Just back and Hibs were shite

And that is me being nice. That bunch of losers will be lucky to be in the top six at the end of the season. Too many players not giving anything, a manager who was out thought by a supposed dinosaur and made dreadful changes. A captain who disnae captain, a striker who scores one in ten or twenty chances, another who is losing his way, a winger who cannae beat a man, another who wouldnae get a game for Berwick Rangers. Can I just say well played Ross County and Yogi, out thought Hibs all over the pitch. You must be especially pleased Ollie Shaw, well done son.

I am not going to waste time reviewing the game tonight, as I have said before if they don't try, why the fuck should I?

The Team

Barnes, slow at the first goal.

McGinn, poor at the first goal, best of the defence though.

Porto got the man of the match of Hibs Pass, fuck knows how, he gave the ball away with poor passing all night.

Hanlon, neither a captain nor leader sorry. He was at fault at the first goal, and was fucking rotten for the second goal. He is lucky we don't have a left sided centre half.

Doig was out best player until we inexplicably subbed him?

Joe Newell, was the diamond in the steaming tolies in green shirts.

Hallberg, waste of a jersey, hopeless. Yet Gogic stayed on the bench.

Wright. My Mum always says when you have nothing good to say, say nothing. I never listened, he is garbage, absolute garbage.

Boyle, couldnae beat a man all night, that is not good enough. He will wake up in Dingwall the morn, still in their left back's back pocket.

Nissy, done nothing all night.

Doidge couldnae score in a barrell of proverbials. Brought nothing apart from sighs from Tam McManus.

The Subs

Lewis for Doig, nae idea why, Josh was playing well.

Jamie Gullan for Wright, to be honest, anyoen for Wright would have suited me.

McGinn for Hallberg, should have been at half time.

The boss

Out thought by Yogi, well beaten and tonight we gave up third. Clueless when it comes to changing a game and any manager that picks Wright, when Jamie Gullan is on the bench needs a boot up the hole.

Ross County

Won handsomely and played very well. In the ref's face, captain and the team all over the ref every contencious issue (we dinnae do that), Captain commits six fouls in the second half and only got booked before going off with 10 to go, our one apologises to the opposition and they score, we cannae. Good luck Yogi, love a trip over night to Dingwall.

The ref was fine, I dont think it was a penalty.

Hibs Man of the Match, was Joe Newell, he never stops trying and is a tanner baw player. Man of the Match for me was Vigurs of Ross County.

Next up is Livingston on saturday at Easter Road. Am dreading it.

Hibernian Forever.

Agreed!

Worst performance for ages, only Newell worthy of the jersey for me.

Horrible viewing.

Livi next - should be better - couldn't get much worse!

The worst performance in a very very long time. Nobody gets pass marks tonight.

No cutting edge, no creativity, an eye bleeding game. Really miss Mallan and Allan.

Also how many mistakes does Hanlon have to make to be dropped?

Either play McGregor or buy a new centre half.

Halberg and Drey not good enough. Boyle one trick. Newell had no influence today (which is a rarity).

No link up between our forwards. Could do with another forward to provide competition.

Gullian not sold on him, would rather have had Ollie Shaw.

Out fought by Yogi's boys.

Just back sums it up, why take Doig off? one of our better players. Doidge is just getting fuckin worse. Did he have an attempt on target ?

I don’t know why folk are getting mad at this result. I’ve followed Hibs for 50 years. I can’t recall one season in all that time where Hibs performances haven’t collapsed around Xmas/new year before a resurgence around March and on to the season’s end. We’ve had much better teams than this one and it’s always happened. Hibs can’t play in winter. Never could.

I think I can pinpoint the moment when I thought we;d plumbed new depths. It was when Alex fuckin' Iocavitti was bringing the ball out from the back like some Latin libero in the second half. Meanwhile we, the supposed football team, were kicking for touch wi 70 yard crossfield punts that have failed to work 95% of the time.

We have some very average (being kind) players at the club and they are starting to be found out. We have a manager who has no idea how to play at home and a bench that is next to useless. I think I'll just watch our away games for the rest of the season.

I hope Gordon was watching. That small squad needs strengthening or we’ll struggle for 4th...

And that is me being nice. That bunch of losers will be lucky to be in the top six at the end of the season. Too many players not giving anything, a manager who was out thought by a supposed dinosaur and made dreadful changes. A captain who disnae captain, a striker who scores one in ten or twenty chances, another who is losing his way, a winger who cannae beat a man, another who wouldnae get a game for Berwick Huns. Can I just say well played Ross County and Yogi, out thought Hibs all over the pitch. You must be especially pleased Ollie Shaw, well done son.

I am not going to waste time reviewing the game tonight, as I have said before if they don't try, why the fuck should I?

The Team

Barnes, slow at the first goal.

McGinn, poor at the first goal, best of the defence though.

Porto got the man of the match of Hibs Pass, fuck knows how, he gave the ball away with poor passing all night.

Hanlon, neither a captain nor leader sorry. He was at fault at the first goal, and was fucking rotten for the second goal. He is lucky we don't have a left sided centre half.

Doig was out best player until we inexplicably subbed him?

Joe Newell, was the diamond in the steaming tolies in green shirts.

Hallberg, waste of a jersey, hopeless. Yet Gogic stayed on the bench.

Wright. My Mum always says when you have nothing good to say, say nothing. I never listened, he is garbage, absolute garbage.

Boyle, couldnae beat a man all night, that is not good enough. He will wake up in Dingwall the morn, still in their left back's back pocket.

Nissy, done nothing all night.

Doidge couldnae score in a barrell of proverbials. Brought nothing apart from sighs from Tam McManus.

The Subs

Lewis for Doig, nae idea why, Josh was playing well.

Jamie Gullan for Wright, to be honest, anyoen for Wright would have suited me.

McGinn for Hallberg, should have been at half time.

The boss

Out thought by Yogi, well beaten and tonight we gave up third. Clueless when it comes to changing a game and any manager that picks Wright, when Jamie Gullan is on the bench needs a boot up the hole.

Ross County

Won handsomely and played very well. In the ref's face, captain and the team all over the ref every contencious issue (we dinnae do that), Captain commits six fouls in the second half and only got booked before going off with 10 to go, our one apologises to the opposition and they score, we cannae. Good luck Yogi, love a trip over night to Dingwall.

The ref was fine, I dont think it was a penalty.

Hibs Man of the Match, was Joe Newell, he never stops trying and is a tanner baw player. Man of the Match for me was Vigurs of Ross County.

Next up is Livingston on saturday at Easter Road. Am dreading it.

Hibernian Forever.

FairPlay to you mate I wouldn’t have even bothered, not one player deserves any kind of pass marks tonight, that was brutal.

That was the worst performance under Jack Ross by a mile. Zero effort, zero creativity, zero passion.

The entire team were totally inept. I’ve no idea what Hanlon, McGinn & Porteous were up to at the first goal, all over the place. The defending from Hanlon at the second is unforgivable, especially from a man wearing the captains armband.

Joe Newell was indeed the best of a bad bunch, but he can’t do much when everyone around him is hiding.

Jamie Gullan and Stephen McGinn tried to make things happen, both should start against Livingston.

Paul Hanlon & Christian Doidge yet again showed why we are desperate for a new centre half and a new striker in January.

As for Drey Wright, the writing is already on the wall. He’s just no up to it, he’s not the first and won’t be the last signing to not work out, but we’d be as well cutting our losses now. Add a new winger to the list of signings needed in January.

I don’t know why folk are getting mad at this result. I’ve followed Hibs for 50 years. I can’t recall one season in all that time where Hibs performances haven’t collapsed around Xmas/new year before a resurgence around March and on to the season’s end. We’ve had much better teams than this one and it’s always happened. Hibs can’t play in winter. Never could.
Sorry I don’t think that is an excuse.

No cutting edge, no creativity, an eye bleeding game. Really miss Mallan and Allan.

Also how many mistakes does Hanlon have to make to be dropped?

Either play McGregor or buy a new centre half.

Halberg and Drey not good enough. Boyle one trick. Newell had no influence today (which is a rarity).

No link up between our forwards. Could do with another forward to provide competition.

Gullian not sold on him, would rather have had Ollie Shaw.

Out fought by Yogi's boys.

Agree RE Wright, and Hallberg to an extent. However interestingly Hallberg has the same number of league assists as Newell having started 12 less games. Newell does a lot of nice stuff but for me the end product isn’t there consistently enough.

The midfield has been of for a while, it’s been to pedestrian for the past 2-3 seasons and whichever way you look at it the recruitment around this area has been bang average at best. If Magennis is to be played wide as appears to be the case, for me it’s a baffling signing considering our critical lack of drive and ability to take the game to teams in the middle of the park.

Fuck knows what's happened to Hanlon. Called up to play for Scotland a few months ago and has been toilet since.

We need a new captain and center half pronto!

The lack of depth to our squad is really starting to tell. We have a smallish squad and when we lose key players for several games it is bound to in time effect performances and results. Hopefully we can strengthen a bit in January, but this is where Aberdeen have a hold over us in this league. They have built a strong, experienced squad over several years whereas we are still in the early stages of building ours. The problem is we still need to see results on the park. Our home form has been poor this season and this is what has let us down the most. Far too many goals conceded and nowhere near enough goals scored at home. This is the biggest problem Ross has to solve as the season goes on. Getting a fit Scott Allan back will help but we need the likes of Murphy and Magennis playing regularly. We can't afford to have too many of our better players out for long periods of the season with such a compact squad. We will very likely finish fourth this season and get European football back. Hard work, some good fortune in the draw and favourable results elsewhere have given us a decent chance of winning the League Cup but all four remaining teams will think the same. We need players to start playing above themselves in these big games such as semi-finals. Too many of our players lack consistency. It's no use players playing really well one week and awful the next.

I don't agree however with those who say we have too many average players. We have been challenging for third and second for most of the season and you don't do that with a team of average players. We don't have a strong enough squad...that's the bottom line. In time it will get stronger, but this season finishing fourth will be our best effort, and that is an improvement on the year before. Hopefully we can get stronger in the summer and bring through a couple more of our youngsters.

Sorry I don’t think that is an excuse.
It’s not supposed to be an excuse. It’s my experience of 50 years of following Hibs.

Re the OP comment about being all over the ref, completely agree. RC gave away niggly fouls all night, no reaction from Hibs. We should be claiming for everything, getting in players and the ref's faces, but nothing. The soft touch tag applies to a Hibs team yet again.
Ross has to put his hands up for tonight.
A lack of competition for places could be a contributing factor as well.

Imo Jack Ross inability to change formation was shocking. It was clear as day his tactics were not working. Overran in midfield and what did we get? Mcginn for Halborg!!! Pathetic! All his other subs were fruitless due to the non existent midfield we had

Not for the first time and I won't list them again but Jack Ross can set up teams well and he sure knows how to pose but he struggles to read a game and adapt to the ebbs and flows?.

He really has to see the big picture when nothing is working but instead goes like for like on a hope and a prayer. Stevenson for Doig doesn't change anything and nor does McGinn for Halberg.?

It was a shape change that was needed to counter being outnumbered in midfield but we seemed to go into the last 15 minutes still playing 4 at the back.

Getting Wright to fck was neccessary but late and how about moving Doig who was doing reasonably well up to bolster midfield or using Gogic or the young lad Bradley to even up the numbers.

Its a strange set up when you end the game with the same shape that you had struggled with for the full game with just different names.

The manager needs to be far more proactive and bold against a side that were devoid of confidence and bottom of the league.....until tonight.?

Livi on Saturday now becomes a huge game in terms of confidence if not so much in points as there is still quite a cushion and in any other season Hanlon would be dropped if there was anyone else who can play that position.

I thought they would have moved Doig to left half making a 3 man defence, not quite sure what happened there.
I guess we suffering with Murphy, Mallan and Allen all out.

Changing the whole left flank in one go reeked of desperation. Given that Doig had been our best player until that point, it also reeked of idiocy. Hallberg wasn't great but don't really get why he's taking so much heat, Newell didn't play any better. Wright shouldn't be anywhere near a start. In general that was rank fuckn rotten.

I agree, surprised how much slack Newell is being cut, I thought he was as poor as the rest.

We need a fit alternative to Wright to start on the left, can Doig play on the wing? Seems to have the pace

I agree, surprised how much slack Newell is being cut, I thought he was as poor as the rest.

We need a fit alternative to Wright to start on the left, can Doig play on the wing? Seems to have the pace
At least Newell produces most games. Others hide and contribute zilch in most games.

Nothing much to add other than to re-emphasise the consternation surrounding subbing Doig for Lewis - both good players, but a) Doig was playing well, and b) it does nothing to change the shape, and henceforth the pattern of the game. Mystifying.

Bitterly disappointing. Even Mrs Jackie wasn't impressed.

Spot on mate. Hallberg was no worse than anyone else (with the possible exception of Wright). Nisbet is another one who seems above criticism, he done f**k all of any note either.
Not saying I'm a huge fan of Hallberg but folk are kidding themselves on if they think him and Wright are the only reason we're f*****g awful at times.

Why oh why do we always get an easy chance to climb the league, and always fuck it up, get a grip Hibs, have a bit o gutts, all this patient build up drives me nuts, can we no have a team that just gets tore in

Nothing much to add other than to re-emphasise the consternation surrounding subbing Doig for Lewis - both good players, but a) Doig was playing well, and b) it does nothing to change the shape, and henceforth the pattern of the game. Mystifying.
Yep, Lewis for Wright would've made more sense, then Lewis takes LB & Doig pushes up to left wing. All our attacking intent & crosses down the left were coming from Doig anyway.

Sorry had to get myself off last night,I was that bealing. Mellowed out a bit tonight but still agree with everything in the opening post.I was calling for the managers head last night.Maybe a bit rash, but some of his decisions are starting to get on my thruppneys. Strange decision making last night and out thought and outfought by a likeable nutter.We badly need a half back, two midfielders and another striker.I'm fed up to the back teeth with inconsistency. Surely that's seeping out through the manager or coaches?

This thread has been viewed 3645 times.