Leigh Griffiths - extends at Celtc for 1 year 01/07/2021

I think it would simply come down to who was going to pay him the most money.Though that is hardly a revealing statement.😄
I can forgive him going to Celtic for money and trophies. He’s earned a good whack now ,so going to Aberdeen as a Hibs supporter at this stage of his career would be unforgivable in my eyes.If he has mental health issues still, then he would be better of at Hibs where he will be looked after by staff and fans alike.

I don’t want him at the Sheep.
Or at any other SPL team.

Including Hibs sadly.

I don’t want him at the Sheep.
Or at any other SPL team.

Including Hibs sadly.
You know more than you letting on I suspect.
Putting on weight, losing fitness and a mixed up head , has made me think he maybe has been up to no good.
I'd still take a chance on him .

You’re not alone mate.
I too have put on weight, lost fitness and have a mixed up head.
I fuckin hope that since we have opened up about our problems, other fat lazy dullards will put their names up.

If not, I’ll fcukin shop a few of the bastards.

You may be right about Griffiths too.

I last saw him in yon Candy Station in Gorgie Road. Maybe he can be bought for a years supply of Wine Gums?

You’re not alone mate.
I fuckin hope that since we have opened up about our problems, other fat lazy dullards will put their names up.

Another club to which I didn't want to be a member, but had no choice. Dullards R Us.

You’re not alone mate.

Not getting me on that one!
I have lost weight, become a bit fitter.
But my heeds still a fuc&in kaleidoscope.

You’re not alone mate.

A few of us resemble that remark.

A few of us resemble that remark

You’re not alone mate.

I may be fat and lazy, but I'm no dullard.
At least I don't think I am. What is a dullard anyway?
Don't tell me to look it up, I can't be arsed.

Sort of like a dull bollard.

I'm in the fat and bald camp, but no owning up to being lazy or a dullard!!

I built a garden bar during first lockdown (football memorabilia included) and me and the missus frequent it regularly. It has now been opened up to friends under the rule of six!

• Bar 3.jpg
    Bar 3.jpg
    189.5 KB · Views: 84
  • Bar 2.jpg
    Bar 2.jpg
    217.3 KB · Views: 82
  • Bar 1.jpg
    Bar 1.jpg
    257.4 KB · Views: 82
Crikey that’s impressive Frank!

A bit more than a shed isn’t it.
Nice to see your daughter is following the Hibs too.

I'm in the fat and bald camp, but no owning up to being lazy or a dullard!!

I built a garden bar during first lockdown (football memorabilia included) and me and the missus frequent it regularly. It has now been opened up to friends under the rule of six!
Gin Palace by the looks of it!

I can forgive him going to Celtic for money and trophies. He’s earned a good whack now ,so going to Aberdeen as a Hibs supporter at this stage of his career would be unforgivable in my eyes.If he has mental health issues still, then he would be better of at Hibs where he will be looked after by staff and fans alike.
No chance is he close to being set for life. Has his demons and challenges, his career is headed in one direction. I wish him every success.

Everyone will have a different opinion on what amount represents “set for life”.

He’s had 10 years now of Wolves and Celtc wages. The latest reported to be 15k a week.

I’d have been set for life many years back on his wages but who knows how his money has been invested and what his expenditure is for all those bairns.

They have access to good advisers so I’m pretty sure he’ll have little concern about Aberdeen offering him for example 800quid a week more than us to be 2 hours away from his family.

But then there’s Jack Ross to contend with.

Anyone else would be away to the MLS for a year or two swansong 👋

Everyone will have a different opinion on what amount represents “set for life”.

He’s had 10 years now of Wolves and Celtc wages. The latest reported to be 15k a week.

I’d have been set for life many years back on his wages but who knows how his money has been invested and what his expenditure is for all those bairns.

They have access to good advisers so I’m pretty sure he’ll have little concern about Aberdeen offering him for example 800quid a week more than us to be 2 hours away from his family.

Yip, we all have different opinions on set for life.

The fact that Brendan Rodgers had to ‘help’ with financial management is probably a good indicator of how Sparky deals with cash.

Leigh hasn’t made good use of advisers and the end of his Celtc contract will be a massive hit for him.

I expect him to accept the most lucrative offer, unlikely to be Hibs.

A lot of it will come down to how these players view their income - as it do they live a lifestyle based on £15K a week, or do they live more modestly and save/invest for retirement which usually happens by their mid 30s.

Totally agree on the last point, if I was a professional footballer I’d be off to the MLS to wind down the career.

"Only" £15k a week at Celtc [and Wolves] or is that just his last season wages with the green and grey hoops lowering his salary. I'd have expected him to have been on considerably more than that in previous years.

Like you, I would be set for life even struggling by on a paltry £15k a week but I would still piss off to somewhere sunny in America to rake in a wheen of cash for a couple of years.

"Only" £15k a week at Celtc [and Wolves] or is that just his last season wages with the green and grey hoops lowering his salary. I'd have expected him to have been on considerably more than that in previous years.

Like you, I would be set for life even struggling by on a paltry £15k a week but I would still piss off to somewhere sunny in America to rake in a wheen of cash for a couple of years.
atlanta united

Reactions: Dub
atlanta united
Is that a political slogan or where you've heard he's going?

We're in cause Aberdeen are out.
Pfft, probably told them he'll only ever wear green again.

Every time this thread pops up, I think I want him back more...

If we do cash in on Nisbet, as is expected, and get someone who will score as many on a free that's worth it's weight in gold for us.

It means we can invest in other areas.

We're in cause Aberdeen are out.
Pfft, probably told them he'll only ever wear green again.

Every time this thread pops up, I think I want him back more...

I'm no keen on signing him only cos he's played very little, has baggage and have reservations if his heart is still in the game. But then I hear folk else in Scotland could get him and it doesn't sit well.

If we do cash in on Nisbet, as is expected, and get someone who will score as many on a free that's worth it's weight in gold for us.

It means we can invest in other areas.

Fair point.

Concerned he may not be the player we remember due to lack of games. If he still has something to offer we could maybe get 3 years out of him before his legs go?

I'm no keen on signing him only cos he's played very little, has baggage and have reservations if his heart is still in the game. But then I hear folk else in Scotland could get him and it doesn't sit well.

I dont disagree, I have reservations too.
But by all accounts, or at least accounts I know of... he still trains well and while not being at his best, is still a serious threat to any teams defence up here. Tbf if you're celtic you would play Edoard ahead of him, a proper run of games might be all he needs to get flying again. Just never know.

But if he's available, for free at that, passing up the chance is madness.
We've taken plenty risks on random players over the years, if anyone is worth a punt, it's him.

Anyone that wouldn’t take sparky at Hibs is a lunatic. He will score goals for fun in this team. Unbelievable fudspoutery.

I dont disagree, I have reservations too.
But by all accounts, or at least accounts I know of... he still trains well and while not being at his best, is still a serious threat to any teams defence up here. Tbf if you're celtic you would play Edoard ahead of him, a proper run of games might be all he needs to get flying again. Just never know.

But if he's available, for free at that, passing up the chance is madness.
We've taken plenty risks on random players over the years, if anyone is worth a punt, it's him.

Fair point and put well. I guess it will all come down to who Celtic get in as manager. I have no doubts Eduard will leave Celtic this summer, he's to good for them and needs to progress. This may have some bearing where and if Griffiths goes.

There's not a more natural Scottish goal scorer anywhere else, EPL included. Name another, I'll be happy to debate. Would love the radge back!

Riordan’s legs were gone at 25 and he was welcomed back.

I’m not fussed. Don’t know how he would fit into a JR team and even if JR would be interested so I’ll hang fire on thinking too much about it for now.

If we’ve 2m insurance money, same or more from European competition and a lot more from a McGinn sale then I’d bin at least half the squad and start again as there’s some amount of sh1te in there.

Riordan’s legs were gone at 25 and he was welcomed back.

I’m not fussed. Don’t know how he would fit into a JR team and even if JR would be interested so I’ll hang fire on thinking too much about it for now.

If we’ve 2m insurance money, same or more from European competition and a lot more from a McGinn sale then I’d bin at least half the squad and start again as there’s some amount of sh1te in there.
Riordan showed he still had it. A successful return aside from his final season where he wasn't as good.

I’d be expecting more from LG.

Well I would take him instantly! He understands Hibs undoubtedly, would be eager to reward the supporters and relish the chance to prove the doubters elsewhere wrong I suspect !

Definitely wouldn't get any pish about the derby being "another game" from Sparky. He'd light these fucks on fire!

Signing Leigh would have its risks, there is no doubt about that. He has gone off the rails for sure and he clearly has many problems outside the game. Jack Ross doesn't strike me as being a risk taker. I think he would have to be absolutely certain he could turn the guy around, get him fully fit, and get him playing to his best again for the last few years of his career.

I'm a huge Griffiths fan and would love to see him back at Easter Road, but we really do need to be sure he is ready himself both mentally and physically to play at a high level again, and that the team will benefit. Much as Leigh is a great individual talent, ultimately it is the team that matters.

If he is willing to buckle down and also take a big wage cut, then let's go for it. He is a great striker and we could certainly do with his experience and ability in the next year or two.

Signing Leigh would have its risks, there is no doubt about that. He has gone off the rails for sure and he clearly has many problems outside the game. Jack Ross doesn't strike me as being a risk taker. I think he would have to be absolutely certain he could turn the guy around, get him fully fit, and get him playing to his best again for the last few years of his career.

I'm a huge Griffiths fan and would love to see him back at Easter Road, but we really do need to be sure he is ready himself both mentally and physically to play at a high level again, and that the team will benefit. Much as leigh is a great individual talent, ultimately it is the team that matters.

If he is willing to buckle down and also take a big wage cut, then let's go for it. He is a great striker and we could certainly do with his experience and ability in the next year or two.
That’s a good summary.

The most naturally talented striker I've ever seen in a Hibs shirt. If we had a chance to bring him back we have to do it. He's loved here, surely he loves the club so much he would screw the nut??

tailer the deal so it encourages him to attain the best standards on and off the pitch. Hibernian will support him in private. We tend to look after our own.

No brainer for me.

If celtic don't extend his deal by end of play tomorrow, he's allowed to start talking to clubs.

Might be an interesting few months

This thread has been viewed 22423 times.