Ingliston Market

ReeYees

Firstly I remember getting taken to this place as a kid in the very early 80s and getting excited when the King Kong statue was in sight from the long walk from getting off the bus to the actual market itself. My mum always came away with loads of towels !!!! Highlight for me was getting a shot on the motorbikes though at £1.00 a go for 10 minutes and also the hot doughnuts with cream ?

Later in life it was the place to go for hookie cards for your freeview box, playstation/dreamcast games and copied music cd's (pre broadband era). I can remember the guy with the folder that listed almost every film/cd you can imagine. I think it was swiftly closed down when Hollywood moguls paid it a visit and couldn't believe the scale of the piracy which led to Lothian and Borders finest swooping down on the stalls. I miss those days ?

Anyone else have fond memories of Ingliston Market?

Was it not run by Spook Erection, or something like that
I remember getting stung with a guy selling towels etc, everyone got them cheap except me?
Think it was probably the only place you were allowed to shop on a Sunday

Only thing I remember was being told to go to the King Kong statue if I was ever lost

Getting your Freeview card modified so you could watch the skuddie channels ?

I remember getting stung with a guy selling towels etc, everyone got them cheap except me?
No their relatives got them cheap and then you.

The waft of hamburgers and fried onions. Red clay mud, your 23 inch wide Wranglers flapping around your legs, cheesecloth shirts and cheap necklace bands with 'silver' initials. Your mum's got a duvet or some dishes, you've had a wee peak in the sex shop, and you've got a new snorkel parka for school.
I think it was in the Guinness book of records as the biggest open air market in the world or something. I think Spook Erection were connected with What Everyone Wants, could be wrong. Anyway great days.

Seems you're right about it being run by Spook Erection.

No their relatives got them cheap and then you.
It was a stitch up

Definitely Spook Erections.

Folk came from all over Scotland and the North of England to buy and sell.

I had a stall selling GENUINE jeans! Levis and Wrangler. I think it was a tenner a pitch. It was much nicer doing it in the summer but it was the 6 weeks run up to Christmas was when the good money was made. Probably about Tuesday before you thawed out!

A good thing for me was traders selling cheaply to each other. You could buy almost anything there.

Best call regularly over the tannoy was "If there's any young ladies would like to join the Ingliston Young Mothers Club just get in touch with their nearest stallholder."

There were also cheap fags available, if you knew where, but it was the hooky DVDs and CDs that was the beginning of the end. I'd left long before that.

I still love visiting markets.

I had a stall selling GENUINE jeans! Levis and Wrangler. I think it was a tenner a pitch. It was much nicer doing it in the summer but it was the 6 weeks run up to Christmas was when the good money was made. Probably about Tuesday before you thawed out!

A good thing for me was traders selling cheaply to each other. You could buy almost anything there.

Best call regularly over the tannoy was "If there's any young ladies would like to join the Ingliston Young Mothers Club just get in touch with their nearest stallholder."

There were also cheap fags available, if you knew where, but it was the hooky DVDs and CDs that was the beginning of the end. I'd left long before that.

On your point of still visiting markets i used to really enjoy the Omni centre car boot back in the early 2000's as once you were finished there you could walk down to the old bus station at New Street and check out that car booty.

No many left. Is East Fortune still on the go? Bonnyrigg has flats where the market used tae be. There was 1 stall on a Thursday on the pavement at the crossroads in Bonnyrigg, selling butcher meat a couple of years ago, dinnae ken if it’s still does it.Bathgate was another one. Most of the stuff they sell yi can get just as cheap in most shops.

Steptoes meet Fools and Horses.

Ingliston was a day out when I was a lad. There used to be a bus than ran from Muirhouse direct to the market. Hotdogs, fresh donuts and the sales patter from some of the stall holders made it a barry day out as a kid. It seemed huge at the time.

The fruit and veg stall at Bonnyrigg around 10 years ago was excellent, I used to work nearby and would get my weekly supply from there.

East Fortune market has relocated to East Linton I believe. A trip to Ingliston used to be a family day out when I was a kid , was a huge site when I first went there .Used to go there with y mate for there for cheap jeans or military surplus trousers for my work & cheap meat for the freezer . Loads of hooky CDs . Bags of fresh made doughnuts or chips and curry sauce where always the order of the day . I guess Sunday opening , budget supermarkets and stores like Primark & Matalan helped to kill off these places

Last time I went was 88 or 89.
A pal haggled a stall-holder for a skateboard. Got it down from £20 to £16 and shook on it.
Then he handed the boy a £20 note and asked for change.

Market day on a Thursday used to heaving in Bonnyrigg, other markets were available but none were quite so big in surrounding towns.

I regularly used to go to East Fortune and Ingliston as a bairn, one memory of Ingliston was the stall with all the footy tops - bizarrely the one I remember was Bahrain which I think was orange or red and had the holes in it presumably because it was hot over there.

Market day on a Thursday used to heaving in Bonnyrigg, other markets were available but none were quite so big in surrounding towns.

I regularly used to go to East Fortune and Ingliston as a bairn, one memory of Ingliston was the stall with all the footy tops - bizarrely the one I remember was Bahrain which I think was orange or red and had the holes in it presumably because it was hot over there.

I played in a team that bought shirts from that stall, we all had the Hull City tiger kit!

Always remember the banners that hang across the site
Muffin the Mule is a criminal offence was one

Bought my Sta Press and records there
then all the copied playstation games when the kids came around

This thread has been viewed 1471 times.