Would it have been different?

Hammi

Cable Selling Radge
The season, as a whole.
Had these players stayed at the club to play a part.

A. Bogdan. Probably not.

V. Slivka. Also probably not, but with our complete lack of balance in midfield over pretty much all season, he might've been something different. Much like Hallberg, not really good enough, but can make a difference.

S. Whittaker. Nah, not for me, a wage well freed up.

A. Jackson. Maybe actually, I thought he came onto a game near the end of last season. Could've used a defender all year, he would've been fine.

D. Horgan. I would've liked to keep him, especially with how the season panned out, when he left he was playing well despite what some thought, we needed something different on the other wing, to take the attention away from Boyle. If nothing else he'd have given us more options.

B. Stirling. Haven't seen much of him, but Hamilton got relegated so....

F. Kamberi. Nah. We could've used another forward, but not this *&*^.

There's also a number of loans.
Innes Murray, Kevin Dabrowski, Josh Campbell, Connor Young, Jack Brydon, Tom James, Fraser Murray, Calum Yeats, Jayden Fairley, Yrik Galantes, Paddy Martin, Ryan Shanley, Stephen Mcginn, Stevie Mallan, Scott Allan.

I dont know much or anything about most of the young players and haven't kept up with how they're doing. Other than Dabrowski who I would like to see try and challenge Macey next season.

S. Mallan. I think, he could've done something still. But his chances were never coming and we weren't really clicking while he was here. I dont think that's on him, I think that's all about the poor balance. His shooting from range and dead balls, would open up chances for Nisbet, his passes would give space for Boyle. In a settled team, he'd have been fine imo.

S. Allan. Unfortunate, I'd have loved to see more of him, because he is the dynamic one and makes things from nothing. Sees things nobody else sees and can make the ball go anywhere he wants. He had to go away to prove to himself he could start and play full games. He didn't think he was ready to play here and needed the confidence.
I think he could've done something for us, but I probably would've let him go if he asked me too. Its the best chance he would've had to come back ready for next season. I have doubts, but he's proved me wrong before.

Agree? Disagree? Expand?
I think we replaced with better for the most part, but there were gaps we couldn't fill with players who we already had here.

I don't think any of the players you've listed initially would have made a blind bit of difference and I'm not sorry all of them have left. I think if we played Mcgregor at centre half and had Marvin Bartley in the middle it might have made a difference but we'll never know

Bartley didn't leave this season.

Given the amount of games Jamie Murphy missed through injury, the run of poor form Martin Boyle experienced at times, and the general lack of attacking options from the bench, hindsight would suggest that we should have kept Daryl Horgan. I thought he was a good player, and we should have tried harder to keep him.

Everyone giving Murphy a pass on application but from his first run - which ended up gifting the ball meekly to an oppo player - he was sloppy, aimless and made no decent passes in my book.

Not that that made him any worse than any of the rest of the team, I hasten to add.

Given the amount of games Jamie Murphy missed through injury, the run of poor form Martin Boyle experienced at times, and the general lack of attacking options from the bench, hindsight would suggest that we should have kept Daryl Horgan. I thought he was a good player, and we should have tried harder to keep him.
I've actually thought that Daryl Horgan would have seen Nisbet score another 10 goals this season. I'm not impressed with the body language of Nisbet and he does need to work harder. However, at times his service has been poor...

Everyone giving Murphy a pass on application but from his first run - which ended up gifting the ball meekly to an oppo player - he was sloppy, aimless and made no decent passes in my book.

Not that that made him any worse than any of the rest of the team, I hasten to add.
Agreed. But. At. Least. He. Looked. Interested.

I've actually thought that Daryl Horgan would have seen Nisbet score another 10 goals this season. I'm not impressed with the body language of Nisbet and he does need to work harder. However, at times his service has been poor...

Horgan could whip a ball into the box better than anyone currently at the club.

Iā€™m not a fan of Nisbet, I donā€™t think he works hard enough and agree his body language is poor. He never once came looking for the ball or made a run in behind during the final, instead he stood hiding behind his marker for 90 minutes.

Agreed. But. At. Least. He. Looked. Interested.

Murphy looked like he wanted to win the game, so did Macey. No sure that can be said about anyone else, they just went through the motions and never showed the kind of desire needed to lift a trophy.

Iā€™m not a fan of Nisbet, I donā€™t think he works hard enough and agree his body language is poor. He never once came looking for the ball or made a run in behind during the final, instead he stood hiding behind his marker for 90 minutes.
His reaction to constructive criticism from John Collins was petty. His actions in January demanding a transfer pathetic. He's a good player. But I hope he leaves. To think he's in the Scotland squad ahead of Leigh Griffith's.... šŸ™„

Murphy looked like he wanted to win the game, so did Macey. No sure that can be said about anyone else, they just went through the motions and never showed the kind of desire needed to lift a trophy.

Exactly. I'd love to see a heat map for these gutless pricks on Saturday.

Murphy injury free will be an asset IMO.

I don't think I've EVER seen Nisbet make a run when we have a throw in. Genuinely

Slightly off topic but does anyone else think Porto is not proving not to be a natural central defender? Iā€™d be interested to see him and Gogic play together in front of a three man defence - a sort of 3:2;3;2 or 3:2;4:1 though.

Think Kamberi would have made a difference. Obviously he's a rat bastard, but taking the green specs off, think he'd offered something on the left side of the attack. When we played against Aberdeen he still looked a threat.

Slightly off topic but does anyone else think Porto is not proving not to be a natural central defender? Iā€™d be interested to see him and Gogic play together in front of a three man defence - a sort of 3:2;3;2 or 3:2;4:1 though.

Heā€™s far too cumbersome to play in midfield. The lad needs to learn the basics of defending, heā€™s failing badly at that right now.

Nah, definitely a centre half, just a rash one.
Needs to mature, because the big hard hitting stuff got him his name, he's tryna keep at that.
Time and place for all aspects of it.

Hes just raw and inexperienced and nowhere near the level he thinks he is.

Think Kamberi would have made a difference. Obviously he's a rat bastard, but taking the green specs off, think he'd offered something on the left side of the attack. When we played against Aberdeen he still looked a threat.

I don't see him as a wide attacker though. Would've been much better having someone like Horgan imo.

I don't think I've EVER seen Nisbet make a run when we have a throw in. Genuinely
To be fair though, I've never come across any team as as bad as us at taking throw ins.

It's gone on for literally years don't understand how it's never been addressed

This is getting silly now. You seen his record since he left Hibs? It's fucking awful.

Cadden might have made a difference.

I think still, we donā€™t have the required quality in the middle of midfield.

but to be honest, I think our problem isnā€™t personnel because if we had scored first on Saturday we would have won. It was highly unlikely we would come back from behind.

This is getting silly now. You seen his record since he left Hibs? It's fucking awful.

I know, he couldn't score in a brothel, but looked like he was playing wide left when playing against us. Wouldn't say he looked like a world beater, but definitely better that Drey Wright.

Aye but were talking about players not putting in the effort. He was a lazy bastard most games.

Just listened to what Alan Stubbs said afterwards on TV. He's right.... A Scott Allan would have made a difference. And I agree with Hibs legend Mickey Weir said that with that midfield selection Jack Ross hoped to nick it as opposed to going out to win it.

Scott Allan has been a massive miss for Hibs this season, and like yourself I agree with Alan Stubbs that he would have helped us on Saturday had he been fully fit and able to play. This is the problem when you only have one player in your squad who can do a particular job in the team.

I read Mickey Weir's article in the EEN and I agree with every word he said.

Iā€™m not sure you could fit our front three and Scott Allan into a team. Maybe 3-5-2 with Boyle wide right.

I think a while ago I suggested pairing Jackson up with Newell in front of Gogic. After about two games I didn't think it was working and I wouldn't have kept doing it. Everyone keeps saying 'this is Ross's strongest team' without really looking at the games against St Johnstone. For me Newell isn't an 'Up and at em' type. Both Murphy and Hallberg have more of a fight in them. Ok, I readily admit I'm no tactical genius but I would have tried something other than 'the usual team'.

Iā€™m not sure you could fit our front three and Scott Allan into a team. Maybe 3-5-2 with Boyle wide right.
Surely just a direct replacement for one of the 3 identical one dimensional midfielders who started would be fine?

I think a while ago I suggested pairing Jackson up with Newell in front of Gogic. After about two games I didn't think it was working and I wouldn't have kept doing it. Everyone keeps saying 'this is Ross's strongest team' without really looking at the games against St Johnstone. For me Newell isn't an 'Up and at em' type. Both Murphy and Hallberg have more of a fight in them. Ok, I readily admit I'm no tactical genius but I would have tried something other than 'the usual team'.
Just a thought. Is managership sometimes not so much about selecting the strongest team but about selecting the team that will win the game?

Surely just a direct replacement for one of the 3 identical one dimensional midfielders who started would be fine?

Newell out Allan in.

I liked Horgan too but he was a 60 minute player before he was out of puff. His crossing seemed to get worse as time went on. A bit odd in a way we brought Murphy in who was older. I think the offer to Hibs was too appealing and he was given probably treble or more his wages. Ideally would like to see a Hibs side with 4/5 wingers/fullbacks that have a bit of pace.

Newell out Allan in.
Would be fine with that

Newell out Allan in.

Jackson Irvine would be the one I dropped.

Let's be honest our midfield were pish. I'm not overly enthusiastic about any of them. Scott Allan fit is exceptional. Newell on his day very good but he looks to pick too few days. Jackson Irvine I just don't get? Looks puggled. Can't pass or shoot. Has his legs gone? Gogic a decent spoiler at times but he's no Bartlay or Jack.

Would also have been fine with that

Let's be honest our midfield were pish. I'm not overly enthusiastic about any of them. Scott Allan fit is exceptional. Newell on his day very good but he looks to pick too few days. Jackson Irvine I just don't get? Looks puggled. Can't pass or shoot. Has his legs gone? Gogic a decent spoiler at times but he's no Bartlay or Jack.

I cant understand why we started with Irvine playing proper left, instead of further inside, where I thought he had been playing recent? Wasted.

He can do better, but he's no different from what we've got now imo. I wouldn't be upset if he didn't sign on.

Gogic needs competition for his spot, from someone who actually plays in his spot.
Newell is the safe midfield option, neat and tidy but doesn't drive the team up the park. Which is fine providing you have other players to do so.
The only way Newell works, for me, is if we have wingers, a midfielder or attacker willing to pick up, turn and drive.

Still outrageously unbalanced in there, I thought Irvine would be the one running on the ball when he came. He's technically better than the rest, just haven't got to see it on any kind of regularity.

Bartley's leaving has really annoyed me. I can see no rationale to justify it. He's a good player, strong physically and a strong character too. The fact that the Tynecastle racists singled him out for special abuse says it all.

McGregor has knee problems, but he could (and IMO should) have played more games. Those two as Captain and Vice-Captain - I'm totally easy about who gets which place - might very well have made a difference. Couldn't have been any worse.

Bartley's leaving has really annoyed me. I can see no rationale to justify it. He's a good player, strong physically and a strong character too. The fact that the Tynecastle racists singled him out for special abuse says it all.

McGregor has knee problems, but he could (and IMO should) have played more games. Those two as Captain and Vice-Captain - I'm totally easy about who gets which place - might very well have made a difference. Couldn't have been any worse.
Think milligan was supposed to be an upgrade on Bartley - never saw it myself I thought he was fuckin pish but to let them both go without replacing them was criminal - hecky masterstroke. Or was josh vela supposed to be their replacement šŸ¤£šŸ¤£. The party line at the time re Bartley was his legs had gone - utter bullshit it was because he was playing 1 game every 4/5 weeks he needs to be playing regularly just like SDG - I don't agree he's done either but if he's going to get brought in once every couple of months of course he's going to struggle. Mcginn had a good season (Cup final apart) but I know who I'd rather have at right back and it's not just based on sentiment either

Think milligan was supposed to be an upgrade on Bartley - never saw it myself I thought he was fuckin pish but to let them both go without replacing them was criminal - hecky masterstroke. Or was josh vela supposed to be their replacement šŸ¤£šŸ¤£. The party line at the time re Bartley was his legs had gone - utter bullshit it was because he was playing 1 game every 4/5 weeks he needs to be playing regularly just like SDG - I don't agree he's done either but if he's going to get brought in once every couple of months of course he's going to struggle. McGinn had a good season (Cup final apart) but I know who I'd rather have at right back and it's not just based on sentiment either
Agree. The guys who go on and on are guys who get regular games. Marv was never on the slide - he's played plenty games since Heckinbum got rid. There's a documentary on BBCi about racism in football - basically saying that it's all very well 'taking the knee' before KO and putting a few banners up, but the problem really lies in social media and bigots using Twitter and Instagram etc to harass and abuse specific targets - as the Gunts did to Marvin. He's on it, and is very impressive, intelligent, articulate, and clearly very angry. Darren's a Hibee through and through - bleeds green and white. On the bench at least every time he's fit, and playing as often as he can. I think it's bleedin' obvious myself.

Just one thought - Hibs' captain when I started following them was John McNamee. Then there was Pat Stanton. Then there was Jackie McNamara. And later Franck Sauzee. And Rob Jones. When they were playing there was absolutely no doubt who the leader on the pitch was. And yes, I know they were all outstanding players. But the 'captain' quality was obvious - and 'captain quality' is a separate issue from 'being the best player'. We'll never get players as good as those guys these days - they don't exist in Scotland, and if they did we couldn't afford them. But IMO we need to get a proper leader on the field, and a lot more fire into the team, or we'll end up deflated and disappointed again this time next year.

PS - I've wondered for some time whether dear Heckinbum just didn't like black players .... :5:

Milligan just scored in the A league lol. Still a dick

Thought Milligan was orite tbh.

This thread has been viewed 3635 times.

Ā£100.00
Ā£100.75