Just back and its another game of two halves

From turgid to decent and all points in between. First half Livingston simply bettered us, although we had chances, we were not playing well and we sneaked an equaliser. Second half we were far better, no changes throughout the game, we just played so much better. Aberdeen losing again helped ad we are now seven points ahead of them. The 4 3 3 (if that is what is was?) looks a good idea but I feel Newell and Jackson dinnae give us much and Boyler out wide was such a waste first half. Yet second half the exact same set up, maybe with the exception of Doig getting more involved and we played well and might have won.

Best for Hibs were Hanlon, Doig, Gogic, Doidge and Nisbet. Paul has been playing very well, as has Alex, they have become pillars of the defending players, Doig had a good second half, Doidgey finally scored and had an all round good game and Nissy was superb all game. Nice to see. I also felt Porto lacked concentration too often, both Irvine and Newell drift in and out too much and Boyler was a good second as he was missing first.

Ok it was no classic, but when we did get playing, we looked very good and the boss was clearly happy with that, not making any changes. Livingston ae a decent team, they work hard for each other and love a high press. Not an easy team to play against or beat.

The Team

Rocky was unlucky at the goal and played well, commanding his box.

Paul McGinn was better today although was partly at fault for the Livi goal.

Porto, sorry I thought he made too many mistakes today, the worst to cause the goal. His decision making was poor today.

Paul Hanlon was great, didnae put a foot wrong.

Josh Doig had a quiet first half but I thought he was good second, bombing down the wing. His determination to keep the ball in was crucial in getting the equaliser.

Alex Gogic, along with Paul Hanlon are what make our defending resolute. I thought he was very good today, against a physical Livi midfield.

Jackson Irvine and Joe Newell both offer a lot, yet both could offer more for me. Two good players, Joe needs to take his chances, Jackson needs to keep playing away, a goal or a killer pass will come.

Boyler hardly touched the ball as a right winger first half, second half he was involved in all our best moves and put some cracking low balls in.

Chris Doidge took his goal well, and offered lots of effort all game. I felt he played well today yet he too could score more.

I am biased, I have stuck with Nissy through thick and thin. Today he did everything but score. His movement, touch, lay offs, passing and all round work rate were superb. His cheeky twenty yarder nearly went in. Great game from Nissy.

No Subs today, go figure.

The Boss

No interview this week so far, but the same eleven that struggled most of the first half played some nice football second and might have won the game. I think Jack got his team and set up right.

Livingston gave us a game, especially first half, a real handful. Weirdly I felt they were playing for a draw much of the second half?

The referee was decent, I think he only booked one player all game although, as Tam McManus said, I think he swallowed his whistle second, he was chirping away like a budgie.

Man of the Match was Kevin Nisbet, I thought his all round play was magnificent. I also thought Hanlon, Gogic and Doidge done very well.

Next up is a wee cough, then the mutton molesters away. Any kind of result up there and I think third is secured.

Agree with pretty much all of that, thanks. Don't think the pre-split fixtures are out yet though?

Don't apologise, I thought Porteous was dreadful today.
Hes better when his job is just to get the ball back up the pitch, old school defender style.

His header back to Marciano was horrific, I know it was a 50/50 between Porto and McGinn, but that ball bounced first, no CB should be letting a ball bounce, ever.

Agree with pretty much all of that, thanks. Don't think the pre-split fixtures are out yet though?
Sorry I either read or heard we play Aberdeen next. It stuck and I repeated it.

First 20mins the ball never touched the ground and when it did Livingston took charge. Horrendous blunder by Porteous gifted them a goal and I thought we were lucky to go in at ht level. All thanks to Doigs persistence.

2nd half we were much better and unlucky not to grab the win. 2 more wins and I think 3rd is ours.

Might well happen. Wouldn't mind if it did while the Sheep are in such shitty form

A fine draw considering everything.

Good to see resilience in the team after going behind for the 2nd week running.

Hopefully that is the case cause they are an absolute shambles just now

Coonster Mibbes? I’m sure I read that too.

I think it’s doing the rounds that it’s pretty much expected that it’s the sheep next week. One of those situations where it’s grown arms and legs

Is there a game next week? QOS in cup the week after. No league game for 3 weeks is it not?

• DA315C01-DF5E-4ADC-A2E8-F1FCB972FB49.png
    DA315C01-DF5E-4ADC-A2E8-F1FCB972FB49.png
    240.6 KB · Views: 14
Nisbit impressed me,he was unlucky with a couple of shots but his link up play and passing were excellent.
Gogic was immense again.
McGinn was better than previous weeks but he passed to more yellow shirts than he did last week.
Don't think he's good enough but pleased Doidge scored

Is there a game next week? QOS in cup the week after. No league game for 3 weeks is it not?
Said next week but meant next league game. Force of habit 🤷🏼‍♂️

Its cool, i just wasnt sure myself, so checked

First time for a while Ive watched the full game. Livi gave us problems first half, our midfield was non existant and shapeless. We conceded a very poor goal from another careless defensive mistake. Was very happy to get in at 1-1 at half time..we created a few chances without ever looking comfortable in the game. Thought we had much better control of the game second half and was frustrating not to score from some of the good positions we got into.

For Livi... I think Sibbald is quite an under rated player...we could do with someone with his energy in our midfield. Ive also been impressed by Jay Emmanuel-Thomas, he looks like he is someone whod do us a turn surrounded by better creative players to play off.

I thought Newell, Boyle and the front 2 were our better players today(on 2nd half showing). I like when Hanlon comes out of defence and drives the game forward...hes done that well of late. Other than that too many aimlees, panicked and rushed balls to nobody from the rest. Im still quite surprised we're so far clear in third tbh as I dont rate this Hibs side at all in terms of being a decent footballing side. They deserve credit to have knuckled down and ground out a decent lead in third place.

Porteous has had his head turned with that Scottish cap and latterly transfer talk in my opinion. He cannae live off ' He's one of our own, one for the future ' patter for even. He has been responsible for Hibs conceding several crucial goals. Sodjur up son.
I also thought that Mcginn was dreadful. Too many mispasses and blootering in my opinion.

Back to watching Everton second half.

I also wonder if the fans have underestimated the effect losing his father has had on Nisbet.

Porteous has had his head turned with that Scottish cap and latterly transfer talk in my opinion. He cannae live off ' He's one of our own, one for the future ' patter for even. He has been responsible for Hibs conceding several crucial goals. Sodjur up son.
I also thought that Mcginn was dreadful. Too many mispasses and blootering in my opinion.

Who are doing pretty well! UTFT’s!

Totally agree on Porteous, I get the impression he thinks he’s better than he is... he’s at his best when he keeps it simple.

McGinn has regressed as the season has gone on, I think Cadden would be a better option at right back.

Totally agree on Porteous, I get the impression he thinks he’s better than he is... he’s at his best when he keeps it simple.

McGinn has regressed as the season has gone on, I think Cadden would be a better option at right back.

I think he started regressing when we went to a 3?

I also wonder if the fans have underestimated the effect losing his father has had on Nisbet.
I am 100% certain that Hibernian will have made sure that he has received measured and appropriate councilling.

Absolutely, but his performances fell off from that penalty miss against Hearts, which was only a day after his dad? I think..
I've been saying for a while that this was when it started and it wasn't about the transfer.

He was great up until his dad died, during covid and all that, it's definitely been a hard year for him. Maybe hasn't been able to be around his family anywhere near enough. Footballers having to live under that extra spot of scrutiny about their actions too.

A Scotland cap, along with a goal should guarantee we'll get the same sort of price or better for him in the summer though. Was originally concerned that the figure came out of Birminghams desperation to get someone else in, thought they could get a quick yes like Aberdeen who were desperate for quick money.

I'd quite like to keep him though, I think goals will come back to him no problem.

Possibly, but he also got his Scotland call up as part of a 3 earlier this season... I think it’s more to do with the sheer number of games he’s played and the lack of real competition.

Me too, just because he can fill in the centre in a 3, doesn't mean he should be starting there every week.

He's hesitant about attacking a header, that can't be a flaw playing where he has been, it happened again today, despite playing RB and Porteous fully being at fault for that goal imo, someone like Daz, in McGinns position today would've taken over that ball and made sure it was going forwards instead of backwards. Much better position to get the ball clear.

McGinn was easily on course to be our best player this season and is definitely useful. But maybe a rest is in order. Cadden and Doig sounds pretty good to me.

He certainly has

Good second half performance. Given other results a good point. Get the passports looked out....

Grand report , was going tae say game of two halves. But ye did that.
Decent result. Porto after his and partly Pauls fault goal, thought he regained his composure , when he could of collapsed.
Thanks for report pretty much as I saw it.

Fun stat: since Kamberi signed for Aberdeen they have scored 1 goal in 8 matches, and it wasn't him that scored.

Thanks for the just back, like moaty i was watching the teletext thingy on my computer.

I've decided that Doidge is going to fire us through the rest of the season.

He'll score 4 or 5 more now. Goal scoring run, like last season, just a tad later.

Started drinking early have we Hammi?

Had my first Kraken at 12 😁

Absolutely, but his performances fell off from that penalty miss against Hearts, which was only a day after his dad? I think..
I've been saying for a while that this was when it started and it wasn't about the transfer.

He was great up until his dad died, during covid and all that, it's definitely been a hard year for him. Maybe hasn't been able to be around his family anywhere near enough. Footballers having to live under that extra spot of scrutiny about their actions too.

A Scotland cap, along with a goal should guarantee we'll get the same sort of price or better for him in the summer though. Was originally concerned that the figure came out of Birminghams desperation to get someone else in, thought they could get a quick yes like Aberdeen who were desperate for quick money.

I'd quite like to keep him though, I think goals will come back to him no problem.
I've wondered if the transfer request was about his father passing.
We don't know his circumstances but he won't be on a massive wage,does he have siblings?maybe he wanted a move to make sure his mother was financially secure?
It's a lot for a young man to have on his shoulders

I've wondered if the transfer request was about his father passing.
We don't know his circumstances but he won't be on a massive wage,does he have siblings?maybe he wanted a move to make sure his mother was financially secure?
It's a lot for a young man to have on his shoulders

You know, it's not even an angle I've considered.

I've no idea tbh, could well be a concern for him.

That was really impressive game management by Jack Ross in a 2nd half that Hibs bossed and controlled.✅

He must have known the sheep were 1:0 down and hence a point was going to be a great result.

Nothing was broken so no need to change anything so play the game out and maybe pinch 3 points but settle for 1 point and run the game clock down as Ehberdeen need two snookers and an earthquake now.✅

Its not so easy to explain such a lacklustre and disjointed 1st half but we are going to miss Rocky when he goes and looks like Porto's heid is already away as he seemed to struggle throughout for basic positioning and concentration.😥

Doidge did what he had to do for the goal and you would have thought his confidence would come flooding back but that was some sitter 2nd half but he never hides and always battles.

Nissy has a football brain that gives him an extra yard and Newell is just a very clever and perceptive player and with Hanlon back playing so solid this gives the team a great spine.✅

Its close, very close.✅🤞🏻

Probably the pitch's fault...

Another game of two halves indeed.....it's as though we spend the first half every week sizing up the opposition before making the inevitable changes which swing the game in our favour.

Disappointing not to win, but a draw at an awkward place like Livingston is a decent enough result, and the bonus was Aberdeen losing at Tannadice..

It's just me, but I am not going to be thinking we are going to finish third till we actually make it official. I've been a Hibs fan too long.

Whatever happens, barring some terrible cup performances and patchy home form, it's been an excellent season for Hibs with some real progress made.

It took a half and probably a talking to for Hibs to realise a ball on a plastic pitch is actually more predictable if you pass it across the ground than blooter it up in the air and hope it bounces how you want. However if your Porteous don't let it bounce at all because he got completely the wrong trajectory on the header. We came out second half and began to play. Some nice balls across the box from Boyle, some tenacity from Doig ,both Nissy and Doidge working their socks off.
However Newell and Irvine together look like they're both trying to do the same thing and getting in each others way. I hope Ross sees this and realises he plays one or the other. Also maybe; just maybe; a sub might have worked? Livi were flagging. You could have upped the pace with fresh legs? Just a thought. Anyway I said before the game I would be satisfied with a draw and so it proves.

From turgid to decent and all points in between. First half Livingston simply bettered us, although we had chances, we were not playing well and we sneaked an equaliser. Second half we were far better, no changes throughout the game, we just played so much better. Aberdeen losing again helped ad we are now seven points ahead of them. The 4 3 3 (if that is what is was?) looks a good idea but I feel Newell and Jackson dinnae give us much and Boyler out wide was such a waste first half. Yet second half the exact same set up, maybe with the exception of Doig getting more involved and we played well and might have won.

Best for Hibs were Hanlon, Doig, Gogic, Doidge and Nisbet. Paul has been playing very well, as has Alex, they have become pillars of the defending players, Doig had a good second half, Doidgey finally scored and had an all round good game and Nissy was superb all game. Nice to see. I also felt Porto lacked concentration too often, both Irvine and Newell drift in and out too much and Boyler was a good second as he was missing first.

Ok it was no classic, but when we did get playing, we looked very good and the boss was clearly happy with that, not making any changes. Livingston ae a decent team, they work hard for each other and love a high press. Not an easy team to play against or beat.

The Team

Rocky was unlucky at the goal and played well, commanding his box.

Paul McGinn was better today although was partly at fault for the Livi goal.

Porto, sorry I thought he made too many mistakes today, the worst to cause the goal. His decision making was poor today.

Paul Hanlon was great, didnae put a foot wrong.

Josh Doig had a quiet first half but I thought he was good second, bombing down the wing. His determination to keep the ball in was crucial in getting the equaliser.

Alex Gogic, along with Paul Hanlon are what make our defending resolute. I thought he was very good today, against a physical Livi midfield.

Jackson Irvine and Joe Newell both offer a lot, yet both could offer more for me. Two good players, Joe needs to take his chances, Jackson needs to keep playing away, a goal or a killer pass will come.

Boyler hardly touched the ball as a right winger first half, second half he was involved in all our best moves and put some cracking low balls in.

Chris Doidge took his goal well, and offered lots of effort all game. I felt he played well today yet he too could score more.

I am biased, I have stuck with Nissy through thick and thin. Today he did everything but score. His movement, touch, lay offs, passing and all round work rate were superb. His cheeky twenty yarder nearly went in. Great game from Nissy.

No Subs today, go figure.

The Boss

No interview this week so far, but the same eleven that struggled most of the first half played some nice football second and might have won the game. I think Jack got his team and set up right.

Livingston gave us a game, especially first half, a real handful. Weirdly I felt they were playing for a draw much of the second half?

The referee was decent, I think he only booked one player all game although, as Tam McManus said, I think he swallowed his whistle second, he was chirping away like a budgie.

Man of the Match was Kevin Nisbet, I thought his all round play was magnificent. I also thought Hanlon, Gogic and Doidge done very well.

Next up is a wee cough, then the mutton molesters away. Any kind of result up there and I think third is secured.

For too long now we have been seeing the same thing regarding Newell and Irvine as in they offer a lot but deliver very little. Unless they up their contribution then Irvine will have to go but we are stuck with Newell sitting about taking a wage...

Hopefully we can see MacGennis cement a place in midfield before the end of the season and the return of Scott Allan.........

I think he was really lucky to even score against Livi as his shot was still pretty bad 🤷‍♂️😂 Like you I hope it puts him on a run but the fact he didn't score from Boyles cross says otherwise to me

This thread has been viewed 5877 times.