We Can't Celtic...Could We?

Gav1990

On this week's show, we discuss

Hamilton

• Was it a red?
  • Boyle back to best
  • Penalty
  • Cadden impresses
  • Doig just gets better/new contract

Hibs For 2nd?

• Can Hibs catch Celtic?
  • Too soon to overlook Aberdeen for 3rd?
  • Run-in/Current Form

Start/Bench/Sell

• Skol Cup Edition
  • Wright/Weir/Macleod

Continue reading...

The second chat is daft. There's no chance. Let's just keep winning. And keep ahead of the sheep!

I dont think its daft at all, the gap could be doon tae 3 points by the split. If ye dinnae have hope what dae ye have. Soapys will drop mair points before the split we have tae make sure we dinnae. Until its mathematically impossible we can dream

We can dream, but I don't see it. We'll drop points and so will they. I do think we will finish third, but I can see the gap between us and the lesser greens being about what it is now come the end of the season.

Imagine Jack Ross telling the players they have no chance.... ?

There is a huge difference between setting teams up with the mindset we can win every game, and fans expectations of what is more likely to happen.
The modern fan goes from wanting to sack his manager to suggesting we could finish 2nd for the first time in ( I’m not sure) 50 years?.
Put it this way, would you put £50 on Hibs finishing 2nd 3rd or 4th just now?

Ive never seriously thought at the beginning of a season we had a chance of winning the league( how sad!) But I fancy our chances most Saturdays!!

Fukn no chance ? . Hope Jack Ross and players don’t read this tho and that my views don’t affect mindset and/or our results.

You know damn well that the players, in particular, hang on your every word.

There is a huge difference between setting teams up with the mindset we can win every game, and fans expectations of what is more likely to happen.
The modern fan goes from wanting to sack his manager to suggesting we could finish 2nd for the first time in ( I’m not sure) 50 years?.
Put it this way, would you put £50 on Hibs finishing 2nd 3rd or 4th just now?

Ive never seriously thought at the beginning of a season we had a chance of winning the league( how sad!) But I fancy our chances most Saturdays!!
Wouldnt back Hibs regardless... but i was showing how its not that delusional to catch celtc. But clearly hope is beyond most. I said it on another thread. I dont think we will do it.. but its certainly not delusional to think we possibly could. IMO if that’s ok

We've got to just keep winning one game at a time. Boring I know, but that's how it goes. I know folk on here that didn't think we'd catch Aberdeen.

But if we just win 2 games at a time as opposed to 1 game at a time that would be 6points instead of 3points it would be less boring and we’d really put some distance between us and Aberdeen which is quite a distance already that’s why you don’t get a big Hibs away support because of the distance involved geographically speaking.
Ya get me ?

I think Hibs are more likely to get 12 points before the split than Celtic are to get 6.

If we're 3/4 points behind going into the split, that's extremely catchable. There's too many ifs to ever call it likely, but its not absurd.

We need more firepower in this current Hibs team to mount a serious challenge on Celtic for second. Don't get me wrong I'd love Hibs to win all their remaining games but realistically that's not going to happen.

Finish 3rd as close to the smellies as possible , that wouldn't be a bad season at all and hopefully build on it next season when (hopefully) we can be back watching

It's possible although unlikely.

Our target has to be trying to catch them though, none of this looking below us shite. Always chase the team above you

How does 2nd affect Europe? I know third place gives us a last Europa qualifier and if we lose we drop into the group in the conference.
So either way, that sets us up until Christmas in Europe.

If we were to get second, are we still likely to stay in Europe until Christmas? ?‍♂️ not sure what 2nd has to go through.

Wouldnt back Hibs regardless... but i was showing how its not that delusional to catch celtc. But clearly hope is beyond most. I said it on another thread. I dont think we will do it.. but its certainly not delusional to think we possibly could. IMO if that’s ok
I never mentioned delusional.
Let's hope I'm proved well wrong!

I never mentioned delusional.
Let's hope I'm proved well wrong!
I know, but its been said and more by many. Each to their own. But the same folk slate the club for that very same mentality ?‍♂️

Hibs finishing third this season would be a great achievement. Considering where we ended up last season albeit in a curtailed season it would represent substantial progress in a year. Given it has been a unique season with no crowds and significant financial and work restrictions on clubs, that just makes it even more remarkable. There is a legitimate argument that the league has been weaker this season with several clubs struggling with Covid implications etc and Hibs have been able to invest in very good players last summer and in January whilst others were not...however I don't think this should detract from what has been achieved so far this season.

Being the cautious type I am, and having been a Hibs fan for many years, I am still far from sure that we are going to finish third. I have thought fourth all the way through the season, but Aberdeen have really lost form since January, although winning against Killie last Saturday will have given them a lift. They have a bigger squad than Hibs and that might help them in the run-in. Really hope we can do it though. What a boost it would give to everybody at the club to have our best season in 16 years. If we do end up finishing fourth though I won't greet about it. We would still have made great progress in a year.

RE Second spot: Celtic will easily accumulate enough points between now and the end of the season to secure the runners up spot. They just have a significantly stronger squad than Hibs or Aberdeen. I am looking forward to seeing how Hibs will push on next season if we do secure third. Much depends on finances and crowds being back.

Hibs finishing third this season would be a great achievement. Considering where we ended up last season albeit in a curtailed season it would represent substantial progress in a year. Given it has been a unique season with no crowds and significant financial and work restrictions on clubs, that just makes it even more remarkable. There is a legitimate argument that the league has been weaker this season with several clubs struggling with Covid implications etc and Hibs were able to invest in very good players last summer and in January whilst others were not...however I don't think this should detract from what has been achieved so far this season.

Being the cautious type I am, and having been a Hibs fan for many years, I am still far from sure that we are going to finish third. I have thought fourth all the way through the season, but Aberdeen have really lost form since January, although winning against Killie last Saturday will have given them a lift. They have a bigger squad than Hibs and that might help them in the run-in. Really hope we can do it though. What a boost it would give to everybody at the club to have our best season in 16 years. If we do end up finishing fourth though I won't greet about it. We would still have made great progress in a year.

RE Second spot: Celtic will easily accumulate enough points between now and the end of the season to secure the runners up spot. They just have a significantly stronger squad than Hibs or Aberdeen. I am looking forward to seeing how Hibs will push on next season if we do secure third. Much depends on finances and crowds being back.
I don't think the Sheep do have a bigger squad than us. For example, they now have only two strikers - Kamberi and Henry - for the rest of the season.
They are in big trouble. We will finish ahead of them comfortably.

Hibs now have 7 points more, with a game in hand, than Aberdeen had at this stage last year. Aberdeen have 3 points more than they had. Simplistic, I know but it does suggest the big chance is our improvement rather than their worsening.

This thread has been viewed 1327 times.