Hibs Casuals, Heroes or Villians

Lot of teary eyed reminiscing about "the casuals". Let's end one myth though. Scarfers at the time felt no affiliation or pride towards them whatsoever. As for "protecting" us? Give it a rest. If anything it made the trek from Pittodrie etc more of a challenge to reach the station intact! That said the Hibs support in general were no shrinking violets back then either!

Then there was the incident at Paisley. These eejits thought it was a good idea to pour onto the pitch by the fence and try and "get intae the St Mirren kids". Scarfers stopped them getting back into the Hibs section so the polis escorted them behind the goals. They stood for some time near the exit and I for one was expecting them to come over and pile into the Hibs support who had stood up to them.

So spare us the Robin Hood depiction.
Do you speak for all scarfers like..seems a sweeping staement to me? I think its fair to point out there was some bad feeling (especially in the beginning) towards the casuals but most I knew were either indifferent or were happy that the fighting had (mostly but not exclusively) been taken outside of the stadiums. Maybe its a generational thing as I suppose most of the scarfers, never really liked that phrase, I knew at the time were around my own age. I doubt my parents generation would have viewed it in the same way tbf.

Im also not aware of a general feeling that all Hibs boys claimed this Robin Hood status...I certainly never felt that (maybe some did). There was going to be fighting at games in the 80s and 90s regardless of who was doing it (as there was in the 70s)..Im not sure it makes a difference who was participating at a certain time. Seems to me to be disingenuous to be claiming that our fans were mad and would fight anyone in the 70s early 80s and then criticise a different generation for doing more or less the same thing.

Anyway thats the last word from me on it.

I was always quite happy when the casuals beat the crap out of Huns at Ibrox. I took a couple of sore ones there in my younger days. Probably wearing a green tailored suit to stand on the terracing there was a bit rash.
I remember at Anderlecht the casuals were not at all welcomed by many of the ‘scarfers’ who saw them as letting the club down. There was nearly a showdown at one point outside a pub as I recall it.
Yep, I remember that.

Anderlecht was a strange trip.

In the bars and main square there was an uneasy atmosphere. In the Stadium the atmosphere was brilliant.

Do you speak for all scarfers like..seems a sweeping staement to me? I think its fair to point out there was some bad feeling (especially in the beginning) towards the casuals but most I knew were either indifferent or were happy that the fighting had (mostly but not exclusively) been taken outside of the stadiums. Maybe its a generational thing as I suppose most of the scarfers, never really liked that phrase, I knew at the time were around my own age. I doubt my parents generation would have viewed it in the same way tbf.

Im also not aware of a general feeling that all Hibs boys claimed this Robin Hood status...I certainly never felt that (maybe some did). There was going to be fighting at games in the 80s and 90s regardless of who was doing it (as there was in the 70s)..Im not sure it makes a difference who was participating at a certain time. Seems to me to be disingenuous to be claiming that our fans were mad and would fight anyone in the 70s early 80s and then criticise a different generation for doing more or less the same thing.

Anyway thats the last word from me on it.
I think the main criticism is that Hibs fans have also suffered at their hands ,when we went battling in the 70's or went intae pubs team handed we certainly didnae bother other Hibs fans.

Team handed probably sounds a bit hardmanish, in a crowd is probably mair like it

ive seen many more occasions when bevied Hibs scarfers have been arguing/fighting among themselves, especially at away games, than I have casuals starting on them. Not that I condone either to be clear, or deny that both happened.

Irvine Welsh - Not in my life time he never.

I am a bit older than the Family, I dont remember him in the early days. He is friends with some good Hibs lads, has been for years.

Maybe its a generational thing as I suppose most of the scarfers, never really liked that phrase.
If Scarfer means non Casual Hibernian Supporters, that covers the vast majority of Hibernian supporters (98% perhaps ?) as opposed to a small subset of Hibs support.

It is and you are of course correct. It was the politer turn of phrase, the term christmas trees was also sometimes used to describe the giant scarf wi a million badges, beany hat on heed, scarfs round the wrist, green three piece suit wi high waister breeks :5:fans back then.

Agreed, the reason I've never really liked it is it sounded a bit dismissive and drew a separation between the two groups when most of the early casuals I knew were all Hibs fans first and foremost. Probably reading too much into it tbh.

I am a bit older than the Family, I dont remember him in the early days. He is friends with some good Hibs lads, has been for years.

He is good friends with a certain author of a Hibs casual book, he was also friends with the late Brad Welsh R.I.P ?

ive seen many more occasions when bevied Hibs scarfers have been arguing/fighting among themselves, especially at away games, than I have casuals starting on them. Not that I condone either to be clear, or deny that both happened.

Great post mate.

He is good friends with a certain author of a Hibs casual book, he was also friends with the late Brad Welsh R.I.P ?

Woody and Irvine are close mates.

Hero's for me. Having been a regular going to watch Hibs play at ibrox and being regularly abused with their bile even had a van over take us and the back doors flung open and the orks inside all with red hand gloves on , we once went into the enclosure under the old stand , no scarves on but under our jackets they went one up polite applause then two up again trying to not draw attention to our selves polite applause, Hibs pull one back and all five of us we went fucking tonto , they went mental had to be escorted to another part of the shit hole. So a few years later seeing the hoardes of uneducated part like the red sea , as about 200 CCS marching through them i felt so proud and it showed them up for the bullies they are, i am a lapsed protestant by the way.

You should write a mystery book mate, starting.....Once upon a time me and mates went into a Huns end at Ibrox to see Hibs and guess what happened !.....

You should write a mystery book mate, starting.....Once upon a time me and mates went into a Huns end at Ibrox to see Hibs and guess what happened !...

If it was up to you, we’d all be queuing for bread and I for one am sick of it.

You’re driving a wedge between Hibernian brothers and it’s deeply upsetting me.

When Covid is over, I will give you a big cuddle and a pan loaf pal!

Plain's better and I cannae get doon here ??

You should write a mystery book mate, starting.....Once upon a time me and mates went into a Huns end at Ibrox to see Hibs and guess what happened !...

it was a time when we did'nt have a allocated area or we were to young and nieve to notice, think i made it up? never missed a Hibs game in a ten year spell including reserve games you got in to the reserves for free if you had a season ticket book.

....and all Scottish Cup and League Cup Games too.

He thinks he is the big i am i don't give a fuck honestly , there was another time at ibrox when in the away area with them above us my said watch this in reference to D murry he started to sing who's the sandbag in the stand they again started to thump their chests we just fell aboot pishing ourselves. But the moral of the story is don't mock the afflicted as the mate who sang it is now in a wheel chair

....and all Scottish Cup and League Cup Games too.

OH i was there when we took 7000 and getting in late just in time for Davy cooper to slam a freekick right passed Roughie you want to continue making a prick of yourself keep them coming , i have'nt always stayed up here. And where did i mention cup games.

Calm down. I was referring to a Hibs Season Ticket getting you in free to all home Scottish Cup and League Cup Games at Easter Road too.

No but to be honest i can't remember it was a wee book that the turnstyle ripped the relative ticket. But maybe you are correct, cause back then it was finacially better to get a season book if you attended all the home games. It was a rough time to be a Hibby crowds were poor regularly 4000 to 5000 in attendance, that's why i don't buy into all this moaning in how Hibs are now.

You are right, we used to go to the west end of the enclosure under the Huns main stand, there was no segregation.

Plain's better and I cannae get it doon here ??
Or

Huvnae got a fuckin clue what happened there, technology and auld guys shouldnae mix

No but to be honest i can't remember it was a wee book that the turnstyle ripped the relative ticket. But maybe you are correct, cause back then it was finacially better to get a season book if you attended all the home games. It was a rough time to be a Hibby crowds were poor regularly 4000 to 5000 in attendance, that's why i don't buy into all this moaning in how Hibs are now.
The wee book of tickets.... one season mine went through the washing machine in a pair of jeans and was turned into a lump of solid mush never to be parted again. Unfortunately this was right at the start of the season. Hibs refused to give me a replacement and instead I had to report to the ticket office every week where a wee envelope with my name on it was given out containing a ‘comp’ ticket.
Cheers Hibs

You are right, we used to go to the west end of the enclosure under the main stand, there was no segregation.
I remember going to games when I was really young (6 years old - 1976) and there was absolutely no segregation. Swapping ends with opponents fans at half time by walking along what felt like a gigantic East terracing.

We also used to get Hibs Kids tickets in the old Main Stand at the Dunbar End which I think was seen as the visitor end - again no segregation.i reckon I was about 11 then so 1981.

Even after segregation- which I think properly started around 83-84 when they built a fence next to the TV gantry in the East and had a big ‘no-man’s zone’ then another fence at the Dunbar end it was still easy to just walk in the away end as most games were still pay at the gate.

I remember going to games when I was really young (6 years old - 1976) and there was absolutely no segregation. Swapping ends with opponents fans at half time by walking along what felt like a gigantic East terracing.

We also used to get Hibs Kids tickets in the old Main Stand at the Dunbar End which I think was seen as the visitor end - again no segregation.i reckon I was about 11 then so 1981.

Even after segregation- which I think properly started around 83-84 when they built a fence next to the TV gantry in the East and had a big ‘no-man’s zone’ then another fence at the Dunbar end it was still easy to just walk in the away end as most games were still pay at the gate.

I was meaning at the Hunnery, but I agree withwhat you are saying at ER.

The wee book of tickets.... one season mine went through the washing machine in a pair of jeans and was turned into a lump of solid mush never to be parted again. Unfortunately this was right at the start of the season. Hibs refused to give me a replacement and instead I had to report to the ticket office every week where a wee envelope with my name on it was given out containing a ‘comp’ ticket.
Cheers Hibs
I did that! Had to do the same as you for 10 games iirc

l remember being at an Aberdeen game when rumours swept the ground that a hibs boy had been given a doing by Aberdeen casuals n had died.The atmosphere was the worst I have experienced at a match by the end of the game you couldn't wait to get round to them and exact revenge.
The casuals were a product of the time and time moves on its all about the match day experience now bit a wee bit of me misses the excitement the fear n the sense of belonging good and bad .

l remember being at an Aberdeen game when rumours swept the ground that a hibs boy had been given a doing by Aberdeen casuals n had died.The atmosphere was the worst I have experienced at a match by the end of the game you couldn't wait to get round to them and exact revenge.
The casuals were a product of the time and time moves on its all about the match day experience now bit a wee bit of me misses the excitement the fear n the sense of belonging good and bad .

Said incident mentioned above ?

“wasnae mist”? Was that Scot’s mist or did you mean wasnae missed as in nobody gave a fuck. ?
Sorry it was Boo said there was a moat and mist.It was a poor attempt at a 'joke' I'll admit.

Sorry I have read all this and I still don't understand why you needed a pair of Lois chords and a Scott Lyle top to go steaming into huns?

It was just the times moaty think teddy boys,punks ,mods,etc it was just a faze
Wee tip for you wear your wee brothers t- shirt makes you look bigger only thing is n the middle of the battle the shirt never makes it back ?

Did you ever hear the drums Fernando?

There's no regret if I had to do the same again I would my friend
You know the rest ?

It was just the times moaty think teddy boys.......
Ted grandfathers of CCS lads wait for bus to Pitoddrie for pre arranged bicycle chain clash with Aberdeen neds.

prada-teddy-boys.jpg

The cells in Aberdeen are far better than the Govan ones. Despite being further north they are warmer in a way.
Or so I’m told.

Ted grandfathers of CCS lads wait for bus to Pitoddrie for pre arranged bicycle chain clash with Aberdeen neds.

View attachment 4287

Its magic, you know ...

This thread has been viewed 46808 times.