Just back and we stopped our losing run....

Dinnae get me wrong a week ago a draw at Celtc would have been welcome but we could have had more tonight, but our manager's conservative approach and weird subsititions meant only a brilliant Kevin Nisbet goal saved us our blushes. I wont add to the covid debate, Celtc and the League should be ashamed of themselves, dead simple. I will say it and I am sure a few will disagree but any manager that starts that useless turd Wright has to be questioned, he brings nothing, and is simply not good enough to play for Hibs, it makes Allan O'Brien look decent. Cap it with the introduction of Stephen McGinn who immediately gave away a daft free kick and subsequent goal, up your game Jack, this isnae Hearts. St Mirren, Alloa or the Mackems you work for.

Celtc still had a good team out, given they had a few missing, if they had named that team outwith Covid, few would have raised their head at, given 'Lenny' and his teams are a mess a lot of the time. Hibs, well we started well, quickly faded and looked beat when they scored. I thought Mallan showed desire when he came on and brought us back into the game, something he has done a lot recently. Best for Hibs were the defence, our new keeper Macey, Gogic, Murphy and Newell as ever. Best for Celtc was Turnbull and Soro but they were there for the beating.

Before I talk about the team, can I mention a living legend for a moment. Our very own Lewis Stevenson who wracked up his 500th game in a HIbernian jersey. A man who has won both the League and Scottish Cup in a HIbs shirt. Thank you Lewis, you are a fine Hibernian, I am proud of you, proud for you. ?

Celtc are poor, we should be chasing second. If the chance arises I would look for a loan of Soro? I hear his three brothers all play, get them all in, they were born Hibs players Soro....Soro.....Soro......Sorooooooooo!

The Team

Macey, decent first game, will give Rocky a challenge

Paul McGinn, I thought he was very good, back to how he normally is.

Porto strolled it, one mistake all game.

Paul Hanlon played like the good Paul tonight, I like that.

Josh Doig was our best player first half, went off with a tight hammy according to King Louie in the post match interview.

Alex Gogic had a very good game I felt.

Joe played well until he was hurt, he normally does.

Melker Hallberg was decent at corners but I felt he might have given us more?

Drey Wright.

Jamie Murphy was in and out the first half, excellent second.

Nissie reported missing much of the game, but what a goal, I am delighted for the laddie, I like him.

The Subs

Lewis for Josh at half time, Josh had a hammy issue so fair enough. Lewis done well.

Doidge for Wright was 52 minutes too late for me all Doidge didnae offer much more to be honest.

Mallan replaced Newell around 70 minutes and whilst Joe played well, I felt Mallan improved Hibs immensly, he wanted it.

McGinn for Hallberg, well we lost a goal due to that change so it never really worked for me even though Hallberg wisnae great he did cover every inch of grass when on.

The Boss

Just listened to his sky interview and he is right in saying we were not at our best but deserved a point. He described us as ragged and felt we were more disciplined and stopped the bleeding ( the new phrase). I find his teams boring and conservative, I really wish he wasn't and our team were more attractive. He does wear a face mask well, never seen it as a sartorial addition, his Hibs face mask looked good on him!

The Ref

Was the ref on that day in May. I will let him off.

Celtc

They are a shambles, from Lawell, through Lennon to Celtc TV, they are rotten to the core. That is good, pity its the filthy Huns that benefit not Hibs.

Man of the Match

It had been Josh Doig until he went off, however Jamie Murphy was excellent and gets my man of the match.

Next up is Killie at home. I dread home games.

I guess taking a point when you are a goal down with less than 10 minutes to go is no bad thing.
I thought we stood off them all night, but I don't think we have the 'get in about them' type of players.
A dull game all round.

Hope to goodness Newell and Boyle are fit for the semi-final. Could do with Magennis too.

Dont agree with lucky , a draw was the right result

Dull game, two good goals.

Thought Newall was good again, and the big man made a difference up front when he came on.

Strange to talk about the negativity of Hibs play (not just you but everyone on the other thread) but still cant remember getting as many corners at Parkhead before (not to say that we havent had!) so maybe its the style of play as opposed to not getting forward enough ... dunno... a point there is good though, although we shouldnt have played the game.

PS - We usually lose on my birthday - one win against Dundee Utd in the mid 70s - in my lifetime - so this is point more than I expected today.

PPS - That ref can do what ever the fuck he wants as far as Im concerned for the rest of his career!

Dont agree with lucky , a draw was the right result

It’s not often we score to equalise after losing a goal to them with 19 minutes to go. Agree we gave enough for a draw, a bit more we could have beaten them?

A draw was about right.
The Smellies goal was a well taken free kick, which should never have been given.
Excellent welly for the equaliser.
Take that ya thieves.

I thought we deserved the draw.
Wright and Halberg have had enough chances . I thought nissy put himself.about tonight, and after a few dodgy games, Hanlon was decent.

Also yes, should commend LS for 500 appearances - pretty fucking fantastic, and winning both cups with us - remember that young guy who was amazing against Killie!

Just seems like yesterday he was making his debut ... will there ever be another 500 game player for us, PH would have to play every game for a few years, so cant see him doing it. (edited this as I took a punt at the number but realised I havent a clue!)

The manager does deserve a lot of credit for keeping players focussed for tonight and concentration levels were excellent but it gets a bit weary saying it but Jack Ross just can't read the ebbs and flows of a game.

Last 10 minutes Celtc were going to push with everything and McGinn was never going to be up to speed as he is a yard slow at the best of times.

Halberg was doing fine and there wasn't anything broken to fix so what does the manager do.....?

Having said that though there were lots of fine individual performances especially the goalie Macey who together with Porto and Hanlon formed a strong partnership, admittedly Celtc were toothless but fairs fair and that performance would do Hanlons confidence the world of good.✅.

The solid defence was very much helped by the performance of Gogic who snarled and hassled and looked like he has regained that half yard.✅

Same with Murphy who is getting sharper with more games under his belt✅

Its a bit disapointing Hibs didn't go toe to toe as Celtc were there for the taking with 'Flappy' in goals and Duff Shaney lumbering around but it was a well won and deserved point in the end and quite a lot of positives to take from the game.

Saturdays secret will be trying to play a home game without conceding as gaps seem to appear as soon as the game gets stretched as it naturally does for the home team.

However we line up there is one change that now has to be made and even the manager must see it.??

The manager does deserve a lot of credit for keeping players focussed for tonight and concentration levels were excellent but it gets a bit weary saying it but Jack Ross just can't read the ebbs and flows of a game.

Last 10 minutes Celtc were going to push with everything and McGinn was never going to be up to speed as he is a yard slow at the best of times.

Halberg was doing fine and there wasn't anything broken to fix so what does the manager do.....?

Having said that though there were lots of fine individual performances especially the goalie Macey who together with Porto and Hanlon formed a strong partnership, admittedly Celtc were toothless but fairs fair and that performance would do Hanlons confidence the world of good.✅.

The solid defence was very much helped by the performance of Gogic who snarled and hassled and looked like he has regained that half yard.✅

Same with Murphy who is getting sharper with more games under his belt✅

Its a bit disapointing Hibs didn't go toe to toe as Celtc were there for the taking with 'Flappy' in goals and Duff Shaney lumbering around but it was a well won and deserved point in the end and quite a lot of positives to take from the game.

Saturdays secret will be trying to play a home game without conceding as gaps seem to appear as soon as the game gets stretched as it naturally does for the home team.

However we line up there is one change that now has to be made and even the manager must see it.??
I agree with almost all you say, but I don't think Halberg has it, to be honest. His passing is wayward to say the least. But I also thought Gogic was very good as he played the kind of game that we thought he was brought in to play.

Only caught about five minutes of the highlites,so I'll take everything on board.

Frimpong taught Josh Doig a savage lesson last time we played them- on his game he's def one of the most dangerous players in the league. Not so this evening- in fact, he was nowhere to be seen. Very well played JD & Lewis too.

Caught the last half hour on the radio goin tae ma work. Bonner and co were sayin Hibs appeared tae have set out for the draw but once Celtc scored we opened u a bit and got the equaliser. A point at darkheid isnae tae be sniffed at and it’s stopped the losing run so not a bad night.
NEXT!!!!

Congratulations Lewis Stevenson on a great achievement and very good chance to add another medal this season.

Long time since his debut v St Pats in Dublin

• 956E7135-5A5D-41A8-BFFE-11E59A48A2BF.jpeg
    956E7135-5A5D-41A8-BFFE-11E59A48A2BF.jpeg
    308.7 KB · Views: 26
  • 9892050B-0256-4CD1-9BE5-8ACCA0177F65.jpeg
    9892050B-0256-4CD1-9BE5-8ACCA0177F65.jpeg
    202.4 KB · Views: 26

Some interesting team mates over the years

Surely the Celtic goal should have been disallowed? Fabulous free kick, that I don’t think was a foul but then Duffy stood in the middle of the wall?

Think its a bit of a stretch to say Celtic were there for the taking last night.
A point at parkhead under any circumstances is a good point. Any damage to our aspirations of 3rd place happen against the Ross County's and Livingstones of this world.
Nice to see Nissy score though, I'll happily settle for our main striker offering nowt much else than scoring goals.

Think its a bit of a stretch to say Celtic were there for the taking last night.
A point at parkhead under any circumstances is a good point. Any damage to our aspirations of 3rd place happen against the Ross County's and Livingstones of this world.
Nice to see Nissy score though, I'll happily settle for our main striker offering nowt much else than scoring goals.
Surely a team put together at the last minute is their for the taking no? Granted they still had decent players but not used to playing together.

I just wish we’d have pressed Duffy more, he’s a bomb scare.

I watched the game and felt they were there for the taking, I didn't assume that pre match. Did you watch the match, did you not think the same?

That was my thoughts too. They looked genuinely threatening for about 10 minutes last night.

On the other hand, we started the game with a corner every two minutes, then had enough of the ball in their half to really do some damage.

Livi will give them a tougher game.

I agree. They were definitely there for the taking and we didn't take them although for spells it looked like we might, I thought we played pretty decent football at times but with no real cutting edge and we let them off the hook at corner after corner. Hallberg just doesn't put in a decent enough corner to give us a chance but I'm not slating him I like him and he's doubtless told to take them. WTF Ross was thinking of when he took him off and put McGinn on will doubtless remain a mystery.

Drey Wright - What can I say. I think you summed his performance up beautifully. He's not Hibs standard and should be shipped out asap.

I liked the look of the new goalie but I won't get carried away on just that one showing. I have a feeling he isn't there to give Rocky competition but to replace him otherwise why bring Dabrowski back from his loan spell at Dumbarton? For someone as tall as him he should be able to catch crosses rather than punch them away.

Good goal from Nis which I believe puts him joint top of the pops with the penalty king playing for Der Hun.

Thanks for the report as always mate.

Surely a team put together at the last minute is their for the taking no? Granted they still had decent players but not used to playing together.

I just wish we’d have pressed Duffy more, he’s a bomb scare.

Not used to playing together? They all play for the same team! And as someone mentioned somewhere else, 9 of those players played a cup final for them.

They were there to be beat though, they looked poor and slow.

I get that Jack Ross likes the fact that Doidge keeps himself and defenders busy off the ball but he has missed so many chances this season that had he scored would have changed the whole trajectory of our season. If he doesn't regain a bit of composure in front of goal then do we think he's a bit of a luxury we can't afford?

realistically he isn't good enough sadly , heart and soul and very hard working but i don't think he's gonna do it

Heart and soul and hard working is what every fan would give the team. He misses so many chances which is part of the reason we are not higher up the league.

Hes also the reason we weren't further down the league last season and tbf, if he wasn't getting in front of their keeper last night we wouldn't have scored.

I will admit however, had he scored earlier... ?

I would like to think we are looking to get another forward In this window as imho it's essential.

Hes also the reason we weren't further down the league last season and tbf, if he wasn't getting in front of their keeper last night we wouldn't have scored.

I will admit however, had he scored earlier... ?
True but how many were going wide last year until they hit a defender or bounced off someone. He doesn’t seem to have the luck this year. When he has a 1 on 1 90% chance he will hit the keeper or miss the target. I just think we can do better.

I would like to think we are looking to get another forward In this window as imho it's essential.

I'd hope so too, we need another dimension up there.
Mix it up.

True but how many were going wide last year until they hit a defender or bounced off someone. He doesn’t seem to have the luck this year. When he has a 1 on 1 90% chance he will hit the keeper or miss the target. I just think we can do better.

How many forwards dont get into a position to score or get chances in a game.

Hes not a world beater and he can be replaced, dont get me wrong, but he's a form player, was shown last year and I'm sure someone posted something similar about his time down south.
But when he's not scoring, as long as he's helping others score he's doing the job.

I wouldn’t be upset if we replaced him, but im not concerned about him being included either.

Saying that now... I wish we had more players id be upset at us replacing... struggling.

Doidge is just going through a lean spell he will come good again.

Reactions: Dub
Doidge is just going through a lean spell he will come good again.
He's not good enough for a club wanting to be top 3. I'd move him on.

Unfortunately he isn’t scoring goals which is the reason we bought him. He does run about and work hard but so does Gogic difference is Gogic is doing what we bought him for.
To me Doige isn’t a scorer of great goals he’s not composed enough he scores scrappy goals in and around the box he is unable to beat defenders and score unlike players like Griffiths Kamberi etc. He needs the ball played to him. A lot of games recently tactics have been route one punt the ball to Doidge but he isn’t really that good in the air imo. How many times have we said we could have won but we didn’t take our chances. Nisbet Doidge Gullane when the whistle blows you expect the likes of them to be on the score sheet.
We as a team are not playing to our full potential. Even the late goal we got against Celtic Doidge wasn’t getting in front of the goalie to leave it for Nisbet he was going for the ball if Nisbet wasn’t there it’s 1nil to Celtic and another 3points gone.
If we’re going to go with 2strkers in the current squad I’d play Gullane and Nisbet and not just for one game and put Doidge on the bench for a while because we are struggling to score.

Sorry, K, but if you move him on, who do you replace him with, and at what cost? Know any 20-goal strikers knocking about for free?
Mind you, £100k from HSL this month might swing it?

I know I will probably be in the minority and don't want to cast any negative vibes on the new keeper BUT does anyone think he should have done better for their goal? I know it was a great free kick etc but I thought he was slow to react? Maybe just me???

You'd need to know exactly where it was going.
There's keepers out there that could have saved it, but im no sure I'd complain at his effort.

What did he score last season though? 18ish? Not seeing many other 20 goal scorers available

Nah. The wall was placed well and he covered his side. Cracking free-kick if you ask me. Why the wall didn't jump I'll never know.

Ideally would keep Doidge and sign another forward for options / competition, not sure if finances allow.

Not easy in January hence why have no problem with 6 month deal for Jackson and see how it goes

Ideally would keep Doidge and sign another forward for options / competition, not sure if finances allow.

Not easy in January hence why have no problem with 6 month deal for Jackson and see how it goes

Totally agree with that.

This thread has been viewed 4851 times.