Brexit

Davy

Never been a Tory supporter far less a Boris supporter, however a few people will be breathing a sigh of relief that his team have secured an agreement. You may not have voted for brexit..most likely most did not, but it is there and to have left without an agreement could have been catastrophic. Boris kept his cool where others would not have, by playing a poker hand saying he will walk without a deal, it looks like the EU leaders had to bring about an agreement. The devil will always be in the detail of the deal and not everyone will be happy..I can guaranatee Keir Starmer wont be nor the ms Sturgeon whatever the deal is. No doubt there will/has been a rallying cry for independence now, but I would say that whatever happens EU obviously see UK as someone they do not want to lose trade with and maybe the future is not so scary after all

The EU played the UK like a fiddle.

The only reason boris and his blow jobs got the deal they promised was because they promised fuck all and thats exactly what they got.

Of course, as all the media outlets are saying, the devil is in the detail. So given the shambles the tory bastards have made of it so far we've probably got much less than fuck all.

The sooner we're away from this shitfest the better.

I'm running a sweep as to how long it will take for the UK to be declared the money laundering capital of the world. If we sold bananas well run countries would think we were a Republic!

I had no sigh of relief nor illusion that there would not be a deal. The crisis that the Capitalist economies of the World never mind Europe were experiencing pre Covid 19 combined and exacerbated by the shovelling of countless Trillions of £/€/¥/$ 's to try unsuccessful to keep economies afloat, made that scenario impossible.
I have been left smiling over the past couple of weeks at the utterly phoney war that went on, between the UK and Europe, which the hopeless UK MSM, facilitated day after day, night after night.
The hands up in the air 'Victory' speech, and ' Breakthrough' choreographed by both parties, on the eve of Christmas was a splendid substitute for the Pantomimes not taking place.
The right wing biased MSM with all the enthusiasm of American Football cheerleaders, hailed this as a resounding success. The fucking hopeless Laura Kuenssberg called it a triumph as did others. Laughable.

Last night the left leaning Navara Media gave a live unsheduled, in my opinion a very balanced response to what had been announced, which I watched. They like literally a handful of left leaning outlets survive on contributions from punters. No billionaire owners of MSM. I take my hat off to them.

Splendid viewing during the Queen's Speech.

There was never any doubt in my mind that a trade deal would be signed before the end of the year. Leaving the EU without a deal was never going to happen, the consequences would have been disasterous for both the UK and the EU, but especially the UK. Whatever trade arrangements that are in the deal however will not be as favourable to this country as what we had with the EU.

Brexit itself has been one big lie from start to finish. When it dawns on people who believed charlatans like the political pied piper Farage, Johnson, Rees-Mogg, Baker, Cash and the like that we would be moving into a great new era of prosperity if only we could free ourselves from these nasty Europeans "imposing" their laws on us, then I suspect we will see those same people turning on the right wing little Englanders who have brought this about in the not too distant future. The consequences of Covid-19 will just add to the disaster.

The fact is that the UK...or rather England and Wales, has never been fully on board with the European project since we joined in 1973 on 7-0 day. So many people there are living in a past world which in reality never existed and certainly does not exist now. The idea that the UK on it's own and now totally isolated from the biggest trading market in the world right next door to us, is going to be able to achieve anything like what we had there on our own is laughable if it wasn't so serious.

So yes, thank God we got a deal signed...and there is no point in looking back, the vote was taken and the people voted and we had to leave. I just think it was a huge act of UK national self -harm which IMO will help bring about scottish independence sooner rather than later.

I had no sigh of relief nor illusion that there would not be a deal. The crisis that the Capitalist economies of the World never mind Europe were experiencing pre Covid 19 combined and exacerbated by the shovelling of countless Trillions of £/€/¥/$ 's to try unsuccessful to keep economies afloat, made that scenario impossible.
I have been left smiling over the past couple of weeks at the utterly phoney war that went on, between the UK and Europe, which the hopeless UK MSM, facilitated day after day, night after night.
The hands up in the air 'Victory' speech, and ' Breakthrough' choreographed by both parties, on the eve of Christmas was a splendid substitute for the Pantomimes not taking place.
The right wing biased MSM with all the enthusiasm of American Football cheerleaders, hailed this as a resounding success. The fucking hopeless Laura Kuenssberg called it a triumph as did others. Laughable.

Last night the left leaning Navara Media gave a live unsheduled, in my opinion a very balanced response to what had been announced, which I watched. They like literally a handful of left leaning outlets survive on contributions from punters. No billionaire owners of MSM. I take my hat off to them.

Splendid viewing during the Queen's Speech.

Talking about being played like a fiddle, this video shows how so called economists on mega bucks, were stung along.

Novara Media “left-leaning” - something of an understatement [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

and.....please explain.

Well, I'm thinking that a media outlet that is a long-time and explicit advocate of "fully automated luxury communism", and whose most famous contributor famously avowed "I'm literally a communist", would probably be more accurately described as being a lot more than just "leaning" left! It's difficult to get further left than that.

Anyhoo, Merry Xmas to you and yours, G! Here's to yet more fractious cowshed action in 2021 ;-)

I wanted a left brexit,and not this pile of crap we are being served up.But since the media and everyone else from Starmer to everyone to his right did everything in their power to make sure Corbyn would not be elected that was no more than a pipe dream.I will not however be advocating a re entry if we get Indy.I want to fight for a left exit from both and believe it is still winnable.I pretty much agree with Big G which is par for the course,although I don't believe he agrees with me over indy.

The UK is worse off.
Couldn't be otherwise.

The Fat Oaf has done his usual and fucked it up, he has what i call a Sadim touch, which is a reverse Midas touch. ie everything he touches turns to a bag of ratshit. We will be paying for this through our noses for a long time to come as we sink into obscurity and the rest of the world passes us by in their development.

A complete and utter incompetent 'leading' a bunch of incompetents who make the the previous bunch of incompetents look competent.

The UK needs to understand that it is no longer Great (i have to say this attitude is largely English), it ceased to have the wherewithal to be a world power in 1943 but has never understood that. Winning the war was a great thing for civilisation but in a way a bad thing for the UK because it created an arrogance that has continued since and which brexit and the brexiteers are the latest manifestation of.

Britain should have reviewed its capability and capacity and relative position in the world after the war and repositioned itself to be a great small nation instead of trying to continue its imperial desire to dominate at the top table. But it has pissed off the world and has very few friends left because of that attitude, a lot of that has been because of the politicising of the civil service and in particular the foreign office which has meant it is both un professional and biased. Some humility might be nice but i won't hold my breath so the country will continue to fester on a downward spiral. Unfortunately, i am not sure independence will help us much either because Scotland will be saddled with such a huge debt that it will struggle to be accepted by the rest and keep its head above water. So this internecine war within the Tory party has brought a country to its knees, and these idiots in England celebrate.

I can't believe that i am saying this but i heard Blair the other morning on Radio 4 and i thought jeez what i would give to have had you in charge over this whole thing.

How depressing!

4 years they had to sort out an industry that is the most time critical of all.

Dont worry fishermen as Mogg says your fish are now British, you are saved ?

Probably talkin pish but did the fishermen up north no vote for the tories?

Think they were strong armed into it by their leader who has since disappeared like snaw aff a dyke

Dont worry fishermen as Mogg says your fish are now British, you are saved ?
The fish are bound to be happier. A lot less of them are getting eaten.

That's the bastards starting with their ripping up of the EU working time directive and a host of other workers rights.

Maybe not all but a good deal of the fishermen are Loyal Orange and Blue nosed.

Sounds like Clownfishermen.

I thought a chunk of british fishermen have been selling their quotas to european fishermen for years?

...a quick google suggests that the fishing economy is 0.12% of UK plc, employs around 24,000 and brings in about £1.4bn.... so the entire fishing industry for a year is about a 12th of what the tories spunked on their mates track and trace system.

So wake up and smell the roses. The tories dinnae gie a flying about this.

Same wi the Labour boy getting emptied - big donors threatening not to donate until he's emptied. Multi millionaire agent provocatuers!

The tories are at war with the working class... #bettertogether

So wake up and smell the roses. The tories dinnae gie a flying about this.
The torys don't give a fuck about this or anything else that doesn't line the pockets of their chums. But it's great for Great Britain ?? Britannia rules the waves and all that. Its all rhetoric to hide what they're really upto.

It's like QAnon supposedly out to save the world from paedophiles.

It's very difficult to have any sympathy with the fishing community across the UK, they vastly voted for Brexit, I can't recall a single time one of them asked where they were going to sell their fish to instead of France and Spain until last week BBC2 doc on Cornish fishermen one out of the many folk on the TV show asked where their market would be.

Problem now is fish will become more expensive for us now too, when all the boats are tied up. Fish curry, chippys, fish soup all becoming pricier. Arsehole Brexiteers.

The fishermen of the biggest port in the UK most definitely voted to leave.
One of them sailed up the Thames with Farage in order to have their feelings known.
The same one stood as a parliamentary candidate for the tories in 2010(?)iirc.
Luckily he didnt get the gig.
Not that it matters as the Goon now representing the constituency is as bad.
It's hard to be sympathetic because the level of stupidity displayed by the fishermen over many years is beyond belief.
Their insistence on voting tory after being screwed so often by them is testament to Einstein's quote on the defenition of madness.
My old mans place of work was based on the harbour front. He was a tanker driver, delivering coal, and later on fuel to farms and fishing boats.
I remember him saying ' I look at some of those boat owners ,and I think the fish must jump onto the boats'.
Brexit has done nothing to prove their gumption levels have risen.
If anything.....

Here we go, fish again. ? Brexit for the vast majority of leave voters, especially the English and our own home grown KKK community (the Huns & OO) was, and still is, about racism. They talk about Johnny Foreigners in the EU but what they’ve always wanted is to get rid of those of a non white skin colour, whether they’re born here or not. These are the REAL nazis

EU fund being replaced by the UK shared prosperity fund, the attack on devolution takes another swing.

Did you know ...

Negotiations for future fishing rights coincide with the dates for agreeing the continuation of the UK getting gas and leccy from the EU.

Apparently we, more probably just England, currently get 8% of our requirements from them. Losing the supply could lead to power cuts and increased prices.

I'd imagine the fish negotiations next time round will be the easiest thing in the world. The UK will bend over and accept whatever the EU demands or lose its markets for the fish, no gas and no electricity.

The EU have done the torys up like a kipper.

"However, as The Independent revealed, the Christmas Eve deal handed the EU the ability to shut off gas and electricity supplies if the UK tries to seize control of disputed stocks."

F998CAF5-E9E6-48EC-A260-54620CA3E82F.jpeg

Absolute bantz from the boy Eustice

He's called Useless Eustice.
For a reason.

In other news Tories look set to break international law in reopening the withdrawal agreement

Here we go, fish again. ? Brexit for the vast majority of leave voters, especially the English and our own home grown KKK community (the Huns & OO) was, and still is, about racism. They talk about Johnny Foreigners in the EU but what they’ve always wanted is to get rid of those of a non white skin colour, whether they’re born here or not. These are the REAL nazis
I f17million people who voted for Brexit are Nazis we really do have a problem.

Loyalist paramilitaries have announced they have withdrawn from the GFA - Could be trouble ahead.

The fishermen of the biggest port in the UK most definitely voted to leave.
One of them sailed up the Thames with Farage in order to have their feelings known.
The same one stood as a parliamentary candidate for the tories in 2010(?)iirc.
Luckily he didnt get the gig.
Not that it matters as the Goon now representing the constituency is as bad.
It's hard to be sympathetic because the level of stupidity displayed by the fishermen over many years is beyond belief.
Their insistence on voting tory after being screwed so often by them is testament to Einstein's quote on the defenition of madness.
My old mans place of work was based on the harbour front. He was a tanker driver, delivering coal, and later on fuel to farms and fishing boats.
I remember him saying ' I look at some of those boat owners ,and I think the fish must jump onto the boats'.
Brexit has done nothing to prove their gumption levels have risen.
If anything.....

Britain after Brexit: Adjusting to life as the ‘small guy’ of Europe

Most folk with any sense knew this would happen, The tories, bolstered by the biggest drop of hubris imaginable doubtless denied it to themselves. How could anyone volunteer to leave London for gawd sake. Even the victorian pencil moved his company to Dublin before Brexit was concluded but probably did so thinking nobody else would dare to do much the same.

That's 90 days nearly up.

Brits that don't have residency are allowed to spend upto 90 days in the EU but then must not be there i.e. come home for at least 180 days.

Upto 500,000 Brits are due to be rounded up by the Spanish police according to Global News (the Benidorm equivalent of the Bonnyrigg Gazette) and there's tears and snotters at Malaga airport as Brexiteers never thought it would come to this and the Spanish will regret it when all these folk working cash in hand go home!

Others in Tenerife are whinging that the residency rules are outrageous citing the need to demonstrate financial stability, £30,000 in a bank account or similar over a considerable period and private medical insurance among other stuff like speaking Spanish!

As a third wave sweeps through Europe I can't say the thought of all those covid ridden gammons descending back in Blighty fills me with confidence that we'll be able to keep the lid on infection rates or dodgy strains.

GB “if you want to come to GB you must be able to speak English” Also GB “what? You have to speak Spanish to be able to live there? Outrageous, who do they think they are?”
You just know it 😂

Had to ressurect this one mainly due to Davy's OP,. Not slagging him off in any way, but the assumption that "maybe the future isnt so scary after all " is looking a bit wobbly.
Latest Brexit baddie is pharmacists struggling to obtain drugs.
A poll of over 1500 pharmacists show that 54% of them thought patients had been put at risk.

Had to ressurect this one mainly due to Davy's OP,. Not slagging him off in any way, but the assumption that "maybe the future isnt so scary after all " is looking a bit wobbly.
Latest Brexit baddie is pharmacists struggling to obtain drugs.
A poll of over 1500 pharmacists show that 54% of them thought patients had been put at risk.
I am bery anti-Brexit asyou may imagine, but there have been difficulties here too in NL recently with medicine supplies. Haven't noticed in practice but remember hearing stuff on the news about India as manufacturer of cheap pills not receiving raw materials re Ukranian conflict... but not 100% sure?

There's a lot of negative things being blamed on Brexit and they're all true. In some cases it may be just a contributing factor but it's still a factor.

I can just see some bright red sunburnt gammon sweating like a gunt with a knotted hankie on his head blaming Europe for this heatwave coming in through France and the Low Countries.

He and millions of English tory voters and millions of ex Labour voters still think its a great idea.

There's a lot of negative things being blamed on Brexit and they're all true. In some cases it may be just a contributing factor but it's still a factor.

I can just see some bright red sunburnt gammon sweating like a gunt with a knotted hankie on his head blaming Europe for this heatwave coming in through France and the Low Countries.

He and millions of English tory voters and millions of ex Labour voters still think its a great idea.
😂 You still upset yous lost mate?

You still think you won?

This thread has been viewed 5232 times.