Irvine with Newell?

Ok, I'm not a tactical genius, but most of us on here reckon that these two players bring something to the side in the middle 0f the pitch. But would you put them together? ?Would Newell be better with Allan? Would Irvine be better with Allan? Would one of them be better with Hallberg? Mallan? Wright? Murphy? What are your thoughts?

Those 2 with Gogic behind sounds good to me on paper. Would be a good balance I think

Ok, I'm not a tactical genius, but most of us on here reckon that these two players bring something to the side in the middle 0f the pitch. But would you put them together? ?Would Newell be better with Allan? Would Irvine be better with Allan? Would one of them be better with Hallberg? Mallan? Wright? Murphy? What are your thoughts?

I would prefer Irvine to be further forward like he was against Dundee United, whereas last night he was further back.

We all know Allan is the most creative player at the club, although Irvine showed he also has that in his game after his splitting defence pass to Boyle against Dundee United.

Newell is neat and tidy but I am not sure if he is going to remain with us as his contract is up soon and he hasn’t signed an extension at this moment in time.

If Murphy can stay fit and progresses on from his performance last night you have a very difficult choice as to who plays.

Gogic is the spine of our midfield, I would have Allan beside him and let Irvine play further forward.

If Newell stays we have a very difficult decision to make and a very good competition for places.

Didnae ken Newell was an author.:lookaround:

Newell is a great passer of the ball and can get things moving but he doesn't have much of a shot on him. I'd probably rather he was playing further back but still providing creativity. In a similar fashion to how we used McGeough

Eg.

Rocky
McGinn Daz Porto
Cadden Gogic Newell Doig
Irvine
Doidge Nisbet

I think him and Newell side by side with Gogic behind them.
Irvine runs the length of the pitch all game, supporting all phases of play,
Newell does the playmaker bit and Gogic guards the backline.

Sorted.

Lost me?

Newell is a nice Fitba player. Nice touches, and can put a shift in when it happens for him. But I can't really recall much coming from him. I don't think he wants to be here next year.
His overall contribution , since the time he has been here , is questionable.

I think our best midfield would consist of Gogic, Irvine and Allan.

Irvine is one half a strong centre midfield pairing - but none of the options would complement him and give us a midfield strength I think.

All decent players, with good qualities but the balance isn't there.

Gogic and Hallberg have the defensive qualities, but not the creative ones. Mallan, Newell and Allan have the creative ones, but not the defensive ones. I suspect this is why we persist with Boyle/Murphy/Wright/Cadden in wide positions to try and give us some creativity.

I suppose I feel if you play Hallberg, it feels like you are playing a man short going forward. If you play Mallan, you're playing with ten men defensively if that makes sense.

This could be the upshot of transfer selection by numbers - trying to squeeze the best players out of the available budget by looking at their positive numbers and making allowances for their negative ones. I think most people are of the view that you couldn't build a team around Mallan AND Allan it is one or other. That's quite a hindrance to your game plan when you can't play two of your big earners together. And this season, JR has had to/chosen to make do with neither.

On a tangent, I thought bringing Cadden in was the end of Wright. I think it was probably the end of Gullan, with Boyle being shifted up top and Cadden replacing Boyle.

I hope we overhaul how we bring players through - Like Lewis Allan before him, Jamie Gullan has probably been here for two years too long. If we aren't going to play them, let them move on to somewhere where they will play. I'll put it out here now that Ryan Shanley will be the next one to leave at the age of 21/22 never having been given a chance/and/or not making the breakthrough.

Newell is a nice Fitba player. Nice touches, and can put a shift in when it happens for him. But I can't really recall much coming from him. I don't think he wants to be here next year.
His overall contribution , since the time he has been here , is questionable.
Newell has arguably been our player of the year? He was pretty good too from when Ross took over and was doing well until the football season finished early.

I rate Newell as one of the best midfielder's we have right now. If we know he doesn't want to sign a contract, I'd keep him out of the picture right now. Can warm the bench and we'll go with what we have and Scotty coming back.

Why? I dont get this.
Arguably best player at the club over this season, so freeze him out because he won't be here next year?

Doesn't benefit us at all imo.

Looking forward to Saturdays game:

Does anyone have a suggestion for what midfield we put out to dominate?

Looking forward to Saturdays game:

Does anyone have a suggestion for what midfield we put out to dominate?

Gogic Allan Irvine.

Two votes for this.

If Allan is fit, I think it's definitely worth a try.

Fleshing it out:

Marciano

McGinn McGregor Porteous

Gogic

Cadden Irvine Allan Murphy Doig

Boyle Nisbet

Not convinced that we are strong enough defensively with Cadden and Murphy (I think I'll change Murphy for Doig)

Plan B Murphy for Doig, Doidge for Nisbet, Wright for Cadden

Plan C Stevenson for Doig, Hanlon for Porteous, Magennis for Allan

It would be nice to see something from Magennis he's not showed much so far.

Two votes for this.

If Allan is fit, I think it's definitely worth a try.

I think Ross will start with the same 11, if anyone hasn’t seen the highlights of their game last night (Sheep) Livi players got in their faces and stopped them from dominating the game, they were quick to chase them down every time they didn’t have the ball. That’s the way you play against them so maybe with Allan just coming back it maybe too much for him, but still a good weapon to have at your disposal ?

Fleshing it out:

Marciano

McGinn McGregor Porteous

Gogic

Cadden Irvine Allan Murphy Doig

Boyle Nisbet

Not convinced that we are strong enough defensively with Cadden and Murphy (I think I'll change Murphy for Doig)

Plan B Murphy for Doig, Doidge for Nisbet, Wright for Cadden

Plan C Stevenson for Doig, Hanlon for Porteous, Magennis for Allan

It would be nice to see something from Magennis he's not showed much so far.
What?No plan D?

Ok my mid for Aberdeen is Gogic ,Irvine, Newell.

Plan B is Hallberg,Allan,Murphy
PlanC Gogic Allan ,Irvine.

Plan D wait and see what Ross puts out, give it the cautious thumbs up then slate him if it goes wrong.

Why? I dont get this.
Arguably best player at the club over this season, so freeze him out because he won't be here next year?

Doesn't benefit us at all imo.

Two reasons. First, he night drop off the radar of some clubs and re-sign. Second. I just prefer players playing that want to be here and have a future. It's hard to build a team around a player if he's leaving.

I get your point too. It's cutting your nose off to spite your face in a way.

Doubt Newell will be fit.

PlanB

Moaty and his plans...

530583e79e4fc7f75855995d511e185c.jpg

It's a bad day when you laugh at one of williams jokes ????

What?No plan D?
Plan D. Get Dough on Hibernians to skelp the Dons 3-0.

ExcitableNiftyBirdofparadise-max-1mb-1.gif

Well we tried it out today and we won, but I would like to see more before I give a definitive yeah or nay. We looked stronger when Gogic came on, we also looked good when Allan came on so the jury's still out.

This thread has been viewed 2101 times.