Ethan Laidlaw

GORDONSMITH7

All good for the laddies... but its not sitting good with me about the clubs future ambition.
These guys signed professional contracts in January and we are already looking fir offers?
As said, good for the laddies but the club?

Doing something right in the age group on scouting. Could be 2 out for almost a £1million

Doesnt sit right with me.
Should we not be progressing them to first team? Then get 7/8 times that money while seeing them actually play for the club?
It just doesnt seem right

All good for the laddies... but its not sitting good with me about the clubs future ambition.
These guys signed professional contracts in January and we are already looking fir offers?

Probably got the contracts done to ensure fees coming in.
Lots of players disappear to England before being eligible for money.

Safety net if nothing else.
Also, if they are sold later, we'll benefit through consolidation fees and maybe clauses.

Yes its disappointing but I've not seen anything to suggest we're looking for offers and I doubt there's much we can do about offers coming in.

I'd say it reflects well on our scouting system that we've not only identified these players but managed to get them despite the English academies generally hoovering up any and all the young talent as soon as it shows.

Should we not be progressing them to first team? Then get 7/8 times that money while seeing them actually play for the club?

I get what yer saying and in an ideal world aye. On the other hand we've got them on contract and we get much needed funds.

No different to both of the Glasgow filth losing their best youth players to the likes of Chelsea and Bayern Munich.

Hard to stand in their way when EPL wages are on offer. Neither would get a sniff at the first team in the next year or two so would be desperate to take the chance of moving to top level academy.

Thats the way things are

I know what you're saying, but half a million is big money for us. You've got to think trading in a youngster for that kind of scratch is a gamble worth taking if it buys us a couple of Kevin Nesbits we could sell on for even more.

It does seem a bit daft, but how many young guys actually 'make it's at a big club.
Those EPL clubs pay a fee( large to us, but peanuts to them) and it's simply a gamble.
Chances are they'll end up at Walsall, Burton or the like where they'll make as much money there as they would with an SPL club.
Arse cheeks excepted.

Fair points, but we are a club who cannot afford luxury, so if quality youth come through its as good as we’ll get. Not any more it seems.. the ambition to actually “bring through” players like the rest of the game.
Maybe the points are all valid, maybe its just me, but it feels like something else we will lose from the game

Young lad Oscar McIntyre at Hibs meant to have had some big names looking at him too

Fair points, but we are a club who cannot afford luxury, so if quality youth come through its as good as we’ll get. Not any more it seems.. the ambition to actually “bring through” players like the rest of the game.
Maybe the points are all valid, maybe its just me, but it feels like something else we will lose from the game
It is a loss, but a bird in the hand....
It will be interesting to see how their careers develop if they do move on.

It is a loss, but a bird in the hand....
It will be interesting to see how their careers develop if they do move on.
Throw enough sh1t at the wall some of it will stick approach. Probably a 1 or 2% chance of getting first team games at these clubs but higher to get a decent career out of football.

I’d be off like a shot as well and I hope they survive the odds and do the business.

Throw enough sh1t at the wall some of it will stick approach. Probably a 1 or 2% chance of getting first team games at these clubs but higher to get a decent career out of football.

I’d be off like a shot as well and I hope they survive the odds and do the business.
Yup.
Buy them cheap and one may be a diamond.
Plenty mega buck flops in the EPL in the last 20 years to justify this approach.

Young lad Oscar McIntyre at Hibs meant to have had some big names looking at him too
And Murray Johnson could be moving on though, with Wolves set to snap up the young Hibs goalkeeper’s services.

English Premier League clubs have long been hoovering up young players from Europe for their academies... now that brexit has made that more complicated, they are looking at Scotland. This is just the start I fear.

Aye. They will hoover up all our talent but on the bright side Scotland international team might prosper through that.

It could do that Ricky, if they get a chance and are good enough.
If not , then we wont get much better than we are at this point in time.

It could do that Ricky, if they get a chance and are good enough.
If not , then we wont get much better than we are at this point in time.

Fingers crossed plenty progress. Better coaching and facilities will help them.

difficult, can often work against us, we maybe should have grabbed that £5m for Kurtis Byrne before deciding to hold onto him

I must’ve forgot about the clubs bidding fir KB 🙈

That was just in his old man’s heid I think.
E2BD515B-7509-4C09-9227-E7BF9556F1D9.jpeg

He’d have been parcelled off as well for the first worthwhile offer 👋

What happened with this?

Probably find out in the summer if he earns himself a move on.
Wouldn't be surprised if he goes for another trial or 2 in the mean time.

Reactions: Dub
I see he was on the bench for yesterday's game, pretty impressive for a 16 year old and well done to the lad.

Is it cynical of me to think that it was probably so that if any potential bids come in for him he is now classed as a first team player:5:

I see he was on the bench for yesterday's game, pretty impressive for a 16 year old and well done to the lad.

Is it cynical of me to think that it was probably so that if any potential bids come in for him he is now classed as a first team player:5:

I was hoping he would get a wee run out even for 5 minutes at the end but we were pushing for an equaliser so it was extremely unlikely. Hopefully, he'll be on the bench again for the cup match and can get a wee run out near the end.

Seen another young lad signed a pro deal today, wonder if he's any suitors too.
Might not see any top talents anymore if they're all getting tapped up at 16.

Man United for Laidlaws next trial.

This thread has been viewed 6384 times.