Jack Ross

cleanyman

The jury is out...

No ambition. No pattern of play. That goal tonight was a lifeline.

2 wins in 16 games against Aberdeen, Celtic, Hearts and Rangers

I don't enjoy watching us play. That was pish tonight.

Picked up more points against the rest than anyone outside of the bigots though.

We've no been great, but he's building from what PH left behind.
Covid and Aberdeen hijacked our summer.
I'd wait and see what the rest of the season looks like first.

That said, being that close to losing 4 on the trot is not and will not be good enough.

Picked up more points against the rest than anyone outside of the bigots though.

We've no been great, but he's building from what PH left behind.
I'd wait and see what the rest of the season looks like first.

That said, being that close to losing 4 on the trot is not and will not be good enough.

Home record is brutal and needs to stop as of our next game against Killie. It’s the away points that is probably saving his job right now, but his set up tonight against a make shift team isn’t doing him any favours, his subs again taking too long to change our set up, again he got away with it tonight, but it needs addressed pronto

I think our lack of anyone to break the lines through the middle in the absence of Scott Allan is a problem. Murphy's been available in bursts, Squirrel's been in and out of form, Wright's been terrible.

Tactically we've been pretty unadventurous but he's in a bit of a tricky situation. If we aren't pursuing players in that area this window then there's a problem.

I wouldn't disagree with that. I think McCrorie would've made a huge difference to us. Sheep shagging bastards.

We have missed a fully fit Scott Allan massively.

Our away record is second only to the huns.

It's our home record which has let us down badly this season. Nowhere near good enough.

It's certainly not a given, but I think we will finish fourth which will be an improvement on last season.

If we win the League Cup and finish fourth, that would be a superb season given where we were when Ross was appointed.

I think he is making good, steady progress. A lot of work still to be done, but Rome wasn't built in a day.

Covid-19 has hampered us as it has every other club. Hibs have actually done well to achieve what we have so far this season given the current situation. Have to improve the results and performances at Easter Road though.

I'm not even convinced Jack Ross would play a fully fit Scott Allan - which is worrying.
Jury definitely still out on jr

Needs to sort that midfeild out ultimately its not good enough.

are yous really suggesting we should be (considering) sacking JR? I get having frustration at some results but that is mental imo - the last thing Hibs need right now is a change of manager

We are just so one paced in the middle of the park , I have got the feeling Rocky and newell won't be extending there stay.
We can't be bringing in players of the standard of Wright or Stephen mcginn.
He's got to his next signings right or it could end up being his downfall.

are yous really suggesting we should be (considering) sacking JR? I get having frustration at some results but that is mental imo - the last thing Hibs need right now is a change of manager

No

But the jury is out

Its a big few weeks for him

Ugh, I'm really split.

We are bad to watch and too conservative. That was an exceptionally dull game tonight against a team that was there for the taking.

On the flip side, results over the course of the season have been ok. The points tally is decent. 4th is where you'd expect this squad to be. It's not exceptional but it's not P45 worthy.

Ross hasn't done enough wrong to negate the good yet.

I agree we really need a boot up the arse though.

I thought we were discussing his performance so far.
It's not like the thread is titled Sack Jack or Ross must go....

Feel free to contribute your opinion to the thread ?

There's 3 or 4 good players to build on in the team...plus Rocky to come back in and hopefully at some point Scott Allan as well. The problem is the defence cannot be exposed so that means we play pretty cautiously midfield wise and try to minimise the gaps between the two. It seems any time we try to open up a bit (ie at home) we see how poor our defenders are at defending one on one and are caught out with pretty innocuous long balls.

As we all know by now Covid has really affected the quality and size of the squad and we seem to have opted to bring in a couple of quality players and try and fill gaps with squad fillers elsewhere. That leaves us a bit devoid of tactical flexibility as we just seem to be fire fighting losing players in key positions.

Ross seems to be very cautious by nature..in fact Id say he's very thorough but that doesnt often seem to lend itself to attractive football as we rarely look like we're playing off the cuff and seem to minimising the risk of unforced errors. The players still seem to have largely a very flimsy confidence in their own ability and I go into every game thinking we;re as likely to lose 2 nil as win. Im staggered we're as high up the league as we are tbh so it feels like Im being harsh but I find watching us incredibly frustrating and very boring. I can swallow it for a season while we sort out the last imposters mess and get thru covid but much longer and id struggle with it.

The jury is out...

No ambition. No pattern of play. That goal tonight was a lifeline.

2 wins in 16 games against Aberdeen, Celtic, Hearts and Huns

I don't enjoy watching us play. That was pish tonight.
I agree with your post.I so want him to do well but sadly far to cautious and negative.

I thought we were discussing his performance so far.
It's not like the thread is titled Sack Jack or Ross must go....

Feel free to contribute your opinion to the thread ?
so my interpretation of the OP is its shoogly peg time i.e results/performances must improve dramatically over next 2/3 games...or else? if thats not right fair enough but making that clear would help. If my take is correct that's equally mental imo - let the man build a side over 2-3 years unless he's demonstrably incompetent. At the rate Hibs pick competent managers I'm hoping we can keep hold of him for a good while yet - is that my opinion contributed enough for you?

That was an exceptionally dull game tonight against a team that was there for the taking.

On the flip side, results over the course of the season have been ok. The points tally is decent. 4th is where you'd expect this squad to be. It's not exceptional but it's not P45 worthy.

Ross hasn't done enough wrong to negate the good yet.

I agree we really need a boot up the arse though.
nearly every game I watch these days without fans in the stadium is dull as fuck - that wasnt nearly as bad as some. While Celtc were weakened, the home team still cost shit loads more than ours, so after seeing the team sheets I didn't have an expectation of winning - a bit of hope sure.

Agree with the thrust of your analysis though

I’m not surprised that there are some fans wanting the manager sacked.
Personally I think that would be absolute madness, but nothing surprises me about fans opinions.

Unless there was someone amazing waiting to take over that was a real coup for us, it wouldn't make any sense

don’t want him sacked but could really do with a league cup win

League Cup win would be excellent.
3-0 up with a couple of minutes to go...... and we bring on Two Medals for Doig.

For a minute there I thought I’d come in my pants. Sadly it wasn’t that after all.

Ye did, I turned you round, sat you in your car and telt your satnav to take you home. Mind I telt ye about no going out after Hibs dinnae get beat.

Of course, the other side of the coin is don't sack him now, wait until he leads us to a really honking series of results, ruins the morale of squad and fans, then sack him.

Calderwood, Butcher, Heckinbottom.....

Of course, the other side of the coin is don't sack him now, wait until he leads us to a really honking series of results, ruins the morale of squad and fans, then sack him.

Calderwood, Butcher, Heckinbottom.....
Or until he wins us a cup. Like Stubbsy who failed to get promotion.
Do you want him gone then?

I am not so convinced we will even finish 4th unless we bring in a couple of quality players. Creative midfielder who knows the other teams goalposts are at the other end of ours..and a strong striker who can brush off defensive tackles...and maybe a defender with these qualities. If we don't, I can see Livi storming past us, that is 9 wins out of 9 for their new boss.incredible record at any level

Livi are on a high just now, but apparently that doesn’t last.

I definitely don't want him sacked.

The glass is definitely half full. It's not half empty.

I do think though that he needs to get us to the final (particularly after the last semi debacle). And he needs to finish 4th minimum.

He needs to do business this window. And if it necessitates selling an asset so be it. We need reinforcements and better than we have.

Unless we have a horrendous 2021 he's in the job all of this year. This time next year if Corona Gets TF, then we will have another competitor for third place. It's essential we are a serious challenger this season and next for third.

PS, "Fortune Favours The Brave". Just a thought Jack.

Or until he wins us a cup. Like Stubbsy who failed to get promotion.
Do you want him gone then?

Not sure tbh. I think Covid will keep him in his job for another season ( it would be a tough sell marketing 2021/22 ST's if crowds were actually at ER watching which wouldn't please Ron ) and I merely point out the other side of the argument.

Did you expect promotion any sooner than what was delivered by Stubbsy and what have you seen that makes you confident there are two big game wins in this set- up right now?

To be honest I’m finding all football boring right now. The lack of crowds and atmosphere really does have an impact on what happens on the pitch.

I’d normally watch plenty games on a weekly basis, but right now I can only bring myself to watch Hibs.

So the boring, flat football isn’t a problem unique to Hibs. I do think Jack Ross has work to do, mainly in finding a proper balance to our midfield which would give us a proper style of play, something I don’t think we have.

the boring, flat football isn’t a problem unique to Hibs. I do think Jack Ross has work to do, mainly in finding a proper balance to our midfield which would give us a proper style of play, something I don’t think we have.

I agree that most football has been dull this season, but my biggest irritation with this team is the amount of seemly promising attacks that fizzle out to nothing.

I can't really put my finger on what is causing it with us, but our forwards do seem to be too deep at times. There was a counter attack before Celtic's goal last night where Gogic was the furthest up the pitch. Maybe a crowd would spur that extra yard out our attackers but I can't shake the feeling it's how they are told to play.

Like yourself I can only bring myself to watch Hibs games and highlights shows at the minute, but the lack of atmosphere doesn't seem to stop other teams from finishing their attacks properly...

I agree that most football has been dull this season, but my biggest irritation with this team is the amount of seemly promising attacks that fizzle out to nothing.

I can't really put my finger on what is causing it with us, but our forwards do seem to be too deep at times. There was a counter attack before Celtic's goal last night where Gogic was the furthest up the pitch. Maybe a crowd would spur that extra yard out our attackers but I can't shake the feeling it's how they are told to play.

Like yourself I can only bring myself to watch Hibs games and highlights shows at the minute, but the lack of atmosphere doesn't seem to stop other teams from finishing their attacks properly...

I get what you’re saying, but I can’t imagine strikers are told to not get in the box. To me it seems more of a case other players not being told to get forward enough, too many seem to hold their positions. We really do have a lack of bodies in the box, both attacking and defensively. That suggests to me the midfield balance is wrong, and there’s a real lack of energy there.

Delighted with a point. Sums up Jack Ross. The Celtic team is one they would have put out under normal times against the likes of a Maltese team in Europe for the second leg at home with a 5 nil lead. 13 players out and no Head coach or assistant present. Even bet 365 had it right 15/2 at the off for Hibs to score and win. We were guaranteed to crap it. He's just the same as the same as. Brings nothing new to the table.

Ah ken we're a' just roasters on here but what does JR see in Wright that we cannae .

I read somewhere, ( might have been here, might be a lot of Tom kite) that 8 of the smelly squad last night were in the recent cup final final squad.
Hardly on their bare bones.
We were also without 2 of our most influential players. And we played Wright to even it up!!!

I read somewhere, ( might have been here, might be a lot of Tom kite) that 8 of the smelly squad last night were in the recent cup final final squad.
Hardly on their bare bones.
We were also without 2 of our most influential players. And we played Wright to even it up!!!
Pretty sure it was 9 of the starters took part in the Cup Final.

To be honest I’m finding all football boring right now. The lack of crowds and atmosphere really does have an impact on what happens on the pitch.

I’d normally watch plenty games on a weekly basis, but right now I can only bring myself to watch Hibs.

So the boring, flat football isn’t a problem unique to Hibs. I do think Jack Ross has work to do, mainly in finding a proper balance to our midfield which would give us a proper style of play, something I don’t think we have.
I am that sick of football totally these days tbh.... didnt even watch Hibs game last night. I have a ST but jarred of with it all...

Delighted with a point. Sums up Jack Ross. The Celtic team is one they would have put out under normal times against the likes of a Maltese team in Europe for the second leg at home with a 5 nil lead. 13 players out and no Head coach or assistant present. Even bet 365 had it right 15/2 at the off for Hibs to score and win. We were guaranteed to crap it. He's just the same as the same as. Brings nothing new to the table.

Did he say he was delighted with a point?

Missed the interview

Not the most exciting watch, lack of fire in the belly to go and fight for a result against OF and Aberdeen, late and dubious tactical changes, in danger of starting to slip down the table towards Livi etc - all entirely fair criticisms and we undoubtedly can and should be doing better.

However, whilst there's certainly room for improvement I think any talk of changing manager is massively premature. We are in a much better position than when he arrived, recruitment over the summer wasn't perfect but I'd say we saw a net improvement and we are still 4th (no better or worse than we ought to be with our budget) and through to a semi.

I don't want to settle for mediocrity but I would not swap JR for Heckingbottom, Calderwood, Butcher, Fenlon or the car-crash second half of Lennon's reign, swapping manager is a major gamble, not a guaranteed upgrade. It's also worth bearing in mind we were only just above the gunts at the bottom of the table when we both began the search for new managers last year, as they've shown a repeat of the 13/14 collapse wasn't totally inconceivable at that point.

So a bit more fight definitely needed and for the love of god he needs to find a system that doesn't involve Drey Wright starting every game but I'm very wary of what I wish for, things could be a lot worse.

Missed the interview
Think he said would have been disappointed not to take anything from the game, implied draw was a fair result from memory

Missed the interview
Daily Ranger interview with Gannon. Ross rages at Celtic Covid fiasco. Also stopped the bleeding.

This thread has been viewed 3155 times.