Semi final.- DUNDEE UTD

What are the two dates?
Next weekend

Dundee United have been pretty average this season. For me with their front pairing they've underachieved. Seems they did well up at Aberdeen but they're awful. I hope St Mirren take care of St Johnstone. And if we turn up v Dundee United then I'm very confident.

Need to watch their front 3 but don't think they're particularly good in defence or midfield - big keeper is good though hopefully still injured! Either that someone stand on his hand early doors

Dundee utd in semi final could be history repeating.
Well naw, nae huns mate 🤣🤣

We are favourite patter has started already.Could do without it.
Most of them were actually saying St Johnstone are favorites. Which I think is brilliant

Watched all of the quarter finals, United were the best of the qualifiers, followed by us I think. BUT... they looked pish at the back, with our front guys we could get a few against them (but we need to tighten up to stop them doing it to us too!)

Most of them were actually saying St Johnstone are favorites. Which I think is brilliant
There's fuck all in it between the 4 teams but the media will love to make us favourites so they can give us a hard time over it if we don't win it

It was John Collins.

Leanne Crichton (I think that's her name) just said the same on BBC scotland

I've got the butterflies already and it's more than a week away.

It was John Collins.
And the woman on bbc scotland after the pens (sorry no idea who she is) - on the basis that they beat the the huns

Plus the fact they've already won a cup she said they - fair enough but you can bet the media won't be piling the pressure on saints that they will be us

It was John Collins.

Tom English & Leeann Crichton have St Johnstone as favourites.

Marvin Bartlay & John Collins say we are....

Tom english is a *&*^ who knows nowt

"Ehberdeen" tried a new defensive system which went disastrously wrong so I am not buying into this myth of the "second coming" of Dundee Utd.🤔.

The team should just about pick itself but I do wonder if Jack Ross has boxed himself into a corner with his comments about Macey playing in cup games.😥

Shouldn't we be playing our best goalkeeper which is Rocky.❓

Similiarly in midfield Jack Ross will be a tempted to give his big signing Magennis yet another shot when he should be going with Halberg.🤔

Hopefully as well the manager looks at his own performance in previous huge games where he doesn't seem to think straight and match opposition changes late in the game.🤔

This isn't meant to be an anti Jack Ross rant as match preparation is exemplorary and league position shows he has proved himself many times this season.✅

So often though on the big occasion many managers want to make the look at me cos I'm making the "big man call".🤔

Duff Jimmy playing GBH ( then sent off) in midfield in the 1st leg Airdrie relegation play off or Yogi not bothering to start Stoksey or Deeks v Maribor and playing Nishy instead or Mowbrays semi final sub's v Dundee Utd which disrupted the defence pre the Jason Scotland goal.

Keep it simple, play our best team, prepare with intensity, don't mess about with formations and keep a similar shape to the rest of the season and the odds are we will win as we are a stronger team than Utd.✅

Agreed Sam.
Keep it simple.
Play your best players.
Set up the plan to be in the ascendancy.
Have a plan b if things don’t work out.
Fuckin charge. It’s Dundee United not Barcelona.

Agreed Sam.
Keep it simple.
Play your best players.
Set up the plan to be in the ascendancy.
Have a plan b if things don’t work out.
Fuckin charge. It’s Dundee United not Barcelona.
Eh did Dundee United no beat Barcelona?🤪

as did Hibs.

Tom english is a *&*^ who knows nowt
Was it not Tom English who said “ John McGinn not good enough for Celtic “

What an impact sub he could've been.
English is a fanny with the most irritating voice on the radio.

When he should have said 'John McGinn would be wasting his time at Celtic'.

What an impact sub he could've been.
English is a fanny with the most irritating voice on the radio.
No he's not, not as long as Allan Preston is given a microphone

Think he might have mentioned once or twice it wasn't fair that the team who won 4 league games all season got relegated

On a side note reports that both weeji cu**s rejected the chance to host semi finals with fans - fuckin scum can you imagine how hard they'd have been pushing for it if either of them were in it. As if we didn't know but that's the utter contempt they hold the rest of scottish football in.

Sorry FINAL not semi finals

We are favourite patter has started already.Could do without it.
United overall haven't played well against us in any of the league games. If our players show up we should be able to do some damage. I'm not counting my chickens yet but we have reasons to be optimistic!

Is it just me or does the fact that all of the other teams left in the draw are below us in the league conjure up the idea of a classic Hibs letdown?

Don't get me wrong, I will have everything crossed, praying for the win but ......

Is it just me or does the fact that all of the other teams left in the draw are below us in the league conjure up the idea of a classic Hibs letdown?

Don't get me wrong, I will have everything crossed, praying for the win but ....
That will be the media spin - if we lose to a team 2 or 3 places below us it will be "typical hibs" bullshit - as if there's a massive gap between us and the remaining teams in the competition and they shouldn't stand a chance against us. Put it this way they'll spin this as a bigger bottle job than the huns losing to both saints and celtic losing to Ross County. Arseholes

Boyle can play the semi so that’s a bonus.

"Ehberdeen" tried a new defensive system which went disastrously wrong so I am not buying into this myth of the "second coming" of Dundee Utd.🤔.

The team should just about pick itself but I do wonder if Jack Ross has boxed himself into a corner with his comments about Macey playing in cup games.😥

Shouldn't we be playing our best goalkeeper which is Rocky.❓

Similiarly in midfield Jack Ross will be a tempted to give his big signing Magennis yet another shot when he should be going with Halberg.🤔

Hopefully as well the manager looks at his own performance in previous huge games where he doesn't seem to think straight and match opposition changes late in the game.🤔

This isn't meant to be an anti Jack Ross rant as match preparation is exemplorary and league position shows he has proved himself many times this season.✅

So often though on the big occasion many managers want to make the look at me cos I'm making the "big man call".🤔

Duff Jimmy playing GBH ( then sent off) in midfield in the 1st leg Airdrie relegation play off or Yogi not bothering to start Stoksey or Deeks v Maribor and playing Nishy instead or Mowbrays semi final sub's v Dundee Utd which disrupted the defence pre the Jason Scotland goal.

Keep it simple, play our best team, prepare with intensity, don't mess about with formations and keep a similar shape to the rest of the season and the odds are we will win as we are a stronger team than Utd.✅
Of course we should be playing Rocky. Macy didn't exactly cover himself with glory in the last 15 minutes of the quarterfinal.

And yes, Hallberg in from the start. Any chance of Darren M playing as well?

If halberg plays get him to fuck from set pieces!!

Of course we should be playing Rocky. Macy didn't exactly cover himself with glory in the last 15 minutes of the quarterfinal.

What did Macey do wrong? I don’t think he could have got to either goal. And he made a massive save from Cole at 1-0.

That said Marciano is our best keeper so I’d play him in the semi final. Give the league games to Macey if Jack Ross has agreed to sharing the game time.

Hallberg 100% should start, I thought he done well when he came on.

Not sure who would be dropped for McGregor, but we have started conceding soft goals again, so he’d be an asset in a big game.

When was the last time daz played? If he'd been playing regularly I'd have no qualms whatsoever but I don't think you can bring him in from the cold not having played for a while

We need pace at the back to deal with united so daz is not ideal 🤷‍♂️

I am assuming Rocky is back between the sticks for the St Johnstone game and if JR keeps to his plan then its Macey back in for the Dundee Utd semifinal.🤔

So that would mean we would then be playing very much an inexperienced keeper who hasn't played for two weeks and who didn't have a great quarter-final ahead of an international goalkeeper at the peak of his career.😡😡😱.

The game v St Johnstone is now telling as Macey needs this game as well as its now a meaningless kickabout though it would be much more preferrable not to be in this position and just play our best players especially in the crucial goalkeeping positions.🤔

There is a Scottish cup semi-final to win which should take precedent over keeping sappy wee players pusses in check.🤔😡

YLT for sentimental reasons can wait for the last 5 minutes in the final when 3:0 up.😉

Boyle can play the semi so that’s a bonus.
If he got booked in the semi, would he be suspended from a potential final? Or is there an amnesty at some point?

I am assuming Rocky is back between the sticks for the St Johnstone game and if JR keeps to his plan then its Macey back in for the Dundee Utd semifinal.🤔

So that would mean we would then be playing very much an inexperienced keeper who hasn't played for two weeks and who didn't have a great quarter-final ahead of an international goalkeeper at the peak of his career.😡😡😱.

The game v St Johnstone is now telling as Macey needs this game as well as its now a meaningless kickabout though it would be much more preferrable not to be in this position and just play our best players especially in the crucial goalkeeping positions.🤔

There is a Scottish cup semi-final to win which should take precedent over keeping sappy wee players pusses in check.🤔😡

YLT for sentimental reasons can wait for the last 5 minutes in the final when 3:0 up.😉

Very much my thoughts about the keeper situation. Rocky's our top keeper by miles, and he has a good influence on the back line - reads the game well and he's not afraid to give someone a rollicking if he doesn't like what's going on. I think Macey has much potential, but the last quarter-hour on Saturday evening he didn't look to be on the ball to me.

I can see us doing exactly what we did in the League Cup - promise much and achieve NOTHING.

No he's not, not as long as Allan Preston is given a microphone
Preston gets a fraction of the airtime that prick gets but I know what you mean

When was the last time daz played? If he'd been playing regularly I'd have no qualms whatsoever but I don't think you can bring him in from the cold not having played for a while
I think his last game was the 0-2 defeat at home to Motherwell when he was struggling to cope with the 'Well front 3 (just like we did on Saturday when Watt came on), he was hooked just after halftime and Gogic came on and played a kind of attacking centre back role which was an interesting experiment

What did Macey do wrong? I don’t think he could have got to either goal. And he made a massive save from Cole at 1-0.
I think Macey has been excellent but Saturday not so good. The first Well goal, a kind of cushioned volley which entered the net in slow motion and he didn't make much of an effort to reach. The second, maybe he could have anticipated that forwards in Watt's position are trained to head the ball downwards and back in the direction it came from. Instead he is back on his heels. But perhaps this is hyper-critical and like you say made a crucial save at 1-0, against QotS and Stranraer he also made excellent saves at important moments.

This thread has been viewed 17284 times.