well which were awful. If we'd gone down fighting most fans wouldn't be as annoyed.

Cannot agree with u at all.Hibs Will do nothing with Ross in charge.

We were 3rd, it’s been 15+ years, that is not nothing. Who do you suggest might do better out of interest?

Third plus decent runs in both cup competitions.
Didn’t end well, but a reasonable target for Hibs is 3rd plus decent cup runs.

Aiming high is exactly what we need to do. But achieving reasonable targets means sacking the manager?

OK then.

I'll not be surprised to see him leave for a gig down south this summer.

I find his football pretty boring and too cautious but I'll accept it if it's winning football. And 4 games against St Johnstone with no wins and no goals suggests he's some way to go to be a winning manager.

Recruitment this summer is going to be crucial to how long he will still be in the post. We need to recruit proven quality that are men and promising youngsters. And he needs to mould them to produce winning football. Aberdeen will be better. Gunts will spend heavily. And St Johnstone might be better still....
Aberdeen will be better?The Jambos have just gone through about 5 years of shite.

Aberdeen won't go nearly 10 games not scoring....

The Jambos run was about 5 years in the making. We've been relegated, Dundee and Dundee United have been relegated. What's to say Aberdeen will improve? It's not a given.

Third plus decent runs in both cup competitions.
Didn’t end well, but a reasonable target for Hibs is 3rd plus decent cup runs.

Aiming high is exactly what we need to do. But achieving reasonable targets means sacking the manager?

OK then.
Why is a ‘cup run’ a target? Why would anyone set out to target losing? A CUP WIN should be a target and Jack Ross messed up three good chances of that.

The football is awful, the home form shocking, he can’t beat either Rangers or Celtic, Hampden turns him into a shivering wreck, he still hasn’t managed to find balance in our side after all this time and he’s so scared to lose a game at Hampden that we don’t go out and win them.(yes yes Dundee Utd but who couldn’t have beat them that day)

St Johnstone 4 wins out of 4 at Hampden
Hibs 1 win out of 4 at Hampden.
That’s absolutely appalling.

Hopefully he does turn it round, but there’s is nothing to suggest he will win a trophy at Hibs. He’s just not got it in him to do it.

Do you not think Hibs should be aiming high? It's about setting a big club mentality which Lennon attempted before his team fell apart. I don't think it's acceptable for Hibs to lose to St Johnstone but thrice in a season is ridiculous. Our best chance in years to win silverware and we blew it big time. Not just the result but the performances as well which were awful. If we'd gone down fighting most fans wouldn't be as annoyed.
Of course they should aim to be a successful as possible,every team should,its the bipolar reaction of the fans that's the issue.
Ignore Saturday and look at some of the threads/posts after some games and you'd think posters actually hated Hibs.

It was , pishing down too but great to watch . A 42 year old came on and scored for Newport , peach of a goal too
Watched it, best game on tv for ages. Ellison, I think his name was, a cracker of a goal. Caddens twin brother was playing for FG

And scored btw.

Why is a ‘cup run’ a target? Why would anyone set out to target losing? A CUP WIN should be a target and Jack Ross messed up three good chances of that.

The football is awful, the home form shocking, he can’t beat either Huns or Celtic, Hampden turns him into a shivering wreck, he still hasn’t managed to find balance in our side after all this time and he’s so scared to lose a game at Hampden that we don’t go out and win them.(yes yes Dundee Utd but who couldn’t have beat them that day)

Hopefully he does turn it round, but there’s is nothing to suggest he will win a trophy at Hibs. He’s just not got it in him to do it.
Would you take third in the league and a guaranteed appearance in the cup final next season? Result not guaranteed but we definitely get there? I would.

The football is awful, the home form shocking, he can’t beat either Huns or Celtic, Hampden turns him into a shivering wreck, he still hasn’t managed to find balance in our side after all this time and he’s so scared to lose a game at Hampden that we don’t go out and win them.(yes yes Dundee Utd but who couldn’t have beat them that day)

So telling the manager we expect to be at Hampden at least twice every season is targeting failure.
OK then.

Different or maybe stronger criteria seems to be applied to Jack Ross than any other Hibs manager than I can recall and it's very hard to work out why that might be.🤔.

League position is usually the number 1 pre-requisite and in this respect Jack Ross has 100% achieved this target with a margin to spare and for the 1st time in 16 years Hibs are 3rd in the SPFL and the best of the rest.✅.

The 2nd pre-requisute is to go deep in cup competitions and one Scottish Cup Final and one League Cup semi final would indicate that this target has also been 100% achieved.✅.

The 3rd pre requisite is attractive, exciting football which is always the mythical millstone hung around every Hibs manager that none of them achieve in modern times apart from 6 months here and there.

In that respect its a very close fail as Hibs are a very functional practical team who are a bit on the dour side but who can certainly grind out the away wins unlike many of the previous teams.🤔

Avoiding catastrophic one off results or series of results is the 4th pre requisite as for example Fenlon had two games that will haunt him and all of us forever and Butcher had a two month script of a disaster movie.😥

In that respect Jack Ross has undoubtededly failed as losing to the lower league puddledrinkers and the shocking cup final performance devoid of guile, passion or attitude is for many supporters unforgivable.😥😥.

It all depends on your expectation's and looking at the total overall picture Jack Ross has done more than enough for me and I am more than satisfied with him as Hibs manager.✅

Ultimately he will be sacked as that's the inevitable fate of all managers but now is nowhere near the time and I look forward to next season and live football again.✅

We are a support starved of success and this season we've looked upon it as a huge opportunity to do well. Celtc have imploded. Aberdeen been so awful they couldn't score and sacked their manager. Motherwell much poorer. And of course the sorry Gunts out the picture....

And I think that's the elephant in the room. We blew it in that semi-final v them. Had we beaten them as we should have we would have faced a shambolic Celtc in the final. And we know the Gunts are back next season. I have no doubt that their aim will be to replace us in third and the Gunt way is to spend heavily. At some point they might get their recruitment right. Celtc will be better. And so will Aberdeen. All will spend. And obviously so will we.

So I think the frustration is just the missed opportunity and knowing such opportunities don't come round too often.

Thought he looked familiar lol

I reckon the majority of the Bounce members are suffering from manic depression and should be banging on their GP's door to up their meds.

I can't get an appointment.

i dinnae.

You couldnae be further from the truth imo moaty

We want out team to do well, we wanted them to win the cup. We should accept that they did better than most years and got to a cup final. Before 2016 we hadn't won the cup for 114 years. We hadn't come 3rd for 16 years. We should come to the realisation that given that someone has to win the cup then it wasn't necessarily us that was going to win it. We fucked up badly. But moaping on it for what is it? 4 days? Isn't doing us any good. We lost, get over it. How is throwing our toys out of the pram doing us any good? Ross is staying. Sook it up.

For all the fine words.....can someone explain to me why St. Johnstone, financially minnows compared to Hibs, with their squad and a so called lesser manager, considering both teams positions in the League, that they fucking totally fucking own us. Replays on the back of a sick note.

This thread has been viewed 4423 times.