Corona virus on its own thread.

The number of confirmed covid cases worldwide passed 100,000,000 today.

The number confirmed deaths passed 2,000,000 on January 14th. The first confirmed death, as its recorded just now, was on January 9th last year.

Had a colleague go for vaccine today to be told there wasn't enough and so his priority isnt high enough for now but they rebooked. To be fair this is Midlothian who are well ahead of Edinburgh with vaccinating care workers but does show there may be some supply issues already filtered through

There's bound to be. The Scottish Government have prioritised care home residents and workers in these places as recommended by the JCVI, so that will mean others might take a bit longer. Hopefully your colleague won't have to wait too long.

My mum and dad got their first Jag this morning

It's been well documented that the supply is patchy at best. Despite the best efforts of the media and the yoon branch office bods in Scotland trying to spread misinformation, this was even confirmed by the minister for vaccines, Nadhim Zahawi.

My maw (aged 70, lives on Easter Road) has an appointment for vaccination on the 4th of Feb. A little chink of light for me.

My dad (87) got his vaccination last Tuesday down at his local GP surgery.

His neighbour (in her 70's) has had a letter giving her a mid February appointment, however it is at a drive through at the Queen Margaret University. What happens if you don't have a car ?

I just received my appointment letter for next week at the EICC in Edinburgh. Can anyone recommend best parking places nearby? I remember going to an event there a couple of years ago and parking was a nightmare!

I worked next door before Covid made me work from home for the past 10 months, there is a underground car park under Scottish widows off Semple Stret called Semple Street parking. Its no cheap but if you ar in and out wouldnae be too bad.

Do you have another driver yi can take with yi? My missus had an appointment there last year and I just sat in the car in a wee lay-by just up the road a bit. Nae wardens came but if they did I was just gonni drive round the corner and go back tae the space.

Aye the wee lay bye is outside my office, you can spin round and sit outside Scottish Widows too.

Wished ah knew, wid have came in for a coffee?

Got my first dose of the vaccine today. Being honest I felt a wee bit of a fraud getting it so early. My sister in law is highly vulnerable and lives with us so all her carers plus me and my wife got it this week. I was sent to Bonnyrigg for mine, my wife the new sick kids.

100,000 UK deaths most down South due to Tory failures which Boris still takes no responsibility over.

1. late lockdowns
2. late school closures
3. no enforcement of mask wearing
4. borders remained open
5. eat out to help out
6. 100000 lives lost
#ToryIncompetence

100,000 UK deaths most down South due to Tory failures which Boris still takes no responsibility over.

1. late lockdowns
2. late school closures
4. borders remained open
5. eat out to help out
6. 100000 lives lost
#ToryIncompetence

I take it that you are hopelessly blind like many others to #ScottishGovincompetence

The real death rate going by death certificates is 120,00. Make no mistake the govt. are responsible. A complete change in policy is needed if we are to get through this, which I have been saying for several weeks now. When I started commenting on this pandemic I would make corona deaths comparable with a medium-sized football crowd. It is now more comparable with a Hiroshima.

1. late lockdowns
2. late school closures
4. borders remained open
5. eat out to help out
6. 100000 lives lost
#ToryIncompetence
England 88,042
Scotland 5,796
Wales 4,561
NI 1,763

I take it that you are hopelessly blind like many others to #ScottishGovincompetence

Scotland took a four nation approach so yes that was a mistake, it should have went it alone. If Scotland had full control we could have made many more of our own descions.

England 88,042
Scotland 5,796
Wales 4,561
NI 1,763
The Scottish, Welsh, N Ireland, MSM are complicit.
I put the Guardian in that tawdry box too.

I don't think anyone on here is hopelessly blind to the shortcomings of the SG.

Nor are they blindly ignoring where the SG has been unable to act because, for example the legislation was late being put in place by Westminster and Westminster holds the purse strings for furlough etc.

Had there been no SNP in government I'd suggest the likelihood is Scotland would still be copying and pasting English legislation into NHS Scotland. Fewer hospitals, doctors, GPs, nurses and fewer of all the other wonderful people that make up NHS Scotland. Even fewer than our underfunded NHS has now ;-)

If that was the case I think it could reasonably be expected Scotland would have the same death rate as England and the number in Scotland would be around 10%ish of England. I'll let you do the maths.

I don't think anyone on here is hopelessly blind to the shortcomings of the SG.

Nor are they blindly ignoring where the SG has been unable to act because, for example the legislation was late being put in place by Westminster and Westminster holds the purse strings for furlough etc.

Had there been no SNP in government I'd suggest the likelihood is Scotland would still be copying and pasting English legislation into NHS Scotland. Fewer hospitals, doctors, GPs, nurses and fewer of all the other wonderful people that make up NHS Scotland. Even fewer than our underfunded NHS has now ;-)

If that was the case I think it could reasonably be expected Scotland would have the same death rate as England and the number in Scotland would be around 10%ish of England. I'll let you do the maths.

The first sentence is totally wrong. The following ones are apologetic candy floss. I tells me that Scot.gov have zero balls to take on Westminster. Carry on MacDuff.

Like Labour did in Wales?

So Labour in Holyrood Government would have been copying and pasting Tory Westminster legislation.... FFS get real.

I agree and i've only ever voted SNP

England 88,042
Scotland 5,796
Wales 4,561
NI 1,763
Can only use figures obtained by inet. England having a population of around 55.98m with these deaths make a percentage around 0.15% deaths per head. Scotland are indeed lower with the population based on 5.454m make death rate around 0.106 USA to put in the mix has 433,905 deaths from a population around 328.2m giving them a percentage death rate of around 0.132 which is less than England.

Had Scotland had a similar death rate as England based on these figures we would have seen 8181 deaths. Looking at it the other way if England had our death rates they would have 59,338, deaths so there is quite a difference
Scotland have much smaller cities so that also may be one factor, England also have a greater mix of cultures where we have seen higher death rates in the BAME community. Perhaps there is weight to the argument that had we been a separate country we may have fared better, but then we have to look way deeper such as into the economics of shutdowns. Anyway that's for all you guys who are more interested in politics than me to work out.

Can only use figures obtained by inet. England having a population of around 55.98m with these deaths make a percentage around 0.15% deaths per head. Scotland are indeed lower with the population based on 5.454m make death rate around 0.106 USA to put in the mix has 433,905 deaths from a population around 328.2m giving them a percentage death rate of around 0.132 which is less than England.

Had Scotland had a similar death rate as England based on these figures we would have seen 8181 deaths. Looking at it the other way if England had our death rates they would have 59,338, deaths so there is quite a difference
Scotland have much smaller cities so that also may be one factor, England also have a greater mix of cultures where we have seen higher death rates in the BAME community. Perhaps there is weight to the argument that had we been a separate country we may have fared better, but then we have to look way deeper such as into the economics of shutdowns. Anyway that's for all you guys who are more interested in politics than me to work out.

I have pointed put before and will not labour it. New Zealand with the same population has larger cities than Scotland. Politics matter.

One thing we could do right now is get a grip of this 'mockdown' once a week I take a 25 bus from Sleigh Drive to Gorgie Road and each time I pass at least 5 major building sites.Each building site must have 100 or more workers working on them.Each journey I pass about ten shops, they are serving hot food.Each journey I pass about 4 major supermarkets where you can buy everything from Cigarrettes, booze,albums, doggie baskets,lottery tickets and magazines.If you took a bus out to the airport you would see planes coming in from South Africa, Brazil and beyond.The school and college closures aren't across the board,football, rugby and tennis tournies are carrying on.Companies are still insisting workers come in,workplaces are going without proper ventilation and health and safety conditions are lax.This hasn't been anything like a lockdown that is needed.

It's pretty clear that people's views on where blame should be apportioned are driven by their political biases. That ain't going to change until there's a full public enquiry. If that enquiry turns out to be a whitewash we can assume they're all equally culpable.

One thing we could do right now is get a grip of this 'mockdown' once a week I take a 25 bus from Sleigh Drive to Gorgie Road and each time I pass at least 5 major building sites.Each building site must have 100 or more workers working on them.Each journey I pass about ten shops, they are serving hot food.Each journey I pass about 4 major supermarkets where you can buy everything from Cigarrettes, booze,albums, doggie baskets,lottery tickets and magazines.If you took a bus out to the airport you would see planes coming in from South Africa, Brazil and beyond.The school and college closures aren't across the board,football, rugby and tennis tournies are carrying on.Companies are still insisting workers come in,workplaces are going without proper ventilation and health and safety conditions are lax.This hasn't been anything like a lockdown that is needed.
Saw Leitch giving his thang during adverts tonight.The usual if you can't work from home stay safe...... this is a kid on lockdown. Perpetuated by politicians Internationally putting their capitalist economies before 2 000,000 coffins.

Saw Leitch giving his thang during adverts tonight.The usual if you can't work from home stay safe.... this is a kid on lockdown. Perpetuated by politicians Internationally putting their capitalist economies before 2 000,000 coffins.

Knew Jason when he was a trainee dentist, didn't expect his career to take him this direction. Cant remember if he liked football but if he does I am sure he will be a hun..slight but less possibility of being Airdrie fan.

It's pretty clear that people's views on where blame should be apportioned are driven by their political biases. That ain't going to change until there's a full public enquiry. If that enquiry turns out to be a whitewash we can assume they're all equally culpable.
Public Enquiry V the abysmal shite, going on now, should we close borders, quarantine people on incoming flights, mask wearing compulsory that's sell by date was 1 year ago. Give me a break.

I didn't say we shouldn't be taking action now, there's things that very clearly should have been done a year ago and weren't and there's been continued inaction ever since. I said it won't be clear who was to blame for the inaction until there's a public enquiry.

If you’re saying you’re passing Edinburgh airport then you’re not seeing flights arriving from South Africa or Brazil. I think the farthest away flight you’ll see there is the B787 or A350 to and from Dubai. I get what you’re meaning though

Emirates pulled the Dubai flight a few months ago and consolidated in Glasgow, pity. Doha the longest haul inbound just now.

Comparisons with NZ would be great but they're not entirely valid. NZ is an island ( or 2), Scotland is not. NZ have full control over every aspect of their government and how they operate as a society, Scotland does not.

I'm not a massive fan of The SNP or Sturgeon, although I would have her run Scotland over any of the alternatives available. That's not to say she hasn't made mistakes. As far as I can see, initially going along with the xmas break was just dumb, but I guess there was a degree of being boxed in financially by Westminster, I also think she would have made significantly different choices since the summer if she was financially able to...building sites being a prime example. I know quite alot of tradesmen and they all say the same thing- it's impossible to socially distance on medium to large sites.

I've not really watched news or current affairs for months, so I could be totally wrong in my point of view on Sturgeon, but I think if Scotland had control over all aspects of a normal independent country, our reaction to covid would have been significantly different and our death rates would have been alot lower.

Emirates pulled the Dubai flight a few months ago and consolidated in Glasgow, pity. Doha the longest haul inbound just now.

Comparisons with NZ would be great but they're not entirely valid. NZ is an island ( or 2), Scotland is not. NZ have full control over every aspect of their government and how they operate as a society, Scotland does not.

I'm not a massive fan of The SNP or Sturgeon, although I would have her run Scotland over any of the alternatives available. That's not to say she hasn't made mistakes. As far as I can see, initially going along with the xmas break was just dumb, but I guess there was a degree of being boxed in financially by Westminster, I also think she would have made significantly different choices since the summer if she was financially able to...building sites being a prime example. I know quite alot of tradesmen and they all say the same thing- it's impossible to socially distance on medium to large sites.

I've not really watched news or current affairs for months, so I could be totally wrong in my point of view on Sturgeon, but I think if Scotland had control over all aspects of a normal independent country, our reaction to covid would have been significantly different and our death rates would have been alot lower.
You’re right. I got my airline carriers mixed up. Same part of the world though and not SA or Brazil as Moaty was alluding to.
That fuckin mess Johnston is visiting Edinburgh tomorrow. Will no doubt be waving the flag while he’s at colonial towers in Market Street. I’m led to believe there’ll be a massive security detail. Hope some Cnut lobs a Niddrie at him.

BBC saying today that deaths in Scotland are actually 7.902 when which is almost the 8181 I mentioned, not sure if there are additional deaths in England. If not then we are almost identical in percentage

That will be based on deaths where Covid is mentioned on the death certificate, whereas the previous numbers quoted were deaths within 28 days of a positive test.

The numbers look a little curious when comparing England to Scotland:

- Deaths where Covid mentioned on death certificate (data up to 15 January): England 88,146; Scotland 7,445
- Deaths within 28 days of positive test (data up to 26 January): England 88,042; Scotland 5,796

It's not clear to me why deaths under both measures are nearly identical for England but death certificate deaths are nearly 30% higher than those within 28 days of a positive test in Scotland.

That will be based on deaths where Covid is mentioned on the death certificate, whereas the previous numbers quoted were deaths within 28 days of a positive test.

The numbers look a little curious when comparing England to Scotland:

- Deaths where Covid mentioned on death certificate (data up to 15 January): England 88,146; Scotland 7,445
- Deaths within 28 days of positive test (data up to 26 January): England 88,042; Scotland 5,796

It's not clear to me why deaths under both measures are nearly identical for England but death certificate deaths are nearly 30% higher than those within 28 days of a positive test in Scotland.
Knowing they Westminster wankers there will be a lot more than they’re letting on. A wee bit like fitba teams used tae dae wi crowd numbers coming through the turnstiles.

Yup, its not like they didn't cover up the real care home figures down there during the first wave.

Gordon ,I dont agree politically at all with the tories but to bring politics into this situation is wrong, would any other party knowing what they knew then and not with the hindsight they have now ,have done things any differently. Everybody agrees christmas relaxation was wrong but the govt. didnt say you must go and mingle at christmas common fuckin sense told most of us not to. The virus is spreading and the govt have undoubtedly made mistakes but the govt didnt organise a Jewish wedding with 400 guests, the govt didnt organise baby showers , the govt didnt organise groups of youths walking round at night sharing fags and drink( where are their parents), the govt doesnt organise the house parties that are STILL fuckin going on, the people have to take responsibility for their own actions. Putting people who arrive in the uk into compulsory quarantine should have been done at the start but wait till people start squawking about their human rights now it's being done. When there's the slightest relaxation people swan off abroad on holiday and then moan like fuck when they get back that they weren't given enough warning about having to self isolate when they get home, fuckin idiots. Why go in the middle of a pandemic? It's because of ignorant *&*^ like all of the above that the only time I get out is to take ma dug for a walk and my locals shut and I cannae come up for a game tae see my pals, including your good self. Aye, the govt have made mistakes,big ones, but it's the self entitled arsewholes who think the rules dont apply to them that are spreading it . Rant over. Stay safe everybody.

This thread has been viewed 320745 times.