Hibs Casuals, Heroes or Villians

GORDONSMITH7

Endless column inches and books written about CCS. A fair amount of fact and fantasy. Hibs fans I know including prominent members have different opinions ranging at random I guess from

Proud they were Hibs,
Pretoian guard to travelling fans,
Defenders of the Faith
Gave Hibs a bad name,
People who joined a gang,
People who got immense pleasure from battering folk,
No feelings one way or another.

As a Scarfer who had been following Hibernian before any CCS punter was born I feel there has been a dreadful amount of romanticism surrounding the whole scene.

The people involved then are some of the most loyal supporters which is something else entirely.

By the way if everyone who said they were at the famous Hibs V Napoli match, the crowd that night was 100,000
Similarly if everyone who say they were involved with CCS, it must have had a team of thousands.

Thoughts!

I should add that some of the thuggish new wave of casuals in my experience were not avense to turning on rank and file Hibs fans.

I would say they were a mixture of heroes, villians and all points in between, but a lot of damned good Hibs fans, who still go home and away every week to this day.

As a trendy who wore his colours, it was great knowing there was a mob when traipsing tae shit holes all over scotland..... but a few liberty taking fuckers in the young team mon-fri up the toon.
Hibs proper ran the toon.... and if they had been around in the 70s I'd wager there would have been nae gorgie aggro.

Its was a scene. The whole of britain was at it, and now that its all over in reality, looking back, am glad Hibernian fans were well known as taking nae shite. We are a peoples club and one facet of that was working class laddies frae all over the toon and beyond going tae other toons tae cause mayhem:gigglle:... tie it up with the music and damn damn fine drugs, what a wonderful time to be growing up in :43::38:

Oh young man, rejoice in thy youth.

Similarly if everyone who say they were involved with CCS, it must have had a team of thousands.

Thoughts!
Over the course of time it will have been thousands. I first became aware of the CCS in 1984 and after an extended sabbatical away from football (1988-1997) I returned to find there was still something resembling ‘soccer firms’ so it’s fair to say the numbers and reasons for being involved were legion.

As a trendy who wore his colours, it was great knowing there was a mob when traipsing tae shit holes all over scotland..... but a few liberty taking fuckers in the young team mon-fri up the toon.
Hibs proper ran the toon.... and if they had been around in the 70s I'd wager there would have been nae gorgie aggro.

Its was a scene. The whole of britain was at it, and now that its all over in reality, looking back, am glad Hibernian fans were well known as taking nae shite. We are a peoples club and one facet of that was working class laddies frae all over the toon and beyond going tae other toons tae cause mayhem:gigglle:... tie it up with the music and damn damn fine drugs, what a wonderful time to be growing up in :43::38:

Oh young man, rejoice in thy youth.
Well that covers....
Proud they were Hibs,
Defenders of the Faith

Well that covers....
Proud they were Hibs,
Defenders of the Faith
No really. It does cover my experience of it all growing up. Ye also missed out the liberty taking fuckers bit.

Sorry, when you posted, I thought you were asking for bouncers opinions :54::47:

Never really bought into the protectors bit, but my best mate was a well kent face and he's a great guy so it kind of softened my opinion a bit. Funnily enough he was never Hibs daft in those days, but he is now. He had some great stories right enough, including when he was off work sick for a week and then on the front page of the Daily Record :)

I was a scarfer, never part of the casual scene. I think truth and fiction have blurred over the years. I was regular home and away attender at that time and although I was aware of the CCS, I was rarely aware of any actual trouble / activity.

I never bought into the 'pretoian guard' part, I just think football and society changed and trouble at the games became a thing of the past, in comparison to the 70s and early 80s. I was at many of the games where some of the more told stories are brought up and there is no doubt there have been 'additions' to what actually went on.

I have read some accounts that some of the crew were involved wider criminal activities, not something I would want linked to Hibs.

I was at college with someone who claimed to 'a well kent face' but I think he was one of many guys who dressed in the fashion, but was never involved in any of the actual meaty stuff.

It's weird looking back, I hated the violence and never felt connected with the scene, but there is a (very) small part of me is glad that the CCS had such an impact in that time.

Never really bought into the protectors bit, but my best mate was a well kent face and he's a great guy so it kind of softened my opinion a bit. Funnily enough he was never Hibs daft in those days, but he is now. He had some great stories right enough, including when he was off work sick for a week and then on the front page of the Daily Record :)

Photographed in Aberdeen perhaps?
I know someone who skived and wound up in the paper...
Not the same guy going by your description. Could also be bullshit ?

I canny be arsed with the misty eyed view the casuals are seen in. Mostly, it has to be said by people who had little or no knowledge of them at the time.
Quite a few nasty b*****ds in their ranks.

Photographed in Aberdeen perhaps?
I know someone who skived and wound up in the paper...
Not the same guy going by your description. Could also be bullshit ?
cant remember where it was, but I seem to recall the headline was 'Animals' :)

The 90s was a period i worked so much on Saturdays I missed a whole lot of football watching. As a teenager I was always up for a scuffle and would happily join in, but never amounted to much, but I didnt like the idea of Hibs fans running away..silly teenage thoughts. The casual scene I largely missed out on that and to be honest I doubt I would have went in for the types of organised fights I've read about..maybe too much of a shitbag ?

To be honest my attitude was if someone wanted a fight and so long as they weren't bothering those who didnt then I didnt much care. Actually there was often more risks with flying bottles in the 80s. I did encounter some Hibs fans who appeared to be a younger version of casuals about 12 years ago in Anderson's in Tollcross. These dudes were trying to pull up guys in their 40s 50a and upwards who were there for a drink and nothing more. I had little time for these idiots.
[automerge]1611081697[/automerge]
It's weird looking back, I hated the violence and never felt connected with the scene, but there is a (very) small part of me is glad that the CCS had such an impact in that time.

I think we sometimes glorify it because it was good to actually win regularly at something ?

Endless column inches and books written about CCS. A fair amount of fact and fantasy. Hibs fans I know including prominent members have different opinions ranging at random I guess from

Proud they were Hibs,
Defenders of the Faith
Gave Hibs a bad name,
People who joined a gang,
People who got immense pleasure from battering folk,
No feelings one way or another.

As a Scarfer who had been following Hibernian before any CCS punter was born I feel there has been a dreadful amount of romanticism surrounding the whole scene.

The people involved then are some of the most loyal supporters which is something else entirely.

By the way if everyone who said they were at the famous Hibs V Napoli match, the crowd that night was 100,000

Thoughts!

I should add that some of the thuggish new wave of casuals in my experience were not avense to turning on rank and file Hibs fans.

It was never my thing but I was fully aware of it and I guess it was a sign of the times ( culture , fashion, music etc ) - gang culture has been around for a long time ( mods - rockers ) and fighting at football , hooligans at football around a long time before the casual scene.
I am no expert on this but from what little I have read where Aberdeen the first club in Scotland to gain notoriety from having a casual following ( away from the perhaps traditional wearing of team colours at football ( scarfs and team shirts ) thus making them not immediately recognisable to opposing fans or the old bill!
my thinking is if most teams embraced this new fashion , style , casual movement then of course hibs would have and should have and if it in some way stopped or at least diluted the likes of Celtic and RFC turning up in leith en-mass and treating our city like it was theirs then that ain’t a bad thing at all - likewise if it offered some protection to travelling scarf wearing hibs fans when they travelled to Glasgow or other parts of the country then again I was / am all for that.
What I don’t like to read ( and I don’t know if there is any truth in it ) is if they turned on genuine hibs fans at anytime, but I don’t know if that was the case.
I didn’t attend ER that regular from 1988-2005 as lived away from Edinburgh but did always go when I was back in town.
Finally like to add that went to hibs - M well ( Jack R first game in charge ) and took a pal for his b day and decided to try the hibs Corp hospitality . On our table there were 3 guys never met in my life before but who were die hard hibees , a joy to chat to before and after the game and at half time , hugely Knowledgable about hibs , the Scottish game , clearly attended almost every if not every game home and away and were gentlemen each one of them. I didn’t ask them but from chatting during the day they def appeared to know a lot about that scene back in the day and some of the names they mentioned where names I had read about it heard about. As said they were all absolute quality hibs fans and great banter.

Going to Ibrox and booting fuck out of huns. What's not to like?

Probably a bit of a mixed bag as someone said from decent lads to absolute rockets, definitely found Hibs boys to be a major pain in the arse at times at parties, clubs etc early 90s although suppose could have just been hangers on / wannabes looking back, were sent packing by the Young Porty Rebels a few times ( who were predominantly Hibs fans anyway..)

Worst racial abuse I’ve ever heard at a football match ( including hearing England fans booing Barnes and chamberlain in 80s ) was a well known Hibs boy ( prominent in central station incident ) and his pals targeting Bamba in a derby at Tynie then threatening anyone who objected , really vile stuff.

Probably a bit of a mixed bag as someone said from decent lads to absolute rockets, definitely found Hibs boys to be a major pain in the arse at times at parties, clubs etc early 90s although suppose could have just been hangers on / wannabes looking back, were sent packing by the Young Porty Rebels a few times ( who were predominantly Hibs fans anyway..)

Worst racial abuse I’ve ever heard at a football match ( including hearing England fans booing Barnes and chamberlain in 80s ) was a well known Hibs boy ( prominent in central station incident ) and his pals targeting Bamba in a derby at Tynie then threatening anyone who objected , really vile stuff.

I reckon you could take the word casual out and change it for Hibs fan and you would get the same. Good, bad and all points in between, like the rest of society.

Both recent rascist incidents at Easter Road were perpetrated by older scarfers for example.

What I don’t like to read ( and I don’t know if there is any truth in it ) is if they turned on genuine hibs fans at anytime, but I don’t know if that was the case.

Thuggish attacks by Casuals on Hibs fans have most certainly occurred. Don't have to look far. One of my Admin. associates talked about an incident in Fife, on the Bounce. On another occasion a good friend , father of a Hibs Board member was attacked by liberty taking scum on a train back to Edinburgh from Fife after a game. His face was some mess. Liberty taking bastards, repeat.....

Indeed, but is it because they were casuals or was it because they were liberty taken bastards? I suspect its the latter?

Fairly sure I’ve seen a photo of Hibs casuals with a few nazi salutes on display. As Robbie says, going out early 90s could be a lottery, City Cafe especially at the weekend was a nightmare. Even when they should have been taking a pill and chilling out there was always the threat of violence.

Fairly sure I’ve seen a photo of Hibs casuals with a few nazi salutes on display.

In the 80's and 90's yes, seen the photos myself. I also know ex Hibs casuals who are very left wing, church elders or members of the James Connolly society. A right mixed bag just like the wider Hibs support.

Fairly sure I’ve seen a photo of Hibs casuals with a few nazi salutes on display. As Robbie says, going out early 90s could be a lottery, City Cafe especially at the weekend was a nightmare. Even when they should have been taking a pill and chilling out there was always the threat of violence.
Was it because they were Casuals or because they were Nazi scum M?

In the 80's and 90's yes, seen the photos myself. I also know ex Hibs casuals who are very left wing, church elders or members of the James Connolly society. A right mixed bag just like the wider Hibs support.
Church elders, that was some conversion, from battering to baptisms, from commotion to Communion. To be fair most dafties grow up as they age, though some do not.

Agreed - seems to have made an impression on all of us there that day thats impact hasnt diminished with the passing of years.

[automerge]1611217018[/automerge]
Is there still a firm now ( up until co vid closed all the grounds down ) - was there still an active Hibs Firm ? Or any other Scottish club for that matter ?

Indeed, but is it because they were casuals or was it because they were liberty taken bastards? I suspect its the latter?
Or both?
[automerge]1611316803[/automerge]
Was it because they were Casuals or because they were Nazi scum M?

Or both?

[automerge]1611217018[/automerge]
Is there still a firm now ( up until co vid closed all the grounds down ) - was there still an active Hibs Firm ? Or any other Scottish club for that matter ?

Hibs still have an active firm, not the same as before because a lot of us older lads have called it a day, too much to lose etc, it’s the same with Aberdeen, Dundee, Motherwell etc. The Huns probably have the most numbers these days as they have kept things going when every other team have called it a day. Don’t get me wrong Hibs could still get the old boys out if it was required ?
[automerge]1611337205[/automerge]
Well that covers....
Proud they were Hibs,
Defenders of the Faith

I can honestly say in my time of being part of the casual scene I haven’t witnessed any Casuals taking liberties on their own fans. I have witnessed on a numerous occasions Hibs casuals fighting each other as a result of an incident that has taken place ages ago when fights happened all around different areas of Edinburgh. Not doubting what you are saying @GORDONSMITH7 but I can only say what I have witnessed first hand.

I have witnessed Casuals coming to the rescue of Hibs fans especially in Glasgow at Ibrox, Millwall, Leeds etc, not forgetting the Gorgie Aggro who use to take liberties on Hibs fans also. No point in mentioning the Hearts Casuals because they hid away from us for over 25 years!!

As @1875 Says We were all big Hibs fans home & away we always wanted the right result on the pitch as well as off it. Was their lads that didn’t support Hibs yes but these were lads who grew up in the same areas of Edinburgh.

At the beginning there was the odd Nazi salutes etc, but not everyone (Me included) got involved in that scene, if anything when the Scottish alliance of the EDL came to Edinburgh which would be Hearts, Rangers, Chelsea who were into the BNP shite, Hibs would be there to attack them at any opportunity.

?

Hibs still have an active firm, not the same as before because a lot of us older lads have called it a day, too much to lose etc, it’s the same with Aberdeen, Dundee, Motherwell etc. The Huns probably have the most numbers these days as they have kept things going when every other team have called it a day. Don’t get me wrong Hibs could still get the old boys out if it was required ?

I can honestly say in my time of being part of the casual scene I haven’t witnessed any Casuals taking liberties on their own fans. I have witnessed on a numerous occasions Hibs casuals fighting each other as a result of an incident that has taken place ages ago when fights happened all around different areas of Edinburgh. Not doubting what you are saying @GORDONSMITH7 but I can only say what I have witnessed first hand.

I have witnessed Casuals coming to the rescue of Hibs fans especially in Glasgow at Ibrox, Millwall, Leeds etc, not forgetting the Georgie Aggro who use to take liberties on Hibs fans also. No point in mentioning the Hearts Casuals because they hid away from us for over 25 years!!

As @1875 Says We were all big Hibs fans home & away we always wanted the right result on the pitch as well as off it. Was their lads that didn’t support Hibs yes but these were lads who grew up in the same areas of Edinburgh.

At the beginning there was the odd Nazi salutes etc, but not everyone (Me included) got involved in that scene, if anything when the Scottish alliance of the EDL came to Edinburgh which would be Hearts, Huns, Chelsea who were into the BNP shite, Hibs would be there to attack them at any opportunity.

?
Is he some rapper who has passed me by ? :102:

?? Gorgie ?

I have witnessed Casuals coming to the rescue of Hibs fans especially in Glasgow at Ibrox, Millwall, Leeds etc, not forgetting the Gorgie Aggro who use to take liberties on Hibs fans also. No point in mentioning the Hearts Casuals because they hid away from us for over 25 years!!

At the beginning there was the odd Nazi salutes etc, but not everyone (Me included) got involved in that scene, if anything when the Scottish alliance of the EDL came to Edinburgh which would be Hearts, Huns, Chelsea who were into the BNP shite, Hibs would be there to attack them at any opportunity.

?
Good read - would Rangers when playing us at ER bring a sizeable firm - you don’t really read in the press about much trouble .

Good read - would Huns when playing us at ER bring a sizeable firm - you don’t really read in the press about much trouble .

No. Loads of them near the Hibs fans at the Hunnery though.

Good read - would Huns when playing us at ER bring a sizeable firm - you don’t really read in the press about much trouble .

They do come through nowadays but back in the day they never hardly ever came through Celtic’s firm were more active at us than them.

Couldn’t really care much either way. As said before there’s good guys and fannies in every grouping you care to mention. (Obvious exceptions being Gunts/Huns/Nazis/BBC Scotland journos)
I get a wee bit miffed at the inference that Hibs fans were at the bottom of the food chain until these hero’s formed a protective shield though. Plenty “scarfers” were quite happy to stand their ground at war zones of Airdrie Tynie Ibrox et al.
We weren’t all wee snivelling cowards you know.*

*I accept I was a wee snivelling coward, but I witnessed more than one Hibs Hero standing up to the hordes of evil, years before the ccs organised their assaults.

Never understood why anyone would want to dress up like Val Doonican in order to hit someone.
[automerge]1611363328[/automerge]
I can understand why someone dressing like Val Doonican would be hit however.
[automerge]1611363436[/automerge]
Maybe they thought they looked more like Garry Player.
[automerge]1611364350[/automerge]
Also the name I would say is a bit of a misnomer, as I would suggest it is quite difficult to kick some in the goolies whilst sipping a cinzano bianco at the side of a sunlight canal whilst reading Christopher Brookmeyer.

Couldn’t really care much either way. As said before there’s good guys and fannies in every grouping you care to mention. (Obvious exceptions being Gunts/Huns/Nazis/BBC Scotland journos)
I get a wee bit miffed at the inference that Hibs fans were at the bottom of the food chain until these hero’s formed a protective shield though. Plenty “scarfers” were quite happy to stand their ground at war zones of Airdrie Tynie Ibrox et al.
We weren’t all wee snivelling cowards you know.*

*I accept I was a wee snivelling coward, but I witnessed more than one Hibs Hero standing up to the hordes of evil, years before the ccs organised their assaults.
Indeed,I remember the time a bus from North Edin pushed the emergency doors at Ibrox at FT and the Huns took a total tanking outside and the polis dived in before the main crowd realised what had happened.
We’ve not been allowed to stand in the concourse at FT since then.

This was a well planned action ambushing Huns and Hertz scum after an Orange walk....what’s not to like

Absolutely classic bit of journalism

Established military tactic

AMBUSHES have been a long-established military tactic. In the Battle of Trebia in 218BC, Carthaginian leader Hannibal hid cavalry and infantry near the battle zone. When the Roman infantry became entangled in combat, the ambush force then attacked the legionnaires from the rear.

Another famous ambush was sprung by Germanic leader Arminius at the Battle of the Teutoburg Forest more than 2000 years ago. His forces attacked the Romans when they left their fortified camp and were marching in a rainstorm.

During the Vietnam War, the Battle of the Ia Drang Valley saw American’s 1st Cavalry Division ambushed by the 8th Battalion of the North Vietnamese 66th Regiment.

This was a well planned action ambushing Huns and Hertz scum after an Orange walk....what’s not to like
That is an interesting read , right wing hearts and RFC fans gathering in Edinburgh got a proper battering - I have no issue with that at all as I am
Sure most folk don’t .
let’s hope a win today in 90 mins - make my weekend?

That is an interesting read , right wing hearts and RFC fans gathering in Edinburgh got a proper battering - I have no issue with that at all as I am
Sure most folk don’t .
let’s hope a win today in 90 mins - make my weekend?
There’s a YouTube video as well. Scared the tourists but at least they got to see the other side of Edinburgh and not just the Harry Lauder version.

Another famous ambush was sprung by Germanic leader Arminius at the Battle of the Teutoburg Forest more than 2000 years ago. His forces attacked the Romans when they left their fortified camp and were marching in a rainstorm.

That battle plays a major part in the mini-series Barbarians on Netflix.

I can honestly say in my time of being part of the casual scene I haven’t witnessed any Casuals taking liberties on their own fans.

?
I came a cropper after the Leeds Utd friendly in the early 90s. I'd travelled up from the South with some York City pals for a weekend. We got jumped not far from Tamsons after the game. I got a grudging apology when I finally got through to them that I was Hibs and these were my friends. I didn't come back to ER for quite a few years after that.

This thread has been viewed 46808 times.