Hanlon

Jamie

Radger than Radge
Solutions
Time to hang up your hibs boots son.

Thanks for your service.

Take Stevenson with you

This could be posted everyweek

Unfortunately we need to replace him

Immortal Scottish Cup winner though? Been at Hibs what now? 12 -13 years? Same with Stevenson. You can't say either have had even half that time in good seasons. We're taking maybe 3 good seasons in that entire time for each of them.

These two should have been emptied a long long time ago I am afraid..

Far too may sentimental wee souls in the support who love them cause they try their best and they love the club,

Hanlon must be one of the worst Hibs captain's I have ever had the mis-fortune of witnessing.. No leadership qualities , not strong enough on the park , indecisive also... Weak minded and lacks all the attributes you need to be a captain....

Far too may sentimental wee souls in the support who love them cause they try their best and they love the club,

Hanlon must be one of the worst Hibs captain's I have ever had the mis-fortune of witnessing.. No leadership qualities , not strong enough on the park , indecisive also... Weak minded and lacks all the attributes you need to be a captain....
I agree

We are trying to extend Lewis Stevenson's contract....

He's been a great servant but nothing lasts forever , we have 2 younger guys for that spot

Been a good servant for Hibs but its time to part ways

Immortal Scottish Cup winner though? Been at Hibs what now? 12 -13 years? Same with Stevenson. You can't say either have had even half that time in good seasons. We're taking maybe 3 good seasons in that entire time for each of them.
Bit harsh.
There‘s been plenty calls for Hanlon to get capped over the years. That wouldn’t be the case if he’d had 10 bad or mediocre seasons.
Two Medals has seen off a few challengers over the years, so let’s not claim he’s a poor performer over his time at Hibs.

I’m not saying either Hanlon or Stevenson have had a good spell, but let’s be completely honest here - Porteous has hardly been much better.

He is far from done, but he has always been inconsistent. There needs to be someone there to step up when he goes through these annual spells of low confidence.

He would be a good option on the bench we have seen season after season hanlon getting out muscled .

This could be posted everyweek

5 years ago.

Always thought Hanlon was a chameleon of a footballer. Put him next to a decent Centre half and his game rises (McGregor, Efe, Fonts)

Stick him next to shite live McGiven, he plays as bad.

Now if we play him with an inexperienced young laddie, and he acts the same.

New centre half required.

There comes a time when the club has to move on past these guys who earned legendary status.... It’s now, without doubt. This season has to be the last for Gray, McGregor, Hanlon & Stevenson.

We need new to find new leaders.

In terms of the positions, centre half is the most pressing. We desperate need a top class centre half, possible two. We also need proper completion for Paul McGinn. At left back, I think we should put our faith is Sean Mackie and Josh Doig.

Bit harsh.
There‘s been plenty calls for Hanlon to get capped over the years. That wouldn’t be the case if he’d had 10 bad or mediocre seasons.
Two Medals has seen off a few challengers over the years, so let’s not claim he’s a poor performer over his time at Hibs.
Hibs have finished in 4th place in the Premier League twice since 2007. Not saying the blame falls soley at their feet but the countless seasons of exceptional performances I'm really struggling to remember. If we were playing teams from 10 years ago in this league both would be turned inside out each week.

For a variety of reasons our team has failed to achieve what it should. 4th place is where you’d expect us to be, in a reasonable season given we have 5th biggest budget, and the Old Bigots advantage of huge resources both in terms of cash and referees.
I don’t think these two players have been responsible for our poor results over all. Quite the opposite.
Now however they are no longer the players they once were, but they have been absolute stalwarts.

Not going to have a dig at Stevenson because not only has he done well for us and won both cups, he has also impressed a whole lot of managers and seen them all out. I do worry though that in all this time we have never brought in any one good enough to at least challenge him for his position. Frustrates me and no doubt us all, that teams like Livi, Ross co etc who pick up probably a quarter of what we take in financially can continually get results from us. Maybe it is time to cut down the paid backroom staff and spend on the field. Also although I do love Hibs being a community team, I would much rather they competed on the park to give the communist a real lift.

Not just the communists.
We fascists need a bit of good news too.

We have 3 centre backs and 3 strikers with one being Gullane in the whole squad.....quick look at Aberdeen, Utd, Motherwell shows they have around 6 each which shows how wafer thin our squad is. Ross/Gordon need to step up.

It baffling that we are so short at the back and upfront imho a club our size should be more organised at a start of a season.

He's not a captain,will never make a captain.The only player I can see making a captain is Newell,but we need leadership on the pitch.

But it's about time we put 2016 to bed.

We have 3 centre backs and 3 strikers with one being Gullane in the whole squad.....quick look at Aberdeen, Utd, Motherwell shows they have around 6 each which shows how wafer thin our squad is. Ross/Gordon need to step up.

I wouldn’t say it’s down to Jack Ross and Ron Gordon. Graeme Mathie, as the Sporting Director, is ultimately in charge of recruitment.

Mathie has done absolutely nothing to address an ageing back line, one that was built in the Championship. That has been an obvious oncoming issue since Neil Lennon was at Hibs. Hoping Porteous and Doig come good isn’t proper planning, finding a centre half who’s an improvement on Hanlon & McGregor is.

The midfield still lacks proper balance, an issue that’s been there since the end of our first season back in the Premiership.

Up front we have invested, as Doidge and Nisbet didn’t come cheap. The coaching staff need to be working with the guys on their movement and finishing, and their confidence. But as a team generally playing with two strikers, we should have a proper third choice striker and Jamie Gullan competing for places.

Gonni be a long second half of the season, cannae see Ron parting wi much money after the year we have had. HSL‘s recent plea makes me think there’s no much in the coffers. Cannae see us gettin anything against the Dodgers, then it’s the Ayrshire Hun followed by the Glasgow version. The transfer windae is officially open, Hibs are probably lookin at injured players we can sign for nowt as we speak.

I Agree and hope we do some thing this time and not just carry on.

Not going to have a dig at Stevenson because not only has he done well for us and won both cups, he has also impressed a whole lot of managers and seen them all out. I do worry though that in all this time we have never brought in any one good enough to at least challenge him for his position. Frustrates me and no doubt us all, that teams like Livi, Ross co etc who pick up probably a quarter of what we take in financially can continually get results from us. Maybe it is time to cut down the paid backroom staff and spend on the field. Also although I do love Hibs being a community team, I would much rather they competed on the park to give the communist a real lift.
Would you give them full Marx?

I'd bring back Neil Lenin?

dont you just love predictive text

The inventor passed away the other day. His funfair is next Monkey.

If Cadden is coming to play right back then maybe McGinn will be moved across the middle back three. I would go for Gallagher at Motherwell he is a leader.

Rocky

McGinn Gallagher (Captain) Porteous

Campbell Newell Allan​

Cadden GMS

Brophy Nesbit

5 new signings? Dream on.

One can dream, but looks a lot better ?

Rocky

McGinn Gallagher (Captain) Porteous

Campbell Newell Allan​

Cadden GMS

Brophy Nesbit

GMS as a wing back or a winger? Cause he's no wing back.
Playing them as wingers in that formation is a bit scary too.

All players i wouldn't mind seeing at Hibs mind you... bit wishful.

GMS as a wing back or a winger? Cause he's no wing back.
Playing them as wingers in that formation is a bit scary too.

All players i wouldn't mind seeing at Hibs mind you... bit wishful.

GMS as a winger his natural position

I'd be a bit apprehensive of writing Hanlon off completely. I think without the captains arm band and having a real captain on the pitch might help raise his game again.

Hanlon was many fans player of the year up until about a week ago. Now he is being slaughtered by some for a few bad games.

He is a good player, not a great one.

He has lost form over Christmas and New Year like several of his team mates have as well.

I have never thought he was a captain, but the manager thinks otherwise. Apart from the constantly missing Gray and McGregor I can't think of any alternative captains at the club just now. Porteous will be in time, but he still has a lot to learn.

This thread has been viewed 5134 times.