Matt Macey

GORDONSMITH7

Daily Cannon ......

Good wee read that Big yin. I like the laddie, and he shows potential. I thought his performance against Motherwell was mixed though. I have reservations about him becoming our Number one at start of next season. Maybe another year's development may reassure me more. A difficult call in the close season for coaching staff this one.

Just signed a new 2 year deal with Hibs.

Happy enough with that. I've liked the look of him so far. With third place pretty much secured we should maybe swap Macey and Rocky for league and cup duties.

Gives Macey a taste of two traditionally tough league fixtures (Sheep away, Septic at Home) and gives Rocky the opportunity to leave a cup winning hero.

I say we just use him. He's not gonna get better sitting on the bench.

Happy enough with that. I've liked the look of him so far. With third place pretty much secured we should maybe swap Macey and Rocky for league and cup duties.
I was arguing that point before the last game.

I say we just use him. He's not gonna get better sitting on the bench.
Can’t show us what he’s got while on the bench right enough. Be interesting to see how we manage it.

I gather he is going to be our no1 for next season

Dabrowski back up?

Probs can't see Macy signing for two years to sit on the Bench .

We can fall into the trap of criticising the club to easily at times but fair play, this and Daniel Mackay seem to show we are looking ahead and being proactive.

That's both Macey and Dabrowski signed new two year deal with the club.
I think it's fair to say both will be competing with each other to be No.1 next season.

Good to see the goalies position has been sorted so early. Well done Hibs.

I am not so sure he is the answer.I hope I am wrong but I thought he is one of they goalkeepers who look the part but don’t save much.There is no doubt he was poor for both of Motherwell goals recently.

That’s where I am with him, maybe we’re spoiled with Marciano.

I’ve see this line a few times about the Motherwell goals... I don’t think he could have saved either. Both drop right into the far bottom corner. Both goals were poor defensively, but not from the goalkeeper.

He was pretty impressive at Parkhead back in Jan.

I thought he had no chance with either.

Sure he made a few saves in the Motherwell game.. One from Devante Cole sticks out.
Someone else mentioned he played well against Celtic too.

Hes barely had a chance to save a ball 🤷‍♂️

Rocky is going to be so hard to replace. Goalkeepers who don’t make many mistakes are hard to come by in the shops we shop in.
Macey has looked okay, we have had worse. That tube we had on loan last season, never made a save of note.

Rocky is going to be so hard to replace. Goalkeepers who don’t make many mistakes are hard to come by in the shops we shop in.
Macey has looked okay, we have had worse. That tube we had on loan last season, never made a save of note.
Yeah he will be. Been a very good keeper for us and he will be a loss

The tube we had last year has won the ‘golden gloves’ award having kept 21 clean sheets this season so far and is the team captain of the current 3rd place team in the English League One.

That surprises me , and I congratulate him.
He still never made a save for us.

That surprises me , and I congratulate him.
He still never made a save for us.

Just shows how spoiled we actually are with Marciano.
He's a far better keeper than Maxwell.

Just shows how spoiled we actually are with Marciano.
He's a far better keeper than Maxwell.

Maxwells distribution was good but didn’t really rate him otherwise

If Rocky could command his box he'd be in huge demand . I think he's kidding himself on that he's good enough for the EPL

Celtic apparently keen on him.

I heard that a year ago, I expect him to go there as their back up keeper.

I think Rocky is going to smellies. He loves staying in Edinburgh, they will at the very least double his wages, so you can’t really blame him.

I heard that a year ago, I expect him to go there as their back up keeper.
good money though i suppose , wonder who'll be No1 ?

Well no transfer fee so you can see why

I think Rocky is going to smellies. He loves staying in Edinburgh, they will at the very least double his wages, so you can’t really blame him.
Maybe it’s me but I’d have thought being first choice at hibs would be better than being a bench warmer with just the occasional game at one of the gruesome twosome but there you go. Perhaps money is key

He is 32, probably his last big football pay out.

Maybe it’s me but I’d have thought being first choice at hibs would be better than being a bench warmer with just the occasional game at one of the gruesome twosome but there you go. Perhaps money is key

Earning 10 to 15 grand a week is better than earning 2 to 3, cash is king for footballers, especially at Marciano’s age.

Aye fair enough and to be fair, with a family, I guess you would jump at that to. Forget my post above, talking pish

Nah you’re not talking pish, you’re looking at it from a sporting perspective... after all, who wouldn’t want to play right? It’s just a sad reality of football that there’s more money on offer for sitting on the Celtic bench than there is for starting for Hibs.

Maxwells distribution was good but didn’t really rate him otherwise
I saw him live for only 3 games against lower league teams in the League Cup. Impressed by his distribution and the amount of loud clear shouting he was doing to the other players - which is probably why he’s captain at Blackpool. Wasn’t impressed with his hair.

Rocky and his family had a tough choice. They seem to love it in Edinburgh going by his wife’s twitter posts, he is liked by the fans, he’s been noticed by his national team so doesn’t need to raise his profile, he’s on decent money. However, this is his chance to earn megabucks fora few years.

Great performance today Matty 💚

Can his missus still come to ER 👀

This thread has been viewed 2834 times.